Mountain Biking

trinirider

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby trinirider » March 2nd, 2014, 10:45 pm

Used Cannondale 2900.00 trade in from my neighbour ridden only on the road.
call 678-7080

N.F.S wrote:Looking for a mountain bike 26" used or new please link me fellas thanks

trinirider

Postby trinirider » March 2nd, 2014, 10:49 pm

Some options for you.
Cannondale Trail 7 3600.00
Trail 6 4300.00

trini mk5 wrote:anyways i gonna buy a mountain bike from bike inn in a couple weeks or when their new shipment of 26" bikes comes in. After talking to both the short rasta dude there and michael phillips i learnt enough to make an informed decision about which bike i should role with. So since giant makes almost everyone's frames ill go with the fuji nevada with disc brakes in front and the lock off front suspension. And if i want to ride road i can change the wheels on it too and roll with that. The bike should cost between 32-3500. I just need to get a good bike rack after that.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 2nd, 2014, 10:51 pm

Thanks for the heads up fellas. Will ask for gerrad when I go bike in

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 2nd, 2014, 11:19 pm

trinirider wrote:Some options for you.
Cannondale Trail 7 3600.00
Trail 6 4300.00

trini mk5 wrote:anyways i gonna buy a mountain bike from bike inn in a couple weeks or when their new shipment of 26" bikes comes in. After talking to both the short rasta dude there and michael phillips i learnt enough to make an informed decision about which bike i should role with. So since giant makes almost everyone's frames ill go with the fuji nevada with disc brakes in front and the lock off front suspension. And if i want to ride road i can change the wheels on it too and roll with that. The bike should cost between 32-3500. I just need to get a good bike rack after that.

where will i get this cannondale?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 3rd, 2014, 5:42 am

He has it for sale at motorcycle etc its in barataria.

If I were you I would buy it from him asap. Doh stick!

Cannondale uses high quality rims just like Giant. And trinirider seems to have proper certified mechanics. Its true That there seem to be an illusion that Fuji is cheaper because u get better derauilers but cannon swaps expensive derauilers and cassettes in favor of better rims.

Its a no brained really. Go with cannondale if you getting it for those prices. Maybe trinirider just might be the only bike shop in Trinidad with a true American standard of service.

Mini

Postby Mini » March 3rd, 2014, 9:07 am

Trinirider's shop is in Cunupia. Nice guy, good service and good prices. I ride a used Cannondale I bought from him last year.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 3rd, 2014, 11:02 am

Motorcycle etc is in cunupia?

I guess its his printery is what's in Barataria then.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 3rd, 2014, 12:10 pm

That has been closed down a while now

Mini

Postby Mini » March 3rd, 2014, 7:04 pm

I think he used to be in Barataria. But he has a full shop (sales and service) at his residence. His number is somewhere in the thread.

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » March 3rd, 2014, 8:36 pm

Anybody up for chaguaramas trails in the morning 6:30am?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 3rd, 2014, 11:30 pm

i not leaving my house for carnival......ash Wednesday maybe.....

bgh

Postby bgh » March 4th, 2014, 12:32 am

I would suggest you stay off the roads if you can, especially down west. Almost got caught in that west traffic last thursday.

With that said, I got to get 2 sessions between wed and friday afternoon. I have not ripped any dirt since last tuesday... #wierdfeeling

trinirider

Postby trinirider » March 4th, 2014, 1:05 am

Hi Folks our contact details
Motorcycle Etc
678-7080
105 Ajim Ali Street
Munroe Rod
Cunupia

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 4th, 2014, 12:35 pm

went down to the trails today with vk sportsman ,no traffic in or out of port of spain

Seeker

Postby Seeker » March 5th, 2014, 6:45 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Seeker wrote:I have not been on the road for a while. But I used to ride from Freeport to Couva by my parents' house at Lisas Gardens - then through Orange Valley to the Temple by the Sea; then back to Freeport.

Once I went through Carlsen Fields to Longdenville by the in-laws, then through Edinburgh 500 to the Southern Main road to Freeport.

It was real therapy to ride because my bike is slow and heavy, but the workout was fantastic :mrgreen:

Now I don't have the time and road has become too dangerous. I have a bike rack for the car but I have to find the time to recon a place to ride comfortable.

I love those road bikes. Long distance riding was my vice when I was youngling, I could burn some serious rubber if I ever get my hands on one of those :)

I could never understand this logic.

If you have to ride pass the beetham I could understand but saying the road too dangerous too ride a bike makes no sense.

More people die from Car accidents in this country than anything else. Especially when they break the red light and you going in your armored car or what you feel is armored compared to a bike anyways.

A bike is actually safer because you could dive in a drain or something to save yourself. Chances are if a man run off the road and bounce you, you would get pitch off the bike or pitch forward in a safer spot than being compressed inside a car and needing the Jaws of Life after you bleed to death.

