Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby nervewrecker » May 16th, 2017, 4:39 pm

Helena_Victor wrote:
Curtms wrote:Desalcott dem paying small morney

How much is small money? Less than 10,000?

If you female, you stand a better chance of getting in from what I hear. Fed up apply and never get a reply self.

Serious?? They give females preference in ops? That's certainly odd but I will be happy to get shortlisted for an interview...

If you good on a mattress you stand a good chance of getting a job in there.

Understand where I coming from yet?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 17th, 2017, 2:15 am

^^^Can't believe it takes folks that long to figure these things out....

Just spend a few months in industry and you'll learn a lot....not all of it pertaining to the job but still very enlightening.

You learn how things really work.....
Don't get me wrong if you get a job and never learnt these things it might be a blessing in disguise in that is doesn't colour your judgement.

Sometimes the "extra knowledge" is more burden than blessing.

Still good luck to all those applying.

Postby De Dragon » May 17th, 2017, 2:32 am

Industry is no bed of roses. This "push two button" sheit men peddling here was long time, when you had a dozen Operators on a single shift. The numbers are half that now on average, so it means your learning curve will be steep. If you cannot follow and learn, then rookies, some of whom you may have even trained, will pass you and become your boss. I know things are hard, but if industry is your chosen career, make sure it is for all the right reasons, and not just for a job, because the demands of shift, family, career progression will eat you alive if you cannot balance/manage them.
There are too many broken marriages, alcoholism, burnouts and suicides in this job as it is already.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 17th, 2017, 7:17 am

you right.. but talking from your experience... it have general similarities in d industry but men work environment cud be something else outside your company....

and the comments in this ched by some users continue to support my belief dat SOME operators lack total common sense and their level of intelligence is only about valve :roll:

buh that is jos monky man experience.. you have yours. i hav mine

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » May 17th, 2017, 7:36 am

Being in this industry for as long as I have so I have seen alot. Some sectors the learning curve is so steep that you are thrown into the deep end and you have to figure it out alone, while in some cases you are given the tools and sometimes you are helped and given the tools. I personally have worked with people saying that they are going to make it their personal business to ensure I am fired, was trained but the very guy whose job I took. I have seen big men act worse than women gossiping and creating bacchanal. My advice to anyone who wants to get into this industry learn to play politics because in some instances that is the only way to ensure survival or progress. If you have a straight forward no nonsense attitude believe me a target is gonna be painted on your back so fast

Postby tr1ad » May 17th, 2017, 8:51 am

boy that is the reality, i chose to do my work and stay out of the politics even refusing to brown nose to get ahead ...just all about results and now i'm home.
Never would i Make it personal, but What Going on is now a personal vendetta to ensure that even though i left in 2015 and they currently have vacancies, that they trash my applications

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » May 17th, 2017, 8:53 am

So true

Postby tr1ad » May 17th, 2017, 8:55 am

but on a reals,
level one PPO city & guilds could get me anything?

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » May 17th, 2017, 8:57 am

I doubt now the minimum is diploma. Level 3 cert not even enough

gencon

Postby gencon » May 17th, 2017, 9:02 am

I home one year now. People will do anything to ensure there job gets done, even physically threaten you. Which is why I am home. I had no choice but to leave. My career has been destroyed.

gencon

Postby gencon » May 17th, 2017, 9:11 am

To make it worse they also trashed my reputation with other companies i have worked for in the past and I cannot get work elsewhere. Which is why I am working taxi now.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » May 17th, 2017, 9:15 am

I know the feeling. Was home for 3 years and if it wasn't for a good friend and my brother I would have never know my next job was

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 17th, 2017, 9:28 am

So cgcl started calling men to view their package yesterday...

Sent from my SM-G920I using TriniTuner mobile app

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » May 17th, 2017, 9:29 am

Ok. You know what it looks like?

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » May 17th, 2017, 9:31 am

trinidrift wrote:Ok. You know what it looks like?

Let just say it wasnt to apelling....smh

Helena_Victor

Postby Helena_Victor » May 17th, 2017, 9:37 am

sinister_14 wrote:So cgcl started calling men to view their package yesterday...

Sent from my SM-G920I using TriniTuner mobile app

I am curious..quote some figures na..

Helena_Victor

Postby Helena_Victor » May 17th, 2017, 9:38 am

Helena_Victor wrote:
Curtms wrote:Desalcott dem paying small morney

How much is small money? Less than 10,000?

If you female, you stand a better chance of getting in from what I hear. Fed up apply and never get a reply self.

Serious?? They give females preference in ops? That's certainly odd but I will be happy to get shortlisted for an interview...

If you good on a mattress you stand a good chance of getting a job in there.

Understand where I coming from yet?

Well certainly if that's d only option then no thanks..rather wuk taxi instead if I have to..

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 17th, 2017, 10:15 am

bell-curve.jpg

The key too survival !

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » May 17th, 2017, 10:22 am

Considering the times any package is reasonable for people who are not employed not for anyone who has a better situation

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » May 17th, 2017, 3:43 pm

Well petro called me today to verify documents, so we'll see how it goes...

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » May 17th, 2017, 3:48 pm

Kool. Good luck

gencon

Postby gencon » May 17th, 2017, 3:55 pm

vaiostation wrote:Well petro called me today to verify documents, so we'll see how it goes...

Any chance you willing to post your qualifications so we can see what petro is looking for.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » May 17th, 2017, 4:10 pm

instantfrugality wrote:
vaiostation wrote:Well petro called me today to verify documents, so we'll see how it goes...

Any chance you willing to post your qualifications so we can see what petro is looking for.

Well I have a diploma in met, certificate in ppo, 2yrs experience as an operator, 1yr as mechanical technician.
Just so people know is just to verify documents, and I've been through this process with them a fair amount of times and never got through, so my hopes not too high.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » May 17th, 2017, 6:22 pm

instantfrugality wrote:I home one year now. People will do anything to ensure there job gets done, even physically threaten you. Which is why I am home. I had no choice but to leave. My career has been destroyed.

instantfrugality wrote:To make it worse they also trashed my reputation with other companies i have worked for in the past and I cannot get work elsewhere. Which is why I am working taxi now.

I've had similar experiences myself. Sometimes you hadda make a choice between your life or your job. I might not be making much money now, but at least I still living.

Postby nervewrecker » May 17th, 2017, 10:57 pm

vaiostation wrote:
instantfrugality wrote:

Well I have a diploma in met, certificate in ppo, 2yrs experience as an operator, 1yr as mechanical technician.
Just so people know is just to verify documents, and I've been through this process with them a fair amount of times and never got through, so my hopes not too high.

You might (might) get called for interview as a PO. What you applied for btw?

I got called in to verify docs twice. Were they particularly interested in any docs?