The Religion Discussion

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 16th, 2012, 11:19 pm

^ people, please quote properly - it is confusing to read when you quote what another user says and then you add your own reply inside their quote

Please use the [ quote ] tags when quoting

if you don't know how to use the [ quote ] at least make your reply RED or some more distinctive formatting to distinguish the two.

Postby sMASH » May 16th, 2012, 11:22 pm

d spike wrote:
Humes wrote:A Christian and a Muslim walk into a bar...

BOUDOUP!

which one, pundit jairam one?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 16th, 2012, 11:52 pm

amazon wrote:I have been looking at this thread and seeing how everyone wants the facts,they want the evidence.
I am a muslim and if those interested take the time to inviestigate islam they will see the beauty of the religion.

Islam means peace,
Muslim means one who submitts
Allah is the arabic word for The one true God
It is not the name of god as my name here is amazon.
Quran is the word of god.

The quran was revealed in arabic because it came to the arabs who in that time poetry was the style of that time,
the quran came to a man Muhammad PBUH who cud not of read nor write and when he spoke the words of the quran,the word of allah,the word of god it was of such eloquence the people found it unbelievable,also the quran has NO contradictions,one can search but they cannot find.

The quran in itself is an evidence that allah the creator,god the creator exists,because in the quran god even gives the challenge for the one who does not belive in it.

Verse 2:23 "And if ye are in doubt as to what We have revealed from time to time to Our servant, then produce a Sura like thereunto; and call your witnesses or helpers (If there are any) besides God, if your (doubts) are true."

Verse 17:88 "Say: 'If the whole of mankind and Jinns were to gather together to produce the like of this Qur'an, they could not produce the like thereof, even if they backed up each other with help and support.'"

The quran stand out from other scriptures,it is complete and it contains every aspect of life,and the Hadith confirms that the quran is applicable to one lifstyle because we have the prophet of islam Muhammad pbuh who lived his life according to the quran along with his followers,he was the walkin quran who lived and died who married who had children who went to stand up for islam who did everything we right here we in Trinidad do.
We have a role model who live his complete life in this world as a normal human being Muhammed pbuh.A great man whom all muslim love.
There are alot in documentries on Muhammad,on Islam and the Quran on youtube.
This is one here that will answer many of the question posted here.Take ur time and look at all the parts for those interested,you wont be dissapointed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VV90roE8 ... ure=relmfu
hey is the Qur'an really without errors? can you address my question ?
megadoc1 wrote:the reason I asked this is because if the god of islam is all knowing and the quran is without error
why did the author of the Qur'an thought that Christians believe in three gods?(no they don't ) how come the god of the quran nor his messenger was aware that the concept of the trinity was formulated by Christians, as an attempt to make sense of what they believe regarding who God is and how he have been manifested ? they never believed there are three gods, nor did they ever believe God is one of three so where did the author of the quran get that from? this is a serious error! can you address this please ?.......thanks!

Postby sMASH » May 16th, 2012, 11:53 pm

a person would change paths if they see something better. they would see something better if they think and try to understand things about what what they have learned. they would learn things if they are willing to listen. they would only be willing to listen, if they are treated with some measure of respect. u can't respect someone by criticizing, belittling, insulting, and condemning them.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 17th, 2012, 7:53 am

sMASH wrote:a person would change paths if they see something better. they would see something better if they think and try to understand things about what what they have learned. they would learn things if they are willing to listen. they would only be willing to listen, if they are treated with some measure of respect. u can't respect someone by criticizing, belittling, insulting, and condemning them.

Maybe applicable for some mature, open minded people, but for most, I disaggree that this is applicable. Which 'christian' you know, 200 years ago, was any race other than white? The Christian way was forced upon the Slaves, and indentured labourers, and alot of them succumbed to it.

Apart from that, even today there are some JW and Pentecostals who, when they meet someone in a vulnerable state, tell them that their misfortune is because of their wrong religion, and convert them.

