Giant African Snail

Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby 88sins » November 27th, 2024, 9:49 pm

I getting to use the torch a little bit these days.
I don't see plenty around the house when I there, but I collect them for a 2 weeks, make sure they have good living conditions in the interim, yuh kno, food, water, cool dark, damp environment.

Then I put everything in a wire basket, pull fuh d torch, and warm them up to about 450 degrees for 15 minutes

Postby mero » November 28th, 2024, 9:17 am

So you roasting them to eat or nah?

Cuz feeding and minding snails for a few weeks just to torture them is psychopath behaviour

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 28th, 2024, 1:17 pm

Nah, that man hurting... He maybe lose ah good healthy young orange tree he babying for years only to have dem shelly forkaz nochay it down... or maybe that just me

Giant African Snail?

Postby MaxPower » November 28th, 2024, 1:26 pm

Sins good yes

Postby MG Man » November 28th, 2024, 2:41 pm

88sins wrote:I getting to use the torch a little bit these days.
I don't see plenty around the house when I there, but I collect them for a 2 weeks, make sure they have good living conditions in the interim, yuh kno, food, water, cool dark, damp environment.

Then I put everything in a wire basket, pull fuh d torch, and warm them up to about 450 degrees for 15 minutes

Postby pugboy » November 28th, 2024, 5:19 pm

all he had to do is sprinkle garlic powder salt and seasoning in the same basket

Postby *KRONIK* » November 28th, 2024, 6:56 pm

pugboy wrote:all he had to do is sprinkle garlic powder salt and seasoning in the same basket

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 1st, 2024, 3:03 pm

But they eat the snails around africa
once you know how to prepare it you good.
Same like the puffer fish the lion fish
doh band your belly eat snails and locust

Postby 88sins » December 3rd, 2024, 3:43 am

hong kong phooey wrote:But they eat the snails around africa
once you know how to prepare it you good.
Same like the puffer fish the lion fish
doh band your belly eat snails and locust

thanx for the offer, but that's a big firm negative for me.
Enjoy your snail soup 8-)

Postby timelapse » December 3rd, 2024, 7:13 am

We forget that the ORIGINAL reason that they were brought here were for a high end restaurant.
Some of you that are turning their nose at it would have been all up in that,once a fancy name
is applied to it.Add the word 'Imported' even better.
We getting on like Trinis don't already eat everything from bat to rat.If you could stomach manicou and canal conchs
I see no reason not to be eating these snails.

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2024, 8:09 am

and the ol lizard favorite “matte”

timelapse wrote:We forget that the ORIGINAL reason that they were brought here were for a high end restaurant.
Some of you that are turning their nose at it would have been all up in that,once a fancy name
We getting on like Trinis don't already eat everything from bat to rat.If you could stomach manicou and canal conchs

Postby Chimera » December 3rd, 2024, 5:10 pm

I surprised none of the local food influencers eh do a cookup yet

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2024, 6:09 pm

them influencers only want ting free

Postby alfa » December 3rd, 2024, 6:22 pm

timelapse wrote:We forget that the ORIGINAL reason that they were brought here were for a high end restaurant.

The fancy name for imported snails is escargot. Tried it once many years ago and was a lil too squishy for my liking. I go stick to dry down curry conchs, with heavy pepper

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2024, 6:46 pm

squishy just like them chinese button mushrooms

if somebody cook them half river conch and half african snails
nobody would know

alfa wrote:

The fancy name for imported snails is escargot. Tried it once many years ago and was a lil too squishy for my liking. I go stick to dry down curry conchs, with heavy pepper

Postby *KRONIK* » December 3rd, 2024, 7:37 pm

pugboy wrote:them influencers only want ting free
ROFL

Deddddddddd

Postby gastly369 » December 3rd, 2024, 8:45 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
pugboy wrote:them influencers only want ting free
ROFL

Deddddddddd
Bring thing ah have ah chocolate 7 pot and some hard curry

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 4th, 2024, 6:02 am

Seeing quite a few these days especially with the increase d rainfall. Sprinkle some soap powder and they die in seconds.

Postby timelapse » December 4th, 2024, 7:13 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Seeing quite a few these days especially with the increase d rainfall. Sprinkle some soap powder and they die in seconds.

I getting some in the new location.Will try soap powder.I have grown to dislike the smell of lacquer thinner.

Postby bluefete » December 4th, 2024, 7:15 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Seeing quite a few these days especially with the increase d rainfall. Sprinkle some soap powder and they die in seconds.

Call names nah Shakes.

What brand of soap powder so deadly? I need to buy some and put down for snails.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 4th, 2024, 8:46 am

bluefete wrote:

Call names nah Shakes.

Brand doesn't matter tbh, just sprinkle it on them, they will fold up, make a weird arse hissing sound, start to bubble and then turn over.

What brand of soap powder so deadly? I need to buy some and put down for snails.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 4th, 2024, 9:15 am

bluefete wrote:

Call names nah Shakes.

Table salt does the same

Postby mero » December 4th, 2024, 9:48 am

bluefete wrote:

Call names nah Shakes.

Oxyclean cuz we ain't no brokeboys

Postby pugboy » December 4th, 2024, 10:50 pm

Postby wagonrunner » December 4th, 2024, 11:52 pm

pugboy wrote:https://www.facebook.com/share/v/18MTqwcRe2/?mibextid=WC7FNe
that post lost me at venomous.

but also from the book of faces.
1.jpg

Postby bluefete » December 5th, 2024, 1:15 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Call names nah Shakes.

Brand doesn't matter tbh, just sprinkle it on them, they will fold up, make a weird arse hissing sound, start to bubble and then turn over.

mero wrote:Oxyclean cuz we ain't no brokeboys

Thanks. I use salt but I am careful where they drop or roll over. I normally put a piece of gazette paper for them to fall on.

Oxyclean is an expensive soap to use. One day, Mero, when I get big like you.

Postby alfa » December 5th, 2024, 2:41 pm

Salt works best but messes up my lawn. Feel I go try the soap

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2024, 4:23 pm

salt damages soil for any future plants to live in

Postby 88sins » December 5th, 2024, 5:07 pm

mero wrote:So you roasting them to eat or nah?

Cuz feeding and minding snails for a few weeks just to torture them is psychopath behaviour

I got a little psychopathy, a dash of sociopathy, a smidge of antisocial tendency, and a 10 yard dump truck full of idgaf-ism going on, and the flavors of the blend are simply divine :lol:

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 5th, 2024, 9:51 pm

Boy I feel the pnm better drop off a couple of quail and turkeys out there. They dealing with them snails brutal from what I see by a client house.