Dave wrote:
alfa wrote:
pugboy wrote:stay strong folks
ketchup still free at

darryl’s/japs
pricesmart
chinese fast food
bbq places

Ketchup with Chinese should be a summary offence :?
Immediate gallows!

Ketchup on all kinds of food, including Chinese does real lash!

Hang meh nah!

Something is VERY wrong with you sir :lol:
For good Chinese food at most you need a little pepper sauce.
Kinda have me wondering wtf allyuh does be eating from where :lol:

When it comes to personal tastes, only one opinion matters. And that's yours.

Re: Soo KFC raise again

Postby 88sins » March 6th, 2024, 1:20 pm

true dat

Postby j.o.e » March 6th, 2024, 1:37 pm

As I see this thread… feel I’ll eat a lil KFC today yes

Postby paid_influencer » March 6th, 2024, 7:09 pm

my go-to fast food order in my younger years was a 1/4 portion chicken fry rice (with a lil swizzle of ketchup). the ketchup does add a lil contrast and make it not so dry.

it not so strange. if you check the difference between local chinese and american chinese, is the sugar. US chinese food have the sauces that sweet sweet, everything in sugary sauce. Local chinese food much less sweet. Ketchup from most brands now is just sugar syrup so there you go.

Postby alfa » March 6th, 2024, 7:18 pm

paid_influencer wrote:my go-to fast food order in my younger years was a 1/4 portion chicken fry rice (with a lil swizzle of ketchup). the ketchup does add a lil contrast and make it not so dry.

it not so strange. if you check the difference between local chinese and american chinese, is the sugar. US chinese food have the sauces that sweet sweet, everything in sugary sauce. Local chinese food much less sweet. Ketchup from most brands now is just sugar syrup so there you go.

I believe our Chinese food is heavily tuned to our Caribbean taste. Was reading somewhere that the Chinese don't even consider this Chinese food and authentic Chinese dishes are different to what we have. Shrugs shoulders. I'd like to try real Peking duck one day though

Postby rollingstock » March 6th, 2024, 7:21 pm

bluefete wrote:
Dave wrote:
alfa wrote:
pugboy wrote:stay strong folks
ketchup still free at

darryl’s/japs
pricesmart
chinese fast food
bbq places

Ketchup with Chinese should be a summary offence :?
Immediate gallows!

Ketchup on all kinds of food, including Chinese does real lash!

Hang meh nah!

If de pelau dry, level ketchup too

Postby matr1x » March 6th, 2024, 8:34 pm

Curious why pll still eat kfc. It surely isn't the taste

Postby j.o.e » March 6th, 2024, 8:42 pm

matr1x wrote:Curious why pll still eat kfc. It surely isn't the taste

Most people don’t realize that fast food isn’t only about taste it’s more about convenience. KFC mastered delivery since the early 90’s the rest of them still can’t figure that out (remember the days of area code-0777) ?
They have convenient locations, drive thru and are close to most population centers and it tastes basically the same every time (consistent)
Say what you want about Prestige holdings they’ve done a great job with the franchise from 1973 to now.

Postby MaxPower » March 6th, 2024, 8:42 pm

^ Wait na, i seeing right?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 6th, 2024, 9:10 pm

Normally here, when shift over, it already past 8pm, and some coworkers have bad experiences with roadside fast food like on the cross for example. On some lunch times I used to still get a KFC sandwich when it available but I ent eat fried chicken fast food KFC/RC etc since maybe 2019.an easy to get, ready to eat meal will always be appealing to busy people especially.
I chase down Bermudez truck, holiday truck, etc and get some of the dried fruit mix, Crix and bhaji and live off those during the workday with vitamins, a fresh fruit and water till I get home and cook something quick. It does take effort but not everybody up to it

Postby matr1x » March 6th, 2024, 9:13 pm

viedcht wrote:
Normally here, when shift over, it already past 8pm, and some coworkers have bad experiences with roadside fast food like on the cross for example. On some lunch times I used to still get a KFC sandwich when it available but I ent eat fried chicken fast food KFC/RC etc since maybe 2019.an easy to get, ready to eat meal will always be appealing to busy people especially.
I chase down Bermudez truck, holiday truck, etc and get some of the dried fruit mix, Crix and bhaji and live off those during the workday with vitamins, a fresh fruit and water till I get home and cook something quick. It does take effort but not everybody up to it

That dried fruit mix does real lash. And the crix flavored crackers are nice. Lil salty tho

dogg

Postby dogg » March 6th, 2024, 9:18 pm

Cheap, convenient.

Postby matr1x » March 6th, 2024, 9:41 pm

dogg wrote:

Cheap, convenient.

Cheap? You can buy at a local fry chicken place and spend far less.

Postby alfa » March 6th, 2024, 10:24 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock:
Slims you decided to make your grand reentry in a KFC thread, oh the irony.
Good to have you back, what's the latest with:
The Vene invasion,
Those pesky muslims,
The covid conspiracy,
Doctors still running fake certs?
You polished your story and decided if it was one or two of your imaginary cousin(s) who perished in 9/11?

Anyway welcome back my good lard

Postby matr1x » March 6th, 2024, 10:50 pm

alfa wrote:

The Vene invasion,
Those pesky muslims,
The covid conspiracy,
You polished your story and decided if it was one or two of your imaginary cousin(s) who perished in 9/11?

