PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

HCCA

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby HCCA » August 12th, 2015, 12:24 pm

skylinechild wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:So my hd seems to have given out.
What's a decent brand to buy? Looking at about 500gb.
And how do I salvage the info from this one I have?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

bring d drive for me..i go sort u out....
i home on weekends now - every weekend- an walk wit good tint to tint d ride... :lol:

if you want a SSD drive go for wither the samsung Evo 850 series or sandisk brand
those two are the top leaders in SSD tech now

if you want normal mechanicial drive...western digital for it.

An SSHD may be a good option to consider as a replacement as well.

Have a 500gb in my laptop and it really make a noticeable difference in operation. Installed a Seagate 1tb desktop SSHD in someone's pc recently and it runs better as well.

Postby nervewrecker » August 12th, 2015, 5:32 pm

Just bought a Samsung 850 ssd.
About time, I'm fed up of conventional hd's

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Postby ismithx » August 12th, 2015, 5:44 pm

Hitachi/HGST also has good reliability as well

Postby nervewrecker » August 12th, 2015, 5:47 pm

Was tempted to buy a silicon power.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 12th, 2015, 11:48 pm

just seen 500gb samsung 850 for 177 on amazon the m.s version is the same price looks like a good deal to me

Postby sMASH » September 15th, 2015, 4:36 pm

Postby Morpheus » September 24th, 2015, 3:20 pm

PC gamers where can I get a nice, comfy PC chair to buy? Comfy, armrests, high back, etc.

I'm trying to think outside of Courts, Standards, etc.

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 24th, 2015, 5:02 pm

Pricesmart has the Office Star brand (I think) leather chair for around $1500. Looks good to me.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 24th, 2015, 6:53 pm

Morpheus check those office furniture stores...sometimes the newspapers does have.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » September 24th, 2015, 8:39 pm

If you even consider online you could check DXRacer or NeedForSeat

Postby Morpheus » September 24th, 2015, 10:37 pm

Thanks a lots guys!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 28th, 2015, 10:17 pm

Heads up Amazing deal here I paid $600 for this and selling for $400 so I taking a huge hit. If anyone of you want a once in a lifetime tuner deal let me know.

Intel ASROCK 1150 with 100% solid cap capacitors.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=641757

^ I also post a benchmark look how superior intel is to AMD in Gaming, even a celeron blowing out a liquid cooled overclocked quad core AMD in gaming.

I suggest one of you buy this board. With intel turbo boost which this board also happens to support and auto overclocks the CPU, you just need to buy a core i3 or i5 or heck Pentium CPU and 8GB DDR 3 RAM and you good to go any video card will do fine.

Postby skylinechild » September 29th, 2015, 6:50 am

guys have a problem i need help with.

so i have oracle VM ware running two virtual machines - zero issues.
the problem is when the host pc (that runs vmware) is rebooted - the virtual machines are offline.

i know how to get vmware to start automatically when windows starts.- no problem there.

my question is - is there any way i can get the two virtual machines to boot up after Vmware has started. ???

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » September 29th, 2015, 8:18 pm

Hi guys, I'm looking for a good ups for my gaming system. What do u guys recommend? I had a tripplite 1000va before but it failed on me today. Thanks in advance

Postby skylinechild » September 29th, 2015, 9:01 pm

what exactly happened to the ups??? usually when ups fails it either due to a faulty battery or an actual surge..if it requires a battery go that route..if it got hit by an actual surge...then it did its job.

for your consideration

look into this. >>> http://www.apc.com/products/resource/in ... _watts=200

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » September 29th, 2015, 9:51 pm

The problem i was having before was the unit does not switch or charge the battery so when current goes, all my connected units shuts down. When turning unit back on it does not come on. You have to constantly press the power button and wait to hear a little "click" sound to know that the unit is on. Today i tried turning it back on and there was a fault indicator on it, i tried powering it on, no luck. Any help would be appreciated.

Postby skylinechild » September 30th, 2015, 7:34 am

bassotronics wrote:The problem i was having before was the unit does not switch or charge the battery so when current goes, all my connected units shuts down. When turning unit back on it does not come on. You have to constantly press the power button and wait to hear a little "click" sound to know that the unit is on. Today i tried turning it back on and there was a fault indicator on it, i tried powering it on, no luck. Any help would be appreciated.

sounds like a main board issue. the board not charging the battery and u dont hear the relay clicking.
if you like you can be a bit adventurous and try repairing it as a DIY...just replace a few parts on it....and go again...

but seeing what its connected to...i'd recommend u go with a new unit.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » September 30th, 2015, 8:46 am

what brand/spec do u recommend?

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » September 30th, 2015, 3:47 pm

Check out Informatics Engineering. They're the local agents for APC.
I got a 1000VA UPS from them for just under $1700. (you also get at least 1 yr warranty)

They also sell the replacement batteries.
http://www.informaticstt.com

SM-N910H | Android Lollipop v5.0.1 | SwiftKey | Tapatalk Pro

Postby skylinechild » September 30th, 2015, 7:08 pm

bassotronics wrote:what brand/spec do u recommend?