These are just some of the instances that people get converted. Have heard of some more.

But ur first sentence I aggree with.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » May 17th, 2012, 8:10 am

"I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ." Mohandas Gandhi

"I don't see any god up here" - Yuri Gagarin - first man in space, while in space.

Going to church doesn't make you a Christian any more than going to the garage makes you a car. - Laurence J. Peter

"I'm proud to be an atheist - it helps me stand for so much more and fall for so much less." - Dan Barker

"The family that prays together...is brainwashing their children."- Albert Einstein

"When you understand why you don't believe in other people's gods, you will understand why I don't believe in yours."- Albert Einstein

"Just because you believe in something does not mean that it is true."- Albert Einstein

"If people are good only because they fear punishment, and hope for reward, then we are a sorry lot indeed." - Albert Einstein

i think Einstein said it best

Postby Dizzy28 » May 17th, 2012, 8:47 am

Red Fraction wrote:Dizzy umm pertaining to your previous post about "persons trying to say that their religion is the only way"

When God said I am the way the truth and the life. Or
I am he that liveth forever and ever amen which was which is to come the almighty.
Before you were I am.

Does these mean the god is fighting down superiority or trying to force his religion on us.

My god didn't say that!!!

Postby RBphoto » May 17th, 2012, 9:06 am

AdamB wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:^^^ Sonny, I did my shahadda business. I did it because I have a multireligious upbringing (Hindu and Christian), and thought that studying another religion in depth would only enlighten me. I felt dumber for the experience. I re-christened as a Hindu not too long after not because I am all that religious, but to make a point to the in- laws. The jhandi patch in front my house is always a sore point withthem :lol:
. Did someone of knowledge in the religion teach you?

Yes, one of the most respected Imams in Trinidad took the time to teach me

The Quran was NOT written down on paper during the lifetime of Muhammad, it was inscribed in the minds of muslims, memorized word for word, letter for letter.

^^^ this is stupid. Where is the book that the angel gave to him then? If these people were such great scientist as you state later, how come they were illiterate and had to memorize it and not just write it down? Contradict yourself much?

Islam was written for a certain type of lawless people, to regimen them and make them useful to society. This was made for wandering nomads, who were unhygenic, lazy and morally corrupt with all the free time on their hands.These nomads excelled in science and medicine during the middle ages. Look at them now, building the highest skyscrapers on the face of the earth!!

Are you for real? The people who build those buildings come from Africa and other poorer places and are treated like slaves. Real Arabs do no work, and are nasty, in that they litter just to create work for the imported street sweepers. There were wise men and secret societies at the time that had traveling wise men who would seek out knoledge in far away lands and do their own writings. The majority of people DURING MOHAMMED's TIME were like I described. Muslim sience and literature only really flourished after great cities and settlements were made... long after the introduction of Islam

The men basically bulling dong whole day with all the women and female children in their tent and living like swine. Islam was meant to bring order to lawless depraved peoples, thus it controls every aspect of a person's life for every second of the day. IT IS A RELIGION THAT IT'S FOLLOWERS ACTUALLY OBEY GOD AND NOT THE FANCIES OF MAN!!

^^^^Know quite a few muslim guys who are fornicators, eaters of pork and drinkers of alcohol/ smoking weed.... basically living like swine... all while going to the mosque every friday, stroking their beard... I doubt 10% of muslims actually folow the Quoran without exception for practical modern living. Sorry sonny, I have seen too many people use ALL of the major religions as a veneer to hidetheir nasty side... and he more religious they appear... the more they seem to have feet of clay.... are you a 100% pious, virgin (or was a virgin who married a virgin), koran reading praying five times a day boy?

If so I respect yourway of life, but you need to learn respect and acceptance that 4/5 of the world does not agree with you

If you are not a perfectly pure at heart muslim boy who abstains from all vice...I have one thing to say to you....

Traders Jacks Friday evening is the place to be, come check meh and my work mates and we can discuss this further... first drink on me ;) (I don't drink alcohol but like to lime on occasion)

amazon

Postby amazon » May 17th, 2012, 9:57 am

hey is the Qur'an really without errors? can you address my question ?

megadoc1 wrote:

the reason I asked this is because if the god of islam is all knowing and the quran is without error
why did the author of the Qur'an thought that Christians believe in three gods?(no they don't ) how come the god of the quran nor his messenger was aware that the concept of the trinity was formulated by Christians, as an attempt to make sense of what they believe regarding who God is and how he have been manifested ? they never believed there are three gods, nor did they ever believe God is one of three so where did the author of the quran get that from? this is a serious error! can you address this please ?.......thanks!uote]I you look at the english version quran and u think u see mistakes this is no the quran,it is the translation of quran.....because the quran has been revealed in arabic u have to know the language to truly understand it,

with regards to the author of the quran,thers isnt like a author of quran....the quran was not sent down in a book form,it was sent to Muhammad at different times during different circumstance and it was then memorized by him and his companions the people who almost always was with him.
I dont know much abt the trinity but i think i need to see where those verses are which talks abt the trinity and the christians which u are speaking abt please send to me.

But what i would like to ask is whats is the trinity in christianity?

Red Fraction

Postby Red Fraction » May 17th, 2012, 12:34 pm

Crossdrilled so you know toni goring then?? She works trader jacks too.

So smash after all I say the only thing you could o possibly come up with was disrespecting a next man religion.

Member when Jesus was casting out the Evil spirit the scribes and pharasies said "this man casteth out devils in the name of belzebub" then he knowing their thoughts said a house divided against itself cannot stand can Satan cast himself out? So if I by the power of god cast out devils whom do your children cast them out threw?

After the man do the good deed and show them he is god the only conclusion out of everything they could of possibly come up with was "he casteth out devils in the name of Satan"

I'm just saying yow maybe scientists has a better answer

Postby RBphoto » May 17th, 2012, 1:05 pm

Red Fraction wrote:Crossdrilled so you know toni goring then?? She works trader jacks too.

I not the kind to take on the names of staff, but with a name like that, I think I take a better look next time I go..

Virgin Muslim boy taking long... I feel he is copying and pasting the good book as we speak.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 17th, 2012, 1:10 pm

Red Fraction wrote:Crossdrilled so you know toni goring then?? She works trader jacks too.

So smash after all I say the only thing you could o possibly come up with was disrespecting a next man religion.

Member when Jesus was casting out the Evil spirit the scribes and pharasies said "this man casteth out devils in the name of belzebub" then he knowing their thoughts said a house divided against itself cannot stand can Satan cast himself out? So if I by the power of god cast out devils whom do your children cast them out threw?

After the man do the good deed and show them he is god the only conclusion out of everything they could of possibly come up with was "he casteth out devils in the name of Satan"

I'm just saying yow maybe scientists has a better answer

I can understand some degree of unorthodox writing eh, but some of you guys really pushing it. What is 'Member'? I was wondering who 'Threw' what then I realised that you meant 'through'. The point I am making is that is very difficult to follow and understand what people write without some smart punctuation, and 'kinda' proper grammar. Not saying be perfect, but at least put fullstops where needed, and use Capitals where needed. Jeez.

Another note:
I cannot 'member' when Jesus cast out evil spirits in the scribes. Can you point to me, where in the Ramayan that is?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » May 17th, 2012, 2:01 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
AdamB wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:^^^ Sonny, I did my shahadda business. I did it because I have a multireligious upbringing (Hindu and Christian), and thought that studying another religion in depth would only enlighten me. I felt dumber for the experience. I re-christened as a Hindu not too long after not because I am all that religious, but to make a point to the in- laws. The jhandi patch in front my house is always a sore point withthem :lol:

The Quran was NOT written down on paper during the lifetime of Muhammad, it was inscribed in the minds of muslims, memorized word for word, letter for letter.

