Postby pioneer » April 12th, 2015, 5:09 pm

Enjoy the rust to come doe

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 12th, 2015, 5:29 pm

sweet build ismithx :)

I think the PSU kinda lacking tho
I have the 500W version to it, opened it up a time and the internals was almost the same as all the other generic PSU's I open up

upgrade that in the future if you wanna push a big card/cpu like that (I assuming you have a 6 core since that cooler comes with 6core amds )

Dais a coolermaster case too ent? it looking just like my Centurion

Postby ismithx » April 12th, 2015, 6:02 pm

PSU is 700W tho... case is the CM 690 nvidia edition

pios gtfo, you will never know the joy of building a console for yourself, oh wait you can't.

will post more pics and a build log later

HSA

Postby HSA » April 13th, 2015, 2:43 pm

ismithx wrote:happy with cable management for now :D :D

very nice....looks neat...gtx680 much?

Postby ismithx » April 13th, 2015, 7:18 pm

yep it is :D

HSA

Postby HSA » April 13th, 2015, 7:25 pm

ismithx wrote:yep it is :D

I have one since it came out and boy does it kick ass still....gonna see if it will handle gtav on max textures...if not then you kno what.................

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 13th, 2015, 7:44 pm

Looking good their smiths!

Hey guys.. I want to sell my x99 stuff
$7000 for Asus x99 pro.. 5820k.. Kingston 16gb ddr4 predator x 2800mhz...128gb plextor m.2 pcie ssd...free cooler master 212evo.. If anyone is interested.. Hit me up

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 13th, 2015, 8:20 pm

ismithx wrote:PSU is 700W tho... case is the CM 690 nvidia edition

pios gtfo, you will never know the joy of building a console for yourself, oh wait you can't.

Just cuz is 700W, doh mean it go put out 700 QUALITY watts

If it not on the 80+ list, doh trust it to output max power
Coolermaster site claims is 80% efficient, yet it doh have the lowest 80+ certification
http://www.plugloadsolutions.com/80Plus ... plies.aspx

And if the internals is anything like the 500W version,,, it wouldn't output more than 400W before outputting noisy voltage with lotsa ripple

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/ ... view/728/7
My 500W Psu like yours does only output 300W before sheit hits the fan

I lookin to upgrade in the future, but it good for now since my build doh pull more than 300W :D

Postby ismithx » April 13th, 2015, 8:30 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:

Coolermaster site claims is 80% efficient, yet it doh have the lowest 80+ certification

And if the internals is anything like the 500W version,,, it wouldn't output more than 400W before outputting noisy voltage with lotsa ripple

I lookin to upgrade in the future, but it good for now since my build doh pull more than 300W :D

that site has to do with energy efficiency. that is, the PSU might output 700W, but pull in 800W (wild figure used for example). therefore 100W is wasted. that's what that site is referring to. I would like to think that PSU wattage has to do with OUPUT power, not input power

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_supp ... omputer%29
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/80_Plus

yeah it is so

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 13th, 2015, 8:32 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:

U serious?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 13th, 2015, 8:46 pm

is there any video card currently that has displayport 1.3?

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » April 13th, 2015, 8:52 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:is there any video card currently that has displayport 1.3?

Almost all the video cards made within the last 3 years have display ports.
Last edited by Cross Blood on April 13th, 2015, 8:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 13th, 2015, 8:54 pm

Always over do the PSU. I put in a 1250w :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 13th, 2015, 9:03 pm

Cross Blood wrote:

thanks for that info

I was asking about version 1.3 8-)

Postby ismithx » April 13th, 2015, 9:04 pm

processor: 125W
GPU: 195W
case fans: 10W (2 x 5)
SSD/HDD's: 18W (6 x 3)
dvd drive: 30W
Total: 378W (let's say 400W for good measure)

I'd say my PSU is definitely overdone, no need to go higher there, and those power estimates are a bit conservative

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 13th, 2015, 9:04 pm

Cross Blood wrote:

Sigh...

Duane. I believe the GTX 970 and 980 have 1.3. Also the R9 295x2 as well. Maybe the R9 290 and 290x. Because they were designed for 4k res. Usage. 120hz at 4k is nice stuff tho.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 13th, 2015, 9:09 pm

Chiney wrote:
Cross Blood wrote:

Sigh...

Duane. I believe the GTX 970 and 980 have 1.3. Also the R9 295x2 as well. Maybe the R9 290 and 290x. Because they were designed for 4k res. Usage. 120hz at 4k is nice stuff tho.
lol thanks!

the Titan Z which is NVIDIA's most powerful card only supports 4K at 60Hz which would suggest it is only DisplayPort 1.2. The 980ti and the Radeon 300 are hinted to have it but they have not been released as yet, so I was wondering if any such card already existed.

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 13th, 2015, 9:10 pm

ismithx wrote:processor: 125W
GPU: 195W
case fans: 10W (2 x 5)
SSD/HDD's: 18W (6 x 3)
dvd drive: 30W
Total: 378W (let's say 400W for good measure)

I'd say my PSU is definitely overdone, no need to go higher there, and those power estimates are a bit conservative

you inna gear then

It always good to get a 80+ silver PSU minimum tho, they tend to protect your PC better if they happen to fail

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » April 13th, 2015, 9:15 pm

Chiney wrote:
Cross Blood wrote:

Sigh...

Actually all current cards support 1.2 even Nvidia's latest titan x. Next gen cards might support the spec tho

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 13th, 2015, 9:22 pm

OK well when I was reading up on the 4k world.. Which I plan to enter...I read that the 970&980 would be 1.3 ready. My apologies

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 13th, 2015, 9:54 pm

Hey having a weird problem with new cpu,
it is instantaneously reaching 90 deg with prime 95 within a millisecond and then instantly dropping down to 40 deg when I stop the workers,
its water cooled on a swiftech h220x I've never seen this behavior before it's currently running at 4.375ghz from an autotune.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 13th, 2015, 9:56 pm

Did u update bios and see if it is a sensor prob?

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » April 13th, 2015, 10:00 pm

Lol .. oh shux .. I thought there was only one version :| :| ..sorry about that

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 13th, 2015, 10:12 pm

Ok did some reading apparently that is normal behavior with haswell-e on prime95 I find it very weird though.

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 13th, 2015, 10:14 pm

Chiney your running a 5820k aswell right? What temps do u get?