*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby X_Factor » September 8th, 2010, 5:26 pm

not that actually, more like how the inside of MT or CC8 is on the inside
with the sorta fabric lined the walls....im guessing its commercial carpet with the chipped foam sheets under it

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 8th, 2010, 8:05 pm

Yeah, NAPA and Naparima Bowl have/had it on their walls. If you speak into the wall, its weird, you almost don't hear anything back. Never really looked into what makes it up.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2010, 8:31 pm

I need some padding in my room, I have alot of echo that needs getting rid of.

make your own anechoic chamber

"This chamber is a room used in audio engineering (and other sciences involving other inaudible frequencies) that has absolutely no reverberation, no surfaces for sound to reflect. Since the room has no audible context apparently these rooms are so audibly unnatural for humans, that people can go nuts if they are exposed to Anechoic Chamber’s conditions for too long. Sounds that we take for granted and sounds that are masked with the ambience of our environments, such as our breathing, heartbeat, and even the blood coursing through our veins become the only sounds heard in this padded room. I’d love to check one out one day, i think they are quite visually stunning as well."

Postby shogun » September 8th, 2010, 9:04 pm

Off topic but, that movie is awesome.

Postby X_Factor » September 8th, 2010, 9:12 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I need some padding in my room, I have alot of echo that needs getting rid of.

if ur floor is tiled u can probably start by using the chipped foam lining and carpet
or even a decent carpet alone
get the wifey to vacuum it once a week so u wont have the dust prob.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2010, 10:35 pm

^ I have a thick spaghetti rug on the floor and it helps, wish I had that material on the walls.

My problem is that the house is fairly empty, no dining table yet, drapes not complete (some windows just have hard blinds), couch set is scant - just bare walls and tiles so things echo alot.

Postby crazybalhead » September 9th, 2010, 9:12 am

Have an article on that as well, all the topics covered in these last few pages are in the latest issue of HT magazine. Yuh should check eet out online. Cheap sound deadening etc.

Postby SR » September 9th, 2010, 10:00 am

there was a desing for the walls for th house that does absorb reflections and yet still be fashinable
hada look at my old magazines for it
duane u need to add a partition on the southern area to help enclose it a bit

i am sure pornstar can arrange a dry wall solution

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 9th, 2010, 10:42 am

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 9th, 2010, 2:19 pm

Two 10s and a compression driver....waits for the gallery guys.. :)

Postby SR » September 9th, 2010, 2:26 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I need some padding in my room, I have alot of echo that needs getting rid of.

make your own anechoic chamber

"This chamber is a room used in audio engineering (and other sciences involving other inaudible frequencies) that has absolutely no reverberation, no surfaces for sound to reflect. Since the room has no audible context apparently these rooms are so audibly unnatural for humans, that people can go nuts if they are exposed to Anechoic Chamber’s conditions for too long. Sounds that we take for granted and sounds that are masked with the ambience of our environments, such as our breathing, heartbeat, and even the blood coursing through our veins become the only sounds heard in this padded room. I’d love to check one out one day, i think they are quite visually stunning as well."

been in a car that was almost like this already

iasca sq competitor

Phil Petracca

http://caraudiomag.com/articles/1987-me ... stallation

judged this car in 2005 finals in kansas

you could have heard your heart beat once the car was closed up almost as loud as if you were lsitening to it with a stethoscope

it made you feel very strange and some judges felt upset if they stayed in it too long

the sound was fantastic

Postby 16 cycles » September 9th, 2010, 6:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:yeah but you are missing out on alot of the environment that the directors and producers are creating in the movies. The formats have changed as Dolby, Dolby Pro Logic II and even Dolby Digital has given way to Dolby TrueHD with lossless audio however its really up to the receiver to handle the audio, they all work on a standard 5.1 system.

Which PSBs you got?

in time i will probably take the plunge into the surround sound arena - just need to really research equipment etc

psb stratus minis

for the classical fans...

http://www.stereophile.com/news/naxos_b ... akthrough/
^ article on blu ray classical music

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 11th, 2010, 10:49 am

check this raid 5 storage, that grows with you

http://revision3.com/hdnation/drobofs#rev3Player

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 11th, 2010, 10:45 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Duane, I tell yuh where to go to get decent furniture.

ruffneck, I don't understand the question.

