COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

elec2020

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 197 cases, 8 deaths, 135 discharged in T&T

Postby elec2020 » August 5th, 2020, 2:21 pm

sMASH wrote:
bluefete wrote:
K74T wrote:SEA classes discontinued from tomorrow. Exams still set for the 20th.

Rowley said that? I did not hear it.

But if true, they are trying to minimize children getting covid after 6th August because of quarantine.

Children would not be able to write SEA if they get it from 7th August.

schools are a superspreader group that is very hard to manage. too much chance and time in contact for it to spread out of control. this is just them operating vi ki vi. do sumting, change it, do sumting else again, change it again. thier use of the word 'managed' should really be 'slow and reactionary'.

if rowley win election again, is lock down.

He would be contradicting himself though as he said billions were available then to lockdown but now that kind of money not there again. So he hinting imo that of pnm wins there would be no more lockdowns.

Postby redmanjp » August 5th, 2020, 2:28 pm

u could just have targeted lockdowns on the risky areas -bars & restaurants- the latter could stay open without dining so he just will have to support the bar owners

beaches should close too- no economic fallout from dat (except richard's bake & shark)
Last edited by redmanjp on August 5th, 2020, 2:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

blitz83

Postby blitz83 » August 5th, 2020, 2:28 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I living El Dorado so my area is marginal

I promise Maxpower I would vote PNM so i need to keep my promise. Tax free smartphones and computers is reason enough for me to break quarantine for PNM

This is our one and only chance to get rid of all tax on these items so i urge everyone of you to go out snd vote PNM

I thought you living St. Helena- yuh upgrade?

Postby K74T » August 5th, 2020, 2:28 pm

Key Points From Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley’s Media Conference on COVID-19 – Wednesday August 5th 2020:

Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley announced that Standard 5 SEA students will not attend classes at their schools from tomorrow, but will continue their preparation from home. He said Government remains committed to having the exam on August 20th.

The date for the reopening of schools remains September 1st but Government and health officials are monitoring the virus and based on what comes up in the next week or two, a review and an adjustment will be made. The Prime Minister said when the time comes, Government will open schools with some element of risk management.

PM Rowley expressed disappointment in TTUTA's call for teachers to stop SEA preparation classes yesterday. TTUTA's call came before Government took the decision to stop classes in a school setting. Prime Minister Rowley asked that everyone, including unions, work with the national protocol.

Public Service rotation continues in a bid to limit the spread of COVID-19 in the population. Prime Minister Rowley said private sector businesses have been very cooperative and made adjustments to limit the spread of the virus at their establishments. However, bars and restaurants remain a threat and the police have been urged to enforce the law. The Prime Minister said people who are organising parties and encouraging congregation are threatening the safety of the population.

PM Rowley said Government does not have billions of dollars to make funds available to citizens if the country goes into another lockdown. He is therefore asking citizens to remain vigilant and practice proper hygiene.

The General Election will take place on Monday August 10th 2020. PM Rowley said the threshold for postponing the election has not been met. The virus is not raging in the population. The hospital system is also not overwhelmed at this time.

The Ministry of Health will have a Press Conference on Saturday with further COVID-19 updates. The next Briefing will take place after the General Election. PM Rowley urged people to follow health protocols in the coming days. Do not congregate, election victory or not.

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh reminded the population of the statement made by the Director-General of the World Health Organization, Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, who said COVID-19 should not be politicised. He said solidarity is required to beat COVID-19.

Technical Director, Epidemiology Division at the Ministry of Health, Dr. Avery Hinds, noted that two or three bars have been implicated in "a fair amount of super spreading events" but health officials continue to aggressively trace, chase and test. Dr. Hinds said the majority of recent Positive COVID-19 patients were identified through active and aggressive contact tracing, which helped contain the spread of the virus in the population. He explained that this was because persons who were identified as Primary and Secondary contacts were quarantined before testing and results came back.

Currently, there are 51 people hospitalised for COVID-19. They are clinically Stable.
CAURA: 40
COUVA: 11

The following is the breakdown of persons quarantined at various facilities in T&T.
ARIMA GENERAL HOSPITAL: 2
CASCADIA: 17
CAURA: 4 (Adults linked to children)
COUVA: 2
CHANCELLOR HOTEL: 14
HILTON: 170 (CPL)
HOME OF FOOTBALL: 13
NAPA: 10
REGENT STAR: 58
UWI DEBE CAMPUS: 1

Paria Suites (64 rooms) will be added to the list of Quarantine facilities.

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2020, 2:49 pm

bingo

elec2020 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
bluefete wrote:
K74T wrote:SEA classes discontinued from tomorrow. Exams still set for the 20th.

But if true, they are trying to minimize children getting covid after 6th August because of quarantine.

schools are a superspreader group that is very hard to manage. too much chance and time in contact for it to spread out of control. this is just them operating vi ki vi. do sumting, change it, do sumting else again, change it again. thier use of the word 'managed' should really be 'slow and reactionary'.

