COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

screwbash

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name "COVID 19"

Postby screwbash » March 4th, 2020, 6:22 am

In 2009, H1N1 was spreading fast around the world, so the World Health Organization called it a pandemic. Since then, people have continued to get sick from swine flu, but not as many.

While swine flu isn't as scary as it seemed a few years ago, it's still important to protect yourself from getting it. Like seasonal flu, it can cause more serious health problems for some people. The best bet is to get a flu vaccine, or flu shot, every year. Swine flu is one of the viruses included in the vaccine.

How Do You Catch It?
The same way as the seasonal flu. When people who have it cough or sneeze, they spray tiny drops of the virus into the air. If you come in contact with these drops, touch a surface (like a doorknob or sink) where the drops landed, or touch something an infected person has recently touched, you can catch H1N1 swine flu.

CONTINUE READING BELOW
People who have it can spread it one day before they have any symptoms and as many as 7 days after they get sick. Kids can be contagious for as long as 10 days.

Despite the name, you can't catch swine flu from eating bacon, ham, or any other pork product.

Swine Flu Symptoms
These, too, are pretty much the same as seasonal flu. They can include:

Cough
Fever
Sore throat
Stuffy or runny nose
Body aches
Headache
Chills
Fatigue
Like the regular flu, swine flu can lead to more serious problems including pneumonia, a lung infection, and other breathing problems. And it can make an illness like diabetes or asthma worse. If you have symptoms like shortness of breath, severe vomiting, pain in your belly or sides, dizziness, or confusion, call your doctor or 911 right away.
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved the new swine flu vaccine for use in the United States on September 15, 2009. Studies by the National Institutes of Health show a single dose creates enough antibodies to protect against the virus within about 10 days.

According to the latest WHO statistics (as of July 2010), the virus has killed more than 18,000 people since it appeared in April 2009, however they state that the total mortality (including deaths unconfirmed or unreported) from the H1N1 strain is "unquestionably higher".[20][26] Critics claimed the WHO had exaggerated the danger, spreading "fear and confusion" rather than "immediate information".[27] The WHO began an investigation to determine[28] whether it had "frightened people unnecessarily"

same a now with corona virus

Postby RedVEVO » March 4th, 2020, 6:27 am

So if the virus is "COVID 19"

Does it mean there was a 1 thru 18 strain ?

And it NEVER reach T&T ..

ALL this is hoax and hoax and Rowley reach Ghana ?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » March 4th, 2020, 7:02 am

^^^The "19" stands for 2019 as the year it originated. You eh play chupid nah.

Postby Gladiator » March 4th, 2020, 7:38 am

All that fancy food he eating.... And he still so chupid
fokhan_96 wrote:^^^The "19" stands for 2019 as the year it originated. You eh play chupid nah.

Postby rspann » March 4th, 2020, 7:42 am

Just read his posts and it says everything

Postby aaron17 » March 4th, 2020, 7:59 am

Wait nah..it have 95 of him? Lol kiddin

Postby aaron17 » March 4th, 2020, 8:00 am

Water shortage and drought would be a bad thing

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name

Postby 88sins » March 4th, 2020, 8:56 am

aaron17 wrote:Water shortage and drought would be a bad thing

it go be kinda difficult to wash hands with a hissing tap.

abducted

Postby abducted » March 4th, 2020, 9:02 am

785C5238-05F5-41CD-85ED-24E00A74A7A9.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » March 4th, 2020, 12:27 pm

We need to be cleaning phones too. Just think we touching it up and then taking calls putting it right on your face. However we should not use disinfectant as this may damage the material the screen is made of. The suggested solution is soap and water with a microfiber cloth.
Last edited by redmanjp on March 4th, 2020, 12:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » March 4th, 2020, 12:35 pm

Postby Ben_spanna » March 4th, 2020, 1:05 pm

Hand sanitizer selling out every where as fast as they get in stock!

