Postby 16 cycles » February 10th, 2010, 4:11 pm

break pads
paradime

Postby MG Man » February 10th, 2010, 4:32 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:well our Local ministry wanted to replace Shakespear and English Literature books books with Ti-jean and local books!

what else did you expect to see ?

lots of help it did you :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

geodude

Postby geodude » February 10th, 2010, 5:53 pm

i see that when this thread started it was about bad english and not trini english, however it has now becoem a discussion on trini slang, so i say

fack all ah allu, i iz ah trini and thiz iz ah trini site so i going and talk how i feels too , what the arse wrong with allu, stop emulating white ppl and embrace your nationality, american english deviates from true english and yet because of their aggorant nature to everything it is actually recoginised as another languge, but as usual we need to do what the white masters tell we do do so long ago and if we dare deviate from these preset ideas we own ppl does wha kick we arse, trini language is such a unique creation of numerous cultures, peoples and influences and yet many ppl run around trying their best to speak "proper" cause if they didn they might be seen as a normal person. one set ah bullsheit. not just 3ne2ner have 'bad english' its the entire internet,

if allu old ppl too stush or lame to keep up with the younger generation then too bad, language like culture is dynamic not static it evolves as society changes, either accept it , and adapt of stfu and get off the net.

an guess wha i can spell to save meh life and i doh care, i am actually proud of being able to reach where i am without putting in the time and effort to actually learn to spell , :D

geodude

Postby geodude » February 10th, 2010, 6:08 pm

fack Shakespear and them thing, i remember the rational they gave us in school when we were like wtf is up with this sheit?
teacher: ooo it is a time less work of literature which shows his artistic genious as most of the themes presented are still very much present within todays society.

bull caca, she prob read that in some book. At the end of the day caribbean literature is much more revalent to local history and our society than shakespare but again most of the older heads were bred to appreciate anything they see other ppl appreciate, as that ment that they were cultured, more like domesticated.
Running around discussing shakespare and repearing sonnets he wrote to little boys, but them ppl say this good an we ent know nothing, so let we agree with them and they will feel we smart too. buch ah a holes i say.

Postby sMASH » February 10th, 2010, 6:20 pm

shakespear is injun movie with white people. i find his stories lacking of depth. would much prefer naipaul

d spike

Postby d spike » February 10th, 2010, 10:42 pm

I'm sorry to say that the rationale for learning literature has been lost on some. Deciding for yourself (as a student) what is relevant to your situation is the same as my children deciding what they will eat... All athletes (no matter how great they are) have coaches. If they are so good at what they do, why can't they train themselves? Surely, they would know by now what they need to focus on and how to do it.

Classics have survived the test of time, and great men all agree that such literature/music/paintings deserve to be considered among the best that Man can produce... then along comes some young greenhorn, who decides such are not worthy of his (self)esteemed perusal...

Son, you have it wrong. These classics have weathered time, changes in culture, idiom, language even... and are still considered great. You aren't judging them - they are judging you. A lack of refinement, poor taste, an inability to cope with superior quality material, a poor grasp of language... all these are exposed by the mediocre pupil who casts aside the classics - and always with the same lame excuses: not relevant to one's idiom, culture, time or background. That's why they are considered classics - their quality transcends all these.

Yes, their themes are still quite relevant, as the human condition hasn't changed. The mere fact that you have spurned this means you have no idea what that means.

Dialect isn't "bad" English, it is actually an idiom all it's own, built on (but not consisting solely of) English vocabulary and Patois grammar - and as its usage changes, so does the idiom itself. However, language is used to communicate. If you wish to communicate with English-speaking people, then you need to speak the lingo. There is nothing wrong with being proud of one's history and culture, but isolationism is self-destructive in today's society of a 'global village'.

In other words, stop smelling yuhself. :lol:

geodude

Postby geodude » February 10th, 2010, 11:36 pm

wha u say dey speak trini nah boi

Postby sMASH » February 11th, 2010, 7:01 am

some shakepere lovers want other people to smell them.

