PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

iM@st@1

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby iM@st@1 » December 1st, 2015, 9:50 am

Look @ the cm storm quickfire tk instead, slightly more expensive than ur other choices, but you getting a mechanical kb which is miles better for gaming & it will last you longer.

Postby Spitfir3 » December 1st, 2015, 10:05 am

was actually considering that option as well those mechanical keyboards seem to be real hyped
http://www.amazon.com/CM-Storm-QuickFir ... ickfire+tk

i can live without the numberpad
Last edited by Spitfir3 on December 1st, 2015, 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » December 1st, 2015, 10:45 am

i bought this card 4 years ago

Sapphire Radeon HD 6950 2 GB DDR5 DL-DVI-I/SL-DVI-D/HDMI/Dual Mini DP PCI-Express Graphics Card 100312-2SR

for a gaming pc at my parents house which i dont use anymore

apparently the pc crashed and they took it to someone to repair and he tell them they eh need that card and removed it......as well as ask them why they have a laptop hard drive in the computer (it was a ssd) and removed that as well

anyway

now i have this graphics card....and i wondering if it still relevant....and if it worth it to build up a computer to use it in....
or the card obsolete by now?

Postby Chimera » December 1st, 2015, 10:49 am

oh btw...i dont even play pc games so that eh even matter if it could keep up with games

Postby Spitfir3 » December 1st, 2015, 10:53 am

that card can be used on a nice entry level gaming system

knthprks

Postby knthprks » December 1st, 2015, 11:12 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:i bought this card 4 years ago

Sapphire Radeon HD 6950 2 GB DDR5 DL-DVI-I/SL-DVI-D/HDMI/Dual Mini DP PCI-Express Graphics Card 100312-2SR

apparently the pc crashed and they took it to someone to repair and he tell them they eh need that card and removed it......as well as ask them why they have a laptop hard drive in the computer (it was a ssd) and removed that as well

anyway

now i have this graphics card....and i wondering if it still relevant....and if it worth it to build up a computer to use it in....

call a price for it. Im building a system for my nephew to play with.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 1st, 2015, 11:16 am

^^ true but he doesn't game tho. You could build a nice htpc however, but buy used parts, me personally I wouldn't build a new machine around that card cause it is obsolete.

@Spitfir3, trust me when you go mechanical you wouldn't want to use a regular kb ever again.

Postby Chimera » December 1st, 2015, 11:19 am

yeah i dont game at all......most i does do is log on to runescape once a month to check out the scene for a 5 mins

idk tho....it might be useful for someone using autocad ?

what about bitcoin mining lol

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » December 1st, 2015, 6:42 pm

Who sell wifi range extenders ?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 1st, 2015, 6:48 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:i bought this card 4 years ago

anyway

Why do you have a clown working on your parents machine....
Anyhow....I say put it back in your parents system. While the card isn't completely obsolete it is getting a bit old. If you require an extra rig, I see no harm in putting together one using the card.

As for mechanical keyboards. ..I recently purchased a logitech g710+ with cherry mx Brown switches. ..:smile:

Postby Chimera » December 1st, 2015, 7:12 pm

Boy that clown running a thriving computer store in couva. Lord knows hw much he effing up ppl pc

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 1st, 2015, 7:53 pm

^ ABA that card is still a really good card, I could see why they would want to remove it if its not being used for games and just being used to surf the net.

HOWEVER unless you have a core i3 sandy bridge or haswell or an AMD APU and up. The integrated GPU will be total sheit for youtube flash. If the PC has an AMD CPU it means it has a low end radeon IGPU that will run websites like complete sheit without that card.

Having built lots of PCs over the last 15 or so years I can say it was better for him to leave the card in the PC.

ABA do you know what CPU the PC has? of it has an AMD APU or intel HD 3000 GPU and up you don't need the card for surfing the net even on flash heavy sites. You will only lose about 30% performance but should not be too noticeable.

I estimate you can get $800 for that card used on tuner, better you sell it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 1st, 2015, 7:57 pm

fouljuice wrote:960GB SSD for $200
480GB SSD for $110

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00M8ABHVQ

Not sure how long it will remain at that price.

480GB for $110 WTF

That was a really good deal yes.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 1st, 2015, 9:03 pm

I am still using a HD5670 currently and it is handling my light gaming just fine.
It is now in its third setup of budget parts :)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 1st, 2015, 10:39 pm

^ what games you play on that hoss? 5670 is pretty old and weak

Postby Chimera » December 1st, 2015, 10:49 pm

So can I spend say a $1500 or 2000 and build up a system to shove that card into? Rly wouldn't mind a extra pc that I would also put a sound card with a optical port in to run my z906 system

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 1st, 2015, 11:00 pm

^ sure you can buy a ASROCK 1150 motherboard for $50 on Amazon, an Intel Celeron for $45, stick of 8GB DDR 3 ram for $60 or how much it is.

