PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 5th, 2015, 9:05 pm

Someone's selling a brand new "3770k" but on the underside of the box on the label I noticed

2.5GHz?

DTAC

Postby DTAC » December 5th, 2015, 9:33 pm

The Ghz would be correct if it's a "T". But a "K"?? That's really odd. The barcode is correct though. Just the Ghz is wrong. You'd have to check on the chip itself to be totally sure which it is.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 5th, 2015, 9:42 pm

Man on folly :?

NR8

Postby NR8 » December 13th, 2015, 9:33 pm

Hey guys, I need some help. I've got this older PC lying around since I upgraded earlier this year and so decided to rebuild it to give it to my 5 y.o. cousin for Christmas. It's a basic Biostar AM2+ board with AMD Sempron processor that I wanted him to learn how to use. Everything was working up until a couple months ago when I last checked it.

Today I put in a new disc drive, HDD and some new RAM and turned it on but got no signal on the monitor, even though the fans were spinning and stuff. Then smelt and saw smoke coming out the case so I immediately shut it off. Upon inspection I saw one of the ram slots and sticks were burnt. This is new DDR2 ram I recently bought. See pics below. It still powers up when I turn it on with the ram removed now and even with an older working stick installed but no video.

Can anyone advise on what could've caused this and how to tell if the mobo and processor are still good? If the mobo is gone but CPU good I could just get a new mobo, as this was supposed to be a cheap/ basic upgrade PC. Everything was working up until a couple months ago when I last checked it.
20151213_172815.jpg

20151213_173013.jpg

Postby Spitfir3 » December 14th, 2015, 10:38 am

last time i saw that happen it was because the ram wasn't compatible with the motherboard in my case the system was an old ass dell

same problem as you no display but everything powers on but the ram sticks got EXTREMELY hot i actually got my finger burnt however i was able to power down the system before any real damage was done

chances are the cpu should be alright but that board definitely needs to be changed
you would have to scour the forums to look for an old used one because you won't be finding any new ddr2 boards

NR8

Postby NR8 » December 14th, 2015, 11:39 am

Thanks man. The ram did get hot when it happened but the new sticks are the same as the old one I had, DDR2 800. It looks like the board is fried.

Wizz and Supertech have AM2 boards for around $400-450. Trying to decide whether to just replace the board or a get a mobo/cpu/ram combo for around $800.

Postby skylinechild » December 14th, 2015, 1:14 pm

NR8 wrote:Thanks man. The ram did get hot when it happened but the new sticks are the same as the old one I had, DDR2 800. It looks like the board is fried.

Wizz and Supertech have AM2 boards for around $400-450. Trying to decide whether to just replace the board or a get a mobo/cpu/ram combo for around $800.

thats too much $$ for an AM2 board tbh. look online and see if you can get a better board for a lower price.

Postby nervewrecker » December 15th, 2015, 2:21 pm

Anyone want it? Never open, free

Sent from my ONE E1005 using Tapatalk

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 15th, 2015, 2:57 pm

Use it as a cup holder, only thing dat good for. #serious

Postby Spitfir3 » December 15th, 2015, 4:48 pm

play Frisbee with it i actually fling way 5 of those yesterday
got em with the evos

Postby sMASH » December 16th, 2015, 8:27 pm

NR8 wrote:Thanks man. The ram did get hot when it happened but the new sticks are the same as the old one I had, DDR2 800. It looks like the board is fried.

Supertech have a decent amd combo with a 6 core agp and 4gigs ddr3 ram for 1100 or so.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » December 18th, 2015, 8:45 pm

Anyone know where i can get a Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti?...

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 20th, 2015, 12:07 pm

-Roach- wrote:Anyone know where i can get a Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti?...

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=653371&hilit=graphics

Else ebay for it.

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 20th, 2015, 2:11 pm

eBay but be prepared for weird charges sometimes they charge as electronic device which makes it expensive well a 560 shouldn't cost much anyway

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 20th, 2015, 2:12 pm

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 20th, 2015, 2:31 pm

jm3 wrote:eBay but be prepared for weird charges sometimes they charge as electronic device which makes it expensive well a 560 shouldn't cost much anyway

All the parts i ordered from ebay in the past i prealerted as 'used' [item name], only got charged vat twice cuz the items looked new. :?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 22nd, 2015, 10:05 pm

-Roach- wrote:Anyone know where i can get a Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Ti?...