Postby buzz » February 11th, 2010, 7:42 am

d spike wrote:I'm sorry to say that the rationale for learning literature has been lost on some. Deciding for yourself (as a student) what is relevant to your situation is the same as my children deciding what they will eat... All athletes (no matter how great they are) have coaches. If they are so good at what they do, why can't they train themselves? Surely, they would know by now what they need to focus on and how to do it.

Classics have survived the test of time, and great men all agree that such literature/music/paintings deserve to be considered among the best that Man can produce... then along comes some young greenhorn, who decides such are not worthy of his (self)esteemed perusal...

Son, you have it wrong. These classics have weathered time, changes in culture, idiom, language even... and are still considered great. You aren't judging them - they are judging you. A lack of refinement, poor taste, an inability to cope with superior quality material, a poor grasp of language... all these are exposed by the mediocre pupil who casts aside the classics - and always with the same lame excuses: not relevant to one's idiom, culture, time or background. That's why they are considered classics - their quality transcends all these.

Yes, their themes are still quite relevant, as the human condition hasn't changed. The mere fact that you have spurned this means you have no idea what that means.

Dialect isn't "bad" English, it is actually an idiom all it's own, built on (but not consisting solely of) English vocabulary and Patois grammar - and as its usage changes, so does the idiom itself. However, language is used to communicate. If you wish to communicate with English-speaking people, then you need to speak the lingo. There is nothing wrong with being proud of one's history and culture, but isolationism is self-destructive in today's society of a 'global village'.

i haz a headache

but seriously

interviewing officer: "So Mr. X, what can you bring to acme corp?"

local university graduate: "Well yuh see nah...."

interviewing officer: :? :roll:

:arrow:

d spike

Postby d spike » February 11th, 2010, 12:39 pm

geodude wrote:wha u say dey speak trini nah boi

Did you know that for many years Trinidad was the epitome of good English and manners among the Commonwealth countries in the western hemisphere? Sadly, you make it all too obvious that this had to have been long before your time. Juveniles like yourself talk about being proud of your country and its rich history - yet you have no idea of what Trinidad was like before the 70's.

In the best Trinidadian tradition, I am speaking 'Trini' - the type that's spoken above the gutter. :lol:

d spike

Postby d spike » February 11th, 2010, 12:42 pm

buzz wrote:
but seriously

interviewing officer: "So Mr. X, what can you bring to acme corp?"

local university graduate: "Well yuh see nah...."

interviewing officer: :? :roll:

:arrow:

Dat is de dam ting self I was talking 'bout.

devrat

Postby devrat » February 11th, 2010, 12:43 pm

d spike wrote:

Did you know that for many years Trinidad was the epitome of good English and manners among the Commonwealth countries in the western hemisphere? Sadly, you make it all too obvious that this had to have been long before your time. Juveniles like yourself talk about being proud of your country and its rich history - yet you have no idea of what Trinidad was like before the 70's.

In the best Trinidadian tradition, I am speaking 'Trini' - the type that's spoken above the gutter. :lol:

Now the younger ones believe that speaking proper English can only be done with an American accent

Oleander

Postby Oleander » February 11th, 2010, 12:49 pm

Now the younger ones believe that speaking proper English can only be done with an American accent

Ok I am not the only one who noticed that.

d spike

Postby d spike » February 11th, 2010, 12:56 pm

devrat wrote:
d spike wrote:

Well, that's not so different from the belief held by the twits of the previous generation - that speaking proper English can only be done with a British accent. :lol:
(The more things change, the more they stay the same...)

Postby SR » February 11th, 2010, 12:57 pm

devrat wrote:
d spike wrote:

roflmao

listening to too much hip hop artists speak

devrat

Postby devrat » February 11th, 2010, 1:01 pm

d spike wrote:
devrat wrote:
d spike wrote:

Well, that's not so different from the belief held by the twits of the previous generation - that speaking proper English can only be done with a British accent. :lol:
(The more things change, the more they stay the same...)

