The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Swisha

Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby Swisha » February 4th, 2011, 10:30 pm

LG Optimus Pad (aka G-Slate) coming to MWC 2011 with Honeycomb, Tegra 2 and 3D display

The T-Mobile G-Slate may be fully official now, but the rest of the world needs love too, and LG's just announced it intends to deliver said loving at Mobile World Congress in Barcelona a few days from now. The Optimus Pad, as this 8.9-inch tablet will be known outside the US, will offer Android Honeycomb as its OS, along with a 3D-capable 1280 x 768 display, dual-core Tegra 2 processor, a front-facing camera plus a pair of imagers on the back allowing for 3D picture-taking, 32GB of onboard storage, and a 6,400mAh battery. We should be getting to grips with the device at MWC in due course -- look for it to launch alongside or shortly after its US twin hits retail in March.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 4th, 2011, 10:43 pm

uTorrent Remote Manages Your BitTorrent Downloads from Your Android Phone

Android: The uTorrent 3.0 alphas have a pretty convenient web UI, but now Android users can start, stop, monitor and even download torrents to their phone with BitTorrent's official uTorrent remote app.

Web UIs are great for monitoring your downloads when you aren't at home, but no one likes a webapp on their phone—even if it is mobile-frirendly. If you're a uTorrent user rocking an Android phone, you'll definitely want to check out the new uTorrent Remote app, which taps into uTorrent 3.0's remote access feature to manage your home PC's downloads when you're out and about.

This isn't just a torrent monitor like the webapp, either. You can not only check on your downloads and start new ones, but even check your BitTorrent RSS feeds and shift completed files directly to your phone. Note that you'll need to be running uTorrent 3.0 on your home machine to use this app.

uTorrent Remote is a free download for Android devices running 2.1 and up.

uTorrent Remote

Lifehacker

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » February 5th, 2011, 8:48 pm

gots me a g1, loaded CyanogenMod, so far so good...

Postby r3iXmann » February 6th, 2011, 6:12 pm

got a n900..gonna load nitdroid on it sometime this week :mrgreen:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 7th, 2011, 6:19 pm

Sony Ericsson makes Xperia Play official in Super Bowl commercial, full launch coming February 13th

Sony Ericsson has finally stopped teasing, winking, and nodding knowingly and has just come clean -- the Xperia Play is most definitely real and it'll be one of the first devices announced at this year's Mobile World Congress in Barcelona. We're treated to a date and time, February 13th at 6PM GMT, a pair of full frontal shots of the Gingerbread-running, gamepad-wearing smartphone, and the full version of that creepy ad we saw for it a couple of days back.

Engadget

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 7th, 2011, 7:48 pm

This is awesome lazysauce!

mitch wrote:uTorrent Remote Manages Your BitTorrent Downloads from Your Android Phone

Android: The uTorrent 3.0 alphas have a pretty convenient web UI, but now Android users can start, stop, monitor and even download torrents to their phone with BitTorrent's official uTorrent remote app.

Web UIs are great for monitoring your downloads when you aren't at home, but no one likes a webapp on their phone—even if it is mobile-frirendly. If you're a uTorrent user rocking an Android phone, you'll definitely want to check out the new uTorrent Remote app, which taps into uTorrent 3.0's remote access feature to manage your home PC's downloads when you're out and about.

This isn't just a torrent monitor like the webapp, either. You can not only check on your downloads and start new ones, but even check your BitTorrent RSS feeds and shift completed files directly to your phone. Note that you'll need to be running uTorrent 3.0 on your home machine to use this app.

uTorrent Remote is a free download for Android devices running 2.1 and up.

uTorrent Remote

Lifehacker

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » February 8th, 2011, 7:15 am

Picked up 2 Tmobile Samsung Vibrant Galaxy S phones in NY recently. Phones are locked, trying the free unlocks online but the program is unable to locate the nv_data.bin file which usually contains the unlock and unfreeze key.

They say if i root the device, it should show up...how safe is it to do?
Was a former Iphone user, used to do my own unlocks/jailbreaks etc.

Is it safer to just pay the $20usd to those online sites for the IMEI unlock?
I'm on Android 2.1update1

Postby r3iXmann » February 8th, 2011, 7:49 am

use superoneclickroot..

rooting is safe

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » February 8th, 2011, 11:47 am

i think imma seel my Xperia X10 but not for the Xperiaplay. Most likely will be purchasing the new Xperia model, Anzu i think?

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » February 8th, 2011, 12:33 pm

oh myyyyyy!

Hacked HD2 for sale. WM & Android 2.3 or WP7

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 8th, 2011, 2:56 pm

Any reviews on Samsung Nexus S ?? Is it really that much of an upgrade from Nexus One ?

