Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

Re: DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 24th, 2012, 3:46 pm

Is there anyway to disable edge on your phone and force the phone to only use HSPA mode?

cause sometimes I get 1 bar but download works great enough and then it switches to EDGE this is usually in indoors. Lots of time it dont really need to switch to edge but it does and then back to H in same location.

Wish I could set it to H only.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 24th, 2012, 4:21 pm

I know i've seen some blackberries with the option to set it to '3G' only and you can't on an iPhone, don't know about other phones.

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 24th, 2012, 4:28 pm

I'm on a iPhone 4 S I can't set to 3 G alone hope when I get the S3 it's flawless .

achillies

Postby achillies » May 24th, 2012, 5:19 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Is there anyway to disable edge on your phone and force the phone to only use HSPA mode?

cause sometimes I get 1 bar but download works great enough and then it switches to EDGE this is usually in indoors. Lots of time it dont really need to switch to edge but it does and then back to H in same location.

Wish I could set it to H only.

Which phone?

Usually the phone knows what's best, and using the "bars" you see is never a good indication of signal strength, you may be seeing one bar but the actual signal strength in dBm can be very weak.

Find a method to read actual signal strength in dBm, you may see the phone switch when it's very close to 109/111 dBm, which is bare minimum signal iirc.

Remember you have a phone first, smart functions after so it's probably designed to look for the best signal strength first.

When I'm on wifi, I switch off wcdma for better signal strength because indoors, 3G signal really suffers.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 25th, 2012, 10:29 am

^ Is a Galaxy S2 i9100

Yeah the cyanogen mod 9 rom can display signal strength in the technical dbm thingy.

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 25th, 2012, 12:35 pm

So all of you getting low ping still ?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 25th, 2012, 2:19 pm

what I observed is that the H+ icon has different signal bars from the EDGE.

Where the H+ gives 1 bar the EDGE will give almost max.

Postby M_2NR » May 25th, 2012, 2:54 pm

Edge network has the superior coverage. 4G only has 75% it will obviously have better service bai.

I notice if i have 3G on (i have no 4G plan eh) my pings off and on for edge gets really low like 4G pings :D

achillies

Postby achillies » May 25th, 2012, 3:00 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Is a Galaxy S2 i9100

Yeah the cyanogen mod 9 rom can display signal strength in the technical dbm thingy.

CM9 won't ever display a value below 89dBm, Samsung f*#ked up the RIL which is the interface between the ROM and the Radio/Antenna Hardware (in layman's terms) so if you are running any ROM built from AOSP, you would only get correct readings above/below (depending on how you look at it :-|) -89dBm

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 25th, 2012, 3:30 pm

M_2NR wrote:Edge network has the superior coverage. 4G only has 75% it will obviously have better service bai.

I notice if i have 3G on (i have no 4G plan eh) my pings off and on for edge gets really low like 4G pings :D

that's good man .

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 25th, 2012, 11:27 pm

Seeing that this 4G kills battery life 3 times faster and makes the phone super hot I have decided to invest in this

http://www.amazon.com/Incredicharge-I-5 ... 440&sr=8-2

about same power in a laptop battery. Should be enough to power me for atleast 10 hours a day

Postby Trini Hookah » May 25th, 2012, 11:42 pm

Why not just keep your phone plugged in your car charger/laptop when not in use :/

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 26th, 2012, 2:06 am

^ man does be on d go !!!!.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 26th, 2012, 8:28 pm

^ yup pretty much. 4G does run down battery in 2.5 hours of web browsing infact its less more like 2 hours since I does have brightness high, music playing through loud speaker etc.

My S2 does work as my laptop replacement. Only reason I spent this much money on a phone always bought them cheap Me 2 before. Takes about 4 to 5 hours to fully charge back the phone. So the 5000 MAH USB battery should do fine for the full day.

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 27th, 2012, 3:43 am

I use my torch 9810 as a mobile hotspot. Seeing as how battery life takes a jump off a cliff with 4g plus mobile hotspot I decided to get this:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004I0H9MU

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 27th, 2012, 8:18 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:I use my torch 9810 as a mobile hotspot. Seeing as how battery life takes a jump off a cliff with 4g plus mobile hotspot I decided to get this:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004I0H9MU

Cool looking good .

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 27th, 2012, 3:30 pm

got 9.1mbits on this thing with the htc vivid..wow

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 27th, 2012, 7:30 pm

got 9.8 down and 2.6 up with a 4S, really liking this service so far

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 27th, 2012, 8:31 pm

What ping did you both got ?

I got this inside MT Chag
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1338165090.504748.jpg

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 27th, 2012, 9:28 pm

Ping was 202

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 27th, 2012, 9:45 pm

mines was 120, Arouca

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 27th, 2012, 10:29 pm

I feel Digicel switch from Flows Server someone indie digicel and Flows told me that Digicel bought bandwidth from Flows. It look like now its passing true a VPN inside of digicel network too some other server in the world.

mojosodope

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby mojosodope » May 27th, 2012, 10:40 pm

^ there might be some truth to that VPN, I remember when I first got the trial all my searches were being directed to google Canada

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 27th, 2012, 10:55 pm

Yea I feel is that self what happening right now....but all the pages loading the same skype not dropping runs good.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 28th, 2012, 5:23 am

So i found a way to.turn off edge and force 3G all the time. In the gs2 I just set the mode to wcdma only. However it won't work sometimes its actually better to have it on auto so it can switch back to edge lol

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 28th, 2012, 6:43 am

^ you now find out that boy lol !!!!

Postby nemisis » May 28th, 2012, 12:56 pm

firstchoicett wrote:^ you now find out that boy lol !!!!

Yuh understand.

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby M_2NR » May 28th, 2012, 11:25 pm

firstchoicett wrote:I feel Digicel switch from Flows Server someone indie digicel and Flows told me that Digicel bought bandwidth from Flows. It look like now its passing true a VPN inside of digicel network too some other server in the world.

and where that data tunneling through? Which fiber leaving the country?

Oh. Btw. In case you guys were wondering:
http://www.gizmodo.com/5841710/this-is-the-internet

firstchoicett

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby firstchoicett » May 29th, 2012, 7:07 am

That a nice map soni guess Santa still have dial up ... Boy does he takes so long to get my mails . Lolyo

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 29th, 2012, 9:41 am

M_2NR wrote:
firstchoicett wrote:I feel Digicel switch from Flows Server someone indie digicel and Flows told me that Digicel bought bandwidth from Flows. It look like now its passing true a VPN inside of digicel network too some other server in the world.

and where that data tunneling through? Which fiber leaving the country?

Oh. Btw. In case you guys were wondering:
http://www.gizmodo.com/5841710/this-is-the-internet

lol..u read my mind