Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby M_2NR » September 7th, 2013, 11:42 am

M_2NR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:How is the battery life D?

wahm dannn... fadda yuh forget meh Duane...

BTW all, i finally flashed an aosp custom rom - carbon rom. Really loving it. It's fast/smooth etc. and no glitches surprisingly. Only thing is the battery life and heat. I'm considering flashing another kernel although I already run the old setup of smartmax and row and underclocked it...

and yes, the way things going, I won't mind a nexus device as my next device.
can't comment on the battery life since I'm not using it as my main device - maybe I'll give that a go for a day or two and see how it pans out.

I have to admit though, I switched to Siri UK and found it would understand my trini accent better, but Google Now seems to be a bit better at speech recognition than Siri, with our accent anyway.
wait for iOS 7 Siri. Its much better. However I've noticed that calling person using Google now is horrible.

Val

Postby Val » September 7th, 2013, 12:36 pm

Use galaxsim unlock in the play store to unlock the s3

Val

Postby Val » September 7th, 2013, 12:39 pm

I'm using a VPN at home (unblockus) and still can't access the play store to buy the nexus. Any advice?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 7th, 2013, 1:19 pm

Few ads SONY just uploaded a few hour ago

whatever you might think of sony, one thing is for sure nobody can make commercials like them

but dunno how I feel about carrying around that extra Bluetooth headset though.

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 7th, 2013, 1:50 pm

Val wrote:I'm using a VPN at home (unblockus) and still can't access the play store to buy the nexus. Any advice?

Stop support companies that require you to jump through hoops to buy from them :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2013, 5:03 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I don't put cases on my phones either, takes away from the feel of it and this one feels nice but I couldn't handle it sliding around on the smooth back.
The unlock button kind of hard to press and I saw the ringke fusion case kind of assists in alleviating that problem so I got one.
Home I take it out the case.

BTW, any issues uploading pics with the tuner app? A few times the app asked me to log in when uploading pics.
Sorry I mentioning it here and not in the thread for it.
a few users complained about this

They all were using an S3 with ICS or older version of Android. Are you also using an S3 and what version of the OS are you using?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2013, 5:05 pm

M_2NR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:How is the battery life D?

wahm dannn... fadda yuh forget meh Duane...

BTW all, i finally flashed an aosp custom rom - carbon rom. Really loving it. It's fast/smooth etc. and no glitches surprisingly. Only thing is the battery life and heat. I'm considering flashing another kernel although I already run the old setup of smartmax and row and underclocked it...

and yes, the way things going, I won't mind a nexus device as my next device.
can't comment on the battery life since I'm not using it as my main device - maybe I'll give that a go for a day or two and see how it pans out.

I have to admit though, I switched to Siri UK and found it would understand my trini accent better, but Google Now seems to be a bit better at speech recognition than Siri, with our accent anyway.
wait for iOS 7 Siri. Its much better. However I've noticed that calling person using Google now is horrible.
try calling Siri "Glass" lol

If Siri replies to you and you respond with "ok thanks Glass", Siri replies with "I think you have the wrong personal assistant" or "for the record I don't do anything when you blink at me"

Postby nervewrecker » September 7th, 2013, 7:07 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I don't put cases on my phones either, takes away from the feel of it and this one feels nice but I couldn't handle it sliding around on the smooth back.
The unlock button kind of hard to press and I saw the ringke fusion case kind of assists in alleviating that problem so I got one.

BTW, any issues uploading pics with the tuner app? A few times the app asked me to log in when uploading pics.

They all were using an S3 with ICS or older version of Android. Are you also using an S3 and what version of the OS are you using?

nexus 4.

jellybean 4.3.3

I didnt realize others had it too, thought was just me. :oops:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2013, 7:56 pm

nexus 4.

jellybean 4.3.3

hmmm

Works fine in my Nexus 4 running 4.3.3
I even added 5 images at once.

Postby nervewrecker » September 7th, 2013, 8:32 pm

I will skim through the tuner app thread later and see if I find a solution. Have not interfered with much of anything since I got it.

Is no big deal really, just thought I'd mention it as you got one to see if is just me with the error.

Postby M_2NR » September 7th, 2013, 9:34 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:try calling Siri "Glass" lol

If Siri replies to you and you respond with "ok thanks Glass", Siri replies with "I think you have the wrong personal assistant" or "for the record I don't do anything when you blink at me"

haha yup! Did that one as soon as it hit news. You ever tried to ask Siri if it worked for the NSA?

:shock: :shock: :shock:

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » September 9th, 2013, 10:58 am

decent review of the moto x. motorola lookin in good form right now.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 9th, 2013, 4:40 pm

got my N4 today had to meet the driver by Amerijet if I wanted it same day it land.