He would be contradicting himself though as he said billions were available then to lockdown but now that kind of money not there again. So he hinting imo that of pnm wins there would be no more lockdowns.

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2020, 2:54 pm

those were the typical targets, sealots bathers etc, yet folks down the islands carrying on normel

right now it’s groups of 10

very easy to catch, lewwe see if gg gung-ho like how he shut down sauce because he perceive they might have a crowd of more than 10 lined up
somehow i don’t feel so

redmanjp wrote:
pugboy wrote:allyuh think gg gonna go arrest crowds in them bars and ting ?

he is a classic case of a hot and cold man

he gone cold with that scene long time
he doh even go after venes again

why not? dey didn't arrest ppl in covid parties earlier?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 5th, 2020, 3:09 pm

In all honesty UNC's Covid-19 plan is quite good and much better than what PNM is currently doing.

Postby Gladiator » August 5th, 2020, 3:12 pm

Imagine if it wasn't for COVID19, what would the PNM have based their campaign around???

carluva

Postby carluva » August 5th, 2020, 3:12 pm

Where can I access that plan dohplaydat?

Postby toyolink » August 5th, 2020, 3:16 pm

Our fortunes going forward with Covid19 may very well mirror our H1N1 experience over time except the death rate and suffering of the infected may be worse.
How we do going forward may rest solidly on the shoulders of every citizen since its unrealistic to anticipate the state to maintain a parallel health care system indefinitely.
Our statistical infection rate for the flu was bad and one can expect that if we continue doing what we had become accustom to in terms of personal hygiene we are in for some sad days.
The numbers today strongly suggest that many of us are refusing to follow the rules and we may very well suffer the debacle which our north american neighbours are today experiencing.
The funny thing is that those who may suffer the most would be those who are trying their best to avoid infection because of their vulnerability or our children who depend on us to keep them safe.

Postby redmanjp » August 5th, 2020, 3:17 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:In all honesty UNC's Covid-19 plan is quite good and much better than what PNM is currently doing.

i hope so- but earlier they were saying open the borders- if that was their plan and they win then come next week crapaud smoke we pipe because covid will invade T&T

Postby goalpost » August 5th, 2020, 3:39 pm

pugboy wrote:bingo

elec2020 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Wtf he spend billions on? Covid relief, my arse. But every radio station have PNM ads pumping nearly whole day. Daz where d money went?

But anyways, look and see how they go miraculously find money for a lockdown after elections.

Postby j.o.e » August 5th, 2020, 3:45 pm

Saying we can’t afford a lockdown is not only about govt funding. If you looked at the press conference today he spoke about the US saying 25% of its restaurants will never come back. He’s saying that the business community, employees etc can’t afford it.

Postby redmanjp » August 5th, 2020, 3:56 pm

j.o.e wrote:Saying we can’t afford a lockdown is not only about govt funding. If you looked at the press conference today he spoke about the US saying 25% of its restaurants will never come back. He’s saying that the business community, employees etc can’t afford it.

isn't the govt funding going towards them? they can't afford it even though Govt will fund them during a lockdown?

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2020, 3:56 pm

but in the same breath they admit bars are spreader sites

j.o.e wrote:Saying we can’t afford a lockdown is not only about govt funding. If you looked at the press conference today he spoke about the US saying 25% of its restaurants will never come back. He’s saying that the business community, employees etc can’t afford it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 5th, 2020, 3:58 pm

Rowley is right you can't lock down restaurants.

But we can lock down bars since those are completely useless and only encourages criminal activities / drunk driving which kills innocent people on the roads.

Bars never coming back is going to be the best thing that will ever happen to this country along with all the useless dotish music truck waking up people and setting of alarms breaking the law

Bars put a strain on the public healthcare, everyday is some useless bunch of arseholes seeking emergency treatment at public expense because they got a buss head or stab in a bar for doing the donkey wine on some next man gyul.

These bars are cancer
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 5th, 2020, 3:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby j.o.e » August 5th, 2020, 3:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:

isn't the govt funding going towards them? they can't afford it even though Govt will fund them during a lockdown?

I don’t know of any govt funding to keep a business open, staff employed etc.
if as a business you have to close, you have no customers, can’t pay rent, pay staff

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 5th, 2020, 4:09 pm

^ too my knowledge government has provided no grants to businesses

killercow

Postby killercow » August 5th, 2020, 4:11 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Rowley is right you can't lock down restaurants.

But we can lock down bars since those are completely useless and only encourages criminal activities / drunk driving which kills innocent people on the roads.

Bars never coming back is going to be the best thing that will ever happen to this country along with all the useless dotish music truck waking up people and setting of alarms breaking the law

Bars put a strain on the public healthcare, everyday is some useless bunch of arseholes seeking emergency treatment at public expense because they got a buss head or stab in a bar for doing the donkey wine on some next man gyul.