Would have said your mom, but who hasn't made grand entries in that already.

I hear yaseena crying again. And ppl Marching for Palestine. It's a been a fun year.

Turns out, I was right

Postby gastly369 » March 6th, 2024, 11:12 pm

alfa wrote:

The Vene invasion,
Those pesky muslims,
The covid conspiracy,

Postby matr1x » March 6th, 2024, 11:30 pm

gastly369 wrote:
alfa wrote:

The Vene invasion,
Those pesky muslims,
The covid conspiracy,

Apparently alfa missed me. I was the light of his life or some sheit like that

dogg

Postby dogg » March 7th, 2024, 4:10 pm

matr1x wrote:
dogg wrote:

Cheap, convenient.

Cheap? You can buy at a local fry chicken place and spend far less.

Some people are digusted by imported smelly dumped chicken sold in most of those places, as they should be.

I rarely buy KFC myself, maybe its the convenient locations and consistent taste.

Postby pugboy » March 7th, 2024, 5:31 pm

i personally like the cole slaw
very consistent
cabbage cut the same size all the time

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 7th, 2024, 9:04 pm

Basically Trinidad is the only place in the world where the KFC tastes exceptional. Brazilian KFC is like a pale shadow compared to Trini KFC. Most KFC elsewhere is varying levels of bad-mediocre. The only places that can give Trinidad a run for their KFC is Jamaica and Japan.

Postby MaxPower » March 7th, 2024, 11:33 pm

triniterribletim wrote:Basically Trinidad is the only place in the world where the KFC tastes exceptional. Brazilian KFC is like a pale shadow compared to Trini KFC. Most KFC elsewhere is varying levels of bad-mediocre. The only places that can give Trinidad a run for their KFC is Jamaica and Japan.

Tim,

Trini KFC will taste exceptional to you eh and your countrymen’s taste buds.

Not everyone from all countries loves Trini KFC and would say it the best thing ever.

Postby 88sins » March 8th, 2024, 11:11 am

triniterribletim wrote:Basically Trinidad is the only place in the world where the KFC tastes exceptional. Brazilian KFC is like a pale shadow compared to Trini KFC. Most KFC elsewhere is varying levels of bad-mediocre. The only places that can give Trinidad a run for their KFC is Jamaica and Japan.

Tim,

Trini KFC will taste exceptional to you eh and your countrymen’s taste buds.

Not everyone from all countries loves Trini KFC and would say it the best thing ever.

You know foreigners come here and wonder why theirs does taste like a watered down version of ours right?

Postby *KRONIK* » March 8th, 2024, 11:17 am

But ent all KFC supposed to be the same seasoning mix they does import?

death365

Postby death365 » March 8th, 2024, 11:19 am

KFC venne does taste good too ... they also have things like cassava fries and other oddities.

Postby 88sins » March 8th, 2024, 11:34 am

*KRONIK* wrote:But ent all KFC supposed to be the same seasoning mix they does import?

Yes, but what I gather is the ratio of seasoning to chicken is what differs according to the country.
Last foreign KFC I had was in the UK. The KFC taste was there, but I had to focus to taste it.

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2024, 11:40 am

we workers hand always heavy
prob triple amount

Postby Chimera » March 8th, 2024, 11:41 am

*KRONIK* wrote:But ent all KFC supposed to be the same seasoning mix they does import?

https://www.mashed.com/29305/9-ways-kfc ... countries/

Originally Answered: Why does the taste of KFC vary depending on the nation?
Very likely, because different nations have different laws regulating food production, from farm to table.

At the very least, they're going to have chickens produced locally, which likely will not have been raised the way they are in the US, with growth hormones and such that aren't permitted in a lot of countries.

They may not be permitted to cook the chicken in the same equipment that would be used in the US, either.

Just those two differences would make a vast difference in taste.

Even here in the US, I can often tell a difference in taste between different brands of chicken, Tyson birds don't taste the same as Purdue.

It may not be a drastic difference, but it's obvious.

And on top of supply and method of cooking, certain additives used in the US might not be allowed in other countries, again, greatly changing the outcome.

So that *may* explain the differences between different country's KFCs.

It's also possible that the restaurants may adjust their recipes to local tastes, but I don't know about that for sure.

kfc chicken here is really the best of the best

could be the fresh local chicken is the main thing

Postby Chimera » March 8th, 2024, 11:42 am

pugboy wrote:we workers hand always heavy
prob triple amount

they probably realize thats what we accustom to and need

US and UK accustom to bland tasteless food

Postby j.o.e » March 8th, 2024, 11:44 am

It’s tweaked by market

Postby 88sins » March 8th, 2024, 1:23 pm

Chimera wrote:
pugboy wrote:we workers hand always heavy
prob triple amount

they probably realize thats what we accustom to and need

US and UK accustom to bland tasteless food

Precisely.
Crazy idea here eh.
But you know how many smokers and hard liquor drinkers we,have in this place? And you know how pepper, tobacco and alcohol tend to be somewhat deleterious to the taste buds?
I'm inclined to think these vices are a contributing factor to our penchant for foods that most others would consider either very well or overly seasoned.
Even our children get indoctrinated early. My lil nieces dem, I swear, if u see dem make chow yuh go cry, cuz you as big man you go cyah eat it and yuh go be wondering why it have more pepper than fruits in it :lol: