Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby 88sins » September 3rd, 2021, 8:45 am

teems1 wrote:Slippery slope fallacy.

You can't use illogical fallacies to defend your side of the argument.

Illogical, maybe.
But in the same way you shouldn't use your being comfortable with taking anything anyone in a tie tells you as gospel and demanding everyone else do as you do. Sometimes it's good to question things.
Anyhow, this all entirely hypothetical son, enhance your calm.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 3rd, 2021, 8:53 am

So one unvaccinated come and fack up everybody?

This is why I say companies must take a stand against the unvaccinated
88sins wrote:Just dropping this here.

Three fully vaccinated persons I know tested positive yesterday. All three are considered high risk for negative outcomes. One diabetic, one has a history of clotting and DVT, and all 3 are obese. Their ages range from 42 to 56, one male and 2 female.
2 currently in ICU, 1 having serious respiratory difficulties and may be hospitalized today.
The 2 in ICU 2 given AZ, and one SP, the most recently vaccinated got their last shot 2 months ago, the earliest got it 3 months ago. All 3 work together in the same company.

Reduced risk of transmission? Ok, if you say so.
Reduced risk of severe disease and needing hospitalization. Mhmm, ok.
Please forgive my skepticism.

EDIT
Forgot to mention
The company only has 8 employees, and all but 1 are vaccinated.
So, that's almost 50% of their fully vaccinated workforce that contracted the disease, and 100% of those who did are having severe symptoms.
What are the odds of this.
Feel free to do the math yourself

Postby teems1 » September 3rd, 2021, 9:04 am

teems1 wrote:Slippery slope fallacy.

You can't use illogical fallacies to defend your side of the argument.

Illogical, maybe.
But in the same way you shouldn't use your being comfortable with taking anything anyone in a tie tells you as gospel and demanding everyone else do as you do. Sometimes it's good to question things.
Anyhow, this all entirely hypothetical son, enhance your calm.
People smarter than you or me have weighed the pros and cons of the vaccine and lockdowns and determined that one helps us out of the pandemic and health crisis.

The problem is that too many people with CXC results which resemble a telephone number feel the need to voice their opinion as if they have done the research, projections and statistics like the experts have.

It all boils down to inadequacy and being on the bottom rung of the ladder their entire life. Now they're trying to make an impact where they have no business.

Postby timelapse » September 3rd, 2021, 10:29 am

Three fully vaccinated persons I know tested positive yesterday. All three are considered high risk for negative outcomes. One diabetic, one has a history of clotting and DVT, and all 3 are obese. Their ages range from 42 to 56, one male and 2 female.
2 currently in ICU, 1 having serious respiratory difficulties and may be hospitalized today.
The 2 in ICU 2 given AZ, and one SP, the most recently vaccinated got their last shot 2 months ago, the earliest got it 3 months ago. All 3 work together in the same company.

EDIT
Forgot to mention
So, that's almost 50% of their fully vaccinated workforce that contracted the disease, and 100% of those who did are having severe symptoms.
They living where they work? Shopping? Liming? If not, that is not the complete picture

Postby Les Bain » September 3rd, 2021, 10:41 am

As bad as the anti vaxxers are made out, an astonishing amount of vaccinated believe they were injected with a magic shield and became lax about Covid health measures. It's no surprise they're getting Covid now.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 3rd, 2021, 11:17 am

Or maybe that one unvaccinated gave the others it

In an office setting with AC its very difficult to not spread it
Les Bain wrote:As bad as the anti vaxxers are made out, an astonishing amount of vaccinated believe they were injected with a magic shield and became lax about Covid health measures. It's no surprise they're getting Covid now.

Postby Les Bain » September 3rd, 2021, 11:23 am

PariaMan wrote:Or maybe that one unvaccinated gave the others it

Les Bain wrote:As bad as the anti vaxxers are made out, an astonishing amount of vaccinated believe they were injected with a magic shield and became lax about Covid health measures. It's no surprise they're getting Covid now.

Point taken.
My company used to occupy a building that had mostly individual spaces with a dedicated AC. When we moved to a building with central AC, flu season was a group experience no matter how much you tried taking preventative measures.

Postby 88sins » September 3rd, 2021, 12:16 pm

timelapse wrote:

EDIT
Forgot to mention
They living where they work? Shopping? Liming? If not, that is not the complete picture

Have you any idea how desperate and dense this makes you look?

Anyway, if you want a better picture, I suggest you use the camera on your phone to find the picture you prefer.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 3rd, 2021, 1:22 pm

Vaccinated and unvaccinated can spread the virus and both carry the same viral load. If the vaccines were effective, then the vaccinated people should not have been infected.

Postby adnj » September 3rd, 2021, 1:25 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

Vaccinated and unvaccinated can spread the virus and both carry the same viral load. If the vaccines were effective, then the vaccinated people should not have been infected.
A vaccinated person may have the same viral loads as an unvaccinated person, but that high level of virus lasts only three to four days compared with an unvaccinated person who could be contagious for up to 10 days, said Suresh Mittal, professor of virology at Purdue University’s College of Veterinary Medicine.

“Individuals who are vaccinated have a good immune response. If they get in contact with people who are infected, they might get infected, but the majority may not transmit,” he said.

It's even more uncommon for a vaccinated person to transmit the virus to another vaccinated person, though "not impossible," said Dr. Shaun Truelove, assistant scientist at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

"We think it's quite rare that a vaccinated individual is infecting another vaccinated individual," he said. "At this time, we really don’t have sufficient data to quantify what that risk is, but as this resurgence continues to grow with the delta variant ... the number of individuals who are vaccinated and infected from another vaccinated individual will continue to occur and potentially continue to grow, though likely remaining small and rare."

https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/hea ... 488398001/
Last edited by adnj on September 3rd, 2021, 1:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » September 3rd, 2021, 1:25 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

Again, for the millionth time, the vaccines are effective because they significantly lower the chances of getting infected in the first place. Hence why in many of the US you seeing that 90%+ of the new cases in many US states are unvaxxed.

