rollingstock wrote:^ Actually $4.73, the subsidy on premium was 73c. From Min of Energy.
Imbert said he will also look at the gas price and the gas subsidy very carefully and what he described as "misinformation" that is out there. "I don't think people properly understand what is going on, so I will just give you a little clue. That $5.75 is not the cost price of the gasoline. When gas is subsidised it means the Government pays the difference between the cost price and the price at the pump. But my understanding is that premium was subsidised by about 75 cents, so cost of premium is really $4.75. So what is the thinking of going to $5.75 you are profiting. So you have gone from a situation of subsidising to making a profit on the population," he said.
"Based on information provided by the Energy Chamber in its presentation to UWI Management in July of this year, the subsidy on premium gas was only $0.73 per litre, while that on super gasoline was $1.83 and on diesel $2.71. Real savings are therefore likely to come only when the measure is extended to the other fuels."
According to Ramnarine, as of August 2012, data showed that six per cent of the subsidy was attributable to premium gasoline, 52 per cent to diesel, 41 per cent to super and one per cent to other fuels.
"In fiscal 2012 alone, the subsidy will be around $4.47 billion. You would appreciate that this money could be allocated to build hospitals, schools and roads. The subsidy in fiscal 2012 is actually twice the budgetary allocation to Tobago in fiscal 2013," said Ramnarine.
Crackpot wrote:Something is not right in who-villeEven TV-6 more gangsta...their ppl meter was: Have we ACCEPTED the price increase
Audit and accounting firm PricewaterhouseCoopers said, in its budget review yesterday, premium gas is the least subsidised of gases.
"Based on information provided by the Energy Chamber in its presentation to UWI Management in July of this year, the subsidy on premium gas was only $0.73 per litre, while that on super gasoline was $1.83 and on diesel $2.71. Real savings are therefore likely to come only when the measure is extended to the other fuels."
Finance Minister Larry Howai says he is not aware that the Government broke any law when it increased the price of premium gasoline in the 2012/2013 budget.
This was his response in an interview with TV6 News which aired last night about a claim made by Opposition MP Colm Imbert that the hike in the price of a litre of premium gasoline from $4 to $5.75 was in breach of the Petroleum Levy and Subsidy Act.
"This is the first I'm hearing of it," Howai said.
Imbert said the Act, passed during in 1973, stipulates that all oil companies in Trinidad and Tobago pay a levy to help reduce the local retail price of petroleum products, including super and premium gasoline and diesel.
Howai said Finance Ministry officials looked at the whole issue of the reduction of the subsidy in premium gasoline.
[b]"Without the subsidy, yes, I'm told that the price would be ($)6.21 we are actually at ($)5.75 so there is still an element of subsidy inside of there so the whole issue of contravening the law doesn't really arise as far as we could see," Howai said.[/b]
He however said he has asked officials at the Finance Ministry to take a second look "to see whether there is any substance" to Imbert's claim.
"But, as far as we're aware, at the moment certainly we are not in contravention in any law that is basically our position at this point in time," Howai said.
Imbert claimed the oil petroleum levy now accounted for $1 billion of the $4.7 billion fuel subsidy.
In response to a question from TV6 News, Howai said he was aware of the Act and added that the levy placed on the multinational energy giants that extracted oil from the land and marine reserves in Trinidad and Tobago was now "in the region of about $700 million."
"And so, for example, when we quoted, we say the subsidy is $4.4 billion and what we do is we deduct the $700 million. So you may sometimes hear numbers quoted that the subsidy is $3.7 billion and sometimes you hear is ($)4.4 (billion) and, I know, sometimes the public gets confused and they don't know if it's 3 billion, 3.7 or 4.4," Howai said.
He explained that "some people" may quote the net subsidy figure (minus the petroleum levy) while others may quote the gross subsidy figure (with the petroleum levy).
"In determining what the overall requirement is for this year we would have taken, done our own projections, of where the petroleum subsidy comes in to determine what exactly would be the requirement for this year," Howai said.
Conrad@Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:35 pm wrote:djcarbon wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I not buying no damn electric vehicle. I not buying no damn cng conversion kit. I not buying no damn cng vehicle either.
Hahahahahahaahaaaaaa I laugh with tears in mih eye.
Seriously though and politics aside I have some questions and the convo here could produce answers from the collective.
Raising diesel is political suicide. These are politicians. Lewwe dun that there. If the premise is that they raised premium to cut into the gas subsidy I can't understand how if they are asking people to switch to super. Premium was subsidized less than super by ALOT!!!
So on average, premium was $0.73/liter to subsidize, super is $1.83
Where'd you get that graph? It suggests that we're paying waaaaaay over the average price for premium.
kevcam wrote:So Imbert brought up some good points in the debate
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Gov ... 19521.html
So Howai is saying below HE WAS TOLD the price without the subsidy would be $6.21 (i.e the subsidy for premium was $2.21) So at $5.75 there is still a subsidy of $0.46 according to what HE WAS TOLD.
Now remember yesterday I quoted this part from the article
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_No ... 92191.htmlAudit and accounting firm PricewaterhouseCoopers said, in its budget review yesterday, premium gas is the least subsidised of gases.
So how come the subsidy on premium gone from $0.73 per litre to $2.21 per litre? That would've meant that premium was being subsidised more than super ($1.83) and just 50 cents short of the diesel subsidy. WTF really going on here?
This was Howai's response to it all.Finance Minister Larry Howai says he is not aware that the Government broke any law when it increased the price of premium gasoline in the 2012/2013 budget.
This was his response in an interview with TV6 News which aired last night about a claim made by Opposition MP Colm Imbert that the hike in the price of a litre of premium gasoline from $4 to $5.75 was in breach of the Petroleum Levy and Subsidy Act.
"This is the first I'm hearing of it," Howai said.
Imbert said the Act, passed during in 1973, stipulates that all oil companies in Trinidad and Tobago pay a levy to help reduce the local retail price of petroleum products, including super and premium gasoline and diesel.
Howai said Finance Ministry officials looked at the whole issue of the reduction of the subsidy in premium gasoline.
[b]"Without the subsidy, yes, I'm told that the price would be ($)6.21 we are actually at ($)5.75 so there is still an element of subsidy inside of there so the whole issue of contravening the law doesn't really arise as far as we could see," Howai said.[/b]
He however said he has asked officials at the Finance Ministry to take a second look "to see whether there is any substance" to Imbert's claim.
"But, as far as we're aware, at the moment certainly we are not in contravention in any law that is basically our position at this point in time," Howai said.
Imbert claimed the oil petroleum levy now accounted for $1 billion of the $4.7 billion fuel subsidy.
In response to a question from TV6 News, Howai said he was aware of the Act and added that the levy placed on the multinational energy giants that extracted oil from the land and marine reserves in Trinidad and Tobago was now "in the region of about $700 million."
"And so, for example, when we quoted, we say the subsidy is $4.4 billion and what we do is we deduct the $700 million. So you may sometimes hear numbers quoted that the subsidy is $3.7 billion and sometimes you hear is ($)4.4 (billion) and, I know, sometimes the public gets confused and they don't know if it's 3 billion, 3.7 or 4.4," Howai said.
He explained that "some people" may quote the net subsidy figure (minus the petroleum levy) while others may quote the gross subsidy figure (with the petroleum levy).
"In determining what the overall requirement is for this year we would have taken, done our own projections, of where the petroleum subsidy comes in to determine what exactly would be the requirement for this year," Howai said.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/___ ... 19511.html
Mudboy wrote:All I read was Minister Howai was told the the price without the subsidy would be $6.21.
You decided to produce a budget with some figures somebody told you? Imbert making them boys look real small with their lack of knowledge.
S_2NR wrote:PP is a failure. Trinidad is one jokey country, its crazy. Only thing left to do is take everything in stride and wine wine wine wine/migrate.
Conrad wrote:Mudboy wrote:All I read was Minister Howai was told the the price without the subsidy would be $6.21.
You decided to produce a budget with some figures somebody told you? Imbert making them boys look real small with their lack of knowledge.
Sadly this would hit the newspaper/rumshop for a max of 10 days and we'll be on to another more current affair that grabs out attention and Min. Howai would escape unscathed...unless people call the PM name 3 times like in Candyman for him to be fire.
kurpal_v2 wrote:S_2NR wrote:PP is a failure. Trinidad is one jokey country, its crazy. Only thing left to do is take everything in stride and wine wine wine wine/migrate.
http://www.aa.com/homePage.do?locale=en_TT&pref=true