Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 28th, 2013, 2:03 pm

Good question

I decided to buy the N4 8GB

its $199 on google playstore now since they drop the price.

Wonder how much space I would actually have. For $199 I cannot pass that up

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » August 28th, 2013, 2:12 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Good question

I decided to buy the N4 8GB

its $199 on google playstore now since they drop the price.

Wonder how much space I would actually have. For $199 I cannot pass that up

With no sd card support that's not a lot of space. How much is the 16gb now?

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » August 28th, 2013, 2:26 pm

^
16GB model is $249 usd
Last edited by dean_spleen09 on August 28th, 2013, 2:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pete » August 28th, 2013, 2:26 pm

249 might make a lot more sense to spend that extra 50.

Postby ismithx » August 28th, 2013, 2:41 pm

pete wrote:Very tempting. Don't know if I could survive with 8gb internal memory and no expansion though.

bleh. i go pass

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 28th, 2013, 2:45 pm

Why this thing don't have memory card expansion?

How much could that little addition possibly cost?

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 28th, 2013, 2:48 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Why this thing don't have memory card expansion?

How much could that little addition possibly cost?

Nexus devices have never had memory expansions. Best you put the extra $50 and get the 16gb model.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 28th, 2013, 3:03 pm

That's weird tho.

Postby ismithx » August 28th, 2013, 5:29 pm

but say if i wanted to bring one down thru skybox, how much cost would that be?

Val

Postby Val » August 28th, 2013, 5:53 pm

Anybody using the dual sim s4 mini care to comment on the ui performance?

Postby Greypatch » August 28th, 2013, 6:01 pm

n4 have a bess price now peeps...

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 28th, 2013, 6:24 pm

noshownogo wrote:My problem with the S4 currently is how hot it gets during gameplay. Others experiencing this?

premium feel and extensive marketing requires downclocking? smdh

Postby M_2NR » August 28th, 2013, 7:40 pm

^undervolting
noshownogo wrote:My problem with the S4 currently is how hot it gets during gameplay. Others experiencing this?

see above, however this will break your warranty.

Postby nervewrecker » August 28th, 2013, 8:10 pm

pete wrote:This is on a 16 gig s2

How much space do you get from the original 8gb on Nexus 4?

Just around 6GB I think.

I havent moved my vids as yet or I could have given a better figure.

All I have are some vids and a few pics, phone bone stock otherwise.

Edit, screenshot posted

Postby Trini Hookah » August 29th, 2013, 5:56 am

8gb...that eh holding 2-3 movies properly jed.

Postby pete » August 29th, 2013, 6:06 am

depends on the quality, a whole season of game of thrones is just like 5gb

Postby S_2NR » August 29th, 2013, 7:33 am

people does watch not one...but three movies on a PHONE? :shock:

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » August 29th, 2013, 7:55 am

S_2NR wrote:people does watch not one...but three movies on a PHONE? :shock:

Yea ofc! I have the entire fast and furious series on my phone, tbh watching it on my phone is an improvement from my tv :/

Postby pete » August 29th, 2013, 8:03 am

S_2NR wrote:people does watch not one...but three movies on a PHONE? :shock:

For the past couple weeks I haven't even turned on my pc at home. I don't watch to many movies on my phone but I download on the phone and then connect the phone to my ps3 to watch. If it's a tv show I just watch it on my phone.

Postby ismithx » August 29th, 2013, 8:18 am

i watched the entire matrix series on a 2" phone screen.... was ok

Postby S_2NR » August 29th, 2013, 8:33 am

idk na. going from a big led tv to a phone is kinda depressing to me :lol:

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 29th, 2013, 8:37 am

size of screen is really a kind of tricky thing. once u get absorbed into focus of a movie, u kind of dont notice the size of the screen. it kinda becomes like watching the movie on a big screen that's far away lol

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » August 29th, 2013, 8:40 am

Ohh nah well I prefer watching movies and tv shows on my note 2 rather than my 40 year old zenneth tv set from meh grandmother :/

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 29th, 2013, 9:00 am

He right, when you get sucked into the movie a phone becomes as big as a cinema screen LOL
you don't even notice its a phone you watching it on

plus that 334 pixel density 720p you will never find that sharpness on a real TV not even them 4k TV will be able to come close.

I placing the order the Nexus 4 this saturday. Hadda wait for my padner to do it because my credit card won't work on google play store. Money kinda tight so I buying the 8GB Model for $199

they might charge anywhere from $380 to $600 in vat and duty when it land trinidad, I hear customs does google the price. I hope google sends a receipt in the package because when them google over $300 US on this phone go be madness.

This should cost $2k max that real good. just few days ago it would cost $3k.

The real question would be if to buy the white or the black.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 29th, 2013, 9:18 am

Archlord

Postby Archlord » August 29th, 2013, 10:26 am

Never installed display control, Paranoid Android ROM fixes it with their kernel though, you can see the difference.

Postby S_2NR » August 29th, 2013, 11:52 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:He right, when you get sucked into the movie a phone becomes as big as a cinema screen LOL
you don't even notice its a phone you watching it on

plus that 334 pixel density 720p you will never find that sharpness on a real TV not even them 4k TV will be able to come close.

I placing the order the Nexus 4 this saturday. Hadda wait for my padner to do it because my credit card won't work on google play store. Money kinda tight so I buying the 8GB Model for $199

they might charge anywhere from $380 to $600 in vat and duty when it land trinidad, I hear customs does google the price. I hope google sends a receipt in the package because when them google over $300 US on this phone go be madness.

This should cost $2k max that real good. just few days ago it would cost $3k.

The real question would be if to buy the white or the black.

i would advise against letting customs tax that. u gon get raped.

use a suitcase courier

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 29th, 2013, 11:55 am

X2 customs will overcharge

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » August 29th, 2013, 3:38 pm

fellas, need a lil advise.

a friend of mine has a note 2, about 1-2 months old, never fell etc

this morning she woke up and it wasnt responding, did couple battery pulls and the phone came up, everything was really sluggish though, tried to make a call, couldnt hear anything from the speaker, tried to play a song and the song would be playing but ur not hearing anything from the phone, tried the headset still cant hear anything, tried a factory reset, same problem, any advise on what could be done?

Postby noshownogo » August 29th, 2013, 4:22 pm

Could be a manufacturer defect. Is it under warranty?