^^^ this is stupid. Where is the book that the angel gave to him then? If these people were such great scientist as you state later, how come they were illiterate and had to memorize it and not just write it down? Contradict yourself much?

Islam was written for a certain type of lawless people, to regimen them and make them useful to society. This was made for wandering nomads, who were unhygenic, lazy and morally corrupt with all the free time on their hands.These nomads excelled in science and medicine during the middle ages. Look at them now, building the highest skyscrapers on the face of the earth!!

Are you for real? The people who build those buildings come from Africa and other poorer places and are treated like slaves. Real Arabs do no work, and are nasty, in that they litter just to create work for the imported street sweepers. There were wise men and secret societies at the time that had traveling wise men who would seek out knoledge in far away lands and do their own writings. The majority of people DURING MOHAMMED's TIME were like I described. Muslim sience and literature only really flourished after great cities and settlements were made... long after the introduction of Islam

The men basically bulling dong whole day with all the women and female children in their tent and living like swine. Islam was meant to bring order to lawless depraved peoples, thus it controls every aspect of a person's life for every second of the day. IT IS A RELIGION THAT IT'S FOLLOWERS ACTUALLY OBEY GOD AND NOT THE FANCIES OF MAN!!

^^^^Know quite a few muslim guys who are fornicators, eaters of pork and drinkers of alcohol/ smoking weed.... basically living like swine... all while going to the mosque every friday, stroking their beard... I doubt 10% of muslims actually folow the Quoran without exception for practical modern living. Sorry sonny, I have seen too many people use ALL of the major religions as a veneer to hidetheir nasty side... and he more religious they appear... the more they seem to have feet of clay.... are you a 100% pious, virgin (or was a virgin who married a virgin), koran reading praying five times a day boy?

If so I respect yourway of life, but you need to learn respect and acceptance that 4/5 of the world does not agree with you

If you are not a perfectly pure at heart muslim boy who abstains from all vice...I have one thing to say to you....

Traders Jacks Friday evening is the place to be, come check meh and my work mates and we can discuss this further... first drink on me ;) (I don't drink alcohol but like to lime on occasion)

Crossdrilled,
You are all messed up man, I really sorry for you but I'm more sorry for your wife and kids if you have any. It's a pity you're so good a hindu that you couldn't find or get set up with a good hindu girl. Just look at your behaviour online. Yuh sure yuh have flags in front yuh house? What's the purpose of them?

You probably know so many of those sinful muslims because they are just like you, bad company is for bad company! However, Allah says that if our sins were to reach the sky and we repent and ask for HIS forgiveness, HE would forgive us. There are bad, hypocritical and sinful ppl in every religion, not just Islam.

Didn't hear you boasting about how India has progressed by oppressing the lower castes.

All of the hindus I have known my entire life and they are many, none of them ever read a Hindu scripture. They just call the pundit to do their simmy dimmy and plant a flag. Some may be like you, to show off (or taunt their in-laws.

As for me, I was disobedient, every other word a curse, just like you before I encountered Islam read the Quran cover to cover, then accepted. Now, many years later, I am not perfect but practise to the best of my ability. Yes I am a good muslim boy...from a hindu father who doesn't pretend to be religious by putting up flags...and proud to be a good example to my kids.

As for the Friday evening lime, you'll be sure NOT to see me there because the only good hindu boys who lime and don't consume alcohol are the boys who like boys, which is not a problem in your religion as well, right? Anything goes, all rivers flow to the sea...

Kasey, you have to excuse them, they can only write in accordance with their level of intellect.

Postby 16 cycles » May 17th, 2012, 2:18 pm

discipline, tolerance and production.....

see the part in bold nah fellas....is two small islands we hadda share....

Postby Dizzy28 » May 17th, 2012, 2:27 pm

AdamB wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:
AdamB wrote:

Crossdrilled,
You are all messed up man, I really sorry for you but I'm more sorry for your wife and kids if you have any. It's a pity you're so good a hindu that you couldn't find or get set up with a good hindu girl. Just look at your behaviour online. Yuh sure yuh have flags in front yuh house? What's the purpose of them?