Postby RASC » February 8th, 2011, 4:01 pm

Guys... Wanted to love Android in its current form... But geez an ages man... The lag is killing me. Yes I said it was laggy, no I'm not trolling and yes I know about app killer... I've used every version, on most major brands including the sexy galaxy s, yet I just can't get over that slight lag issue. I decided to go with the HTC hd7 with wp7 and will be waiting it out a bit until dual cores come down in price. But for now I need need need my speed... And lets just say the u/i on the wp7 Makes IOS seem like Duane 1WD evo... :|
Did I mention how sleek and sexy it is? Yeah you know the skettle in me couldn't resist:P
Last edited by RASC on February 8th, 2011, 4:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 8th, 2011, 4:39 pm

RASC wrote:Guys... Wanted to love Android in its current form... But geez an ages man... The lag is killing me. Yes I said it was laggy, no I'm not trolling and yes I know about app killer... I've used every version, on most major brands including the sexy galaxy s, yet I just can't get over that slight lag issue. I decided to go with the HTC hd7 with wp7 and will be waiting it out a bit until dual cores come down in price. But for now I need need need my speed... And lets just say the u/i on the wp7 Makes IOS seem like Duane 1WD evo... :|
Did I mention how sleek and sexy it is? Yeah you know the settle in me couldn't resist:P

Interesting review. I'm looking to upgrade my personal phone from a BB, but not sure if to to go with an Android or HTC phone. Have you by chance used the G2 or Nexus S? If so, what's your review?

zcarz

Postby zcarz » February 8th, 2011, 8:11 pm

r3iXmann wrote:use superoneclickroot..

rooting is safe

will this work on desire HD? looking to root and install cyanogenmod 7 and don't want any long difficult method

Postby 16 cycles » February 9th, 2011, 8:20 am

Nokia at crisis point warns new boss Stephen Elop

Stephen Elop Stephen Elop was at Microsoft before taking over Nokia in September 2010

Nokia's new CEO has sent an outspoken and frank memo to his staff that suggests the phone giant is in crisis.

Stephen Elop describes the company as standing on a "burning platform" surrounded by innovative competitors who are grabbing its market share.

In particular, he said, the firm had been caught off guard by the success of Google's Android operating system and Apple's iPhone.

BBC News has verified that the memo is genuine.

"The first iPhone shipped in 2007, and we still don't have a product that is close to their experience," Mr Elop wrote in the note that was distributed to the Finnish company's staff and was first published by technology website Engadget.

"Android came on the scene just over two years ago, and this week they took our leadership position in smartphone volumes. Unbelievable."

Although Nokia leads the global smartphone market in terms of handset sales, its overall share has been gradually declining.

According to research firm IDC, Nokia's share fell from 38% in 2009 to 28% by the end of 2010.

Meanwhile its rivals, including Apple and HTC have seen their share increase, or remain constant.

Ben Wood, an analyst at research firm CCS insight, said the memo showed that Mr Elop has a "deep understanding of the severe structural problems Nokia is facing".

"I think it shows that he has inherited an organisation that is in much worse shape than he anticipated and the work that will be required to get it back on track should not be underestimated," he told BBC News.

Mr Elop's leaked memo also suggests that Nokia is also being squeezed at the lower, non-smartphone end of the market by Chinese manufacturers.

"They are fast, they are cheap, and they are challenging us," he wrote.

Nokia is expected to publicly address its future strategy at a media event this Friday.

Mr Wood said that he thought Mr Elop would use the briefing as a chance to issue a "mea culpa".

"He will use it to say 'we are not in a good position, we have been outgunned and if we are to recover we are going to have to take some drastic decisions'."

Mr Wood said this could involve using Android or Microsoft's Windows Phone 7 operating systems.

"No options will be ruled out," he said.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-12403466

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 9th, 2011, 10:45 am

Any reviews on the HTC Thunderbolt?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » February 9th, 2011, 10:55 am

AFAIK
The thunderbolt isnt GSM, so us locals wont be able to grab it
but It looks like a Desire HD with a kickstand, 4G

Postby RASC » February 9th, 2011, 12:07 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:Any reviews on the HTC Thunderbolt?
I don't even think its on the shelves of the Verizon stores yet. Give it a few. The only ppl who would have access would be the journalists. Check YouTube.

Postby Greypatch » February 9th, 2011, 1:50 pm

fellas updates to the angry birds seasons and original version...check dem out

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 9th, 2011, 2:26 pm

RASC wrote:
I don't even think its on the shelves of the Verizon stores yet. Give it a few. The only ppl who would have access would be the journalists. Check YouTube.

It won't be on Verizon's shelves for quite some time given tomorrow's release of the IPhone 4. Supposedly Best Buy is now the exclusive carrier of the Thunderbolt. It's available for pre-order but I haven't decided on if its worth it. I'm also eyeing the Nexus S (which I heard is much better than the IPhone), TMobile G2 and Samsung Vibrant.

Also worth consideration is that TMobile is having a FREE offer on all their smartphone (including 4Gs) on February 11th and 12th, which means I can get the Samsung or TMobile G2 for free with mail-in rebate.

