PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Ted_v2 » August 6th, 2015, 9:50 pm

Why not connect everything thru one router?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 6th, 2015, 9:55 pm

this might be a bit over my head so if anyone sees an error please correct what i am about to say.

I am unaware if a switch or router allows one computer to see packets/data being received by another computer.

I know this is possible on network hubs (older tech) cause on a hub the data was sent to all the ports but usually the machine that asked for the data would accept it. The other machines that were connected would see the data but ignore it as they didn't request it.
however there was software that allowed your computer to accept the data being broadcast to all ports, even if you didn't request it allowing you to "see" sites that another person had visited.

I am of the belief that a switch sends the data only to the machine on the port that requested it making it very difficult to "see" the data being sent to another machine (I believe the router to operate on a similar principle as a switch)

My knowledge going forward from here is sketchy at best; My thinking is that once data is made to pass through a server it can be recorded and someone can see it; might not be at your small home network but the NSA and Uncle SAM are always watching

You might only need one router. (Just might have to turn off networking and file and printer sharing etc)

On another note anyone get a Kampaign e-mail for the upcoming elections
Last edited by kamakazi on August 6th, 2015, 10:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » August 6th, 2015, 10:01 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Why not connect everything thru one router?

Have you met my sister?
Didn't think so.

So Kamikaze, with two computers connected to one router its not really possible for the average Joe to snoop into what the other user has accessed?
If that's the way then maybe I can convince this b!+ch for both of us to use one router.

If not, some reading was done on this switch device and all of the diagrams had the switch being connected after a router in the connection chain.

If I can sort this out tomorrow it will be nice.
No email on this end

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 6th, 2015, 10:14 pm

Unless they have
1. physical access to your machine
2. know the password to any user registered on the machine in the group Administrators
3. have access to a shared folder on the machine
4. have software to record and decrypt wireless data packets as they zip through your living room;
I can't see any way that your family can access the data you have seen.

they can probably use the freedom of information act to request Colombus communications to tell them.

But i stand to be corrected.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 6th, 2015, 10:18 pm

Last edited by HCCA on August 7th, 2015, 12:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » August 6th, 2015, 11:47 pm

So back to my original problem.

One net connection and two networks needed.

Solutions anyone?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Postby skylinechild » August 7th, 2015, 9:02 am

kamakazi wrote:
How do you know the onboard graphics is working if it wasn't tested?
I say if you ever get the chance to get back in the bios, turn the onboard graphics back on, and test without the quadro. (resetting the bios via jumper or battery removal might default to putting the onboard graphics back on)
If the machine runs on onboard ok...that quadro card might be on its way out

You can also look for swollen capacitors as the problem of swelling and leaking existed in this generation of motherboard as well

(I am only giving information based on what was provided; It would be helpful if you informed us of the model for the board, CPU, CPU heatsink, PSU, Graphics card)

on board graphics was disabled via bios by the manufacturer- its just there but never bothered using it as it cannot support 3 monitors.

there are one or two swollen capacitors on the MB...thats all. if it leaked the evidence would be there on the mainboard- electrolyte an such.

mainboard specs are intel mainboard model # DG43NB
intel core 2 duo@ 3.0GHZ
stock intel fan.
diablotek 450W PSU

Postby skylinechild » August 7th, 2015, 6:52 pm

nervewrecker wrote:So back to my original problem.

One net connection and two networks needed.

Solutions anyone?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

nerve....your provider is flow correct..??

you can do what i do...login a router and change the IP scheme of it from 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.2.1 save and exit then connect to the flow router.

you therefore have 2 networks.
everyone else will be on the flow modem router - either wired or wireless
and you can be on your router - either wired or wireless

any pc you connect to the flow router will be able to share files and primters an such

same goes for your router.
you can go a step further and even get a 2nd router and change the IP scheme to 192.168.3.1
and either connect it to your router...or to flows router....and any thing that feeds off that will be another network.

whatsapp me for pics if u need clarification

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 7th, 2015, 9:59 pm

skylinechild wrote:
kamakazi wrote:
I say if you ever get the chance to get back in the bios, turn the onboard graphics back on, and test without the quadro. (resetting the bios via jumper or battery removal might default to putting the onboard graphics back on)

You can also look for swollen capacitors as the problem of swelling and leaking existed in this generation of motherboard as well

(I am only giving information based on what was provided; It would be helpful if you informed us of the model for the board, CPU, CPU heatsink, PSU, Graphics card)

on board graphics was disabled via bios by the manufacturer- its just there but never bothered using it as it cannot support 3 monitors.

there are one or two swollen capacitors on the MB...thats all. if it leaked the evidence would be there on the mainboard- electXrolyte an such.

