.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: The Official 2015 Election Day thread

Postby pete » September 7th, 2015, 9:52 am

Habit7 wrote:
UML wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:Presumably UNC still sending text messages this morning asking for votes. Steups.

In other news, high voter turnout is a very good sign and indication that people want change.

unless they sent the text before midnight and it was delayed, then they would be breaking the law? :roll:

PNM Couva South candidate Ali Mohammed was campaigning on his FB page this morning.

High voter turnout could also mean ppl are fed up of misinformation, lies and propaganda

Oh gosh so that means if I open YouTube now I still gonna see the ads?

Postby rfari » September 7th, 2015, 9:59 am

Cepep working apace this morning

Postby sMASH » September 7th, 2015, 10:03 am

There were three spots yo place the X : PNM , UNC , and BALLOT PAPER

Postby Country_Bookie » September 7th, 2015, 10:04 am

"Before we can build a stable civilization worthy of humanity as a whole, it is necessary that each historical civilization should become conscious of its limitations and it's unworthiness to become the ideal civilization of the world."
--Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan

Postby rfari » September 7th, 2015, 10:10 am

sMASH wrote:There were three spots yo place the X : PNM , UNC , and BALLOT PAPER

Ahahahhahahahaha!

Postby janfar » September 7th, 2015, 10:10 am

PNM alternative color today is Green.

Bezman

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby Bezman » September 7th, 2015, 10:29 am

UML wrote:Why lock the Achievements Thread and not the other political threads?

because by law.. your campaign is over..

discussion from General Election Day continues here
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=641535

Postby rfari » September 7th, 2015, 10:32 am

Now pass thru warren and see uncle with ink all up to he elbow. What going on with the ink? It not drying orwha?

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » September 7th, 2015, 10:33 am

UPDATE - PNM calls emergency press conference at Baliser House at 11a.m. to deal with election violations.

THE People’s National Movement (PNM) has reported Planning Minister Dr Bhoe Tewarie to the authorities including the police following claims of election canvassing, the party’s political leader Dr Keith Rowley has said.

Rowley made the statement after casting his vote at the International School in Westmoorings this morning.

Rowley said the process went smoothly.

He however slammed the People’s Partnership for breaking the law by canvassing today.

He said Tewarie the UNC’s candidate for Caroni Central has been the “most aggressive” in this illegal activity.

“We have a very serious issue going on right now where the UNC is canvassing today and that is a clear breach of the laws.

“We have seen text messages coming from Dr Bhoe Tewarie in particular who is using the same list that they used to campaign and canvassing people to vote today by approaching them through their cellphone contacts.

“Now that is unacceptable and we have reported to all the authorities including the police, we reported it to the EBC and to the Commonwealth observers, CARICOM observers.

“This is the kind of thing we expected from this government and I am told that they have not disappointed us,” Rowley said.

Rowley said the PNM has copies of the message being forwarded by Tewarie.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150907 ... o-the-cops

antlind

Postby antlind » September 7th, 2015, 10:35 am

Why is it people cannot follow a simple rule. No canvassing on Election Day. Assuming rowleys allegations are true.

Postby K74T » September 7th, 2015, 10:39 am

Beautiful faces this morning

allrotor

Postby allrotor » September 7th, 2015, 10:43 am

K74T wrote:Beautiful faces this morning

:hitit:

Postby Habit7 » September 7th, 2015, 10:50 am

This had to be printed in the Sunshine.
#JackWarner

Postby janfar » September 7th, 2015, 10:50 am

1441637434328.jpg

allrotor

Postby allrotor » September 7th, 2015, 10:50 am

if those allegations made by Dr. Rowley are true, what are the consenquences of such?

Postby zoom rader » September 7th, 2015, 10:51 am

antlind wrote:Why is it people cannot follow a simple rule. No canvassing on Election Day. Assuming rowleys allegations are true.

A text message is breaking the law?

allrotor

Postby allrotor » September 7th, 2015, 10:52 am

Habit7 wrote:Image

#JackWarner

this looking like ah scorch article lol

Postby rfari » September 7th, 2015, 10:53 am

allrotor wrote:if those allegations made by Dr. Rowley are true, what are the consenquences of such?

