The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby M_2NR » August 26th, 2013, 3:01 pm

Swisha wrote:everybody should jus use what dey like and...

exactly.

Gonna give aosp a try soon. Been bored waiting for the custom Rom I use to update to sense 5.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 26th, 2013, 5:53 pm

Wayeee how taylor swift dread so?

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 26th, 2013, 6:15 pm

M_2NR wrote:ollur really going back to that crap? stick to relevant stuff na. There is an apple vs the rest thread. Go there and stroke your egos.

No

Postby RASC » August 26th, 2013, 8:05 pm

Allyuh bullers stick to topic nuh...

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 26th, 2013, 10:56 pm

samsung.. what are u doing? staahhpp!

guardianlv.com/2013/08/samsung-announces-galaxy-golden-dual-screen-flip-phone/

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 26th, 2013, 10:58 pm

I miss flip phones.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 26th, 2013, 11:02 pm

yeah i really liked my razr but look at the size of that thing.. lol

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 27th, 2013, 9:52 am

Sony teases likely Xperia Z1 Honami device on video, confirms September 4th arrival

It appears that Sony is about to finally put an end to the rampant Honami smartphone speculation on September 4th. It just released a teaser video showing various oblique angles of the camera-centric handset, rumored to be called the Xperia Z1. Previous reports pointed to a 21-megapixel sensor, 4K shooting capability, a Snapdragon 800 processor, and a 5-inch, 1080p display. The video after the break shows its apparent waterproof talents as well, so a September 4th launch would put an end to the all the leaking.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 27th, 2013, 9:58 am

Samsung exec confirms Galaxy Gear and Note III announcement on September 4th as images start to leak

The cat's out of the bag, and a rogue Samsung executive is the one who's been untying the strings. During a chat with the Korea Times, Samsung's Lee Young-hee blabbed that we'd see both the Galaxy Gear and the Galaxy Note III being announced at IFA on September 4th. The mobile VP added that the oft-rumored "wearable concept device" wouldn't come with a flexible display and will be a companion gadget for your smartphone -- but declined to offer any more detail about what we can expect from the flagship phablet. Never mind, however, because pictures purporting to be of the Galaxy Note III's front have emerged over on HD Blog, and you can catch a full gallery down at the source.

Update: Here's even more pictures purporting to be of the Note III from ETradeSupply. The site is claiming that the third generation device will measure in at 5.69-inches.

Engadget

Postby ismithx » August 27th, 2013, 10:58 am

rocknrolla wrote:samsung.. what are u doing? staahhpp!

guardianlv.com/2013/08/samsung-announces-galaxy-golden-dual-screen-flip-phone/

japanese and asians like phones like that eh...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 27th, 2013, 10:42 pm

ok so after countless mistakes and selling phones like crazy on tuner here including my S3 mini I sold today brand new for $1800

I decided to avoid these stupid mistakes is to go big or go home.

So here what I going and do. I going home and buy my padner Galaxy S1 captivate for ah $700, save the rest from the remainder $1200 and start building till I reach $4k.

Hopefully by the time I save this money I could get the Sony Honami Z1 for ah $4k.

Lets talk has the Xperia Z for $3800 but I frighten. You see there is a huge thread on XDA developers with a engineering defect in the XZ

Apparently the NFC spring is pushing hard on the back glass and the glue they use for the glass is a poorer quality glue and when the phone heats up the cover coming out starting from where the camera corner is.

This has me deeply troubled. Sony has the closesst thing to perfection in all phones with the Xperia Z. they managed to take the i9100 S2 design and perfect it with the sony logo.

S2 has the best design, S4 made it nicer but in the end its still no Xperia Z. I hoping that back glass problem is a isolated case affecting a few.

I hear camera in the Z is bad. But some say its better when you enable HDR
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 27th, 2013, 11:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby K74T » August 27th, 2013, 11:38 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:ok so after countless mistakes and selling phones like crazy on tuner here including my S3 mini I sold today brand new for $1800

So here what I going and do. I going home and buy my padner Galaxy S1 captivate for ah $700, save the rest from the remainder $1200 and start building till I reach $4k.

Hopefully by the time I save this money I could get the Sony Honami Z1 for ah $4k.

Lets talk has the Xperia Z for $3800 but I frighten. You see there is a huge thread on XDA developers with a engineering defect in the XZ

Apparently the NFC spring is pushing hard on the back glass and the glue they use for the glass is a poorer quality glue and when the phone heats up the cover coming out starting from where the camera corner is.

This has me deeply troubled. Sony has the closesst thing to perfection in all phones with the Xperia Z. they managed to take the i9100 S2 design and perfect it with the sony logo.

S3 Design really stinks. S2 has the best design, S4 made it nicer but in the end its still no Xperia Z. I hoping that back glass problem is a isolated case affecting a few.

