COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Cantmis

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name "COVID 19"

Postby Cantmis » March 3rd, 2020, 10:27 am

Usually when government officials get sick they go to the US, where are they going now ?

Postby rspann » March 3rd, 2020, 10:30 am

I saw Dealsingh and a doctor on TV yesterday morning saying don't wear masks. So probably that's why they not providing for the workers.?

Postby MaxPower » March 3rd, 2020, 10:42 am

hong kong phooey wrote:No what is a dream is the people in charge making wise decisions
less than a month ago they sent over 35000 mask to china
now they have a shortage in the Country
Why they doh have a second carnival next month, then we wont have to worry about the virus till after this

Trinis not really interested in the Coronavirus. Its a joke to them just like everything else. The government will give yuh allyuh complimentary cheap mask If we get a first case, dont expect it before.

The people of China need it.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 3rd, 2020, 11:01 am

It's transmissible through your eyes so masks without googles doh make sense. Best case is still the 20 second hand wash very often.
rspann wrote:I saw Dealsingh and a doctor on TV yesterday morning saying don't wear masks. So probably that's why they not providing for the workers.?

solarkh

Postby solarkh » March 3rd, 2020, 11:11 am

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 3rd, 2020, 11:12 am

A Canadian national is presently being tested for the virus at the POSGH

Postby rspann » March 3rd, 2020, 11:14 am

I see a man with a panty on his head . I wonder what's the protection like and what material you should get.

Re: Novel Coronavirus - New name

Postby redmanjp » March 3rd, 2020, 11:53 am

solarkh wrote:https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/03/canadian-at-posgh-tested-for-covid19/

nothing about whether he is isolated. :roll:

Postby 88sins » March 3rd, 2020, 12:03 pm

rspann wrote:I see a man with a panty on his head . I wonder what's the protection like and what material you should get.

u eh see nuttn yet :lol:
https://www.thesundaily.my/style-life/a ... -AK1936233

Postby redmanjp » March 3rd, 2020, 12:26 pm

We should be looking at quarantining ppl from or passing through Washington state- clearly there's an outbreak there with 6 deaths

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » March 3rd, 2020, 12:44 pm

redmanjp wrote:We should be looking at quarantining ppl from or passing through Washington state- clearly there's an outbreak there with 6 deaths

Also people from or been contact with people from Italy.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/feb/28/coronavirus-may-have-been-in-italy-for-weeks-before-it-was-detected

Postby rspann » March 3rd, 2020, 12:49 pm

One of the owners of a restaurant by me went China to visit her children and is stranded there. She can't even get to buy tickets to pass thru USA . She is a naturalized Trinidad citizen btw.

Postby redmanjp » March 3rd, 2020, 1:39 pm

sekhar_777 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:We should be looking at quarantining ppl from or passing through Washington state- clearly there's an outbreak there with 6 deaths

Also people from or been contact with people from Italy.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/feb/28/coronavirus-may-have-been-in-italy-for-weeks-before-it-was-detected

ban in effect for them already

Postby redmanjp » March 3rd, 2020, 1:42 pm

rspann wrote:One of the owners of a restaurant by me went China to visit her children and is stranded there. She can't even get to buy tickets to pass thru USA . She is a naturalized Trinidad citizen btw.

she can stop off in another country for 2 weeks then try to pass through- i think the bans are only for 2 weeks after u leave China.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » March 3rd, 2020, 4:50 pm

US health official lays out how researchers are working on a coronavirus vaccine
From CNN's Jason Hoffman

Dr. Anthony Fauci, the head of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, said the process to get a potential coronavirus vaccine is expected to take a year to a year and a half.

He made the remarks at the White House following a briefing and tour of the National Institutes of Health in Maryland with President Trump and Health and Human Services Secretary Alex Azar.

Fauci noted that researchers would follow standard testing protocols and that the first trial vaccines would be given to healthy patients — to ensure there would not be any unintended side effects. "I don’t want to over promise, I said a month and a half the other day, it may be a month or so. And then very soon we’ll be sticking the first person with the vaccine. But I want to caution everybody, that’s only the first stage of the development of the vaccine," he said.

Fauci added that researchers must be confident that the vaccine works before distributing it widely and said he conveyed that to the President.

He said a phase one trial could start in about a month, and a phase two trial wouldn’t start for three to four months after that.

