COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 173 cases, 8 deaths, 132 discharged in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » August 1st, 2020, 10:26 pm

pugboy wrote:the 2nd wave can be worse because of the wide distribution
after a certain point contact tracing becomes a bit useless and better to just lockdown

The virus spreads quicker than contact tracing can work. You find a contact, only to learn that contact was in school for a whole week with 100 other children. And that has happen not once - but four times so far in the past few days.

You need a lockdown for contact tracing to work. Put everybody in their home. Let the CMO and his team unravel who went where. And quarantine them. In a few cycles - 14 days each - we've fixed it and life can go on as relatively normal.

The alternative is to ignore the problem until election and see hundreds or thousands dead if this thing ends up in SFGH or nursing homes or other vulnerable populations. As bad as the economic situation is - we should not be playing with people's lives now.

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2020, 10:29 pm

read the play; they not interested in figuring out the sources of the cases, they only steer the talks to where the cases went. they only talk about the potential spread, but dance around the potential sources where they could have contracted it.
going full out on half assed measures is useless.

Postby paid_influencer » August 1st, 2020, 10:31 pm

sMASH wrote:we clamping since april hoss, how much we will clamp again? businesses hadda leggo workers, cause them aint makng no money, but if they lock down again, the renters will stop making money too.... all the covid loans get pocket or spend on dj truck, banners and tv ads. it eh have no more to give for covid assistance.

if this thing get serious, businesses will be hurt more. It is better to take a little pain now and get this thing under control.

Remember how business was in March, before the official lockdown? Nobody going out, nobody buying. Imagine that for a whole year or two if this COVID thing get out of hand.
Last edited by paid_influencer on August 1st, 2020, 10:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2020, 10:31 pm

just drove down avenue
vast majority of folks maskless

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2020, 10:36 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
sMASH wrote:we clamping since april hoss, how much we will clamp again? businesses hadda leggo workers, cause them aint makng no money, but if they lock down again, the renters will stop making money too.... all the covid loans get pocket or spend on dj truck, banners and tv ads. it eh have no more to give for covid assistance.

if this thing get serious, businesses will be hurt more. It is better to take a little pain now and get this thing under control.

Remember how business was in March, before the official lockdown? Nobody going out, nobody buying. Imagine that for a whole year or two if this COVID thing get out of hand.
nooo. most people will live. heard immunity is the goal. the reason why they cant say its confirmed, is that they dont have enough data to be reliable. but, as time goes on, they will accumulate enough data to show that heard immunity also works with SARS-CoV-2

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2020, 10:38 pm

you seem to be a promoter of herd immunity
what other countries have tried this approach ?

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2020, 10:46 pm

pugboy wrote:you seem to be a promoter of herd immunity
what other countries have tried this approach ?

only one, publicly. japan didnt shut down, merely implement social distancing and hygiene. but they are so hygienic any ways, they in a class by themselves.

only sweden is looking forward to heard immunity. the trends look optimistic, but too soon to make that pronouncement. need more numbers and consistent numbers.

Postby redmanjp » August 2nd, 2020, 12:24 am

Gladiator wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
sMASH wrote:we still have very low numbers.

When the numbers get high, it will be too late. We still have a chance to manage this thing, but we need to clamp down, hard and early.

do not wait till Aug 10, Keith. You know what needs to be done. Do it now Keith.

Headlines on August 11th 2020

_ _ _ Takes the Election Win

100+ new COVID-19 cases reported

100 in 1 day u saying?

Postby stev » August 2nd, 2020, 2:48 am

oh...if you all didn't know....Trinidad is filled of flat earthers and anti-vaxxers........they are employed people i work with...

...let that sink in....

Postby Chimera » August 2nd, 2020, 4:21 am

Arent flat earthers, anti vaxxers and religion followers along the same line?
Millions believe god gonna save them from the rona

Postby Gladiator » August 2nd, 2020, 6:31 am

Just emphasizing that they holding back the numbers currently so that elections can run normal and the govt could still hold on to their campaign based on COVID handling.

The real numbers would show after the election date...

redmanjp wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
sMASH wrote:we still have very low numbers.

When the numbers get high, it will be too late. We still have a chance to manage this thing, but we need to clamp down, hard and early.

do not wait till Aug 10, Keith. You know what needs to be done. Do it now Keith.

Headlines on August 11th 2020

_ _ _ Takes the Election Win

100+ new COVID-19 cases reported

100 in 1 day u saying?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 169 cases, 8 deaths, 132 discharged in T&T

Postby aaron17 » August 2nd, 2020, 7:04 am

pugboy wrote:stuey calling a press conference tomorrow 10:30am
What rowley didnt bring up about venez....stuey will adress?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 2nd, 2020, 9:22 am

You work with ED??
stev wrote:oh...if you all didn't know....Trinidad is filled of flat earthers and anti-vaxxers........they are employed people i work with...