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » March 4th, 2020, 1:27 pm

Postby adnj » March 4th, 2020, 2:21 pm

redmanjp wrote:We need to be cleaning phones too. Just think we touching it up and then taking calls putting it right on your face. However we should not use disinfectant as this may damage the material the screen is made of. The suggested solution is soap and water with a microfiber cloth.
Most mobiles have a glass screen. Most landline handsets are ABS plastic.
-------------

7 Easy Steps for a Germ-Free Cell Phone

These thorough cleaning steps should be done weekly to keep a phone relatively germ-free.

Unplug your phone and any attachments. Earbuds or chargers should be cleaned separately. Turn off the phone. 

Remove any protective cases or covers. These should also be cleaned separately before reinserting the phone.

In a small spray bottle, mix a one-to-one ratio of distilled water and 70% isopropyl alcohol. The distilled water is essential if you live in an area that has hard water, which is filled with microscopic minerals that can scratch the glass on the phone. Give the bottle a good shake.

Lightly spray a lint-free microfiber cloth with the water and isopropyl mixture. Never spray the phone directly. Do not over-wet the cloth.

Use the cloth to wipe down the entire phone front and back.

If small areas like the space around the camera lens, attachment ports, or buttons show signs of gunk build-up, gently use a dry cotton swab or wooden toothpick to clean those areas. Once any build-up is removed, wipe down the area again with the slightly damp microfiber cloth.

Allow the phone to air dry completely for at least 15 minutes before reinserting it into any case.

[URL]https://www.thespruce.com/how-to-clean-your-cell-phone-4163609
[/URL]

Postby SMc » March 4th, 2020, 2:25 pm

Got notification from work today saying be prepared to 'work from home' for quite some time if they send out the message-not new to me and I work from home a couple days a week minimum- its the rest of them I am worried about as they may feel its a good time to slack off.

I was due to travel to SE Asia last week (vacation) visiting multiple countries in the region. I cancelled the trip after being offered full refunds from both the airlines (except one which I expected) & the hotels even though I was not 'due them' under their T&C's.- it was a few of us going and the general consensus was if we don't need to go we wont.

I not overly concerned about catching it- but concerned that I may spread it and I couldn't be arsed to self isolate for 14 days if I do travel (work stipulation).

Anyway, hopefully its contained and life can go on until the next shitty situation comes up. Be safe, be clean and don't be a scaremonger.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » March 4th, 2020, 2:41 pm

Extremely good [daily] information from this guy.

moving

Postby moving » March 4th, 2020, 2:54 pm

As healthcare officials fight to stem the outbreak of coronavirus, researchers in China say preliminary research shows that COVID-19 is mutating and there are at least two types of the virus now.

One of those, the more aggressive strain, has infected 70% of the people tested, while a less aggressive strain was linked to the rest, according to doctors at Peking University’s School of Life Sciences and the Institut Pasteur of Shanghai.

Scientists dubbed the aggressive strain “L type” and the less prevalent version “S type”. The L type strain was seen more frequently in Wuhan, where the outbreak began, but researchers note that the frequency of infection has dropped off. They also cautioned that the data they had available for study was “very limited” and follow-ups were necessary to understand the evolution of the COVID-19.

“Whereas the L type was more prevalent in the early stages of the outbreak in Wuhan, the frequency of the L type decreased after early January 2020,” they wrote. “Human intervention may have placed more severe selective pressure on the L type, which might be more aggressive and spread more quickly.”

Researchers say the different strains were likely caused through a mutation of the ancestral version of the virus. And that could mean more are coming. They urged the scientific community to come together to battle and contain the outbreak.

“These findings strongly support an urgent need for further immediate, comprehensive studies that combine genomic data, epidemiological data, and chart records of the clinical symptoms of patients with coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19),” they wrote.

https://fortune.com/2020/03/04/coronavi ... han-china/

Postby aaron17 » March 4th, 2020, 3:04 pm

Can someone here outline how to handle the gas station pumps in steps?