The same can be said of Trinidad and Tobago politics. :lol:

Postby sMASH » February 12th, 2010, 9:12 am

Oleander wrote:

fleckin disney and nick to thank for that.

many older persons, 50 and over, usually speak with good grammar, come to think of it. with the fast paced fete lifestyle, trinidadians have melded into the present tense westernized culture.

jm3

Postby jm3 » February 12th, 2010, 9:34 am

what i don't get is why people here type as though there there saying it,
that is retarded i know people cant pronounce things properly but come on typing it the same way is going to far. whats so wrong with th?

devrat

Postby devrat » February 12th, 2010, 10:02 am

geodude wrote:i see that when this thread started it was about bad english and not trini english, however it has now becoem a discussion on trini slang, so i say

fack all ah allu, i iz ah trini and thiz iz ah trini site so i going and talk how i feels too , what the arse wrong with allu, stop emulating white ppl and embrace your nationality, american english deviates from true english and yet because of their aggorant nature to everything it is actually recoginised as another languge, but as usual we need to do what the white masters tell we do do so long ago and if we dare deviate from these preset ideas we own ppl does wha kick we arse, trini language is such a unique creation of numerous cultures, peoples and influences and yet many ppl run around trying their best to speak "proper" cause if they didn they might be seen as a normal person. one set ah bullsheit. not just 3ne2ner have 'bad english' its the entire internet,

if allu old ppl too stush or lame to keep up with the younger generation then too bad, language like culture is dynamic not static it evolves as society changes, either accept it , and adapt of stfu and get off the net.

an guess wha i can spell to save meh life and i doh care, i am actually proud of being able to reach where i am without putting in the time and effort to actually learn to spell , :D

Bullsheit....will you encourage your child to think as you do....i think not. :?

And where exactly have you "reached" without being able to spell ?

Postby buzz » February 12th, 2010, 10:34 am

^ trini tuner ole talk

thats it, the pinnacle :lol:

d spike

Postby d spike » February 12th, 2010, 11:18 am

sMASH wrote:
Oleander wrote:

fleckin disney and nick to thank for that.

many older persons, 50 and over, usually speak with good grammar, come to think of it. with the fast paced fete lifestyle, trinidadians have melded into the present tense westernized culture.

That is because:
it was expected of them;
it was taught by people who spoke it;
it was used in their environment, and they were encouraged to use it in society.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 12th, 2010, 11:27 am

to answer d OP's question : yes English Language is still being taught in schools BUT with d heavy influence of jamaican , hip hop & rap music along with some guyanese & trini dialect in d mix kids nowadays tend to write as they speak .

If u typing online its very easy to correct any words u might have spelt bad since it becomes underlined & u just right click & pick d correct spelling ... :|

Postby buzz » February 12th, 2010, 11:28 am

to answer d OP's question : yes English Language is still being taught in schools

then you know what a rhetorical question is then :|

*ducks for cover* :lol:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 12th, 2010, 11:34 am

yes i know bhai ... :lol: .. i jes trying to contribute .... :)

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 12th, 2010, 12:26 pm

d spike wrote:I'm sorry to say that the rationale for learning literature has been lost on some. Deciding for yourself (as a student) what is relevant to your situation is the same as my children deciding what they will eat... All athletes (no matter how great they are) have coaches. If they are so good at what they do, why can't they train themselves? Surely, they would know by now what they need to focus on and how to do it.

Very well said, especially the bolded. ;)

d spike

Postby d spike » February 12th, 2010, 3:42 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

Very well said, especially the bolded. ;)

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 28th, 2010, 10:53 pm

theoutlaw wrote:that car the top was been cut off this have been adjusted i see this around san do often

reading this made my tongue hurt