You probably know so many of those sinful muslims because they are just like you, bad company is for bad company! However, Allah says that if our sins were to reach the sky and we repent and ask for HIS forgiveness, HE would forgive us. There are bad, hypocritical and sinful ppl in every religion, not just Islam.

Didn't hear you boasting about how India has progressed by oppressing the lower castes.

All of the hindus I have known my entire life and they are many, none of them ever read a Hindu scripture. They just call the pundit to do their simmy dimmy and plant a flag. Some may be like you, to show off (or taunt their in-laws.

As for me, I was disobedient, every other word a curse, just like you before I encountered Islam read the Quran cover to cover, then accepted. Now, many years later, I am not perfect but practise to the best of my ability. Yes I am a good muslim boy...from a hindu father who doesn't pretend to be religious by putting up flags...and proud to be a good example to my kids.

As for the Friday evening lime, you'll be sure NOT to see me there because the only good hindu boys who lime and don't consume alcohol are the boys who like boys, which is not a problem in your religion as well, right? Anything goes, all rivers flow to the sea...

Kasey, you have to excuse them, they can only write in accordance with their level of intellect.

:shock: So now you have sunk into personal attacks?

Postby RBphoto » May 17th, 2012, 2:28 pm

AdamB wrote:

All of the hindus I have known my entire life and they are many, none of them ever read a Hindu scripture. They just call the pundit to do their simmy dimmy and plant a flag.

^^^ careful there with the name calling and generalization... what are you? 13 years old? What you said about the ignorant people you associate with is a reflection on you?... go ahead and shoot yourself in the foot.

Yes I am a good muslim boy...from a hindu father who doesn't pretend to be religious by putting up flags....

^^^Your dad was whipped... I pity him. I stood my religious ground in my relationship and I am now respected for that. Is he one of the hindu you know about who know nothing of his own scriptures?... You did say all... That why you so bitter bro? Daddy issues?

So technically you calling me a fudge packer because I don't consume alcohol anymore? Hindu boys supposed to be rum drinkers?... again... are you 13 years old? Big man supposed to play marble pitch with work mates? As I understand it your scriptures don't alow alcohol, so are all muslims fudge packers? I am known as a chaser drinker, and proud of it.

^^^^ oh shut up you intelectual black hole

Postby RBphoto » May 17th, 2012, 2:31 pm

Dizzy28 wrote: :shock: So now you have sunk into personal attacks?

It is only a personal attack if you take it personally :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 17th, 2012, 2:39 pm

ok thanks to the terrible quoting, it is nearly impossible for a reader to tell who is saying what :|

Postby Dizzy28 » May 17th, 2012, 2:40 pm

AdamB,

A Muslim should be the last person in the world to speak of oppression. Saudi Arabia, Pakistan, Iran, Malaysia, Indonesia all have one thing in common.......lack of civil liberties (ask the women). The only true democratic Islamic country is Turkey who were fortunate enough to have Mustafa Kemal Ataturk who declared them secular upon formation after the collapse of the Ottoman Empire.

You generalize India but they also have 150 million Muslims who I guess are all perfect citizens that positively contribute via equality?

But really, if other religions bother you so much I am sure they are many countries where your views would be most welcome. Till then you live In Trinidad

AdamB

Postby AdamB » May 17th, 2012, 2:51 pm

If yuh can't take the heat GET OUT OF THE KITCHEN!!!

Postby RBphoto » May 17th, 2012, 3:03 pm

AdamB wrote:If yuh can't take the heat GET OUT OF THE KITCHEN!!!

You just told a woman..... to get out of the kitchen? :shock:

Postby Dizzy28 » May 17th, 2012, 3:12 pm

AdamB wrote:If yuh can't take the heat GET OUT OF THE KITCHEN!!!

Really......thas your big response? No rebuttal to the fact that the most oppressed countries in the world are Islamic countries?