Postby Kenjo » March 4th, 2020, 3:10 pm

aaron17 wrote:Can someone here outline how to handle the gas station pumps in steps?

Use gas pump and wash your hands afterwards with soap and water or alcohol based cleansers . Basics

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » March 4th, 2020, 3:20 pm

unipet el socorro has ppl that will pump your gas

[vs np posers who will only help women]

Postby SMc » March 4th, 2020, 3:27 pm

FrankChag wrote:Extremely good [daily] information from this guy.

You serious?

The man cant even work out percentages, he hasn't taken into consideration what every country considers a test, in Italy it may be a temperature check; in South Korea it may have just been a question of 'do you have it or come in contact with anyone who knowingly or unknowingly has it; the US or UK it may be a full on isolation; in T&T may be some other criteria- so I doubt he comparing apples with apples.

His statement about the Indians keeping the 'antibiotics for themselves' is completely fabricated, it has nothing to do with that but rather what raw materials are sourced where- if India were so reliant on the drugs they make why would they export the vast majority of it?

Anyway as said before- don't support the scaremongers

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 4th, 2020, 3:29 pm

But you will not have access to water or soap immediately after pumping which means bateria from pump handle passes on to the door handle, steering wheel and gear lever. Best bet would be use an alcohol based sanitizer immediately after or buy a box of those disposable plastic gloves and use those.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » March 4th, 2020, 3:37 pm

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » March 4th, 2020, 3:37 pm

wickedtuna wrote:https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-51744374
James Bond delayed release

screwbash

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name

Postby screwbash » March 4th, 2020, 3:53 pm

Kenjo wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Can someone here outline how to handle the gas station pumps in steps?

Use gas pump and wash your hands afterwards with soap and water or alcohol based cleansers . Basics

rinse yuh hand with d last $1 of gas, it go kill d germs

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » March 4th, 2020, 3:56 pm

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 4th, 2020, 3:57 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Hand sanitizer selling out every where as fast as they get in stock!

i paid $10 for a bottle in pennywise but all sell out. today i see it in a next store for $24 for the same size. price gouging start d lil bottle to attach to yuh keys is $9 in the same store. mask done, sanitizer done, what next ?

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » March 4th, 2020, 4:01 pm

SMc wrote:
FrankChag wrote:Extremely good [daily] information from this guy.

You serious?

The man cant even work out percentages, he hasn't taken into consideration what every country considers a test, in Italy it may be a temperature check; in South Korea it may have just been a question of 'do you have it or come in contact with anyone who knowingly or unknowingly has it; the US or UK it may be a full on isolation; in T&T may be some other criteria- so I doubt he comparing apples with apples.

His statement about the Indians keeping the 'antibiotics for themselves' is completely fabricated, it has nothing to do with that but rather what raw materials are sourced where- if India were so reliant on the drugs they make why would they export the vast majority of it?

Anyway as said before- don't support the scaremongers

I'll take your sentiments. You seem better informed than me.

So what kind of testing is happening in TT?
In our offices real ppl coughing and pretending they just have 'sinus'. I heard one woman serious-joke to another after coughing "like you have covid ah waht".. and i'm thinking.. it spreading and nobody testing.

I want to send them all home.

Postby hydroep » March 4th, 2020, 4:07 pm

In some of the epicenters all the basics sell out, not that people need them but fear of going out and contracting the disease has people hoarding.

I kinda surprised this have Trinis so spooked...buying out masks, sanitizer and thing. God iz a Trini and 'experts' say we eh have nothing to worry about. Allyuh chill nah man, chill...:|

Postby redmanjp » March 4th, 2020, 4:40 pm

if ah big advanced country like US cud have an outbreak with 11 deaths including 9 in 1 state (Washington) that they now admit may have been happening for weeks since January and they didn't know- who is we? i think d same for Italy as well