Postby RedVEVO » September 3rd, 2021, 1:33 pm

ed360123 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Again, for the millionth time, the vaccines are effective because they significantly lower the chances of getting infected in the first place. Hence why in many of the US you seeing that 90%+ of the new cases in many US states are unvaxxed.

OK but why 1,300 people dead in T&T ?

What killing these people ?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 3rd, 2021, 1:38 pm

ed360123 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

So why the need for booster shots?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 3rd, 2021, 1:39 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

OK but why 1,300 people dead in T&T ?

What killing these people ?

You know God face?

Postby adnj » September 3rd, 2021, 1:41 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Because booster shots are vaccines.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » September 3rd, 2021, 1:43 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Booster shots further decrease the chances of getting infected, especially against the newer variants that have appeared since the initial development of the vaccines.

Postby st7 » September 3rd, 2021, 1:57 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

to be clear -- are you saying this for all variants or Delta alone?

Postby RedVEVO » September 3rd, 2021, 2:30 pm

hover11 wrote:Best for the multi billion dollar companies that gonna be profiting from vaccine sales
matr1x wrote:Best for who exactly?

How is that argument valid?

UK scientists claim herd immunity is not possible so as variants mutate new booster sales and profits will increase .

As everyone knows if vaccinated you can still get COVID and die .

Hence Hover's valid argument :D

Postby redmanjp » September 3rd, 2021, 2:39 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
hover11 wrote:Best for the multi billion dollar companies that gonna be profiting from vaccine sales

UK scientists claim herd immunity is not possible so as variants mutate new booster sales and profits will increase .

can is not the same has likely. everyone knows u can also get hit by a car and die tonight. u can also win the lotto.

u are far less likely to be hospitalized and die when vaccinated.

Postby RedVEVO » September 3rd, 2021, 2:48 pm

redmanjp wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

can is not the same has likely. everyone knows u can also get hit by a car and die tonight. u can also win the lotto.

If that is what you believe then so be it :D

The focus or inquiry was on the sales and profit of the mega companies .

Stay focused , stay alert . :wink:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 3rd, 2021, 2:53 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

There is a lot of data showing that people are less likely to be hospitalized and die when vaccinated.

Postby timelapse » September 3rd, 2021, 3:10 pm

timelapse wrote:

EDIT
Forgot to mention

Have you any idea how desperate and dense this makes you look?

Anyway, if you want a better picture, I suggest you use the camera on your phone to find the picture you prefer.
Dense is you trying to draw a conclusion on how and where a microscopic virus spreads and to whom.
But carry on, take a picture of your neckbeard when you have some time

Postby RedVEVO » September 3rd, 2021, 3:18 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

There is a lot of data showing that people are less likely to be hospitalized and die when vaccinated.

Agreed .

If the science and data says so - so be it to date .

The issue Hover is querying is the profit of the mega companies .

Hover brings out the radical people who are the analysts behind the scenes .

Take a win Hover :D

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 3rd, 2021, 3:20 pm

st7 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Well I don't know as I have not seen studies on the other variants but delta yes. If delta, why not the others that already exist and are still to come?

Postby st7 » September 3rd, 2021, 3:37 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Well I don't know as I have not seen studies on the other variants but delta yes. If delta, why not the others that already exist and are still to come?

ok just making sure because without the mention of delta in ur original post, it make it seem like u were referring to covid on the whole.

Local anti-vaxxers

Postby MaxPower » September 3rd, 2021, 3:41 pm

People feel they know everything about the vaccinations, but know nothing on how viruses spread.

Wear your masks, wash your hands, keep the distance and get vaccinated.

If you don’t want to get vaccinated, that’s fine…follow the the protocols and stop spreading germs.

That’s all.

Postby adnj » September 3rd, 2021, 3:45 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Repost

A vaccinated person may have the same viral loads as an unvaccinated person, but that high level of virus lasts only three to four days compared with an unvaccinated person who could be contagious for up to 10 days, said Suresh Mittal, professor of virology at Purdue University’s College of Veterinary Medicine.

“Individuals who are vaccinated have a good immune response. If they get in contact with people who are infected, they might get infected, but the majority may not transmit,” he said.

It's even more uncommon for a vaccinated person to transmit the virus to another vaccinated person, though "not impossible," said Dr. Shaun Truelove, assistant scientist at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » September 3rd, 2021, 3:48 pm

adnj wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Repost

High viral load for 3-4 days, this could mean that the person is still contagious although the viral load decreased after the 4th day. That still pretty high risk in my opinion.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 3rd, 2021, 3:51 pm

Buts it's still less risk so that's what matters

In a car and in a motor bike you can crash and die

In a car there is less risk so therefore i ride cars
Mmoney607 wrote:
adnj wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Repost

High viral load for 3-4 days, this could mean that the person is still contagious although the viral load decreased after the 4th day. That still pretty high risk in my opinion.

Postby redmanjp » September 3rd, 2021, 5:23 pm

previous strains like alpha and the wild type (original strain) if vaxxed ppl got it the viral load was very low so they didn't spread it. with delta yes it is just as high as unvaxxed but for a shorter time. but even with delta vaxxed are less likely to get infected in the first place.

so i will proudly walk with my card or install the QR code and enjoy going to cinema again. :D
still masking and distancing of course. 3 mitigations: vax, distancing/capacity limits and masks when not eating/drinking.