intel core 2 duo@ 3.0GHZ
stock intel fan.
diablotek 450W PSU

Bother using it just to TEST the system.
If it works then you know that the card needs replacing.
About the thermal shut down theory....I have run my e4400 without a heatsink for a month inadvertantly and it never shut down. .. It still works. .. the board is now dead but that was from an electrical spike
That psu sounds suspect but it has been powering the system all this time

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 8th, 2015, 1:40 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1439055562.903947.jpg
got the 3 r9 290s to fit finally the fans were touching a little so I did a ghetto mod lol

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 8th, 2015, 2:22 pm

heres the first benchmark at stock clocks r9 290 tri x oc in trifire

http://www.3dmark.com/fs/5655286
3x r9 290.png

Postby skylinechild » August 8th, 2015, 2:32 pm

kamakazi wrote:Bother using it just to TEST the system.
About the thermal shut down theory....I have run my e4400 without a heatsink for a month inadvertantly and it never shut down. .. It still works. .. the board is now dead but that was from an electrical spike

even when the video card removed...and using on board - same result. no post no boot.
PSU is fully functional. the quadro card has NO additonal connectors on it for additional power BTW
just plug it in the PCI express slot...and go.

the PSU has ALOT of unused connectors
the motherboard has a 20 +4 pin connector and then the 4 pin for additional power...thats it
the pus just supplies power to the board and to one optical drive one HDD. thats it

the processor is an E8400 iirc...i'll confirm on monday

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 8th, 2015, 2:47 pm

kamakazi wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
kamakazi wrote:

there are one or two swollen capacitors on the MB...thats all. if it leaked the evidence would be there on the mainboard- electXrolyte an such.

intel core 2 duo@ 3.0GHZ
stock intel fan.
diablotek 450W PSU

swollen caps alone is enough to cause problems that is the common part i change when repairing monitors for people

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 8th, 2015, 4:37 pm

jm3 wrote:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1439055562.903947.jpg
got the 3 r9 290s to fit finally the fans were touching a little so I did a ghetto mod lol

The ssd on top the psu connected via a pcie riser cable or something?

Stacking gpus on top each other like dat gives me d creeps, all dat heat the uppermost cards hadda suck up.

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 8th, 2015, 6:22 pm

The ssd is not connected I'm trying to figure out a way to get a riser on the bottom slot,
if I don't I'll swap it for a normal ssd if anyone is willing or buy an m.2 card.
I have a 230mm fan in front of the cards extracting I'm going to have to drill mounting holes in my Side cover to mount it up temps are where they were for 2 cards in crossfire separated by a slot I will be putting water blocks on them next month but I'm just testing out trifire right now
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1439072379.754308.jpg

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 8th, 2015, 7:10 pm

jm3 wrote:The ssd is not connected I'm trying to figure out a way to get a riser on the bottom slot,
if I don't I'll swap it for a normal ssd if anyone is willing or buy an m.2 card.
I have a 230mm fan in front of the cards extracting I'm going to have to drill mounting holes in my Side cover to mount it up temps are where they were for 2 cards in crossfire separated by a slot I will be putting water blocks on them next month but I'm just testing out trifire right now
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1439072379.754308.jpg

Yeah well liquid go be the way to go with the cards stacked like that.
Had 3 radeon 5850s stacked on top of each other back in x58 days, were the reference models with the blowers on the end so temps weren't so bad.

PCIe ssds suppose to be faster ent? U should keep it and try and find a way to attach it.

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 8th, 2015, 7:35 pm

Well the temps are exactly where they were with 2 cards they are getting up to there designed 90degree operating temp and running just fine 290/290x's were designed to run at 90 degrees and they adjust voltage and frequency to stay there.
I'd rather the three cards than a pcie ssd it has my games installed on it.
My board has an m.2 port so if i can't find a way to use my revodrive I'll just get an m.2 ssd
Last edited by jm3 on August 8th, 2015, 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 8th, 2015, 7:40 pm

I think with water lock on I will be able to use one of my x16 riser cables on pcie slot 2 or 5 I'm currently using 1 3 and 4 I don't know why Asus designed it that way cuz it means the cards have to be stacked close to each other I had tried to use 1 3 and 5 but it crashes as soon as I try to put any load on the cards in trifire the 5th slot is only gen 3 x4 which isn't enough for r9 290s the third can't just can't keep up

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 8th, 2015, 7:41 pm

jm3 wrote:I'd rather the three cards than a pcie ssd it has my games installed on it.
My board has an m.2 port so if i can't find a way to use my revodrive I'll just get an m.2 ssd

Yea well i understand that route.