You don't want a 560 Ti its too out dated. Like is SLI you want to run or what?

In any event you can get a GTX 960 at a cheap price and its better than 560 in SLI anyways. Doh waste money on a 500 series. Besides games now want 2GB ram minimum, You want 3GB and 4GB VRAM

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 23rd, 2015, 8:47 am

My 560 SC spoil in August.
Using a 750 as my daily now

BTW any Win 10 users???
Contemplating trying it on my other rig...been getting mixed reviews about it :?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 23rd, 2015, 11:51 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:My 560 SC spoil in August.
Using a 750 as my daily now

BTW any Win 10 users???
Contemplating trying it on my other rig...been getting mixed reviews about it :?

Had a 750 before, was a real decent card.

Used win 10 when it came out on my laptop. It nuh bad for normal tasks, starts up faster and runs apps a bit faster than win 7. Haven't tried it on a gaming system doh (still using win 7 for gaming).

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 23rd, 2015, 6:53 pm

Hmm i'll give it a try and see.
wrt to the same rig I was leak testing it today and had a minor spill.
No power was in the board tho...just bridged the PSU to power on the pump.
It had Blue waters in it...is that conductive??
I know distilled water is supposed to be non conductive but I just wanna be sure :cry:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 23rd, 2015, 7:09 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Hmm i'll give it a try and see.
wrt to the same rig I was leak testing it today and had a minor spill.
No power was in the board tho...just bridged the PSU to power on the pump.
It had Blue waters in it...is that conductive??
I know distilled water is supposed to be non conductive but I just wanna be sure :cry:

Can't say i used bottled water in any pc liquid cooling setups nah, distilled/battery water not conductive cuz i had two spills already and the boards still worked fine after drying.

Once u dry the components properly there shouldn't be a problem since teh water hasn't been in the loop long enough to pick up any ions from the metal cooling parts. I dried my boards with paper towels and used a heat gun to dry them after.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 23rd, 2015, 9:36 pm

I wipped it as soon as I saw the drips with cloth and paper towels. AC been off since to keep the room warm as well.

Still have the loop running though. Running well so far.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 23rd, 2015, 10:33 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:I wipped it as soon as I saw the drips with cloth and paper towels. AC been off since to keep the room warm as well.

Still have the loop running though. Running well so far.

Thas like 2 120mm and a 240mm rad in there?

Seems excessive if is just the board and cpu u cooling.

Back in d day i had a triple 120mm rad cooling an i7 930 @ 4.3ghz and 2 radeon hd 5970's max oc and had good temps.

Or u plan on vga cooling later on?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 23rd, 2015, 11:00 pm

Yeah in the future hopefully :lol:

I still beating up over the spill tho :cry:

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » December 23rd, 2015, 11:45 pm

Unfortunately, Blue Waters is very conductive. Found that out the hard way myself. Wrecked a GTX 970 in the process when my loop sprung a leak right by the CPU block inlet.

(Thank god for Amazon 30-day replacement policy :) )

SM-N910H | Dr Ketan's ROM v2.0 (KitKat 4.4.4) | SwiftKey | Tapatalk Pro

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 23rd, 2015, 11:53 pm

Geez.
Happened while the PC was on???

Still have mine haven't connected the PSU to mine...just have the loop running

Postby sMASH » December 24th, 2015, 4:20 pm

Here's an idea; the same waterproofing for the internals of the iPhone, can it be done on pc components?

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » December 24th, 2015, 4:48 pm

Anyone have a 120 or 240 rad they wanna sell? If it comes with 3/8id barbs that would be nice too.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 24th, 2015, 5:09 pm

sMASH wrote:Here's an idea; the same waterproofing for the internals of the iPhone, can it be done on pc components?

Yes it can be done, nano coating i believe it's called. Looked into doing it myself but never got around to it

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » December 24th, 2015, 8:24 pm

Yeah, PC was on. Just started seeing artefacts and looked in to see what was wrong, and was shocked to see liquid pooling on the video card.

Of course you know I shut down one time, but by then, it was too late.

After that...it was back to Feser non-conductive coolant yes.
I ent goin thru dat again nah.

SM-N910H | Dr Ketan's ROM v2.0 (KitKat 4.4.4) | SwiftKey | Tapatalk Pro