Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby maj. tom » January 22nd, 2016, 5:39 am

The butchers in every main regional market (Tunapuna, Chaguanas, etc.) that sells pork on Saturday mornings. Just ask him for pork belly. Weigh it out.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 14th, 2016, 7:42 pm

My wife does make it rel legit

Ketchup
Shadow beni (plenty)
Lime juice
Garlic
Salt
Black pepper
Water

I cant say what the exact proportions are...but i guess you can mix to taste

Postby 1UZFE » February 14th, 2016, 7:58 pm

Kronik u can add some drops of oyster sauce.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 14th, 2016, 8:31 pm

1UZFE wrote:Kronik u can add some drops of oyster sauce.

Yea...you can...but there are usually actual oysters when we make...

Lol

Postby *KRONIK* » February 14th, 2016, 8:33 pm

nick639 wrote:Daz it??? I now read chives, soy sauce and all that jazz on google yes

All that not really necessary....
Its just right proportions of the ingredients..

But everybody gonna have a different recipe....so its really up to what you want it to taste like

Postby *KRONIK* » February 14th, 2016, 8:42 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:My wife does make it rel legit

Ketchup
Shadow beni (plenty)
Lime juice
Garlic
Salt
Black pepper
Water

She say to add a bit of fresh ginger and a dash of cinnamon too

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 14th, 2016, 9:05 pm

I does put minced shrimps in mines.

Postby pugboy » February 15th, 2016, 6:06 am

Add a lil fish sauce
The famous Vietnamese dipping sauce Nuoc mam
Is pretty similar, google it

Postby pugboy » February 15th, 2016, 5:04 pm

If you boil the shrimp shells in it, it will be even better
As the shrimp shells carry a lot of the flavour

Postby *KRONIK* » February 15th, 2016, 5:51 pm

nick639 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:My wife does make it rel legit

Ketchup
Shadow beni (plenty)
Lime juice
Garlic
Salt
Black pepper
Water

She say to add a bit of fresh ginger and a dash of cinnamon too

Followed suit with the ginger and nailed it,

Put it on low heat for it to reduce and it hit the spot with some steamed shrimp!!

Thanks

Yea...i told you...its legit.

Lol

You didnt need to heat or reduce it tho....once you balance the water/ketchup, its usually good consistency.

Glad u got thru!

pugboy wrote:If you boil the shrimp shells in it, it will be even better
As the shrimp shells carry a lot of the flavour

This!

I do this when i'm making seafood soup....flavour is awesome!

Postby *KRONIK* » February 15th, 2016, 6:08 pm

Dinner:
1" thick beef burgers
With sauteed baby bella mushrooms, onions and sweet peppers.
Romaine lettuce
Mayo
Mixture of molten gouda and havarti
Lil dash of heinz ketchup

1455573951117.jpg

1455573942413.jpg

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 15th, 2016, 7:49 pm

I hungry now we.

Postby timelapse » February 17th, 2016, 11:38 am

Grilled Sea Crab:

1 Sea Crab
Bandaniya
2 cloves garlic
pinch of salt
2 tablespoons olive oil

clean the crab and make holes in the shell to stuff seasoning.
Mix all the seasoning and stuff it every that you can in the crab
Cook on preheated grill for about 25 minutes or until the white liquid stops oozing out from the cracks in the shell( I not sure what this is)
I used a mixture of hardwood coals and a piece of jamoon wood in the grill.

Crack shell and eat

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 17th, 2016, 3:38 pm

nick639 wrote:Thread lil quiet

Who have a nice "oyster man" mixture??

Authentic Oyster man sauce is uncomplicated, and too much ingredients kill it (impacts bottom line profits too, eh)
One of the better sauces I've sampled is Nugget in California and this is an attempt at replicating his sauce.

This would make about a ketchup bottle full.

3-4 key limes (yellow) ones, juiced. Keep some rind for the bottle.
1/4 cup brown sugar, or enough to just counter the sourness of the lime juice
2 cloves garlic, bruised then finely chopped, not blended.
about 1/4 cup chadon beni, finely chopped, not blended.
2 hot peppers, halved seeds removed.
salt and black pepper to taste
2-3 tbsp Matouk's ketchup

Shake and pour. Tastes good enough to drink without shrimp or oysters. Or with.

I don't mind a little hint of grated ginger in my version, but the ginger taste aint for everybody

Postby pugboy » February 17th, 2016, 5:53 pm

I agree, a lot of folks feel that if a little bit of something is good then plenty must be better
some people go overboard with shadon beni, garlic and pepper
a good example is jerk
jerk in jamaica has nowhere near the amount of pepper like what is passed off
as jerk here
likewise geera anything is usually more pepper than geera

Postby X_Factor » February 17th, 2016, 11:13 pm

u all ever tried homeade mozz cheeze?
where would i get the rennet?

Postby pugboy » February 17th, 2016, 11:31 pm

Rennet I think is made from animal stomach

Postby meccalli » February 18th, 2016, 5:48 am

Some people use citiric acid or lemon juice but i'm sure the taste is gonna be somewhat sharp.

Postby X_Factor » February 18th, 2016, 6:16 am

based on the youtube vids all i really need is about a gal of whole milk
rennet
citric acid
salt

there are vegetable rennet and animal
hoping to find the vegetable rennet somewhere, i know ibrahim has the citric acid
just to locate the rennet

process seems simple enough but they do say its about 50/50 chance of getting it rite

Postby pugboy » February 18th, 2016, 6:54 am

true mozz is made with buffalo milk which is extra creamy
you can get that from the the buffalpyso folks in couva I believe

i would be interested to see results too

Postby X_Factor » February 18th, 2016, 3:08 pm

i wont try the buffalo milk yet....
would experiment with the local cows milk as its not that costly and easier to get
not getting the rennet though...
amazon might be my only option but would leave the experiment for next mth

if anyone tries to make the mozz tell us how it went

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 18th, 2016, 4:43 pm

I made some crumbly paneer using powdered milk.
came out pretty good, actually.
http://www.tastumgoodum.com/2015/01/hom ... l?q=paneer

Postby SMc » February 19th, 2016, 5:54 am

I make lebneh from time to time, quite easy to make and goes down well for a breakfast cheese or with harissa, olive oil and crusty bread nom.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » March 5th, 2016, 11:38 pm

SMc wrote:I make lebneh from time to time, quite easy to make and goes down well for a breakfast cheese or with harissa, olive oil and crusty bread nom.

Wa?

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » April 12th, 2016, 1:29 pm

wa bout a crabie paddy?

Postby SMc » April 12th, 2016, 2:40 pm

oh gorm, at least spell the thing correctly..if you no have no concept or interest in cooking go and play in one of Desiflem or RnR threads as nothing makes sense there

Postby dougla_boy » April 13th, 2016, 7:46 am

love this thread yes....go try and put up some pics when ah try ah ting....later ah wah do some stir fry.....go post some pics

baigan

Re: RE: Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby baigan » April 13th, 2016, 10:57 pm

dougla_boy wrote:love this thread yes....go try and put up some pics when ah try ah ting....later ah wah do some stir fry.....go post some pics

Post d pics

Postby pugboy » April 15th, 2016, 8:04 pm

boards.JPG
2016 board action, small medium and large

Postby *KRONIK* » April 15th, 2016, 9:46 pm

Hoss...