PNM in Gov't(2015-2020)

Re: PNM in Gov't -AH WHOLE 4 AND 5/8THs YEARS LATER!!!!!

Postby zoom rader » May 17th, 2020, 10:46 pm

sMASH wrote:elections coming up, u will see the black face start to take the front more again... 4.5 years of them jokers, and 0.5 to rally grass roots. hinds have a bess wuk, to smile and talk on a podium every 5 years for a few evenings. when they win he gone back to the back bench. the senior junior minister. the only way he getting he own ministry to run is the day they make a new one like ministry of yam or sumting.

Sookhoo?
Fake Rasta smart though, he gets all the benefits including the mansion in Hillsboro, yet he doesn't have to account to anyone. Aside from a little dutty water, he set for life. When they need to trot out a "rootsy" black PNM "success" story, voila! Fitzy in da hizzy!
Awaits for PNM ppl to start race talk. One tuner clown get make out for that already. Elections coming so they getting ready

Postby sMASH » May 17th, 2020, 11:35 pm

race talk? what u think 'no mask no roti' was about?

gadsby dolly, what she does do
donna cox, besides being a master of ceremonies every day, what she does do
glenda morain, what she does do
what shamfa do
i really cant recall the rest, as u dont see them.

camille is rowley in house womens league cheer leader
le hunte used to try, but not get much done
leonce moving up in the ranks,
cuffie there to prevent a bye election

Postby The_Honourable » May 18th, 2020, 1:23 am

Normally I would say an educated person as Robert Le Hunte with 2 mba's and 30 years banking experience learn the hard way that politics will be in the way when trying to get business done. I must admit, I don't believe that WASA story.

According to express, during a cabinet meeting discussing water supply policy Le Hunte made a suggestion for $1.5 billion to start metering all WASA customers. Good idea but government worried about metering people in areas such as laventille who might get vex and cause a 1903 water riots so it was rejected? Le Hunte decide to ups and act up, Rowley brace him, resignation letter the next day? juss so?

Why would Le Hunte act up against the PM knowing fully well he will be reprimanded or punished in some way? Elections less than 6 months away anyway so he can quietly bow out the ministry if the portfolio not working out for him or realize politics is an insult to his intelligence and bow out fully going back to the banking sector. Then you made sure to put in your public statement that your resignation was a result of professional conflict on policy positions?

Probably i'm reading too much into this and Le Hunte really get vex his suggestion get put down knowing fully well big money passing and others getting thru like Rohan. Then again, too much events happening in quick succession over the past few weeks.

Postby De Dragon » May 18th, 2020, 5:26 am

The_Honourable wrote:Normally I would say an educated person as Robert Le Hunte with 2 mba's and 30 years banking experience learn the hard way that politics will be in the way when trying to get business done. I must admit, I don't believe that WASA story.

According to express, during a cabinet meeting discussing water supply policy Le Hunte made a suggestion for $1.5 billion to start metering all WASA customers. Good idea but government worried about metering people in areas such as laventille who might get vex and cause a 1903 water riots so it was rejected? Le Hunte decide to ups and act up, Rowley brace him, resignation letter the next day? juss so?

Why would Le Hunte act up against the PM knowing fully well he will be reprimanded or punished in some way? Elections less than 6 months away anyway so he can quietly bow out the ministry if the portfolio not working out for him or realize politics is an insult to his intelligence and bow out fully going back to the banking sector. Then you made sure to put in your public statement that your resignation was a result of professional conflict on policy positions?

Probably i'm reading too much into this and Le Hunte really get vex his suggestion get put down knowing fully well big money passing and others getting thru like Rohan. Then again, too much events happening in quick succession over the past few weeks.

IF that is true, then maybe he felt so strongly about it, and based on his private sector experience, his conviction was so strong that when JUHN Scarfy shut him down, he realized that this GORTT isn't serious about turning WASA around.
OR, knowing jackarse JUHN Scarfy and his dragged up behaviour, Le Hunte was probably spoken to in a manner that he wasn't accustomed to, and decided that he wasn't having it anymore. Either way, JUHN Scarfy is going to install a puppet or yes man, who will ensure that the freeconess, inefficiency and waste at WASA will continue, as long as "poor people" don't have to pay for water, and jeopardize votes in an election year.

Postby Redman » May 18th, 2020, 7:13 am

I doubt that WASA story.
And Le Hunte knows the cost...so it's unlikely he would push for that now, despite what is said these guys not stupid.

Metering has been on the table since the 2005 ish era.

Postby De Dragon » May 18th, 2020, 7:24 am

Redman wrote:I doubt that WASA story.
And Le Hunte knows the cost...so it's unlikely he would push for that now, despite what is said these guys not stupid.

Metering has been on the table since the 2005 ish era.

Why? Le Hunte did allude to some policy differences in his resignation letter. What could cause this sudden resignation in your opinion?

Postby Redman » May 18th, 2020, 7:33 am

Given Le Hunte s background I think the Vene meeting and its results is more likely a source of contention, since he would be very knowledgeable about the financial issues that more immediate than WASA.

Le Hunte....is probably in a position where he told them not to meet....or to handle it differently...and would be cognizant of the ramifications if it went sideways.
As it has.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 18th, 2020, 8:06 am

I listening to some folks arguing about water subsidy and how we paying to little for water. Ok no probs. But how the mc you will pay full price for something you dont gey everyday?

If subsidies are removed, what prices we looking at? Is it that the meter system would fix that issue?

Postby rspann » May 18th, 2020, 8:33 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I listening to some folks arguing about water subsidy and how we paying to little for water. Ok no probs. But how the mc you will pay full price for something you dont gey everyday?

If subsidies are removed, what prices we looking at? Is it that the meter system would fix that issue?

They should subsidise it because over 50% is lost in transmission through leaks and their staff grossly overpaid/many unnecessary . They also have a lot of racket going on with respect to contracts .If they decide to make the customers pay more they should make the company efficient and cut out all wastage / mismanagement / corruption .

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2020, 8:35 am

metering is not about the supply of water, it’s about control of use, just like fixing leaks.

metering will reduce wastage a lot, you will see how quick ppl fix leaky toilets and not be running a hose non stop.

it should be introduced on a phased basis esp in areas with very high water pressure which can cause higher wastage for small leaks.

my sister had some leaky toilets in maraval where u don’t get water everyday but when u get pressure so high 1000 tank fills fast.
she would run close to empty during the zero days, when i fixed the toilets she never had to worry about running out again.

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2020, 8:38 am

which govt brave enough to tackle corruption in wasa ?

i hear a jamaat man used to live in a wasa house intended for executives and they couldn’t move him.

rspann wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I listening to some folks arguing about water subsidy and how we paying to little for water. Ok no probs. But how the mc you will pay full price for something you dont gey everyday?

They should subsidise it because over 50% is lost in transmission through leaks and their staff grossly overpaid/many unnecessary . They also have a lot of racket going on with respect to contracts .If they decide to make the customers pay more they should make the company efficient and cut out all wastage / mismanagement / corruption .

Postby Redman » May 18th, 2020, 8:40 am

The whole supply chain is a mess.

It's corrupted from Board Room to your tap.

WASA is Petrotrin on steroids.

We as a people waste water because it's cheap.
Metering is a great idea... alongside solving their distribution problems.

We also hemmed in by take or pay supply contracts.
There is no easy fix.

Postby De Dragon » May 18th, 2020, 9:13 am

Redman wrote:The whole supply chain is a mess.

It's corrupted from Board Room to your tap.

WASA is Petrotrin on steroids.

We as a people waste water because it's cheap.
Metering is a great idea... alongside solving their distribution problems.

We also hemmed in by take or pay supply contracts.
There is no easy fix.

Standard in industry/large scale contracts. The supplier( DESALCOTT) must generate revenue, even if no water is being used by WASA. DESALCOTT shouldn't be the bogeyman in any WASA discussion, because they have done lots to free up WASA water to non-industrial areas. Even their upgrade was contingent on the use of desalinated water having a market. Incogen/Trinity and TGU are different stories though, as that excess capacity has nowhere to go.

Postby Dave » May 18th, 2020, 9:19 am

We have an aging water system. The mediocre amounts we pay for water can't begin to maintain that by itself apart from those who refuse to even pay.
We also have excessive use of water even with restrictions in place from regular consumers and those who operate below the tax stream.
Some measures to address any of the above is needed.

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2020, 9:25 am

We pay literally nothing for residential use, the mere fact that residential landlords dont even factor it is proof of that.
in other countries you pay a two part bill, one for water and one for sewage.

Wasa should start by metering neighbour hoods to get an idea of high usage areas and narrow down from there.

Dave wrote:We have an aging water system. The mediocre amounts we pay for water can't begin to maintain that by itself apart from those who refuse to even pay.
We also have excessive use of water even with restrictions in place from regular consumers and those who operate below the tax stream.
Some measures to address any of the above is needed.

Nexus

Postby Nexus » May 18th, 2020, 9:28 am

Metering has been a part of WASA's policy for some time now, ask any developer.

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2020, 9:33 am

yes, the issue here is the retrofitting of older properties.

wasa also did walk arounds in woodbrook and changed billings on the many semi commercial properties but still a lump sum type billing vs usage based.

Nexus wrote:Metering has been a part of WASA's policy for some time now, ask any developer.

Postby Dave » May 18th, 2020, 9:34 am

I want to remember that some places have meters installed when the drive was in talks.
Any one can confirm and if so are they being charged for what they consume? Or are they even functional lol?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 18th, 2020, 9:38 am

Introducing that system in beetham and environs is a pain. If the present govt is re elected, they might make an attempt to tackle the situation because shortman done say they not letting up on collecting revenue.Now is simply not the best time to talk about sending home people and making people pay more.

Postby zoom rader » May 18th, 2020, 9:42 am

Well shakes dumb ppl vote for a goverment that only services 1% and their PNM MPs.

Postby Dave » May 18th, 2020, 9:45 am

Any government will always be afraid of those who can make or break them and sadly it always boils down to money and perceived power

Postby zoom rader » May 18th, 2020, 9:56 am

Dave wrote:Any government will always be afraid of those who can make or break them and sadly it always boils down to money and perceived power
Not true, they got rid of Caroni and Petrotrin so what's holding them back from improving wasa? Is it because wasa is pro PNM

Postby Dizzy28 » May 18th, 2020, 10:04 am

Dave wrote:Any government will always be afraid of those who can make or break them and sadly it always boils down to money and perceived power
Not true, they got rid of Caroni and Petrotrin so what's holding them back from improving wasa? Is it because wasa is pro PNM

Reads thread Severn Trently!!!

Postby Dave » May 18th, 2020, 10:23 am

Those ppl couldn't make or break the present govt.

And if you say petrotrin false hope with Roget thinking he getting it back.

It's always a political agenda.

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2020, 10:27 am

pugboy wrote:metering is not about the supply of water, it’s about control of use, just like fixing leaks.

metering will reduce wastage a lot, you will see how quick ppl fix leaky toilets and not be running a hose non stop.

it should be introduced on a phased basis esp in areas with very high water pressure which can cause higher wastage for small leaks.

my sister had some leaky toilets in maraval where u don’t get water everyday but when u get pressure so high 1000 tank fills fast.
she would run close to empty during the zero days, when i fixed the toilets she never had to worry about running out again.

at the current rates, i worked it out, my bill would go down to $20 a month based on my usage, as opposed to $300 with this lump sum bill.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 18th, 2020, 10:29 am

sMASH wrote:
pugboy wrote:metering is not about the supply of water, it’s about control of use, just like fixing leaks.

at the current rates, i worked it out, my bill would go down to $20 a month based on my usage, as opposed to $300 with this lump sum bill.

You would only use $20/month or $60 per quarter at your current consumption?

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2020, 10:34 am

60 per quarter.

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2020, 10:40 am

my place in woodbrook would also drop too. cause we are small office and only water usage really is toilet flushing a few times.

but metering is part of a bigger picture to catch wasters.

sMASH wrote:

Postby matr1x » May 18th, 2020, 10:50 am

I have working knowledge of the metering system. It's easy to overcharge people. And not accountability

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2020, 10:55 am

sMASH wrote:elections coming up, u will see the black face start to take the front more again... 4.5 years of them jokers, and 0.5 to rally grass roots. hinds have a bess wuk, to smile and talk on a podium every 5 years for a few evenings. when they win he gone back to the back bench. the senior junior minister. the only way he getting he own ministry to run is the day they make a new one like ministry of yam or sumting.

DNN wrote:Prime Minister Dr the Hon. Keith Rowley has advised the President, Her Excellency Paula-Mae Weekes of the following:

Mr. Robert Le Hunte has tendered his resignation as a Senator and Minister of Public Utilities with effect from May 16, 2020 and I have accepted.

In light of the above, and in accordance with the provisions of Sections 3(9) and 43(2)(e) of the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, I advise that with immediate effect you revoke the appointment of Mr. Robert Le Hunte as a Senator and Minister of Public Utilities.

As a consequence, I advise that with immediate effect and in accordance with sections 76(3), 79(1) and 40(2)(a) of the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, you:

(i) assign Mr. Fitzgerald Hinds as Minister of Public Utilities, in addition to the discharge of his normal duties as Minister in the Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs; and

(ii) appoint Mr. Jason Williams as a Senator.

as i talk..... as i talk!!!!

the only ting i hadda say is, good ting is rainy season, u could still put a barrel by a spouting or get a ole galvanize.
heaven help us all, the old gods and the new.