I have my games on my 256gb ssds in my pcs as well, have ah 500gb and ah 1tb as storage til i setup my fileserver and eliminate the need to install large drives in every system.

m.2 cards are abt the same price as sata based ssds so it wouldn't a costly replacement.

What sorta liquid cooling you gonna use? Custom full cover blocks i suppose? Would have liked to see some builds using the NZXT Kraken G10 brackets.

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 8th, 2015, 7:46 pm

Yeh probably swiftech komodos or aqua cool full covers

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 8th, 2015, 7:52 pm

HI don't know how 3 g10 solutions could be used because that would then mean 3 aio coolers I don't have anywhere in my case for that well actually I could put two on the bottom and one where my 140mm no tuna fan is but that would look messy I'll probably put a 240mm rad on the bottom of my case and run everything on the same loop the pump on my swiftech h220x is meant to be able to run all that.
Lol all this just because I was getting some lag in elite dangerous when using my oculus rift

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » August 8th, 2015, 8:12 pm

Still looking for a used rack server to buy locally. Pm me if anyone has information on where I can purchase this.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 8th, 2015, 8:51 pm

jm3 wrote:HI don't know how 3 g10 solutions could be used because that would then mean 3 aio coolers I don't have anywhere in my case for that well actually I could put two on the bottom and one where my 140mm no tuna fan is but that would look messy I'll probably put a 240mm rad on the bottom of my case and run everything on the same loop the pump on my swiftech h220x is meant to be able to run all that.
Lol all this just because I was getting some lag in elite dangerous when using my oculus rift

Nah well i didn't mean for u to use the G10 them, was just saying i ent see anyone locally using them yet.

Those full cover aftermarket blocks does have a hard time when reselling comes around.

I did trifire and quad sli already, good for a lil benchmarking fun but the driver and game issues just annoyed me too much. At least i got to experience what others talk about eh :D

That pump could push thru two quad rads easily, swiftech and laing pump strong like that.

What case you have again?

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 8th, 2015, 10:31 pm

coolermaster storm trooper. well i decided trifire instead of selling my two existing 290's and buying 2 r9 fury's. 3 r9 290's stock score the same bench as 2 fury's for a few hundred less just with more headache lol. i havent had any driver issues with crossfire/trifire after my 5870's this generation finally seems to work well remember there are no bridges on these cards and it really made a difference.
tbh if these dont perform how i want ill probably try out nvidia a pair of 980ti or even a titan z im hooked on vr now lol i just cant go back to a monitor.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 9th, 2015, 2:31 am

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 9th, 2015, 3:22 am

jm3 wrote:
kamakazi wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
kamakazi wrote:

intel core 2 duo@ 3.0GHZ
stock intel fan.
diablotek 450W PSU

swollen caps alone is enough to cause problems that is the common part i change when repairing monitors for people

It kinda depends on which caps are swollen or leaking as I regard them as being on their way out.
I have encountered systems that would lock up if you asked to much of the cpu cause the caps around the socket were swollen or leaking.
Have also observed other strange problems and seeing as the board is about 4 generations of cpu socket old it's probably due for a change

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 9th, 2015, 4:32 am

Once a cap swells it's capacitance changes this in turn effects the characteristics of the circuits voltages frequencies impedance etc,
yes you could get away with a swollen cap as there are some tolerances but once it's swollen it should be seen as bad and should be replaced or scrapped tbh I'd only change a cap on a board if it was a high end mobo and really couldn't afford a replacement.
I have replaced some on other peoples boards in the past particularly on 790 fx boards from back in 09ish.
nowadays manufacturers use better quality caps that's also why I buy Asus boards as from an electronics standpoint they are of a superior build quality I rate xfx as the worst.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » August 10th, 2015, 7:58 pm

jm3 wrote:heres the first benchmark at stock clocks r9 290 tri x oc in trifire

http://www.3dmark.com/fs/5655286

Healthy score. Them 290s wukkin.

You inspired me to give Fire Strike Extreme a run...

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/8140188

SM-N910H | Dr Ketan's ROM v2.0 (KitKat 4.4.4) | SwiftKey | Tapatalk Pro

Postby nervewrecker » August 12th, 2015, 5:45 am

So my hd seems to have given out.
What's a decent brand to buy? Looking at about 500gb.
And how do I salvage the info from this one I have?

Postby skylinechild » August 12th, 2015, 11:20 am

nervewrecker wrote:So my hd seems to have given out.
What's a decent brand to buy? Looking at about 500gb.
And how do I salvage the info from this one I have?

bring d drive for me..i go sort u out....
i home on weekends now - every weekend- an walk wit good tint to tint d ride... :lol:

if you want a SSD drive go for wither the samsung Evo 850 series or sandisk brand
those two are the top leaders in SSD tech now

if you want normal mechanicial drive...western digital for it.