These bars are cancer
Wasn't it stated during the lockdown that during the time that bars were closed, there was an increase in the number of reported domestic violence cases?

Postby aaron17 » August 5th, 2020, 4:13 pm

Bars will eventually sprout up like weed grass outa nowhere...jus like that.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 5th, 2020, 4:19 pm

The increase in domestic violence when they closed down bars and just about everything else is a result of men being home. They were home more often so they beat their wife more often or rape their children more often.

It doesn't change the fact that they still go to the bars and drink rum and come home and beat and rape their wife and kids. That was always going on long time now, it is a failure of the public education system. Opening bars for people to go drink more RUM isn't exactly the solution to domestic violence you know.

We need better counseling and better early childhood education these are the solution to stamping out domestic violence, NOT drinking more RUM.

It is absurd to think that Drinking more Rum in a bar is the solution to Domestic Violence.

Studies have shown the more educated a society becomes the more civilized they become and the lower the domestic violence. Also studies have shown RUM increases domestic violence and rape.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 5th, 2020, 4:24 pm

And this is exactly why the voting public has a SERIOUS problem with Kamla. Not the UNC the voting Public doesn't have an issue with the UNC or Indian people etc technically but infact Kamla is the one they have an issue with.

Civilized people understand the dangers of RUM, Kamla abuses RUM.

Right thinking people do not want a leader like that because it sets a bad example for the children, RUM is no joking matter it is responsible for countless road fatalities, domestic abuse and rape. And with Covid it is double trouble because it encourages confrontation and people shouting and spitting in other people face because Drunk lunatics cannot be reasoned with.

A new leader for UNC would have easily beaten PNM this election, so long as that leader isn't Coonilal tho.

Say what you want about PNM people but they don't abuse Rum, they abuse Cannabis and there is nothing wrong whatsoever with abusing Cannabis. Studies have shown that abusing Cannabis may help you live longer and healthier and prevent Alzheimer disease. Meanwhile there are no positive benefits to abusing Rum

Postby Les Bain » August 5th, 2020, 4:56 pm

Can somebody explain this dome thing the local unfunny meme society having fun with?

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 5th, 2020, 4:58 pm

Ed u cud make one post without pnm & unc? U getting boring
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:And this is exactly why the voting public has a SERIOUS problem with Kamla. Not the UNC the voting Public doesn't have an issue with the UNC or Indian people etc technically but infact Kamla is the one they have an issue with.

Civilized people understand the dangers of RUM, Kamla abuses RUM.

Right thinking people do not want a leader like that because it sets a bad example for the children, RUM is no joking matter it is responsible for countless road fatalities, domestic abuse and rape. And with Covid it is double trouble because it encourages confrontation and people shouting and spitting in other people face because Drunk lunatics cannot be reasoned with.

A new leader for UNC would have easily beaten PNM this election, so long as that leader isn't Coonilal tho.

Say what you want about PNM people but they don't abuse Rum, they abuse Cannabis and there is nothing wrong whatsoever with abusing Cannabis. Studies have shown that abusing Cannabis may help you live longer and healthier and prevent Alzheimer disease. Meanwhile there are no positive benefits to abusing Rum

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 5th, 2020, 5:02 pm

Shakes wah u saying for this evening?
117170883_602512157132028_4140285164148704924_o.jpeg

Postby toyolink » August 5th, 2020, 5:06 pm

elec2020 wrote:^ too my knowledge government has provided no grants to businesses

There was in fact a govt sponsored loan arrangement being administered by various commercial banks.
This was well advertised in the newspapers.
What was clear however when the details were examined, the levels of financial support offered were extremely low and the conditions were onerous.
A business with annual sales of 1.5 million could 'possibly' qualify for a sum not exceeding $75,000.
Presently a large number of business owners are facing major rewrites and refinancing packages with their bankers and the threat the virus poses today may certainly mean planning for viability is like playing lotto.
What the future looks like is certainly grey.....but this is a whole different story.
All that can be said at this time is choose well my friends when you vote.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 5th, 2020, 5:13 pm

^ i wouldnt count a loan as government support. As with a loan u still have to pay it back. I mentioned grants as support. As these dont involve the receiver owing the granter. I think assistance doesnt invlolve a debt. Support meh u can argue that it would fall under that. So if we being a stickler for terminology. Imo businesses received no government assistance. They received support dodgedly under government sponsored loans.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 5th, 2020, 5:23 pm

ST Auto wrote:Shakes wah u saying for this evening?117170883_602512157132028_4140285164148704924_o.jpeg

Add 3

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 5th, 2020, 5:25 pm

Hmm... U hada start giving we more details man. Contact tracing or pending epidemiological testing? Lolol

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » August 5th, 2020, 5:27 pm

Les Bain wrote:Can somebody explain this dome thing the local unfunny meme society having fun with?

Just another of Kamla drunk statements that makes no sense. Ignore it.... and if you like a leader who is sane, does not worship puncheon and is not a bandit, the PNM is here