PNM in Gov't (2020-2025)

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby The_Honourable » August 8th, 2023, 1:09 am

pugboy wrote:A Moses chap get charged the other for discounting the value of a property or something to dodge stamp duty,
Wonder if that applies here to a townhouse heavily discounted

If I recall correctly, I believe Rowley said that the property was purchased at pre-development price meaning he got into the deal before the townhouse was completed, which is normal. Now did the developers "discounted" the price for Rowley? Probably but very hard to prove because of that predevelopment cover. Also, if Rowley paid the correct amount in stamp duty off the 1.68M valuation which according to the Express he did, then the purchase was above board.

wing

Postby wing » August 8th, 2023, 1:25 am

The_Honourable wrote:
pugboy wrote:A Moses chap get charged the other for discounting the value of a property or something to dodge stamp duty,

If I recall correctly, I believe Rowley said that the property was purchased at pre-development price meaning he got into the deal before the townhouse was completed, which is normal. Now did the developers "discounted" the price for Rowley? Probably but very hard to prove because of that predevelopment cover. Also, if Rowley paid the correct amount in stamp duty off the 1.68M valuation which according to the Express he did, then the purchase was above board.
Careful you are labeled as a racist PNM. Don't you realize once you are not anti PNM, then you are automatically a PNM stooge.

Postby pugboy » August 8th, 2023, 7:01 am

You sure was a direct sale or property was owned by a company and transaction was share transfer ?
I find that very hard to believe, even the vat dept does do audits for under valued sales.

eliteauto wrote:

Discounting the value to lower stamp duty is not the same as selling a unit at a lower price, a seller can sell at any price he wants, I know houses that sold for $1 legally

Postby eliteauto » August 8th, 2023, 10:58 am

pugboy wrote:You sure was a direct sale or property was owned by a company and transaction was share transfer ?
I find that very hard to believe, even the vat dept does do audits for under valued sales.

eliteauto wrote:

Discounting the value to lower stamp duty is not the same as selling a unit at a lower price, a seller can sell at any price he wants, I know houses that sold for $1 legally

150% sure

Postby pugboy » August 8th, 2023, 11:01 am

that is intereting, opens up a lot of ways to dodge and stay under tax radar for wills and lot of other assets

Postby redmanjp » August 8th, 2023, 6:56 pm

where are these $1 houses u speak of?

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » August 8th, 2023, 10:30 pm

The integrity commission admits the PM broke the law but no way exists to prosecute him....

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » August 8th, 2023, 10:51 pm

AlphaMan wrote:The integrity commission admits the PM broke the law but no way exists to prosecute him....
It also shows the integrity of the people that vote for PNM and their moral standards are

Postby bluefete » August 9th, 2023, 11:06 am

redmanjp wrote:where are these $1 houses u speak of?

Ask Tantie Kams and Uncle Keith how many people got $1 homes during their reigns. . LOL.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » August 9th, 2023, 12:20 pm

Why exactly should PM Rowley get my vote on Monday?

nick639v2

Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby nick639v2 » August 9th, 2023, 12:23 pm

AlphaMan wrote:Why exactly should PM Rowley get my vote on Monday?

He gonna win, might as well be on the winning team bro

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » August 9th, 2023, 12:26 pm

nick639v2 wrote:

Him winning means I'll have to pay my property tax.
Doesn't seem like a winning situation for me.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » August 9th, 2023, 1:28 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:

His winnings means more invasions

Postby pugboy » August 9th, 2023, 1:30 pm

yep, them fellas smiling
remember they provide pay for the councillor xmas party and ting

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 9th, 2023, 2:29 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:

Him not winning means you still have to pay your property tax. So what's the plan now?

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » August 9th, 2023, 2:35 pm

DMan7 wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:

Him not winning means you still have to pay your property tax. So what's the plan now?
Not necessarily, this can be repealed with a much fairer system.