In your beloved Middle East....cradle of Islam the only free country in 2012 according Freedom House (http://www.freedomhouse.org/sites/defau ... -Final.pdf) is Israel.

All the rest are not free.

Postby RBphoto » May 17th, 2012, 3:33 pm

Hush you with your facts, logic and fancy charts.. Dat is devil thing.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 17th, 2012, 3:36 pm

http://www.kristensguide.com/Happiness/ ... n/cult.asp

Is it a Cult? How to Know if You or Someone Else is in a Cult
Content Updated on August 17, 2007
What is a Cult?

There are many definitions for the term cult, but the primary one to be concerned about is religious fanaticism. There is nothing wrong with having a religion, especially if that religion gives you a sense of peace and joy. But the line is crossed when religious beliefs become an obsession and negatively affect other aspects of your life.

It is important to note that A CULT NEVER DECLARES THAT IT'S A CULT! In fact, they may speak out against cults and declare that all other groups are cults, but not theirs.
Cult Members

It is important to remember that CULT MEMBERS NEVER THINK THAT THEY ARE IN A CULT! It is only when they leave and look back that they can fully recognize the mind control they've been subjected to.

Cult members truly believe that they are doing the right thing and are following the true way. They are normal people, both educated and uneducated, from a variety of countries, in a variety of professions (including doctors, lawyers, physicists, gas station attendants, receptionists, teachers, etc.), in a variety of income levels, both mentally stable and unstable. Some members were born and/or raised in the cult by their parents. Others find the cult during an emotionally difficult time in their lives. Some members use the teachings of the cult to answer difficult questions about life, death, and the nature of the cosmos.

Close friends and family of a cult member often remark that their loved one changed after he/she joined the cult. Sometimes the personality change can be dramatic and the cult member seems like a completely different person. A normally opinionated person may become easily influenced by the group's opinions. A normally friendly person may become always on the defense and ready for a fight. A normally strong-willed person may become highly submissive. A cult member may suddenly abandon all of the goals and dreams they had before joining the cult. All of the changes seem to happen as a result of trying to conform to the teachings of the cult.
Cult Leadership

A cult can have a single leader or a council of leaders. The leaders may be living, dead, representatives of the true leader, or completely fictional. Cult members may also regard a book, an oracle, or some other object as the source of authority, even though these objects don't actually have any consciousness.

Many cult leaders claim to have special knowledge (such as information gained through visions, dreams, voices, or paranormal encounters) or have a direct relationship with supernatural beings (e.g. God(s), angels, etc.) Because of this, the leader is often considered infallible, and anything that he/she does which may seem immoral or accidental is seen as done for a greater, wiser purposes.

It is important to note that, cult leaders rarely believe they are leading a cult. Many of them are psychologically disturbed and truly believe that they are doing the right thing and preaching the truth.
Cult Methods of Control