The CDC's website says all vaccine trials go through three testing phases before potential approval, including first administering the trial vaccine to small groups of people. The second phase clinical study is then expanded and the trial vaccine is given to people who have characteristics such as age and physical health similar to those for whom the new vaccine is intended.

In phase three, the vaccine is given to thousands of people and tested for efficacy and safety.

https://cnn.it/2PErBHS

Screenshot 2020-03-03 at 5.53.57 PM.jpg

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 3rd, 2020, 5:52 pm

pass pennywise grandbazar today hand sanitizer sell out.

abducted

Postby abducted » March 3rd, 2020, 5:57 pm

screwbash wrote:pass pennywise grandbazar today hand sanitizer sell out.

anti-bacterial hand sanitizers will not work on coronavirus because it is a virus, not a bacteria, you must use soap or sanitizer with alcohol to kill coronavirus.

Postby paid_influencer » March 3rd, 2020, 6:20 pm

the key is to think about scrubbing off the virus when using sanitizer or soap. wash thoroughly, using mechanical action to remove the virus droplets from off your hand. wiping with a paper towel after is to scrap off more droplets, not just dry your hand.

even using plain water + paper towel after will help your contaminated hands.

Postby hydroep » March 3rd, 2020, 6:25 pm

Talk going around that the US under-reporting cases as well. Apparently if you test negative for the virus you have to pay for the test and if you test positive you have to pay for the quarantine. So there is a financial penalty either way which may deter people from getting tested...:|

Postby rspann » March 3rd, 2020, 6:40 pm

rspann wrote:I see a man with a panty on his head . I wonder what's the protection like and what material you should get.

RedVEVO say the used ones working better.

Postby rspann » March 3rd, 2020, 6:41 pm

They really going to use Couva as a centre in case of an outbreak?

Postby paid_influencer » March 3rd, 2020, 6:48 pm

the US today reported two positive tests from people who died last week. That means the virus has been spreading undetected in Washington State for at least a few weeks now.

Postby Gladiator » March 3rd, 2020, 7:18 pm

Yeah... People making videos saying that they are very sick but are being refused tests....no test no case.
hydroep wrote:Talk going around that the US under-reporting cases as well. Apparently if you test negative for the virus you have to pay for the test and if you test positive you have to pay for the quarantine. So there is a financial penalty either way which may deter people from getting tested...:|

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 3rd, 2020, 8:00 pm

abducted wrote:
screwbash wrote:pass pennywise grandbazar today hand sanitizer sell out.

anti-bacterial hand sanitizers will not work on coronavirus because it is a virus, not a bacteria, you must use soap or sanitizer with alcohol to kill coronavirus.

purell and lucky hand sanitizer have 70% alcohol. cdc recommend above 60% will work

Postby pugboy » March 3rd, 2020, 8:02 pm

best antiseptic is chlorhexidane
in savlon, dettol , salve etc
can be diluted a lot

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 3rd, 2020, 8:08 pm

jus now u go see shortage of bleach etc. nbc news say all the deaths in d us is people over 60. so i think people need to prevent as much as possible but not stockpile un necessary items.

Postby redmanjp » March 3rd, 2020, 8:14 pm

rspann wrote:

RedVEVO say the used ones working better.

trevor sayers finally fashioned a protective mask for us- made from a sanitary pad with it in his 2 nose holes :lol:

killercow

Postby killercow » March 3rd, 2020, 11:11 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:A Canadian national is presently being tested for the virus at the POSGH
Up to now I eh hear nobody talk about the plane he come on or the other passengers who could have been potentially infected if God forbid he does test positive. Am I the only one wondering about this given how apparently 'highly contagious' this thing is?

Postby maj. tom » March 3rd, 2020, 11:43 pm

Covid 19 was here and incubating since before that yatch docked. It's overnight you will hear about a dozen cases suddenly detected and boom everybody panic and empty the grocery.

And then everyone realize they shudda cancel carnival and lock down the country a week before.

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » March 4th, 2020, 5:49 am

killercow wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:A Canadian national is presently being tested for the virus at the POSGH
Up to now I eh hear nobody talk about the plane he come on or the other passengers who could have been potentially infected if God forbid he does test positive. Am I the only one wondering about this given how apparently 'highly contagious' this thing is?

Shh you are disturbing me while my head's in the sand. :lol: