Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 24th, 2016, 4:23 pm

Update or stick to W7???

Postby Spitfir3 » March 24th, 2016, 6:02 pm

i would say go for the upgrade microsoft seemed to have ironed out all the bugs that plagued users when it just came out

it runs smooth
boots up and shuts down faster than windows 7
DX12
UI looks cleaner
edge actually isn't sheit
more secure than windows 7

also if you don't like it you can just revert back to windows 7 and have the advantage of going back to 10 at anytime since your system will keep the activation once you don't change your motherboard of course

Postby sMASH » April 7th, 2016, 9:31 pm

I tried migrating the Windows 10 OS from the hd to the ssd, and both drives got screwed up. But, I didn't make a boot disc. I had upgraded from a win8. Gonna go by a padnah to format and do back a fresh Install of the 8, and then down load back the 10.

Btw, I like the 10, it has more features, and the lay out is way better than 8.

Postby Spitfir3 » April 8th, 2016, 12:11 am

why not just go to 10 straight?? you're machine is already activated changing something like a harddrive won't break that

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 8th, 2016, 4:25 am

Actually yes. The activation will see a change in hardware and know the hardware ssid has changed. Plus he did say fresh install. So that's starting from the top. No activation there.

Postby sMASH » April 9th, 2016, 8:06 am

In the POST, I saw it was copying files, and then it asked for boot media. Restarted, it sees all drives in the bios. But unable to boot.
Is probably because of the freeware migration tool. But kinda weird how it messed up the OS source drive. Oh well.

But, I not sure how to get windows 10 immediately, I didn't save anything from the 10 OS. I do have a 7 on a disc, and an 8 on a flash.

Postby Morpheus » April 10th, 2016, 12:31 pm

What's the best bang for buck router around?

Heavy use of mobile devices, youtube, streaming sports, some online gaming, Netflix etc.

From my little, half hearted research, I'm looking at Wireless N and at least dual band. Range is somewhat important too.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 10th, 2016, 2:11 pm

its better to take 10 while its free now you save $100 USD. Also windows 10 is their last windows so why would you want to be stuck on an outdated 7?

also windows store games like Killer Instinct and Gears of War 4 and Quantum break that you can't anywhere else except a xbox one.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 11th, 2016, 7:19 am

Morpheus wrote:What's the best bang for buck router around?

Heavy use of mobile devices, youtube, streaming sports, some online gaming, Netflix etc.

From my little, half hearted research, I'm looking at Wireless N and at least dual band. Range is somewhat important too.

Apple Express or Apple Extreme. Especially if wireless is priority and range. Talking from experience here, to the point where my boss uses these as our work "floating" router incase of emergencies or need be to provide an area with wifi for a meeting.. etc.

Postby skylinechild » April 11th, 2016, 8:46 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:its better to take 10 while its free now you save $100 USD. Also windows 10 is their last windows so why would you want to be stuck on an outdated 7?

also windows store games like Killer Instinct and Gears of War 4 and Quantum break that you can't anywhere else except a xbox one.

windows 10 is more updated...... more secure.....and its free...for now.
and your windows 8 key will allow you to install and activate windows 10 - since nov 2015.

move up to windows 10 now and get it free.

Arcmanov

Re: RE: Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Arcmanov » April 15th, 2016, 1:21 am

Morpheus wrote:What's the best bang for buck router around?

Asus RT-N66U.

It so good, I buying a next one.
(Not available locally though)

HSA

Postby HSA » April 15th, 2016, 9:13 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:its better to take 10 while its free now you save $100 USD. Also windows 10 is their last windows so why would you want to be stuck on an outdated 7?

anyone with win10 start button not working... if i look closely the symbol is being clicked but its not coming up.....mouse is working fine btw

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 15th, 2016, 4:26 pm

Just bought a hyper x cloud core headset from pricemart but I saw a turtle beach recon in west mall for around the same price anyone know which is the better headset? I only wanted to be able to give talk online lol

Postby sMASH » April 15th, 2016, 4:51 pm

@hsa so far no problems. And win10 on ssd is the shizz

cheese

Postby cheese » April 15th, 2016, 10:53 pm

So I'll be building my first gaming PC. I've put together some parts on pcpartpicker. I'm not sure if its best to purchase everything online or source locally (i.e. if the parts I have in mind are available). I welcome all feedback whether positive or negative. Please let me know if its a good combination of parts.

https://pcpartpicker.com/user/trinigamer1234/saved/

Postby sMASH » April 16th, 2016, 12:16 am

If u can afford a 980 go for that. Ive used both and the 980 has the room to last a lot more years.

iselltt

Postby iselltt » April 16th, 2016, 12:26 am

cheese wrote:So I'll be building my first gaming PC. I've put together some parts on pcpartpicker. I'm not sure if its best to purchase everything online or source locally (i.e. if the parts I have in mind are available). I welcome all feedback whether positive or negative. Please let me know if its a good combination of parts.