...let that sink in....

eitech

Postby eitech » August 2nd, 2020, 10:03 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Arent flat earthers, anti vaxxers and religion followers along the same line?
Millions believe god gonna save them from the rona

Aye u forgot the atheists too. Lol

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 2nd, 2020, 10:06 am

People talking about herd immunity.

Yet Germany released a study that showed 75% of healthy people who got Covid then recovered suffered permanent heart damage which sets them up for heart attacks and strokes at a early age, drastically shortening their life.

These people who preach herd immunity do the really care about anybody?

I feel these people only read the news about Covid in January and still thinks it is a simple flu. A fake news that was spread by the media like CNN and Fox news etc

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » August 2nd, 2020, 10:12 am

Postby pugboy » August 2nd, 2020, 10:12 am

not only that, there are many who suffer blood clot related issues which are still being studied.

it’s not a simple case of getting fever body aches and cough for a few weeks and then back to normal for everybody.

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:People talking about herd immunity.

Yet Germany released a study that showed 75% of healthy people who got Covid then recovered suffered permanent heart damage which sets them up for heart attacks and strokes at a early age, drastically shortening their life.

I feel these people only read the news about Covid in January and still thinks it is a simple flu. A fake news that was spread by the media like CNN and Fox news etc

Postby adnj » August 2nd, 2020, 10:13 am

Herd immunity also includes the use of vaccines to achieve the goal.

Herd immunity coefficients are dramatically affected by maintaining relative isolation also.

Postby The_Honourable » August 2nd, 2020, 10:14 am

7 more positive cases... yikes...
Last edited by The_Honourable on August 2nd, 2020, 10:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » August 2nd, 2020, 10:18 am

4 more of unknown origin

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 2nd, 2020, 10:31 am

I was told to expect quite a lot more by wed...which is very obvious

killercow

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 169 cases, 8 deaths, 132 discharged in T&T

Postby killercow » August 2nd, 2020, 10:44 am

pugboy wrote:stuey calling a press conference tomorrow 10:30am
Which station?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 2nd, 2020, 10:47 am

Will the CMO admit community spread or is he muzzled by the PNM?

Postby goalpost » August 2nd, 2020, 10:51 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Will the CMO admit community spread or is he muzzled by the PNM?

One week before elections? Yeah, he's definitely muzzled

Postby maj. tom » August 2nd, 2020, 10:51 am

sheit hitting the fan on 2-speed.

Postby pugboy » August 2nd, 2020, 10:56 am

and the thing is rowlee himself say he talk to other countries and it is at this time when the virus spread takes off and needs to be managed
lewwe see what they do this week

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 2nd, 2020, 10:58 am

pugboy wrote:and the thing is rowlee himself say he talk to other countries and it is at this time when the virus spread takes off and needs to be managed
lewwe see what they do this week

The minute he said that I was anticipating a lockdown, he then went on to readily commit the same mistakes of those he spoke about. Absolutely incredible.

Postby sMASH » August 2nd, 2020, 10:59 am

Postby MaxPower » August 2nd, 2020, 11:04 am

Friends,

Thanks for all who reached out.

Im on a self quarantine after testing negative.

The MOH is calling everyday to check up on me, im extremely impressed. All props to Dr.Lalloo.

Honestly im not worried as i take hygiene very very seriously even before Covid. What is of concern to me is if i should start wearing a face shield. U could have all the mask and gloves on, walking in the path of airborne particles can easily get in your eyes.

Anyways, to those who have businesses as myself, please have daily briefings with your staff reiterating the importance of this. A more stern approach is needed to deal with non-compliant customers. If your business is doing well and your customer service is on par, you can respectfully rough up a customer from not wearing a mask and they will still come back.

Apart from this Trinis, allyuh need to step up and move up in allyuh game.

T&T is not serious at this time..very few are, not all.

Postby sMASH » August 2nd, 2020, 11:05 am

adnj wrote:

Herd immunity also includes the use of vaccines to achieve the goal.

Herd immunity coefficients are dramatically affected by maintaining relative isolation also.

vaccines is a form or herd immunity, where u get intentionally exposed to a less lethal form to trigger the body to produce the antibodies to fight off that virus when u encounter it.
without a lab developed vaccine, the way to get exposed to the virus to develop the resistance is to get the virus,,, from the population.

in all wars, there will be casualties.