Front speakers should be facing forward and slightly toed in. The center should fase you.

Dipole/ bipole surrounds should have the null point facing your main listening position.

Surrounds (5.1) should be slightly behind the listening position and facing slightly forward.

Rear surrounds (7.1) should be placed similar to your front speakers, but behind.

shud have clarified this,,, was referring to speakers in a cabinet in relation to each other, like mid-bass, mid, high, and how to mount them in the box, make all the : suspensions OR fronts of the magnets OR top of the coils line up? Dont wanna rely on Time alignment on a processor to correct the effect of mounting all the speakers flush on the baffle

like this Image

but the other responses answered my other questions so :mrgreen:

also, does the TV have to be in the center of the 2 L/R speakers? or can some placement obeah be worked to achieve the same effect as seen in the pic below

the TV in the corner of the room next to a door way, only possible position due to the big arse couches

good info otherwise

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 12th, 2010, 5:12 pm

Anyone has experience with diy cat 5 cables? check this out ->

http://www.venhaus1.com/diycatfivecables.html

Postby X_Factor » September 12th, 2010, 7:53 pm

i doubt ppl would go through the lengths of doin that when they can simply get high quality 16-12g speaker wire very easily

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 13th, 2010, 2:59 pm

nareshseep wrote:Anyone has experience with diy cat 5 cables? check this out ->

http://www.venhaus1.com/diycatfivecables.html

bleh

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 13th, 2010, 4:26 pm

The snake oil enhanced Cat6 cables are much better sounding.

Humes

Postby Humes » September 14th, 2010, 9:54 am

Wow, boy...this thread was a lot better when it was just pictures of people's home theaters that I could jock to.

Postby noshownogo » September 14th, 2010, 10:58 am

Nah man, de discussion and insight from those in the know is very edifying...one of the better threads on tuner.

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » September 14th, 2010, 4:10 pm

noshownogo wrote:Nah man, de discussion and insight from those in the know is very edifying...one of the better threads on tuner.

agreed
and from this thread i hope to get help designing my first system!
but i 'm currently saving.....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 14th, 2010, 4:18 pm

update on the HT furniture: went Fen's and they definitely have the better stuff and the price is ultra low in comparison.

Anyone tried Hulu Plus on their PS3 yet?

Anton

Postby Anton » September 17th, 2010, 3:58 pm

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 18th, 2010, 12:56 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:update on the HT furniture: went Fen's and they definitely have the better stuff and the price is ultra low in comparison.

Anyone tried Hulu Plus on their PS3 yet?

Does Hulu works outside the US?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2010, 9:39 am

^ you need to use a proxy or VPN so that you get a US IP address

see this thread
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=333737
a better solution IMO

Firewall

Postby Firewall » September 20th, 2010, 5:52 am

well fellas

i'm thinking that its time to upgrade to a better television. can you point me in the right direction?

it will be used everyday purposes i.e movies, cable, gaming and the budget is around 6-9000K

just looking for the biggest and best that falls in my price bracket.

thanks.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » September 20th, 2010, 6:39 am

Is the Z5500 still the entry level standard?

Need to power a 32" LCD with digital output, an Xbox360, Ps3 , and my desktop PC in a bedroom setup.

Wasn't looking to spend more than $2500.

Postby crazybalhead » September 20th, 2010, 7:00 am

That logitech thing is not any sort of standard.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » September 20th, 2010, 8:50 am

^true,but looking at his application,which is in his room and mostly gaming,he aint gonna find much for $2500.

Postby X_Factor » September 20th, 2010, 10:34 am

allyuh eh want ne cables to buy dread...piping out all the extras i hav...gettin a good deal on some racing seats for my car and hadda make up some $ by the end of the week!

i got 3 sets of amazon basic component
1 set of monster AV400 i believe
2 sets of generic hdmi 1.3cables
1 pair of monster banana jacks
piping cheap