The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

mojosodope

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby mojosodope » April 11th, 2012, 10:51 am

^ different carriers have specific model numbers for their iPhones, go into settings > about and google your model number, if you don't get anything you'll have to do a carrier search on it

http://cutyoursim.com/index.php/iphone- ... ector.html

will save you money in the end but most likely you'll find which carrier it's locked to by googling

xvirus

Postby xvirus » April 11th, 2012, 10:58 am

@mojosodope first of all many thanks for reply,iphone is on itunes logo and saying."no sim card installed,insert a valid sim with no pin lock to activate iphone. so i cant go into settings or anything.

Postby M_2NR » April 11th, 2012, 11:28 am

Chill_Factor wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:so what is the process to get my fone unlocked?

Bess you go back to primary school yes and learn some English or get your eyes checked. You didn't see the link above?

Oh and i made it a bit clearer, the post. I'll try and update it with a FAQ as well

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 11th, 2012, 11:30 am

@ xvirus no problem, you can still find the imei by pressing the little 'i' logo I think.
It's been a while since I've jailbroken anything but I think there is 4S jailbreak out if its on 5.0.1, meaning you can hacktivate

there's probably a good chance its on AT&T and if it is there are many tuners with AT&T sim cards you can ask to borrow (or buy) to get you past the activate screen.

xvirus

Postby xvirus » April 11th, 2012, 12:03 pm

yupp jailbrake is out http://greenpois0n.com/ ,but program asking to activate first :( ....think i'll call my aunt and ask her to send me the sim to activate it.....and again @mojosodope thanks.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 11th, 2012, 1:01 pm

any way to tell if a fone is still under contract?

iDynamic

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby iDynamic » April 11th, 2012, 1:23 pm

shaq090 wrote:
mojosodope wrote:if it's AT&T locked call them with the IMEI # and see if the previous owner (or if it's your account) has fulfilled their 2 year contract or paid the early termination fee. If either of these qualifications aren't met you're out of luck.

if it's locked to a non- AT&T network check this site out, offers reasonable iPhone unlocks for multiple carriers

http://cutyoursim.com/

nd if its bmobile?

Gevey sim for that !

xvirus wrote:or well the main thing is that yu unlocked.....take a iboss for that :lol:

iThanks

007_1

Postby 007_1 » April 11th, 2012, 4:13 pm

any 1 has an idea how much free apps there is available for the iphone/ipod touch on the itunes store?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 11th, 2012, 4:31 pm

007_1 wrote:any 1 has an idea how much free apps there is available for the iphone/ipod touch on the itunes store?
hundreds of thousands

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » April 11th, 2012, 5:21 pm

mojosodope wrote:As per Apple's list of authorised carriers bmobile is supposed to unlock iPhones

Can you explain the process of this please? For bmobile that is

Postby M_2NR » April 11th, 2012, 5:23 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
mojosodope wrote:As per Apple's list of authorised carriers bmobile is supposed to unlock iPhones

Can you explain the process of this please? For bmobile that is

Theoretically, you will need to call in or visit them.
As usual bmobile will hit you a run around so expect that.
tell them you saw it here:
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1937

When i spoke to them a while ago as in when the 4 launched, they said they have no idea what i spoke of. Then again that Supervisor told me the sim is a special sim and regular bmobile sims won't work.... :lol: oh yes i need to find back those recordings... LOL

xtech

Postby xtech » April 11th, 2012, 7:01 pm

just spent exactly 20mins on skype with a very friendly AT&T CSR .......told her everything truthfully...brought both 4 iPhones of ebay all locked got a 2G, 3G, 3Gs and a 4.
She said no problem give the first IMEI code let me see if its out of contract :shock:
one by one they all passed

she asked for my name contact number an email said someone will contact me by 19th

result.......... 4 factory unlocked iPhones :drinking: :drinking:

the 3G has a ipad baseband lol

fellas better call in quick before AT&T tightens grip on past customer verification procedures

Postby M_2NR » April 11th, 2012, 7:12 pm

^eh when u get a chance, let me know if the unlock works fully on the iPad baseband as in if you can delete ultrasn0w and it works? thanks!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 11th, 2012, 7:15 pm

xtech, where yuh get d skype contact from?

xtech

Postby xtech » April 11th, 2012, 7:18 pm

i forgot to mention i called about 8 times (4 times today - 4 times yesterday) before i got a csr who was willing to work with me. so dont give up

xvirus

Postby xvirus » April 11th, 2012, 7:41 pm

@ryan99tt try calling this number for AT&T Simply dial 1-800-CALL-ATT (1-800-225-5288)

xtech

Postby xtech » April 11th, 2012, 7:47 pm

all 800 numbers are toll free on skype

ryan

Got ATT email today!!