Cs;b

Postby r3iXmann » August 27th, 2013, 11:39 pm

K74T wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:ok so after countless mistakes and selling phones like crazy on tuner here including my S3 mini I sold today brand new for $1800

S3 Design really stinks. S2 has the best design, S4 made it nicer but in the end its still no Xperia Z. I hoping that back glass problem is a isolated case affecting a few.

Cs;b

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 28th, 2013, 12:28 am

Sweet

This means Nexus 5 coming in a matter of weeks.

Same thing happened with Nexus 7.

http://www.theverge.com/2013/8/27/46659 ... rts-at-199

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 28th, 2013, 6:47 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS what you thought of the S3 mini?

Postby Ted_v2 » August 28th, 2013, 7:14 am

How about you post what you need from a device? and we shall help you

Postby noshownogo » August 28th, 2013, 7:28 am

Prepares for scriptures

Postby Trini Hookah » August 28th, 2013, 7:29 am

sound boy 64 wrote:How about you post what you need from a device? and we shall help you

We? But you need help choosing a device yourself.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 28th, 2013, 7:29 am

sound boy 64 wrote:How about you post what you need from a device? and we shall help you

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » August 28th, 2013, 8:44 am

Anybody have links in BlackBerry to hook up some BBM beta download for Android?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 28th, 2013, 10:26 am

ZeroOne wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS what you thought of the S3 mini?

Nice feel in the hand for someone with small hands.

Too small for big hands like mine.

Horrible out of box with samsung touch wiz UI and bloatware, sticks and lags like a chinese dual sim knock off. I solved most of the problems by rooting and flashing it with enox revenge custom rom. Mine was the i8190L version though so took a big more reading and searching around to do.

However the chipset was a sony ericsson nova thor Cortex A9 chipset so in reality even though it had same Mali 400 GPU like S2 it works at half the speed. The i9100 gets 60 fps in nearly all games but the S3 mini gets mostly 23 fps.

Really bad BUT has a major advantage the phone don't get hot. S2 i9100 burns your hands.

S3 mini also is pentile amoled. So i9100 looks much sharper. All in all its still in line with the price though. You get what you pay for, the screen is way superior to all the galaxy Ace series.

Next time I only buying phones with Qualcomm Chipsets. That samsung Exynos chipset burns more battery and produces more heat but has same or slightly more performance than qualcomm. Sony Ericsson Chipsets are well just pure garbage.
Nvidia Tegra 3 also slows down by a huge amount playing games and doing normal things

I feel I might buy a Nexus 4, is $199 for it now since google slash the prices. But waiting for september to see what the Nexus 5 has to offer and what it looks like.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 28th, 2013, 10:59 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby S_2NR » August 28th, 2013, 10:35 am

noshownogo wrote:Prepares for scriptures

Postby Ted_v2 » August 28th, 2013, 11:49 am

Trini Hookah wrote:

:/ damn

Postby K74T » August 28th, 2013, 11:59 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I feel I might buy a Nexus 4, is $199 for it now since google slash the prices. But waiting for september to see what the Nexus 5 has to offer and what it looks like.

Here's what, just do yourself a favour and buy a big steaming cup of STFU.

No one cares as to what you "feel" like buying :arrow:

Postby S_2NR » August 28th, 2013, 12:01 pm

K74T wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I feel I might buy a Nexus 4, is $199 for it now since google slash the prices. But waiting for september to see what the Nexus 5 has to offer and what it looks like.

Here's what, just do yourself a favour and buy a big steaming cup of STFU.

No one cares as to what you "feel" like buying :arrow:

Is that really necessary?

Didn't know the nexus 4 is 199 tho. Dam. Very tempting

Postby pete » August 28th, 2013, 12:23 pm

Very tempting. Don't know if I could survive with 8gb internal memory and no expansion though.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 28th, 2013, 12:45 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS great review in the S3 mini.

That sums up my experience with it as well, my biggest problem was the huge amount of lag it had.

I have 2 s4's one with the exynos chipset and the other has qualcomm

The exynos does burn battery but would like to see how the qualcomm compares.

Postby noshownogo » August 28th, 2013, 1:37 pm

My problem with the S4 currently is how hot it gets during gameplay. Others experiencing this?

Postby S_2NR » August 28th, 2013, 1:40 pm

pete wrote:Very tempting. Don't know if I could survive with 8gb internal memory and no expansion though.

True.
But u can use the cloud.
Other than camera pics and some media. I wouldn't need more than 8gb at hand.

Have a dedicated media player for that

Postby pete » August 28th, 2013, 1:52 pm

This is on a 16 gig s2

How much space do you get from the original 8gb on Nexus 4?