A cult teaches that they are right and everyone else is wrong (the false prophets defense), even if current science, basic reason, and practical logic clearly disprove their beliefs.
A cult often teaches to not ask too many questions; just accept their teachings as truth, "Have faith," even if there is no evidence to support their teachings.
A cult teaches that something bad will happen to you if you do not have faith in their teachings. (e.g. negative consequences may include supernatural punishments, punishments by their God(s) or other supernatural creatures, curses, lack of protection from harm or evil, etc.) Members may continue to follow the cult teachings, even if they don't agree with some of them, just to avoid such painful consequences.
A cult might shun, avoid, or ban a member who disagrees with the group teachings and/or doesn't properly follow the teachings. Members may continue to follow the cult teachings, even if they don't agree with some of them, to avoid being rejected by the group of people they love and care about and to feel a sense of social acceptance.
A cult may avoid any person (e.g. ex-member, non-member, loved one, family member, member of another groups, etc.), who disagrees with them and/or doesn't properly follow their teachings. In this way, members are less influenced by outsiders who may have different beliefs or may point out flaws in the teachings of the group.
A cult tries to control its members with rules (may include what clothing is/isn't acceptable, what hairstyles to wear, what jobs to have, whom to marry, how to raise children, whom to talk to, whom to be friends with, what roles men and women should have, etc.). In this way, the teachings of the cult spreads into all aspects of the members' lives, and a member who wishes to leave the group will have the anxiety of also changing his/her lifestyle. Members also start to believe that they must consult the group to help them make every decision of their lives, making them feel dependent on the group.
A cult may try to reduce outside influences, declaring such influences as misleading, evil temptations. To do this, they may set up private schools; not allow the study of certain academic subjects like certain scientific theories, psychology, history, etc.; not allow members to associate with non-members or anyone who disagrees with them; ban television, radio, Internet, newspapers, etc.
Cult members may be required to spend lots of time tending to the needs of the group or group teachings (e.g. rituals, praying, preaching, witnessing, etc.).
A cult often tries to control members using fear, guilt and shame. (e.g. suggesting that a parent is hurting his/her children by leaving the cult, suggesting that a loved-one's dying wish was for a straying member to become more dedicated to the cult's teachings, suggesting that outsiders will reject them for being a part of the group, etc.)
A cult may require members to change their name or other identifying characteristics to symbolically reject their former selves.
A cult may require members to permanently mark their bodies (e.g. tattooing, scarring, etc.) to identify themselves as members of the group.
A cult may require members to abuse themselves or somebody else to prove their devotion. This abuse may take the form of physical abuse, sexual abuse, verbal abuse, psychological abuse, neglecting to give medical or psychological care, neglecting to give lifestyle support care to a person (or even a pet) who can't take care of themselves, suicide, murder, sacrificial killing, etc.
A cult may teach that others are trying to stop them from spreading the truth, creating an us-vs.-them mentality.
Cult leaders may interpret readings from an oracle, ancient scriptures, or psychic phenomena. Such readings may be vague or can apply to a variety of situations, making the interpretation of those readings seem prophetic and believable. Members identify with the leader's reading interpretations and assume that all of the leader's other interpretations must also be true.
A cult may regard fictional stories as historical fact. One way cults often try to prove that the stories are historical is by pointing to other fictional stories that tell about how the original story was true and provide fictional evidence. Some cults will point to factual events, such as those in the news, and suggest that they have ties, especially prophetic ties, to the fictional stories.

Cult Methods of Recruitment

A cult usually wants to recruit new members, and often stresses that increasing the membership will strengthen the influence of the group in society and benefit current members as well as new members.
Cult recruiters may emphasize how large their group is and suggest that if it wasn't the true path, so many people could not have been convinced to follow it.
A cult may emphasize recruiting those who are easily influenced / "in need" (e.g. children, teenagers, anyone going through an emotionally difficult time, the poor, the uneducated, etc.). To reach these individuals, cult recruiters will volunteer services and aid to those in need, but their real intention isn't to help; the real intention is to preach.
Cult recruiters may play on the potential member's ego, telling him/her that they sense that he/she is special or gifted.
Cult recruiters may treat potential members like instant best friends and try to make deep emotional connections with them.
A cult may have a training program (e.g. classes, special diets, etc.) to teach new members about the complexities of the teachings, which makes it seem legitimate and makes current members and leaders seem highly intelligent and educated, but really it's a brainwashing program.
Cult recruiters may stress urgency when trying to get potential members to join. They may ask you to visit their temple/church as soon as possible, read their scriptures today, pray with them right now, etc. or give you a deadline.
Cult recruiters may act arrogant and stress that they only allow members who seem truly worthy of the honor of being in the group. They may also say that their teachings are so important and contain such deep truths that they must be kept secret, known only to members of the group.
Members of a cult may also be encouraged to have lots of children to increase the size of the group.

Cult Goals

A cult may emphasize raising money (e.g. donations, pledges, tithes, etc.) to benefit the group or earn spiritual benefits. This may require fundraising activities (e.g. selling products or services). This may also require members to give a significant amount of money to the group or group leaders. Members may even be expected to give personal property, real estate, or free professional services.
A cult may emphasize spreading their teachings.
A cult that teaches an us-vs.-them philosophy may insist on taking extreme defensive measures to fight the opposition.
A cult may teach that they are doing the will of their God(s), who needs them to carry out some event that will change history or change the direction of the future.
A cult may teach that they must prepare for an event in the future and that everyone who doesn't prepare, via their group, is doomed.

Red Fraction

Postby Red Fraction » May 17th, 2012, 3:48 pm

Tonight I'll answer some of the questions posed to menregarding my previous posts.

But for now I'm quite sure many of us in here know about the new age religion, that teaches we are born as gods and wil continue to exist as gods?

"that to me is level blasphemy"

Exo. 20 "thou shalt not take the name of the lord thy god in vain, for the lord will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain."

So this new religion if I was to say is total false hope and blasphemy in all forms.
Would the masses say I'm being forceful,vindictive & out of place to say that?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 17th, 2012, 4:01 pm

Red Fraction wrote:Tonight I'll answer some of the questions posed to menregarding my previous posts.

But for now I'm quite sure many of us in here know about the new age religion, that teaches we are born as gods and wil continue to exist as gods?

"that to me is level blasphemy"

Exo. 20 "thou shalt not take the name of the lord thy god in vain, for the lord will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain."

So this new religion if I was to say is total false hope and blasphemy in all forms.
Would the masses say I'm being forceful,vindictive & out of place to say that?

The concept of Blasphemy is subjective. What is blasphemy to you would not be blasphemous to others.

For those who do not accept the Bible how can we be judged by its laws? You use the book to justify the book.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 17th, 2012, 4:25 pm

^ yup, also known as circular logic

d spike

Postby d spike » May 17th, 2012, 5:12 pm

turbohead wrote:to say that God liveth forever may spark that he had a beginning which he doesnt have, He was there in matters we cannot comprehend

I would like those who claim belief in God to dwell on this for a moment.
This implies heavily that there are matters concerning the divine that are beyond us mortals.
If this is accepted as truth, then why are there arguments about matters concerning God? Clearly, there are some things that might be revealed to a people to help them better understand and accept the divine.
Why is "knowing the name of God" an issue? Doesn't a believer accept that there are things of God that not all will understand?
An old Arabic saying is that Allah has 99 names; but only the camel knows the hundredth... thus explaining the supercilious nature of the camel. (It seems this attitude is not confined to the camel alone :lol: )

turbohead wrote:
Red Fraction wrote:I and my father are 1, he that hath seen me hath seen the father
There is only one god "father son & holy spirit" each his their OWN function.

mathematically, irrationally, incorrect even from logical stand point.

Ahhh... the concept of the Trinity. A matter not even clearly understood by many Christians - so , far less for those who don't accept such a belief.

The mind of a mortal is saying that he cannot understand an aspect of the divine... what's new?
Remember... God is there in matters we cannot comprehend
Just because you cannot understand it doesn't mean it doesn't exist, or it isn't true.

d spike

Postby d spike » May 17th, 2012, 5:15 pm

sMASH wrote:a person would change paths if they see something better. they would see something better if they think and try to understand things about what what they have learned. they would learn things if they are willing to listen. they would only be willing to listen, if they are treated with some measure of respect. u can't respect someone by criticizing, belittling, insulting, and condemning them.

I couldn't have said it better myself. Once again, sMASH, it is a pleasure to read what you have to write.

d spike

Postby d spike » May 17th, 2012, 5:18 pm

mitsu_chick941 wrote:"I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ." Mohandas Gandhi

A favourite quote of mine.

mitsu_chick941 wrote:"If people are good only because they fear punishment, and hope for reward, then we are a sorry lot indeed." - Albert Einstein
i think Einstein said it best

Quite right.