I can bring in your parts cheap. Even cases. I'm practically the cheapest in the country

iselltt

Postby iselltt » April 16th, 2016, 12:32 am

Currently build a system for resale as well parts list are as follows:
IMG_20160416_003129.jpg

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 16th, 2016, 2:12 pm

cheese wrote:So I'll be building my first gaming PC. I've put together some parts on pcpartpicker. I'm not sure if its best to purchase everything online or source locally (i.e. if the parts I have in mind are available). I welcome all feedback whether positive or negative. Please let me know if its a good combination of parts.

The parts seem decent

Personally I would ditch the cooler and put the money saved towards a newer processor and motherboard. The 8320 while good is starting to show its age (high power consumption and runs quite hot).

I would join the intel camp and select either

(Latest Gen Intel/uses DDR4)
Core I5-6500 ~ $210
ASUS H110M-PLUS LGA 1151 motherboard~ $70

or

(Older Gen Intel/ uses DDR3 memory)
Core I5-4590 ~ $190
MSI H81M-E34 LGA 1150 motherboard~ $51

You wouldn't be able to overclock either processor much if at all but that means that the stock cooler will be adequate. You would also be giving up extra Memory slots but 16gb is more than enough. DDR4 memory cost about the same as DDR3 currently.

I didn't see a hard drive listed but those can be had locally at decent prices; yes i see the ssd but you will fill that in no time.
Didn't see an optical drive, neither a position in the case for one; I take it you know how to install OS from a USB key and have another machine to help you get setup. It really is a pain when you find out the network drivers are on a CD and ...well you understand

Postby Spitfir3 » April 16th, 2016, 6:01 pm

@cheese

that amd processor is pretty good but the main problem with it is there's no room for upgrade with that platform
i would more recommend you go with a 4th or 5th gen i5 processor since this will stand the test of time better or since you're building from scratch go with skylake

aesthitics aside personally i think those 120mm aio liquid coolers ain't worth it for the price, i ended up buying a 240mm aio liquid cooler and it works really damn well

would recommend you go with at least 1600mhz memory if you're going the ddr3 route most boards can support but always check the specs to be sure

the gtx970 is a really good card and will run any game on the market today @ 1080p, if you're a heavy gamer that always plays the latest and most demanding triple a titles then like smash said a 980 would probably suit you better for future sake but again it really depends on what kind of games you play obviously you don't want to spend big money on a gpu if all you play is tf2,csgo,DOTA2 and COD

that case is really nice and i was actually thinking about buying that myself but i went with a corsair instead, just keep in mind that case has no place for an optical drive, shouldn't be a problem if you have an external or if you just don't use cd's

cheese

Postby cheese » April 17th, 2016, 7:54 am

Thank you for the feed back.

@ kamikaze @ Spitfire

Where do you recommend I purchase these items? What average would i be looking at?

iselltt

Postby iselltt » April 17th, 2016, 7:52 pm

@cheese all you hadda do is drop in a socket 1150 Cpu and yuh good. Built to run mac os and windows
system.PNG

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 18th, 2016, 7:18 pm

Probably want to put the rig together himself

Postby DVSTT » April 23rd, 2016, 4:45 pm

Guys my alienware 15 has started crashing WiFi networks. Happens at home and at some of my friends houses. Any idea how to fix it? I've updated drivers, rolled back drivers, uninstalled and reinstalled, factory reset and setup the network, still nothing works. I don't know what to do. :(

C & C Trading

Postby C & C Trading » April 27th, 2016, 2:35 pm

HSA

Postby HSA » April 29th, 2016, 1:35 pm

Tuners, looking for a used gpu....must be able to play bf4 at 1440x900 resolution

iselltt

Postby iselltt » April 29th, 2016, 6:06 pm

HSA i got an asus gtx 760 direct cu ii

https://www.asus.com/Graphics-Cards/GTX760DC2OC2GD5/

check it out , i'll let it go for $1100.00 if you interested

iselltt

Postby iselltt » May 1st, 2016, 3:44 pm

looking for a 4690k or 4790k.

iselltt

Postby iselltt » May 6th, 2016, 10:43 pm

Anyone watched the launch of the 1080 GTX and the 1070 GTX? 3 times the performance and efficiency of a Titan X,
1080 would run for about $549 for the regular version and Developers edition which they claim can handle massive overclocking shld run about $649, 1070 would run about $349 for the regular version and Developers edition $$449

brickman

Re: RE: Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby brickman » May 7th, 2016, 12:51 am

DVSTT wrote:Guys my alienware 15 has started crashing WiFi networks. Happens at home and at some of my friends houses. Any idea how to fix it? I've updated drivers, rolled back drivers, uninstalled and reinstalled, factory reset and setup the network, still nothing works. I don't know what to do. :(

Could be the simple let windows turn it off to save power setting is on,worst is the wifi card is dying.