COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

elec2020

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 210 cases, 8 deaths, 135 discharged in T&T

Postby elec2020 » August 7th, 2020, 6:22 am

^ nice analysis. Very detailed. I like it. I cannot disagree with any points raised. Interestingly enough imf predicts tnt to experience deflation in 2020 or 2021. I think the latest value for inflation is 0.4 per cent. If we fo experience deflation low aggregate demand would serve to worsen prospects for gdp.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 7th, 2020, 7:06 am

More than 300 ttps members are going to be tested as 3 more officers tested +. This time from Besson st station

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 7th, 2020, 7:12 am

Those three that tested positive was in yesterday evening release?
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:More than 300 ttps members are going to be tested as 3 more officers tested +. This time from Besson st station

Postby adnj » August 7th, 2020, 7:30 am

elec2020 wrote:^ nice analysis. Very detailed. I like it. I cannot disagree with any points raised. Interestingly enough imf predicts tnt to experience deflation in 2020 or 2021. I think the latest value for inflation is 0.4 per cent. If we fo experience deflation low aggregate demand would serve to worsen prospects for gdp.
I haven't been following TTO inflation closely but I would not be surprised by deflation.

I would expect reductions in exports of cement, processed food, plastics, and services, etc.; and reductions in consumer imports because of sentiment, income and Customs House practices, etc.. That would drive down profits and employment.

Real wages will fall, consumer rents will fall and commercial spaces will empty.

The US dollar is becoming weaker, so export oil prices will increase because of pricing oil in USD; a weaker dollar will effectively devalue the TTD with rest of world transactions, also.

Postby aaron17 » August 7th, 2020, 7:30 am

You all heard of the 1 dollar US testing in your own home?

Postby K74T » August 7th, 2020, 8:55 am

FB_IMG_1596804825805.jpeg

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 7th, 2020, 9:20 am

aaron17 wrote:You all heard of the 1 dollar US testing in your own home?

send details nah

Postby redmanjp » August 7th, 2020, 9:28 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:More than 300 ttps members are going to be tested as 3 more officers tested +. This time from Besson st station

they testing them even though they are not symptomatic? what about civilians in the service?

Postby Redman » August 7th, 2020, 9:44 am

elec2020 wrote:^ nice analysis. Very detailed. I like it. I cannot disagree with any points raised. Interestingly enough imf predicts tnt to experience deflation in 2020 or 2021. I think the latest value for inflation is 0.4 per cent. If we fo experience deflation low aggregate demand would serve to worsen prospects for gdp.

Just to add that the oil import would be for the refinery...so imports of oil should drop by about 2B USD per year.

Also- to the extent that oil produced here is now exported as opposed to feeding the refinery that increase the exports-weve exported 7.1M BBLS of crude of which Heritage is 4.4M

The above would be netted off by the total importation of Fuels...45% about is for local consumption....the rest is resold for export.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 7th, 2020, 9:45 am

A padna passed Tru that police station the same day an now he has symptoms. Called the hotline an they said don't call back they will contact him if they think he eligible for testing
redmanjp wrote:

they testing them even though they are not symptomatic? what about civilians in the service?

Postby goalpost » August 7th, 2020, 9:49 am

What's the number for today?

ST Auto

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 197 cases, 8 deaths, 135 discharged in T&T

Postby ST Auto » August 7th, 2020, 9:57 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Tuner need to crown shakes.

Cases going up is one thing, if deaths start to increase we in deep trouble.

So far most patients are doing well. Expect at least 14 more by tomorrow

Shakes prediction for today

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 7th, 2020, 10:06 am

ST Auto wrote:

So we looking at 11 today...lol...Big BIG BIG!!! rumors saying a suspected patient died @ SFGH and cod is saying pneumonia.

I am able to confirm EHS picking up persons in central this morning. I wont post exact location

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 7th, 2020, 10:31 am

Guess we will find out soon

Postby K74T » August 7th, 2020, 10:34 am

MoH sticking to release 10am update hmmmm

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 7th, 2020, 10:35 am

No update yet for the day. Like they fraid.

Postby redmanjp » August 7th, 2020, 10:38 am

K74T wrote:MoH sticking to release 10am update hmmmm

yeah- maybe bcuz of d rumours according to shakes

Postby K74T » August 7th, 2020, 10:43 am

K

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 7th, 2020, 10:46 am

So what are the so called rumors exactly?

Postby aaron17 » August 7th, 2020, 10:52 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
aaron17 wrote:You all heard of the 1 dollar US testing in your own home?

send details nah
https://www.yahoo.com/news/most-of-the-coronavirus-tests-the-us-does-are-worthless-but-theres-a-solution-that-could-actually-work-and-stop-the-spread-154815346.html

Postby aaron17 » August 7th, 2020, 10:53 am

I was thinking if this is the same anti body test...

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 7th, 2020, 10:59 am

Iike they forget the update today

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 7th, 2020, 11:05 am

Nah I feel someone died thats why

Postby sMASH » August 7th, 2020, 11:08 am

ST Auto wrote:

So we looking at 11 today...lol...Big BIG BIG!!! rumors saying a suspected patient died @ SFGH and cod is saying pneumonia.

I am able to confirm EHS picking up persons in central this morning. I wont post exact location

if a police stations and immigration office get it, that would be super spreader sites, due to the high traffic.

about st auto response about being eligible for testing... not sure what it means, so not going to put a political spin to it. it could merely be corporate talk to say that they just dont have the resources atm, cause cases comin in like rain. not blaming them for that. its the nature of the beast. gih dem ah rev.

Postby pugboy » August 7th, 2020, 11:17 am

like terry telling them to recheck the figures and shift them to next tuesday

Postby redmanjp » August 7th, 2020, 11:21 am

^the downside to not testing asymptomatic ppl who were exposed is they may also be spreading it and creating more cases- what if on day 10 or 12 of quarantine they become contagious but no symptoms- by day 15 they finish quarantine thinking they fine but possibly still contagious

Postby pugboy » August 7th, 2020, 11:24 am

no, Terry say the WHO chief suggestion of "test, test and more testing" is a bad protocol

he say we not going to test ppl just like that, we only testing ppl with symptoms who show up at health centres
or unless a positive person was in direct contact eg workplace then they will test the coworkers immediately

redmanjp wrote:^the downside to not testing asymptomatic ppl who were exposed is they may also be spreading it and creating more cases- what if on day 10 or 12 of quarantine they become contagious but no symptoms- by day 15 they finish quarantine thinking they fine but possibly still contagious

Postby redmanjp » August 7th, 2020, 11:30 am

pugboy wrote:no, Terry say the WHO chief suggestion of "test, test and more testing" is a bad protocol

he say we not going to test ppl just like that, we only testing ppl with symptoms who show up at health centres
or unless a positive person was in direct contact eg workplace then they will test the coworkers immediately

redmanjp wrote:^the downside to not testing asymptomatic ppl who were exposed is they may also be spreading it and creating more cases- what if on day 10 or 12 of quarantine they become contagious but no symptoms- by day 15 they finish quarantine thinking they fine but possibly still contagious

so only direct primary contacts getting tested?

Postby pugboy » August 7th, 2020, 11:34 am

yes

seems our media not so smart to pickup on this reduced testing strategy of the govt
even though our tests/population is very low and has been highlighted somewhat in various reports but
nobody taking them to task on it.

redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:no, Terry say the WHO chief suggestion of "test, test and more testing" is a bad protocol

wing

Postby wing » August 7th, 2020, 11:34 am

redmanjp wrote:

With the recent surge in positive cases, it's becoming more likely that deaths will occur, if it hasn't happened as yet. Could imagine the beatup in here when deaths do in fact occur....