Postby eliteauto » August 9th, 2023, 3:26 pm

Kickstart wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:

Repealed by who? The Gov't is still the Gov't buddy this is an LGE, the LG reform is already passed and the current opposition had a constitutional majority in Gov't for 5 years and did nothing but state that property tax is coming

Postby paid_influencer » August 9th, 2023, 5:48 pm

did the pp actually have a constitutional majority i thought they was like a seat short

wing

Postby wing » August 9th, 2023, 5:53 pm

paid_influencer wrote:did the pp actually have a constitutional majority i thought they was like a seat short
They held 29 of 41 seats, more than a three fifths majority. They allowed a dead and buried PNM to take back power and subject the country to Rowley and friends since then.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » August 9th, 2023, 6:01 pm

wing wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:did the pp actually have a constitutional majority i thought they was like a seat short
They held 29 of 41 seats, more than a three fifths majority. They allowed a dead and buried PNM to take back power and subject the country to Rowley and friends since then.

Kamla will bury them again just you wait and see.. :D :lol:

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » August 9th, 2023, 6:09 pm

eliteauto wrote:
Kickstart wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:

Repealed by who? The Gov't is still the Gov't buddy this is an LGE, the LG reform is already passed and the current opposition had a constitutional majority in Gov't for 5 years and did nothing but state that property tax is coming
If people don't want the current corrupted house tax by the PNM, then they know when GE comes what to do, which is axe the oppressive tax.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » August 9th, 2023, 10:30 pm

Kickstart wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
Kickstart wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
AlphaMan wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:

If people don't want the current corrupted house tax by the PNM, then they know when GE comes what to do, which is axe the oppressive tax.

Them foolish PNM supporters voting for the tax. I want to see them absorb that cost. Crime definitely gonna go up

Postby Rovin » August 10th, 2023, 7:02 pm

i now seeing on d news karen taxsharer has resigned from d poo nm ...

Postby paid_influencer » August 10th, 2023, 7:24 pm

Rovin wrote:i now seeing on d news karen taxsharer has resigned from d poo nm ...

she was a manning-ite. like keith put the straw that break the camel back

death365

Postby death365 » August 11th, 2023, 12:13 pm

ah thought only uncs does air dey dutty laundry.

https://newsday.co.tt/2023/08/10/ex-finance-minister-karen-nunez-tesheira-resigns-from-pnm/

She said the PNM, under Rowley, should not get another term in government.

“I resigned because if they are being so brazen and emboldened to treat the citizenry in the manner in which they are treating them in the last few years, if they get another term, we will have ourselves to blame.” ...

Nunez-Tesheira, who made it clear she was “not supporting any other party in particular,” said, “What I am supporting is my country and I know that if this country does not get a chance to regroup, we are lost because all the signs are there.

“A woman who is battered and knows that she is being battered feels hopeless, helpless and after a while starts blaming herself and that is what has happened to TT under this current government. And it cannot continue.”

Postby maj. tom » August 11th, 2023, 12:46 pm

Spoiler Alert? Magic crystal ball? Nostradamus? Guess what!

Postby Rovin » August 11th, 2023, 1:46 pm

at least she has d conscience\guts to stand up & say d truth ...

Postby sMASH » August 11th, 2023, 2:11 pm

wing wrote:Who exactly is Ravi Balgobin Maharaj? How is he able to afford Anand with all these cases? Does Anand do it pro Bono? Google search says he's a political analyst, I never knew that field was so lucrative.
Someone who understands the law more than all pnm barristers combined, apparently

wing

Postby wing » August 11th, 2023, 3:24 pm

sMASH wrote:
wing wrote:Who exactly is Ravi Balgobin Maharaj? How is he able to afford Anand with all these cases? Does Anand do it pro Bono? Google search says he's a political analyst, I never knew that field was so lucrative.
Someone who understands the law more than all pnm barristers combined, apparently
Most if not all of them are cut from the same cloth. Rotten and interested only in the money and power.

Postby bluefete » August 11th, 2023, 6:09 pm

Rovin wrote:at least she has d conscience\guts to stand up & say d truth ...

You talking about the same "Karen" (LOL) who, as Minister of Finance or something so, tek out she morney when she get the "simi" that CLICO was about to crash? That same one?
Last edited by bluefete on August 11th, 2023, 6:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.