Fine and /or jail. Think it is 4k fine. 3 months jail

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 7th, 2015, 10:53 am

antlind wrote:Why is it people cannot follow a simple rule. No canvassing on Election Day. Assuming rowleys allegations are true.

Asked my lawyer buddy. Apparently so

Postby zoom rader » September 7th, 2015, 10:54 am

Cooloh wrote:UPDATE - PNM calls emergency press conference at Baliser House at 11a.m. to deal with election violations.

THE People’s National Movement (PNM) has reported Planning Minister Dr Bhoe Tewarie to the authorities including the police following claims of election canvassing, the party’s political leader Dr Keith Rowley has said.

Rowley made the statement after casting his vote at the International School in Westmoorings this morning.

Rowley said the process went smoothly.

He however slammed the People’s Partnership for breaking the law by canvassing today.

He said Tewarie the UNC’s candidate for Caroni Central has been the “most aggressive” in this illegal activity.

“We have a very serious issue going on right now where the UNC is canvassing today and that is a clear breach of the laws.

“We have seen text messages coming from Dr Bhoe Tewarie in particular who is using the same list that they used to campaign and canvassing people to vote today by approaching them through their cellphone contacts.

“Now that is unacceptable and we have reported to all the authorities including the police, we reported it to the EBC and to the Commonwealth observers, CARICOM observers.

“This is the kind of thing we expected from this government and I am told that they have not disappointed us,” Rowley said.

Rowley said the PNM has copies of the message being forwarded by Tewarie.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150907 ... o-the-cops

Habit7 wrote:You can campaign on social media, no rules against that.

Postby Habit7 » September 7th, 2015, 10:57 am

ZR we know you are an old black man but text messages are not social media.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » September 7th, 2015, 10:58 am

Habit7 wrote:ZR we know you are an old black man but text messages are not social media.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby 16 cycles » September 7th, 2015, 10:59 am

we have faith in Trinbago police to solve crime...moreso when done electronically...?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » September 7th, 2015, 11:00 am

Habit7 wrote:Image

#JackWarner

Jack and Kamla do make a cute couple, though.

antlind

Postby antlind » September 7th, 2015, 11:01 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Habit7 wrote:ZR we know you are an old black man but text messages are not social media.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby K74T » September 7th, 2015, 11:02 am

LOL @ Rick Astley

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 7th, 2015, 11:02 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » September 7th, 2015, 11:03 am

CONCERNS are being raised about text messages being received by people asking for their vote today, election day. However, while the Election and Boundaries Commission (EBC) says that trying to persuade someone to vote in a particular way today is illegal, there is no law related to text messages or social media appeals.

The Express was shown a screen-shot and sent via text messaging from a person claiming to be, “Bhoe Tewarie”.

The message read, “Vote today for Dr Bhoe Tewarie in Caroni Central, and after you vote your Prime Minister will be Kamla Persad-Bissessar. Every vote counts for the Rising Sun”.

The text message was sent at 6:02 a.m.

According to Communications manager of the EBC, Dominic Hinds, this practice is not illegal.

He said, “ There is no law against texting or using social media to encourage persons to vote for a particular candidate. We encourage persons to desist from such practice and incidents such as theses should be reported to the police”.

Other rules prohibited on election day include: canvassing or campaigning is not allowed neither should there be any broadcast via print, radio or television of a candidate. No-one is allowed to wear any party symbols or a political party promotional material as they go to the polling station. It is also illegal for someone to ask you who you intend to vote. It is illegal to consume alcohol within 100 yards of the polling station and people are not allowed to congregate 100 yards of the polling station.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150907 ... ampaigning

Daran

Postby Daran » September 7th, 2015, 11:07 am

It is debatable as to whether text messaging should be considered canvasing, but the biggest problem is that you'll have to prove it came from party officials and not a PNM setup.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » September 7th, 2015, 11:08 am

Technically no but only because ebc regulations aint get amended in donkey years. It should be though