But then again, they are releasing new phones soon, so I don't know if I should renew my contract or wait a bit more. UGH.

Postby RASC » February 9th, 2011, 2:45 pm

Stay out of contract as long as humanly possible. Whendeciding to upgrade they treat you like royalty,basically begging you to stay on by offering any possible deal they can muster
. Be stern and always ask to speak to a manager. Ask if they have a loyalty program and if so can you get in contact with them. They will bow to the pressure 90% of the time and give you the phone you want for free or a hugely discounted price. Who's your service provider now?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 9th, 2011, 3:21 pm

RASC wrote:Stay out of contract as long as humanly possible. Whendeciding to upgrade they treat you like royalty,basically begging you to stay on by offering any possible deal they can muster
. Be stern and always ask to speak to a manager. Ask if they have a loyalty program and if so can you get in contact with them. They will bow to the pressure 90% of the time and give you the phone you want for free or a hugely discounted price. Who's your service provider now?

But out of contract = more $$ for a smartphone. Besides, I'm not a big techie and can keep the same phone for two years. :P

I'm with TMobile but considering switchin to VZ for the Thunderbolt, their first 4G.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 9th, 2011, 4:42 pm

RASC wrote:I decided to go with the HTC hd7 with wp7 and will be waiting it out a bit until dual cores come down in price. But for now I need need need my speed... And lets just say the u/i on the wp7 Makes IOS seem like Duane 1WD evo... :|
Did I mention how sleek and sexy it is? Yeah you know the skettle in me couldn't resist:P

should have waited till Friday. apparently Nokia plans to announce it will be building WP7 phones.

i would have loved to get me a Nokia with Android though, ah well...

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » February 9th, 2011, 6:10 pm

Wait until the Mobile World Congress to see what the new smartphones will be.

Only 4 days left.

http://www.mobileworldcongress.com/

AbstractPoetic wrote:
RASC wrote:

It won't be on Verizon's shelves for quite some time given tomorrow's release of the IPhone 4. Supposedly Best Buy is now the exclusive carrier of the Thunderbolt. It's available for pre-order but I haven't decided on if its worth it. I'm also eyeing the Nexus S (which I heard is much better than the IPhone), TMobile G2 and Samsung Vibrant.

Also worth consideration is that TMobile is having a FREE offer on all their smartphone (including 4Gs) on February 11th and 12th, which means I can get the Samsung or TMobile G2 for free with mail-in rebate.

But then again, they are releasing new phones soon, so I don't know if I should renew my contract or wait a bit more. UGH.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » February 9th, 2011, 6:33 pm

zcarz wrote:

rooting is safe

will this work on desire HD? looking to root and install cyanogenmod 7 and don't want any long difficult method

Bump

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 9th, 2011, 6:41 pm

zcarz wrote:

rooting is safe

Bump

just try it. wouldnt do anything to the phone if it's unsuccessful:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=803682

someone said it worked on the DesireHD here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... st11225012

Postby RASC » February 9th, 2011, 7:28 pm

WAIT? No Way...

Of course I knew of MWC...is me yuh talking to :lol:

1. MWC would be announcements...majority of these products not gonna hit shelves until Q4 2011/Q1 2012

2. I needed something now-got a FREE phone...I'm not waiting until the holiday season to jump back into the smartphone game. By then Dual Cores would NOW begin to start rolling out en mass at extremely inflated prices.

Postby RASC » February 9th, 2011, 7:32 pm

mitch wrote:
RASC wrote:I decided to go with the HTC hd7 with wp7 and will be waiting it out a bit until dual cores come down in price. But for now I need need need my speed... And lets just say the u/i on the wp7 Makes IOS seem like Duane 1WD evo... :|

should have waited till Friday. apparently Nokia plans to announce it will be building WP7 phones.

i would have loved to get me a Nokia with Android though, ah well...

Nokia isn't getting anymore of my money for a while. I used to be a super hardcore supporter...
Their arrogance was wey too much to bear. Refusing to adopt or adapt. 'til it was too late...New American CEO lash them for 6 with that memo...

Postby RASC » February 9th, 2011, 7:37 pm

Stueps...allyuh men not even realising the same issues WRT Android is the SAME thing that doomed Windows Mobile.

Look at allyuh selves... side loading ROMS, Flashing, Rooting just to get the phone without the lag issues :?

I was the first one to blast Apple with their closed mentality...but in actuality it has proved to be their biggest asset. SMOOTH, seemless error free loading, streaming and navigation. Being techy, hacking etc, losses it's appeal quickly and I waiting for allyuh on the next side-WP7-lemme know when you ready to join the revolution of just powering your handset and actually doing stuff without fear of crashing and having to reboot, or worse bricking your phone.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » February 9th, 2011, 7:38 pm

rooting is safe

Thanks, managed to get the devices unlocked.