Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » September 4th, 2013, 11:27 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 5th, 2013, 12:12 am

PapaC wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Yayyy!!! I got a Nexus 4 from Google for US$199 on Google Play.
I ordered it on August 29th and it was delivered at home today.
https://play.google.com/store/devices/d ... site&hl=en
I used a local VISA VTM debit card from Republic Bank with no problems, shipped to a skybox.

it's out of stock now though

the phone is pretty slick so far and definitely a steal of a deal for the price.
it automatically updated itself to 4.3
Our trinituner mail servers run on Google Apps for Business gmail servers so logging into my duane@trinituner.com account on the Nexus 4 brought up all my mail, contacts, calendars, drive and Chrome bookmarks and browsing history automatically.

Playing with Google Now atm

I ordered mine Saturday 31st but it didn't ship as yet and did pick 2 day shipping. So I called google just in case but they say it will ship today they had a lil delay with the holiday.

Does it have any lag? or is it fast as a iphone 5?

how does it feel in the hands? feels solid and expensive I assume?

How did customs treat you with the charges?
Paid ~TT$500 with shipping, Duty and VAT delivered to my door

the Nexus 4 feels solid, it's noticeably bigger and heavier than the iPhone 5 and not as good looking IMO. The extra screen size is nice for browsing the web etc but it makes it harder to type or use the phone with one hand.

it does not feel like a device that would cost US$199, more like $699. it does not feel as plastic as the S3 / S4

It does not look or feel as nice as an HTC ONE but it costs considerably less and is just as responsive IMO.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 5th, 2013, 4:12 am

^ nice $500 is a good price for tax and shipping to ur doorstep.

Glad to know it feels premium with the unibody design. I held a iphone 5 today in my hands and I must say that aluminum real aircraft grade feel.

I go settle for the glass unibody design of the N4 as the price of a iphone 5 is out of my reach.
And I come to dislike the cheap plastic feel of the samsung phones.

I hear the N4 glass has the least friction of any smartphone its said ur fingers slide across like butter. My previous S3 mini had the same feature of the N4 where the glass rolls over and curves to the side. Makes an impressive experience when sliding ur fingers to the end.

should receive mine in trinidad on monday

BTW how would you compare the screen color saturation on the N4 to your iphone 5?

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » September 5th, 2013, 7:25 am

Hey guys I don't know if this is the proper forum to post this, But my charging port in my samsung galaxy s2 needs to be replaced, But it is the [ shw-m250s ] model , I cant seem to find it anywhere to order online on ebay or amazon, can anyone advise me on where I can get this item?

Thanks very much.

Postby pete » September 5th, 2013, 8:17 am

Are they physically different?

If you find someone to do it, I have one that needs to be replaced as well.

Postby honda hoe » September 5th, 2013, 8:30 am

glad to see Duane finally catch up to what everybody in this thread knew since last year

Nexus 4 = god of all android phones :lol:

where RASC? :lol:

Postby RASC » September 5th, 2013, 8:36 am

N4 is a god of a phone at that price. Otherwise it gets killed in many departments by most other much more expensive phones.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 5th, 2013, 8:36 am

Carbon12 wrote:Hey guys I don't know if this is the proper forum to post this, But my charging port in my samsung galaxy s2 needs to be replaced, But it is the [ shw-m250s ] model , I cant seem to find it anywhere to order online on ebay or amazon, can anyone advise me on where I can get this item?

Thanks very much.

Port? You mean flex cable...I have one lying around if you'd like to try. It was for an i777 but phone was sold before it reached.

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2013, 8:49 am

I have S2 charging ports in stock. 300 installed

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 5th, 2013, 10:45 am

RASC wrote:N4 is a god of a phone at that price. Otherwise it gets killed in many departments by most other much more expensive phones.

I would go with HTC One as the best android phone. But not necessarily the best android experience, best in build quality, that Aluminum

N4 don't lag and has no bloatware and runs vanilla android. Something all other phones lack except the google edition of S4 and HTC One.

