2010 and 2011 Tropical weather discussion

Re: The official tropical weather thread: image updates on p

Postby M_2NR » October 29th, 2010, 9:12 pm

Hook wrote:^^^ ah feel your weekend forecast looking like a 90% probability of ban

btw.. in case you all missed this... maybe we can attach this link to the 1st post?

thanks to Guardian...
http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010/10/29/revisded-shelters-listing
Shelters list. (revised)

It's a 6MB PDF file.

Postby Hook » October 29th, 2010, 9:24 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Hook we know yuh under stress and we REAL thankful that you are here on the forums to dispel the myths

eekipoo, seems to be more NW movement to me too, but remember the hurricane hunter aircraft and other measurements show the stronger winds and rain to the south east and south west quadrants of the system. This is unusual, as tropical storms are usually more intense on their northern side, but then again a storm like Tomas forming in this location so late in the year is pretty unusual too.

Waiting on the 9pm bulletin.. but I feel we got away this time

This has more to do with the misalignment of the inflow and outflow vortices of the system. As it continues to develop, it's expected to show normal TC behaviour in terms of the activity in the northeast and southwest quadrants of the system. It's near impossible to tell exactly when, but at this rate, looks to be 1-ish in the morning as a reasonable guestimation.

As per direction, well...we have the forecast cones for that.

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » October 29th, 2010, 9:34 pm

Hook i must say i am totally thankful for the information you have shared with us today, and i certainly was not trying to insult your expertise but just as you i have been watching the movement and development of the storm/wave for the past few days which has led me to my assumptions and opinions previously stated in this thread. I have no doubt that we will get some effect of the storm and i understand that there are stronger winds and rain to the south east and south west quadrants of the system which is unusual, but based on previous storms, warnings and watches the direction that this storm is moving is not unusual. In my eyes it's moving north faster than west therefore bringing me to my conclusion that TRINIDAD will not receive the intense effects predicted by the met office. I could be wrong. So if you want to ban me for voicing an opinion no worries....eekipoo out

Postby Gladiator » October 29th, 2010, 9:39 pm

Hey Hook...

What field of study would one have to do to become a meteorologist. I always found the field fascinating. Also is it offered locally?

Postby Hook » October 29th, 2010, 9:47 pm

eekipoo wrote:Hook i must say i am totally thankful for the information you have shared with us today, and i certainly was not trying to insult your expertise but just as you i have been watching the movement and development of the storm/wave for the past few days which has led me to my assumptions and opinions previously stated in this thread. I have no doubt that we will get some effect of the storm and i understand that there are stronger winds and rain to the south east and south west quadrants of the system which is unusual, but based on previous storms, warnings and watches the direction that this storm is moving is not unusual. In my eyes it's moving north faster than west therefore bringing me to my conclusion that TRINIDAD will not receive the intense effects predicted by the met office. I could be wrong. So if you want to ban me for voicing an opinion no worries....eekipoo out

You're making your own "forecast" based on nothing but a satellite pic and spamming the thread with that nonsense and a set of "ah tell allyuh so, it eh comin here" nonsense and you think your opinion is welcome here?
Didn't you notice DM16's drunk and calalloo spam, pios kamala spam and alexy's surfer spam is missing?

Act like a grown-ass man nuh...at least pretend in this thread.

Postby tr1ad » October 29th, 2010, 9:54 pm

easy Hook easy

Postby Hook » October 29th, 2010, 9:57 pm

yeah boy I musbe real tired...I goin an sleep oui....phone switching off

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » October 29th, 2010, 9:58 pm

Hook wrote:
eekipoo wrote:Hook i must say i am totally thankful for the information you have shared with us today, and i certainly was not trying to insult your expertise but just as you i have been watching the movement and development of the storm/wave for the past few days which has led me to my assumptions and opinions previously stated in this thread. I have no doubt that we will get some effect of the storm and i understand that there are stronger winds and rain to the south east and south west quadrants of the system which is unusual, but based on previous storms, warnings and watches the direction that this storm is moving is not unusual. In my eyes it's moving north faster than west therefore bringing me to my conclusion that TRINIDAD will not receive the intense effects predicted by the met office. I could be wrong. So if you want to ban me for voicing an opinion no worries....eekipoo out

You're making your own "forecast" based on nothing but a satellite pic and spamming the thread with that nonsense and a set of "ah tell allyuh so, it eh comin here" nonsense and you think your opinion is welcome here?
Didn't you notice DM16's drunk and calalloo spam, pios kamala spam and alexy's surfer spam is missing?

Act like a grown-ass man nuh...at least pretend in this thread.

Hook, drunk, callalloo and surfing aye! I really considering making a toco run tonight... :twisted:

Postby Damien » October 29th, 2010, 9:58 pm

^ you act like ah grown man everything cant go your way, everyone is entitle to an opinion

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » October 29th, 2010, 9:58 pm

As i said I'm no meteorologist i could only make assumptions based on satellite imagery. So take it down a notch no one is on your case.

