Gulf of Paria Underwater Welders Deaths: Lawsuits Filed

Re: Gulf of Paria Underwater Welders Deaths: Commision of Enquiry.

Postby sMASH » December 8th, 2022, 3:59 pm

All I could say I wasn't trained this way.

Postby pugboy » December 8th, 2022, 5:34 pm

so this particular job spec has been done many times before locally ?

Val

Gulf of Paria Underwater Welders Deaths: Commision of Enquiry.

Postby Val » December 8th, 2022, 8:34 pm

pugboy wrote:so this particular job spec has been done many times before locally ?

Riser subsea sectional replacements? I would think so. But I don’t think they would be done in this way.

In the past I’ve seen it done but the lines were usually pigged clean first. Don’t think I ever saw delta P come up in those old risk assessments for Trinmar. But that’s 15-20 yrs ago and all our welding was splash zone or topside (I.e. the riser connections were made up in atmospheric air with no underwater welding).

Makes me wonder why this riser line wasn’t condemned outright and a new one laid, but I don’t know the condition of the remaining line, it was said to be repaired many times by LMCS.
Last edited by Val on December 8th, 2022, 8:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » December 8th, 2022, 8:37 pm

how much all you think them paria managers and supervisors that was on the stand making?

Val

Postby Val » December 8th, 2022, 8:38 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:how much all you think them paria managers and supervisors that was on the stand making?

The managers are making a lot of money. 60k a month I would guess is a minimum. Supervisors have a big salary gap from there.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » December 8th, 2022, 8:39 pm

Val wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:how much all you think them paria managers and supervisors that was on the stand making?

The managers are making a lot of money. 60k a month I would guess is a minimum. Supervisors have a big salary gap from there.

How much approximately for the supervisors?

Postby pugboy » December 8th, 2022, 8:56 pm

that’s a lot of money

Postby 16 cycles » December 8th, 2022, 10:06 pm

Only caught Kenson(sp) site sup testimony.

When are the Paria Managers' testimony due?

Postby De Dragon » December 8th, 2022, 10:09 pm

16 cycles wrote:Only caught Kenson(sp) site sup testimony.

Wei talk fuh dem arready it seems

Postby sMASH » December 9th, 2022, 6:39 am

Val

Postby Val » December 9th, 2022, 9:01 am

Easter 2023.

Also regarding the supervisors I have no idea. Maybe in the 20s or 30s. Contractors will get much less than actual employees.

Postby 16 cycles » December 9th, 2022, 10:37 am

Val wrote:

Easter 2023.

Also regarding the supervisors I have no idea. Maybe in the 20s or 30s. Contractors will get much less than actual employees.

i hope Easter 2023 was in jest.

Forgot Wei testified - hoping someone from the CG and an onsite manager (Paria- Piper?) for incident response can give their point of view.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » December 9th, 2022, 10:49 am

Next week Wednesday is Catherine Balkisoon.

Next week Thursday is Colin Piper.

Next week Wednesday is 3 members of Paria HSE.

I can't remember who is on the Monday

Val

Postby Val » December 9th, 2022, 10:51 am

At a minimum they should interview Colin, Catherine and the Coast Guard officers on the day. It is suspicious that they are being allowed so much time to prepare. If the rescue is important, then the entire IMT should be interviewed, including Paria executive management who the IC would be liaising with for resources.

They interviewed Michael Wei, Hassan Mohammed, the former Operations Lead (can’t remember his name) from Paria.

I get the feeling nothing will come of this, lawyers will eat ah food and Paria will keep on trucking.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » December 9th, 2022, 11:30 am

This still has to be laid in parliament.

The PM can say has intentions to do so.

The house speaker can say it's not important at this time.

Game over

Remember this is just a commission. Not a courtroom.

I.e exactly like the Scott Drug Report

Postby De Dragon » December 10th, 2022, 12:00 am

Animal Pak wrote:This still has to be laid in parliament.

The PM can say has intentions to do so.

The house speaker can say it's not important at this time.

Game over

Remember this is just a commission. Not a courtroom.

I.e exactly like the Scott Drug Report

And given the track record of the nasty, obtuse, hyper partisan who sits there currently, it will go exactly that way

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » December 10th, 2022, 9:57 pm

FYI
IMG-20221210-WA0005.jpg

Postby sMASH » December 10th, 2022, 10:11 pm

hearing a talk that the public info about the site and systems is incomplete. more things/info about what caused the delta p came up in the investigations, and are not permitted to be made public for the while.

Postby 16 cycles » December 12th, 2022, 6:55 am

thaz how conspiracy theories start...

thanks above for timetable on witnesses @Animal Pak

Postby 16 cycles » December 12th, 2022, 4:03 pm

TTCG/ Defense Force rep interviewed today - definite inconsistencies with Piper's written statement....

Gulf of Paria Underwater Welders Deaths: Commision of Enquiry.

Postby pugboy » December 12th, 2022, 4:20 pm

Paria get a serious tongue lashing from the chairman today for sending a pile of docs over weekend after months of requests

Postby gastly369 » December 12th, 2022, 4:43 pm

Val wrote:

Spot on...

Postby The_Honourable » December 12th, 2022, 5:16 pm

pugboy wrote:Paris get a serious tongue lashing from the chairman today for sending a pile of docs over weekend after months of requests

Imagine Paria have months to prepare but submitting documents a few hours before the sitting.

Slackness.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » December 12th, 2022, 5:27 pm

Correction to appearance after today's sitting.

Nothing tomorrow.

Wednesday morning is Catherine Balkissoon and Wednesday pm is Colin Piper.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » December 12th, 2022, 5:46 pm

Animal Pak wrote:Correction to appearance after today's sitting.

Nothing tomorrow.

Wednesday morning is Catherine Balkissoon and Wednesday pm is Colin Piper.
Prakash waiting for them...

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » December 12th, 2022, 6:42 pm

So am I.

I taking the day off and turning off my phone.

Wuk shut down on that day

Postby 16 cycles » December 12th, 2022, 9:37 pm

CG looking rel inept from Hargraves testimony.

Defense Force person was very professional though....kudos.

Postby pugboy » December 12th, 2022, 9:53 pm

dramadhar lollll

killercow

Postby killercow » December 12th, 2022, 10:25 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
pugboy wrote:Paris get a serious tongue lashing from the chairman today for sending a pile of docs over weekend after months of requests

Imagine Paria have months to prepare but submitting documents a few hours before the sitting.

Slackness.
Actually it's quite the opposite. Attorneys representing companies / individuals in 'tight spots' usually utilise this tactic frequently so as to add pressure to the opposing side and possibly give a slight edge to themselves as there is much less time to peruse all the evidence / paperwork in detail.

Postby redmanjp » December 12th, 2022, 10:45 pm

^there's a deadline for it to complete? or is it possible to extend it if needed?