This woman did a real good review on the N4

casper

Postby casper » September 5th, 2013, 3:40 pm

check out the lockergnome channel on youtube by Chris Pirello...he actually compared N4 to i5 and also HTC one...he does excellent tech reviews

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 5th, 2013, 3:43 pm

honda hoe wrote:glad to see Duane finally catch up to what everybody in this thread knew since last year

Nexus 4 = god of all android phones :lol:

where RASC? :lol:
I knew it is a great phone since last year too, just was waiting to get it at $199 8-)

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2013, 4:05 pm

Buy one fuh meh nah Duane? :D

Postby M_2NR » September 5th, 2013, 4:19 pm

How is the battery life D?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 5th, 2013, 4:23 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I would go with HTC One as the best android phone. But not necessarily the best android experience, best in build quality, that Aluminum

It looks really really good too. Has style to it. Reminds me of Sony's.

Postby ismithx » September 5th, 2013, 5:45 pm

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 6th, 2013, 1:37 pm

casper wrote:check out the lockergnome channel on youtube by Chris Pirello...he actually compared N4 to i5 and also HTC one...he does excellent tech reviews

I use a iphone 5 yesterday and I can say its quite a smooth solid software that ios.

But the screen is too small.

And not worth the asking price when you can buy a 5 inch HTC one much cheaper

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 6th, 2013, 5:13 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:And not worth the asking price when you can buy a 5 inch HTC one much cheaper
depends on how you use your device, HTC One can't do AirPlay to a home theater receiver or use Siri Eyes free on your car stereo. Siri can send a text message for you, set an appointment with someone and invite them and remind your to water the plants when you get home while driving without touching your phone via a Siri Eyes Free car radio. I am sure that Google Now will make it to car stereos soon, but there is better "Made for iPod and iPhone" integration on more devices than there are for Google Now at the moment.

Don't get me wrong, I know that Google CAN do the same reminders and functions such as "remind your to water the plants when you get home"and I know devices such as Pioneer AppRadio also support Android devices, but there is no integration for Google Now the way there is direction iPod/iPhone/Siri integration built into the car radio. Infact it would be difficult to get these companies like Pioneer, Alpine etc to offer such integration since Android on Samsung devices uses S Voice instead and yet another flavour on another Android device making it difficult for manufacturers to develop a single integrator given the hundreds of types of Android devices, custom operating systems and features available. Hopefully they will offer it for Google Now.

I use my iPhone with an AppRadio 3 very often to get work done while driving. I plan to test the Nexus 4 with the AppRadio 3 and I'll post up a comparison.

I have to say though, Google Now on the Nexus 4 is faster at fetching info than Siri is, but Siri is better at integrating with my phone, iPod, calendars, appointments (if I ask Google Now "do I have any appointments tomorrow" it does a web search for it rather than check my calendar for appointments and let me know what is scheduled.

This post is rhetorical, let's not start a iPhone vs. Android battle here. Siri and Google Now both have their pros and cons - both will get better and it will be to the consumer's advantage.

I will say this though,If you don't use these features on your smartphone you are missing out on a HUGE capability of your device.

brickman

Postby brickman » September 6th, 2013, 7:24 pm

Anybody knows anywhere in p.o.s that can flash/repair a hard bricked motorola?

Postby M_2NR » September 6th, 2013, 8:35 pm

M_2NR wrote:How is the battery life D?

wahm dannn... fadda yuh forget meh Duane...

BTW all, i finally flashed an aosp custom rom - carbon rom. Really loving it. It's fast/smooth etc. and no glitches surprisingly. Only thing is the battery life and heat. I'm considering flashing another kernel although I already run the old setup of smartmax and row and underclocked it...

and yes, the way things going, I won't mind a nexus device as my next device.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 6th, 2013, 11:32 pm

M_2NR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:How is the battery life D?

wahm dannn... fadda yuh forget meh Duane...

BTW all, i finally flashed an aosp custom rom - carbon rom. Really loving it. It's fast/smooth etc. and no glitches surprisingly. Only thing is the battery life and heat. I'm considering flashing another kernel although I already run the old setup of smartmax and row and underclocked it...

and yes, the way things going, I won't mind a nexus device as my next device.
can't comment on the battery life since I'm not using it as my main device - maybe I'll give that a go for a day or two and see how it pans out.