And a Asus xonar DGX sound card for $34 on Amazon.

An EVGA 500W PSU for $38 currently the bronze 600W going for $38 LOL

http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-BRONZE-Conti ... s=500W+PSU

must be cause of recent black friday sale.

Maybe ah 256GB or 128GB SSD

All in all the only weak part of the PC would be the celeron CPU but its still faster than literally every AMD quad core. A core i3 would be best though, use stock cooler and you good to go for a decade.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 1st, 2015, 11:02 pm

You could just buy a cheap case in supertech for $185 and throw away the free PSU power supply in it and use the EVGA brand. cause shipping a case is madness, too expensive.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 2nd, 2015, 1:25 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ what games you play on that hoss? 5670 is pretty old and weak

Currently just Heroes of the Storm and Hearthstone.
Still have to start Hotline Miami
Have to finish BloodRayne Betrayal, Gatling Gears and Renegade ops

You don't need a whole lot to enjoy games unless you only play triple A titles.

Graphics cards are updated so frequently that i am disenchanted with the prospect of buying the latest and the greatest; was burned by my first expensive GPU purchase (8800GTS 320mb bought in 2007) so decided not to put a whole lot of money into future graphics card purchases.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » December 2nd, 2015, 11:33 am

Anyone have a 3770k they willing to sell. I'll also be interested in the following xeons:

1155 Xeon E3-1270 v2(E1) Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz BCLK 100MHz 8MB 69W P2.10
1155 Xeon E3-1275 v2(E1) Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz BCLK 100MHz 8MB 77W P2.10
1155 Xeon E3-1265L v2(E1) Ivy Bridge 2.5GHz BCLK 100MHz 8MB 45W P2.10
1155 Xeon E3-1245 v2(E1) Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz BCLK 100MHz 8MB 77W P2.10
1155 Xeon E3-1240v2(E0) Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz BCLK 100MHz 8MB 69W P2.10
1155 Xeon E3-1230v2(E0) Ivy Bridge 3.3GHz BCLK 100MHz 8MB 69W P2.10
1155 Xeon E3-1225 v2(E1) Ivy Bridge 3.2GHz BCLK 100MHz 8MB 77W P2.10
1155 Xeon E3-1220 v2(E1) Ivy Bridge 3.1GHz BCLK 100MHz 8MB 69W P2.10

Sorry for the table form, just copying from the asrock site.

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 3rd, 2015, 3:14 am

I have a 3570k not being used

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » December 3rd, 2015, 8:46 am

Already on a 2500k @5ghz want something with hyperthreading now.

Postby Chimera » December 3rd, 2015, 8:50 am

so who want to build up that pc for me? i eh into them things anymore and dont have time to do it myself

pm me so we could set price and parts!

Kronik

Postby Kronik » December 3rd, 2015, 1:21 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Boy that clown running a thriving computer store in couva. Lord knows hw much he effing up ppl pc

Cyberdoc or Supertech?

Pm me if you don't wanna call name

Sent from my SM900 Note 3

Postby Spitfir3 » December 3rd, 2015, 3:25 pm

kamakazi wrote:
As for mechanical keyboards. ..I recently purchased a logitech g710+ with cherry mx Brown switches. ..:smile:

what's your opinion on the brown switches?
right now im thinking either red or brown would be best for me

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » December 3rd, 2015, 4:00 pm

Ever tried black switches. I really like them, a bit more stiffer than red, so if your fingers are heavy when typing these are for you. I have tried browns and they are nice, but the bump where it actuates would get old with me fast and I would be fed up.
Last edited by amd-dude on December 3rd, 2015, 6:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 3rd, 2015, 4:46 pm

Anyone ever bought an OEM CPU??

Is it worth taking the risk seeing that it doesn't come in the box etc

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » December 3rd, 2015, 6:51 pm

I bought a AMD 840T once, or was it a 940T, either way it worked normal, I don't think it is much risk, cpus are pretty stout I lapped and delidded a few with no problems.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 4th, 2015, 1:37 am

Spitfir3 wrote:
kamakazi wrote:

what's your opinion on the brown switches?
right now im thinking either red or brown would be best for me

It is still on its way. ... Haven't received yet
After watching the animation for the different types of switches. ...I believe Brown is a compromise. ... not as much feedback and quieter than blue, and
because it has feedback, you are aware when the key actually registers; unlike the linear type red and black, so no need to bottom out the keys.

Selection of the type of switch is dependent on what you are going to do or what games you plan to play. ... Since my gaming is more casual, I selected Brown

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » December 4th, 2015, 7:53 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Anyone ever bought an OEM CPU??

Is it worth taking the risk seeing that it doesn't come in the box etc

I have a Amd Phenom ii x4 830 running since December 2012 and never had any problems with it. Still works good.