Hell I know someone who bought a new car and he get bounced down crossing the road after he park up the car because a man break a red light on the bus route.

I got hit some years ago. A lady driving a B11 somehow me from behind and almost ended falling in the middle of the road on Rivelut Road. My rear wheel was bent and I got some bruises from the pedals on my legs.

I was shaken up because I was riding almost in grass when that happened. So I kind of lost my nerve on the roads today.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » March 5th, 2014, 6:47 am

trinirider wrote:Hey Seeker

a group of us ride alot thru central Fri nights, Sunday, road and offroad
check below for rides.
https://www.facebook.com/CannondaleTrinidad
https://www.facebook.com/groups/leatherbackstt/

Seeker wrote:I have not been on the road for a while. But I used to ride from Freeport to Couva by my parents' house at Lisas Gardens - then through Orange Valley to the Temple by the Sea; then back to Freeport.

Once I went through Carlsen Fields to Longdenville by the in-laws, then through Edinburgh 500 to the Southern Main road to Freeport.

It was real therapy to ride because my bike is slow and heavy, but the workout was fantastic :mrgreen:

Now I don't have the time and road has become too dangerous. I have a bike rack for the car but I have to find the time to recon a place to ride comfortable.

I love those road bikes. Long distance riding was my vice when I was youngling, I could burn some serious rubber if I ever get my hands on one of those :)

Ok will do :)

Mini

Postby Mini » March 5th, 2014, 8:51 pm

really want to start riding during the week. That would mean taking the bike to work with me and leaving in the car park all day. What do you guys recommend for securing the bike on the trunk mounted bike rack?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 5th, 2014, 9:30 pm

dismantle your bike and put it in the back seat , front and back tires

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 5th, 2014, 10:07 pm

Depending in the size of bike and trunk, you may just have to take off the front tire and send down the back seat if possible. That's what I did.

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » March 5th, 2014, 11:18 pm

I got rear ended twice, the 2nd time (about 2 yrs ago) I was supposed to be carrying my old bike on the trunk rack. When I sold that old bike, gave the trunk rack to the new owner. Since then I never mount my bike to be exposed to rear end collisions. Always inside with the two wheels in trunk.

Mini

Postby Mini » March 6th, 2014, 3:55 pm

PapaC wrote:Depending in the size of bike and trunk, you may just have to take off the front tire and send down the back seat if possible. That's what I did.

I drive a swift... even with the back seats folded... I'd have to take off both wheels. Where I park is somewhat secure (not open to public). I also have the option of bringing the bike indoors (we have old offices converted to storage), so I think I may do that during the day.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 6th, 2014, 4:32 pm

roof rack? front wheel off....just be mindful of the higher clearance now needed.

bgh

Postby bgh » March 6th, 2014, 8:47 pm

How about a hitch and hitch rack. I went that route since I dislike those trunk rack as they scratch your paint and a roof rack would make my suv a little tall.

Didn't know at the time I would try the trails, fall in love, buy a new bike and ride regular, Else I would have bought a pickup..:-(

Mini

Postby Mini » March 9th, 2014, 6:23 pm

I already have a trunk mounted rack.. so not going to invest in another anytime soon. I have left the bike on the rack in car parks for short periods (like in fast food places) without problems.

Been reading up on air vs coil forks.... what are some of your experiences?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 9th, 2014, 8:28 pm

i have owned both......
air is lighter
the air spring is progressive not linear like a coil....some people like that, some don't, but most manufacturers try to develop forks and shocks to behave like a coil.
air will require more maintenance due to seals etc. (once per year seals and damper fluid with heavy usage)
air is very very smooth
coils are very simple
air will fade as it heats up on long rough downhills....
air requires a high pressure pump to adjust preload, coil is just turning the knob......usually preload is set and forget, but i have adjusted preload on the trail, so i needed to have the pump with me. and that pump cannot do double duty for my tires, its just too small.
air "feels" better to me, so i prefer that.

on a related note....fox is now making their top of the range downhill fork, the dual crown 40, with an air spring.....this was usually coil only due to the demands, but now air is being used.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 9th, 2014, 8:47 pm

only thing is fox forks are expensive

Mini

Postby Mini » March 10th, 2014, 7:47 am

I think all aftermarket forks are expensive.

bgh

Postby bgh » March 10th, 2014, 11:09 am

In some cases, it would be more cost effective to purchase a bike with the components you need, than to upgrade especially Fox shocks.

trinirider

Postby trinirider » March 10th, 2014, 11:11 am

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » March 10th, 2014, 8:32 pm

bgh wrote:In some cases, it would be more cost effective to purchase a bike with the components you need, than to upgrade especially Fox shocks.

true but if you dont have the money to buy a bike with the high end components then what? wait forever long to save that money no thanks . i would rather buy a bike with alright components now and upgrade later.