I have to admit though, I switched to Siri UK and found it would understand my trini accent better, but Google Now seems to be a bit better at speech recognition than Siri, with our accent anyway.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 6th, 2013, 11:38 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I have to say though, Google Now on the Nexus 4 is faster at fetching info than Siri is, but Siri is better at integrating with my phone, iPod, calendars, appointments (if I ask Google Now "do I have any appointments tomorrow" it does a web search for it rather than check my calendar for appointments and let me know what is scheduled.

I actually never used google now. Have no idea what all those apps are for but what you say sounds quite interesting I will have to try it out soon as my N4 arrives

btw

dunno if posted already but official Z1 Xperia Ad. What a beauty, nobody could make ads like SONY

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 6th, 2013, 11:46 pm

^ you seem to be more concerned about how the phone looks rather than what it can do!

Google Now can run on any smart phone: iPhone, Android or BB10 via the Google app. Just click the microphone icon and say something like "what is the weather like tomorrow?". Both Siri and Google Now will reply with the weather forecast for tomorrow.

You can also say "wake me up at 5am" and it will set an alarm for that time - both Siri and Google Now can do this, I believe S Voice on Samsung devices does this as well.

Both services require data connection at all times to work.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 7th, 2013, 12:35 am

^ ok nice I see what you mean I am sort of embarrassed because of all the rooting and flashing of custom roms I had been doing lately on android most of those features are usually wiped off the phone.

But I retire from flashing roms on these phones. Those custom roms always has some sort of bug issues and you tend to lose a lot of nice features the phone comes with. Its one of the reasons I went with the N4 besides the price offcourse. It comes with the best android version being vanilla so I won't be flashing anything with it.

But yes you right for some reason I do tend to go after a phone based on looks and feel the outer premium quality as compared to what the phone can do and I won't deny that at all.

I am actually a "OCD" Person to some extent. I does tend to obsess about the physical looks and feel of things. Take MACbook pro for example while I refuse to buy one due to how much better I can get on PC for less money, say dell xps ultrabook.

At the end of the day absolutely nothing beats that all aluminum unibody design of a macbook pro. Everytime I see it and hold one I am always amazed.
If push come to shove, I am being honest I would pick a phone due to build material and hardware over better software features. Heck I I refuse to use a case on any phone. It takes away what the manufacture tried to achieve. Samsung yeah why not them is plastic it wont matter. But I refuse to put a case on iphone or sony Xperia Z. Rather it fall and destroy than take away that beauty with a case.

Its a kinda psychological thing its like hey sure google now aint as good as siri but they would release a patch for that and fix. Maybe next version of android will have more features. But once you buy that hardware there ain't no patch that can change it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 7th, 2013, 12:42 am

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

WTF cellphones now more powerful than a 2006 Alienware Gaming rig PC

Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on September 7th, 2013, 12:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2013, 12:49 am

^ I also don't put a case on my phone.

I don't thin OCD is the term you are looking for though.

Postby nervewrecker » September 7th, 2013, 12:58 am

I don't put cases on my phones either, takes away from the feel of it and this one feels nice but I couldn't handle it sliding around on the smooth back.
The unlock button kind of hard to press and I saw the ringke fusion case kind of assists in alleviating that problem so I got one.
Home I take it out the case.

BTW, any issues uploading pics with the tuner app? A few times the app asked me to log in when uploading pics.
Sorry I mentioning it here and not in the thread for it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 7th, 2013, 12:59 am

True I prefer a case where it can come out easy so when its safe I can take it out and when carrying it out the house or office it can be secured.

I will admit one thing the 4 inch screen on the iphone is more than usable due to the high resolution display. Its a far better experience than my previous 4 inch S3 mini where you had to zoom in a lot more to make out smaller texts due to the poor ppi and pentile display.

Postby nervewrecker » September 7th, 2013, 1:16 am

uploadfromtaptalk1378531408919.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1378531399524.jpg

Postby Trini Hookah » September 7th, 2013, 1:17 am

Correct on the S Voice comment duane.