Alexy

Postby Alexy » October 29th, 2010, 10:11 pm

whey sa Hook bai.. :oops:
my bad................
but tanx for the updates man..good work 8-)

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 29th, 2010, 10:14 pm

Hook is owed about 3 case of stag...

(good ting he ent cuss me for my amateur forcasting too)

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » October 29th, 2010, 10:14 pm

Allyuh forget GOD is A TRINI!!...lol

never the less.. allyuh keep safe!

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » October 29th, 2010, 10:17 pm

Rum??? Bored waiting for some weather to hit to make the night interesting... tomorrow looks like a day for toco yes!

Postby Chimera » October 29th, 2010, 10:27 pm

iz we gonna die

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 29th, 2010, 10:30 pm

No... unless you park up by the beetham and yell "try to shoot me nah"

Postby wagon r » October 29th, 2010, 10:42 pm

i disappointed....

...was well lookin forward to ah lil breeze and some lightning....Mish...hope u guys get it easy over there though...last time a life was lost.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 29th, 2010, 10:46 pm

Yeah... there still is concern for us over here so we're still on the lookout...

Mostly it's the landslides that is a major concern as well as to an extent, flooding in some areas...

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » October 29th, 2010, 11:11 pm

Any timers in BIM? They look to get it head on

playerskrew

Any Rain Yet ?

Postby playerskrew » October 29th, 2010, 11:17 pm

Soon as it start leh we know.....

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 29th, 2010, 11:26 pm

now talk to some friends in Bim, rela action across there, Tomas is also now a Hurricane!

Michael Knight...

Re: Any Rain Yet ?

Postby Michael Knight... » October 29th, 2010, 11:27 pm

It's just really still. Not even a cricket makin noise.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » October 29th, 2010, 11:28 pm

^^same i hearing... The Mallalieu's are talking to me on skype.

Whats your scene tonight/ Frankies? Toco!?!?! im losing my mind staying home on a 1/2 bottle of rum.....

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 29th, 2010, 11:34 pm

Is ANYONE having rain at all?

Postby Country_Bookie » October 29th, 2010, 11:36 pm

...TOMAS NEARING BARBADOS...HURRICANE WARNINGS ISSUED FOR PORTIONS
OF THE WINDWARD ISLANDS...

SUMMARY OF 1100 PM AST...0300 UTC...INFORMATION
-----------------------------------------------
LOCATION...12.2N 58.4W
ABOUT 100 MI...165 KM SE OF BARBADOS
ABOUT 205 MI...325 KM ESE OF ST. VINCENT
MAXIMUM SUSTAINED WINDS...65 MPH...100 KM/HR
PRESENT MOVEMENT...WNW OR 300 DEGREES AT 16 MPH...26 KM/HR
MINIMUM CENTRAL PRESSURE...997 MB...29.44 INCHES

WATCHES AND WARNINGS
--------------------
CHANGES WITH THIS ADVISORY...

THE GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS HAS CHANGED THE TROPICAL STORM WARNING
FOR BARBADOS AND ST. VINCENT AND THE GRENADINES TO A HURRICANE
WARNING.

THE GOVERNMENT OF ST. LUCIA HAS CHANGED THE TROPICAL STORM WARNING
FOR ST. LUCIA TO A HURRICANE WARNING.

THE GOVERNMENT OF FRANCE HAS CHANGED THE TROPICAL STORM WARNING FOR
MARTINIQUE TO A HURRICANE WARNING.

SUMMARY OF WATCHES AND WARNINGS IN EFFECT...

A HURRICANE WARNING IS IN EFFECT FOR...
* BARBADOS
* ST. VINCENT AND THE GRENADINES
* ST. LUCIA
* MARTINIQUE

A TROPICAL STORM WARNING IS IN EFFECT FOR...
* TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO
* GRENADA
* DOMINICA

A HURRICANE WARNING MEANS THAT HURRICANE CONDITIONS ARE EXPECTED
SOMEWHERE WITHIN THE WARNING AREA...IN THIS CASE WITHIN 24 HOURS.
PREPARATIONS TO PROTECT LIFE AND PROPERTY SHOULD BE NEARING
COMPLETION.

A TROPICAL STORM WARNING MEANS THAT TROPICAL STORM CONDITIONS ARE
EXPECTED SOMEWHERE WITHIN THE WARNING AREA...IN THIS CASE WITHIN
24 HOURS.

So I guess this means its gonna be a hurricane by the time it reaches Bim, Vincy et al. But still expected to remain a storm if it hits TnT, Dominica and Grenada.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » October 29th, 2010, 11:37 pm

Dry as Dry could be..... No effin rain at all!!!!!!

Im just bored and running outta rum, if i find any vodka pray this storm really hits or else all hell is about to break loose!

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » October 29th, 2010, 11:38 pm

No rain in San Do yet, still watin.

Postby foss » October 29th, 2010, 11:40 pm

no rain in the bay either

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 29th, 2010, 11:42 pm

nuttin here in de rio claro.....

Postby wagon r » October 29th, 2010, 11:42 pm

Tomas buss ah e-brake drift and swing north...jus goes to show how easy computer models could be wrong.