APC ...what the tuner above me recommended ^^^^^

the unit i'd recommend is this >>> http://www.apc.com/products/resource/in ... _watts=200

Back-UPS Pro
APC Power Saving Back-UPS Pro 1500
APC Back-UPS Pro,865 Watts /1500 VA,Input 120V /Output 120V, Interface Port USB, Extended runtime model

Output
Output Power Capacity
865 Watts / 1500 VA
Max Configurable Power
865 Watts / 1500 VA
Nominal Output Voltage
120V
Output Frequency (sync to mains)
50/60Hz +/- 3 Hz
Topology
Line Interactive
Waveform Type
Stepped approximation to a sinewave

Surge Protection and Filtering
Surge energy rating
354 Joules
Filtering
Full time multi-pole noise filtering :5% of IEEE surge let-through : zero clamping response time: instantaneous
Data Line Protection
Cable modem / Video protection, Network line - 10/100/1000 Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45 connector)

Output Connections
(5) NEMA 5-15R (Battery Backup) NEMA 5-15R
(5) NEMA 5-15R (Surge Protection) NEMA 5-15R

shellos86

Postby shellos86 » October 2nd, 2015, 6:30 am

Fellas,
I in a country where hi-speed wifi / internet kinda scarce, but i have my ps4 and want to start beastin' online.
My question is basically, how much data does Fifa pick up when playing online? the speed is good - 100 mbps and has pretty good ping.. i just need to choose between a 5 GB or unlimited data package a month... the price is 40 usd vs 140 usd....

does anyone know or have an idea how much data this game uses when playing online? an average? thanks

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » October 11th, 2015, 6:36 pm

So I sent my Y50 to replace the touchpad under warranty and since I got it back, gestures refuse to work. Fresh install with the apprpopriate drivers and still nothing. The Elan pointing device installs fine but the dynamic icon doesnt show anything being touched or clicked even though the trackpad is working fine. Anyone knows what I could do before having to send it back ?

Postby skylinechild » October 12th, 2015, 7:04 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:So I sent my Y50 to replace the touchpad under warranty and since I got it back, gestures refuse to work. Fresh install with the apprpopriate drivers and still nothing. The Elan pointing device installs fine but the dynamic icon doesnt show anything being touched or clicked even though the trackpad is working fine. Anyone knows what I could do before having to send it back ?

try enabling the feature in the control panel itself.

ive come across a similar issue. after a clean reinstall of the O.S and drivers the touchpad works but the scroll on the right side of the touch pad and two finger gestures (pinch zoom etc) dont work.

the fix is just to go to the control panel - then select mouse an right click then properties...and go thru the configuration page for each feature you want on.

in my case it was as simple as that.

hope this helps

Postby Chimera » October 12th, 2015, 7:43 am

Allyuh ever had a pc catch on.fire and the power supply and hard drives burn up? While on a surge protector

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 12th, 2015, 8:58 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Allyuh ever had a pc catch on.fire and the power supply and hard drives burn up? While on a surge protector

Closest i ever had to that was a sata adaptor catching a lil flame and melting - hard drive still worked though.

'Good' power supplies supposed to absorb most faults and not pass them on to connected equipment, haven't encountered evidence of such personally.

Was ironing a day and the wires near the plug shorted and melted and even caught on fire, the surge protector didn't trip or anyting self :?

Using line conditioners for all my systems and sensitive electronics now.

Postby Chimera » October 12th, 2015, 9:30 am

Happen to me a few weeks ago. Almost burn down my house. On a fairly new built up pc with warranty.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 12th, 2015, 10:34 am

Motherboard voltage regulator burned through the board. Smoke was epic. Machine was running, it then started to make a crackling sound, followed by the smoke. It cut off a few moments later.
Not fun.

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 20th, 2015, 11:23 pm

Had an ati 4870 draw so much current through the pay that the psu caught fire and my mobo warped those were the days lol

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 20th, 2015, 11:56 pm

Hmm don't have these issues cause I only buy quality PSU like Seasonic, Cooler Master, Rosewill etc

You don't need anything big, at most a 500W GOLD PSU will power even the heaviest gaming rigs unless you plan on going 4 way SLI and serious overclocking etc well you go need a 1000W PSU but then those people aren't real gamers.

By switching to Intel and Nvidia, I have noticed a reduction in my electric bill when compared to my previous AMD PC. Room is also cooler no more silly heat that AMD is so accustomed to pushing out.
The reality is 90% of Gamers only need about 350W of Power.

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » October 21st, 2015, 7:12 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Hmm don't have these issues cause I only buy quality PSU like Seasonic, Cooler Master, Rosewill etc

You don't need anything big, at most a 500W GOLD PSU will power even the heaviest gaming rigs unless you plan on going 4 way SLI and serious overclocking etc well you go need a 1000W PSU but then those people aren't real gamers.

By switching to Intel and Nvidia, I have noticed a reduction in my electric bill when compared to my previous AMD PC. Room is also cooler no more silly heat that AMD is so accustomed to pushing out.
The reality is 90% of Gamers only need about 350W of Power.

Explain this.

I have lots of clients using the generic psu the case came with for years. They have basic systems that they use to browse, check facebook, type documents etc. Does that make the generic psu a great psu? No. It's all about application. If your gpu, cpu and other components are low/mid end, the system would not require much power (not just watts, amps also) and the "500w Rosewill" would work for you. I really wonder sometimes where you get your information from and posting it as fact.