Postby ryan » April 11th, 2012, 8:05 pm

Thank you for contacting AT&T Customer Care about unlocking your iPhone. We have reviewed your request and confirmed that you are eligible to have the requested iPhone unlocked.
To complete the unlock, simply:
1. Open iTunes on your Mac or PC and verify that you have internet connectivity.
2. Connect your iPhone using the dock connector to USB cable that came with your iPhone.
3. Backup and restore your iPhone using iTunes .
For information on backup and restore, please visit http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1414.
4. After restoring, your iPhone will be unlocked.
Additional information on unlocking can be found at http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3198.
For questions regarding AT&T’s wireless service and iPhone, please visit the Phone/Device Learning Center. We thank you for your continued business and look forward to providing you with the best customer service.

Thank you for contacting AT&T Mobility. We appreciate your business.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 11th, 2012, 9:10 pm

The new $399 iPad 2 uses a tweaked 32nm A5 chip, which may help it get better battery life

As far as we’re concerned, the cheaper $399 iPad 2 is the most important device that Apple announced back in March. Now an interesting new detail has been revealed about the price-sliced tablet. It uses a revised version of its A5 processor that has been built on the 32nm Samsung High-K + Metal Gate process, reports Brian Klug at Anandtech.

The chip dissection experts at Chipworks had torn down the processor (actually a System on a Chip) of the new Apple TV third gen, which was also based on the A5. It found that a 32nm process was also used for this chip, which appears to be harvested from larger runs that have a faulty core, as only a single core is enabled. This is a new approach for Apple and the first time it had used this smaller process.

Now it appears that the iPad 2 models being produced currently also use an SoC built on the 32nm process. According to Klug, if your iPad 2 comes with iOS 5.0.1 on it out of the box, it’s an iPad2,1, not the newer iPad2,4, which should come with iOS 5.1 installed.

Using a smaller process in the Apple TV and the older iPad makes sense as it will eventually move to this 32nm size for all of its manufacturing. Putting it into what may be a lower volume product like the Apple TV and a lower profile item like the iPad 2 gives Apple time to shake down its manufacturing tree before it rolls out the smaller process in future iPhone and iPads.

The importance of a smaller process for an SoC lies primarily in battery life. As we’ve explored, the battery is one of the biggest limiters of new technology being included in Apple’s future products. Using the smaller, lower-power process will give the next iPhone an edge in battery life.

This may indicate that the ‘new’ iPad 2, which is dubbed ‘iPad2,4′ by Apple, will end up getting slightly better battery life than the older iPad 2 models produced without the smaller process SoC.

Klug says that he will investigate the ‘new old iPad 2′ to see if there is indeed a difference in A5 power consumption after it was switched over to the 32nm process. A big power savings could help answer some questions about the battery life of the next iPad and iPhone.

xvirus

Postby xvirus » April 11th, 2012, 9:41 pm

fellers help! i need a fido sim....i'll pay anything under $500.....asap!

xvirus

Postby xvirus » April 11th, 2012, 9:48 pm

xvirus wrote:fellers help! i need a fido sim....i'll pay anything under $500.....asap!

this is what i need http://www.fido.ca/web/page/portal/Fido/SmartCard it's only $10 i willing to pay $500!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 11th, 2012, 10:47 pm

just saw this as a daily deal on Cariszone

$100 iTunes gift card for $627.77

http://www.cariszone.com/categories/ele ... d-100.html

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 11th, 2012, 11:00 pm

^ they probably bought a bunch of $100 gift cards from best buy yesterday when it was on sale for $80

@xtech congrats man, hope they get unlocked

Once the csr is knowledgable they will unlock the phones but only if they are out of contract or etf has been paid, currently no other way exists to have them legit unlocked.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » April 12th, 2012, 1:07 am

xvirus wrote:
xvirus wrote:fellers help! i need a fido sim....i'll pay anything under $500.....asap!

this is what i need http://www.fido.ca/web/page/portal/Fido/SmartCard it's only $10 i willing to pay $500!

I have one no I not charging u $500 for it , will lend you it for free jus make sure and bring it back

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » April 12th, 2012, 1:09 am

Let me know if you need it to be converted to micro sim specs I'll chop it.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » April 12th, 2012, 8:42 am

fellas has anyone shipped an ipad via skybox?? wanted an idea of the cost to clear it thanks

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 12th, 2012, 8:50 am

iM@st@1 wrote:fellas has anyone shipped an ipad via skybox?? wanted an idea of the cost to clear it thanks

5 dalla!!

casper

Postby casper » April 12th, 2012, 8:55 am

i shipped in my ipad 3 via skybox with websource...paid $92.13 to clear it

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » April 12th, 2012, 9:43 am

Thanks bro

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » April 12th, 2012, 10:07 am

^ yea them thing doesnt cost alot.... its tax and duty free.... so u only pay for the actual weight of the product.... 90 something is probly about 3-5 pounds depending on who u use