It has a great size, bigger than I taught it would be.

Back glass body feels really good. Don't have iphone 4 luxurious feel due to plastic edges instead of aluminum but definitely still feels better quality than samsung plastic cheap looking phones.

This phone is blazing fast and screen is ultra sharp. Colors seem uneven compare to super amoled though. But thats what you can expect from IPS anyways its nothing to be worried about but amoled is definitely way better

I had to cut my sim card. Didn't have a sim cutter so I used a pair of scissors and followed a internet DIY guide

It cut slightly too short like less than a mm. So there is slight play in the sim when put in sim tray. But once goes into the phone it works perfect. If you shake it real hard you can hear slight rattle due to the sim cut but nothing to be bothered about really.

One question how much does bmobile actually charge for a sim replacement with your same number?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » September 9th, 2013, 4:43 pm

^^ is either $20 Or $25 can't remember. Transfers the number instantly

brickman

Postby brickman » September 9th, 2013, 4:45 pm

Its $25

CBharath

Postby CBharath » September 9th, 2013, 5:02 pm

Anybody have a nexus 7 dock.? First gen

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 9th, 2013, 6:37 pm

ow ho hard luck yes is the camera mechanism that makes a slight rattle noise if you shake it really hard near your ears.

Almost every phone in the world has that sound.

So simcard good. The slight nanometer play is nothing after all. I think it cut perfect to be honest.

well after using this I getting accustomed to the screen since amoled real spoil me.

I would recommend this to anyone especially the 16GB that they still have on sale. Its a real breath of fresh air to get away from all the bloatware crap that other companies put preinstalled on your phone that you cannot even remove without root access.

Downloading modern combat 4 for it also this thing is a beast it runs anygame on full fps.

allyuh should buy it fast before the 16GB sells out

Postby Ted_v2 » September 9th, 2013, 6:45 pm

Hmmm. Hows the battery life on those intense games?

Postby M_2NR » September 9th, 2013, 10:11 pm

Guys. I know we beat this out already, what music player you all use on stock android. Apollo acted weird with me on carbon. Got a FC... Was thinking about poweramp but I'm not feeling to pay 4$ for it.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 9th, 2013, 11:16 pm

Rocket player is good.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 10th, 2013, 2:18 am

sound boy 64 wrote:Hmmm. Hows the battery life on those intense games?

Well the N4 has low battery life in almost everything

Intense games go be lil over 2 hours because web browsing is lil over 4 hours in HSPA

To be honest its better tham my previous i9100 S2 in battery life

But this 2100 MAH aint no 3000 MAH battery like the Xperia Z1

I download modern combat 4 here paid $7 for it. Really sick game but multi player not working keeps saying connection lost when I try to sign in with google + account

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 10th, 2013, 3:05 am

Anyone knows how long google takes to give you a refund after the 15 minute refund window expires?

Just googled the problem with modern combat 4 and seems it isnt working for most people and gameloft is ignoring the problems. Saying connection lost error eve if you try to play multi player with a gameloft account. Its an issue happening for almost a week now. I had no idea android games had such bad support from developers lol

Requested a refund hope I get back my $7 USD I wasted.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » September 10th, 2013, 11:22 am

effectic or anyone else who ordedered the n4 - how much did it cost to clear the phone via skybox ?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 10th, 2013, 11:26 am

Duane said $500. but that was for the 8GB @ US $199

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 10th, 2013, 11:27 am

dean_spleen09 wrote:effectic or anyone else who ordedered the n4 - how much did it cost to clear the phone via skybox ?

Duane outlined the costs on one of the last two pages.

Think it was $700

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » September 10th, 2013, 11:40 am

yea saw it was $500.
thanks

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » September 10th, 2013, 12:24 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:effectic or anyone else who ordedered the n4 - how much did it cost to clear the phone via skybox ?

I paid 500.00 to clear two nexus 4s in April.. These were the 16GB versions mind you.

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » September 10th, 2013, 12:27 pm

nexus 4.

jellybean 4.3.3

hmmm

There's no such thing as 4.3.3
It's just 4.3

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » September 10th, 2013, 12:33 pm

Seeing a software update for my stock S3. I will update later tho.

DionYorker

Postby DionYorker » September 10th, 2013, 1:09 pm

Jonathan wrote:

nexus 4.

jellybean 4.3.3

hmmm

There's no such thing as 4.3.3
It's just 4.3

http://eandroidversions.com/tag/android-4-3-3-rumors/

u sure Jonny??? :drinking: :drinking: :drinking: