New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

Postby pugboy » November 19th, 2024, 5:35 pm

first question should be how and who is authority for granting permits

redmanjp wrote:so is there a fine and demerits points for simply parking in a disabled parking spot without a permit?

and does it apply to private car parks like malls?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 20th, 2024, 10:04 am

What I have an issue with is if you get a ticket for a defect on the vehicle then the vehicle is not road worthy.
you should not be allowed to drive the vehicle, until repaired. Leave it right there or get it wrecked. because loads of these tickets is sheit, a bulb can blow at any time A citation to appear with the issue repaired or then a ticket issued if not compliant.

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2024, 11:30 am

pugboy wrote:first question should be how and who is authority for granting permits

redmanjp wrote:so is there a fine and demerits points for simply parking in a disabled parking spot without a permit?

and does it apply to private car parks like malls?
Normally abroad a Doctors cert is required to label u with a disability, then u apply to the local motor vehicle offer to get issue those blue tags

But Trinidad is banana Republic and corruption will play out on people getting the blue tags

Postby 88sins » November 23rd, 2024, 3:09 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:What I have an issue with is if you get a ticket for a defect on the vehicle then the vehicle is not road worthy.
you should not be allowed to drive the vehicle, until repaired. Leave it right there or get it wrecked. because loads of these tickets is sheit, a bulb can blow at any time A citation to appear with the issue repaired or then a ticket issued if not compliant.

Just a quick query
Is your car in question, you get stopped in an exercise on the Beetham and you have a blown bulb, and you "leave it right there", and go and come back and all that you find is a shell or worse, you eh find it at all. Who's supposed to compensate you, if anybody? You yourself? The state? The officer?

I just askin

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 27th, 2024, 8:16 pm

what is stopping the police officers from issuing another ticket as u drive off and get stopped again as the case with the panel van.
While back I was in double roadblock, although I just came through the road block in Siparia they still wasted my time to check again. If something was wrong with my vehicle I would have gotten ticketed twice for the same?
But I did learn something from the second road block. Police officers have no authority to ask u to turn your lights during the day.
if they do you will have to turn it on. but you can contest the ticket and win.

Postby redmanjp » November 29th, 2024, 10:29 am

^ in other words driving with a blown light in the day is not an offence?

Postby sMASH » November 29th, 2024, 11:48 am

Still blown after the issuance of the ticket ; hazard not mitigated

dogg

Postby dogg » November 29th, 2024, 12:21 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:what is stopping the police officers from issuing another ticket as u drive off and get stopped again as the case with the panel van.
While back I was in double roadblock, although I just came through the road block in Siparia they still wasted my time to check again. If something was wrong with my vehicle I would have gotten ticketed twice for the same?
But I did learn something from the second road block. Police officers have no authority to ask u to turn your lights during the day.
if they do you will have to turn it on. but you can contest the ticket and win.

Oh really??

I never knew that. Is there a list of similar things that the police can and cannot do?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 30th, 2024, 7:58 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ in other words driving with a blown light in the day is not an offence?

It is an offence a licensing officer can charge you with in a road block.
If you are driving and you mash brake well. I don't know.
I know they cannot ask you to turn on your lights and then give you a ticket during the day.

Any one on the forum with this knowledge?

I am not 100 % sure, but overweight vehicle is out of police jurisdiction. But they can charge you if your tare weight is more than the rating on the road.

Postby hover11 » December 11th, 2024, 7:31 pm

14,281 drivers reached the demerit points limit in 2023. A one-time rehabilitation initiative exercise is on the cards.

They have to do something as that's 14k votes that they could possibly lose out on lol.

Postby mero » December 13th, 2024, 7:53 am

Kamla should offer an amnesty for suspended drivers, depending on the severity of the demerit points obtained, ban should be reduced or lifted. Pay your fines and do yuh rehab course if u get 6 more within a 3-6 month period, well hymc

When I get ban, my rehab class had about 6 ppl in it. Arrive alive and driving schools making a killing. 14k ppl in 2023 is madness cuz I know for sure 13500 driving everyday still.

Don't save i never gave u free advice KPB.

Postby hover11 » December 13th, 2024, 8:05 am

mero wrote:Kamla should offer an amnesty for suspended drivers, depending on the severity of the demerit points obtained, ban should be reduced or lifted. Pay your fines and do yuh rehab course if u get 6 more within a 3-6 month period, well hymc

When I get ban, my rehab class had about 6 ppl in it. Arrive alive and driving schools making a killing. 14k ppl in 2023 is madness cuz I know for sure 13500 driving everyday still.

Nope , only pnm uses amnesties for political mileage. King imbert abusing the BIR and NIB amnesty, not sure which of his friends he looking to help.

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby zoom rader » December 13th, 2024, 8:21 am

mero wrote:Kamla should offer an amnesty for suspended drivers, depending on the severity of the demerit points obtained, ban should be reduced or lifted. Pay your fines and do yuh rehab course if u get 6 more within a 3-6 month period, well hymc

Why did u not direct your complaints to PNM who invented the policing for profits and the gimme gimme contractors group that using tax payers money off ur head.

Postby hover11 » December 13th, 2024, 8:23 am

Why did u not direct your complaints to PNM who invented the policing for profits and the gimme gimme contractors group that using tax payers money off ur head.
PNM does not deserve to win another election-Dummy Mero

Postby mero » December 13th, 2024, 8:56 am

Who complaining? I on 0 demerit points and life nice

Postby mero » December 13th, 2024, 8:57 am

hover11 wrote:

I never see a man who love to be up in another man foreskin so.

Hadda call u smegma now yes.

Postby hover11 » December 13th, 2024, 9:11 am

mero wrote:
hover11 wrote:

I never see a man who love to be up in another man foreskin so.

Hadda call u smegma now yes.
What to call you , you in PNM bossum whole day everyday and you don't even believe they deserve to win another election. You're a political whore

computercentral

Postby computercentral » December 13th, 2024, 3:52 pm

Are insurance companies going to charge premiums according to points ?

Postby hover11 » December 13th, 2024, 3:54 pm

computercentral wrote:Are insurance companies going to charge premiums according to points ?
Thats how it should work but doesn't happen in reality

njohn

Postby njohn » April 23rd, 2025, 12:35 pm

Hey Guy
Just sharing some info here that I got from Licensing Office that I couldn't find online in regards to Demerit Points and when they are removed from your records.

Points are added to your records after midnight on the day you make payments of your traffic tickets, after midnight on the date your 30 days window for payment towards your traffic ticket expires if you did not make payment and after midnight if you contest your traffic ticket and lose.

According to the legislation, Demerit Points on your records expire 2 years from the day after you made payment of your traffic ticket or the day after a judge gave instructions to the Licensing Authority to apply the demerit points for your contested traffic ticket. This rule is only applicable if a driver does not accumulate any additional points towards his/her record within the 2 years indicated.

If within the 2 years expained above you accumulate additional points then the 3 year rule would take effect.
This means Demerit Points on your records would then expire 3 years from the day after you made payment of your traffic ticket or the day after a judge gave instructions to the Licensing Authority to apply the demerit points for your contested traffic ticket.

Just sharing here so you guys can be aware.

killercow

Postby killercow » April 23rd, 2025, 7:16 pm

njohn wrote:Hey Guy
Just sharing some info here that I got from Licensing Office that I couldn't find online in regards to Demerit Points and when they are removed from your records.

Points are added to your records after midnight on the day you make payments of your traffic tickets, after midnight on the date your 30 days window for payment towards your traffic ticket expires if you did not make payment and after midnight if you contest your traffic ticket and lose.

According to the legislation, Demerit Points on your records expire 2 years from the day after you made payment of your traffic ticket or the day after a judge gave instructions to the Licensing Authority to apply the demerit points for your contested traffic ticket. This rule is only applicable if a driver does not accumulate any additional points towards his/her record within the 2 years indicated.

If within the 2 years expained above you accumulate additional points then the 3 year rule would take effect.
This means Demerit Points on your records would then expire 3 years from the day after you made payment of your traffic ticket or the day after a judge gave instructions to the Licensing Authority to apply the demerit points for your contested traffic ticket.

Just sharing here so you guys can be aware.
Where can I find documented evidence of this three year rule? Because I know it as two years from your last accumulation of demerit points.

Postby sMASH » May 11th, 2025, 10:47 am

Oh Mai, that's how Rowley was propping the economy ...

It was never about safety
IMG_20250511_104118.jpg

death365

Postby death365 » May 11th, 2025, 10:56 am

Everyone wit ah half ah brain kno dat... and the property tax was the same idea too.

The pnm sees the regular persons as $$$ only to be used to get money.
sMASH wrote:Oh Mai, that's how Rowley was propping the economy ...

IMG_20250511_104118.jpg

Postby hover11 » May 11th, 2025, 11:01 am

The rich must get bligh with amnesties and tax breaks. A popular fast food franchise chain is not making timely statutory deductions for their workers that's all I have to say....
death365 wrote:Everyone wit ah half ah brain kno dat... and the property tax was the same idea too.

The pnm sees the regular persons as $$$ only to be used to get money.

IMG_20250511_104118.jpg

Postby hover11 » May 11th, 2025, 12:09 pm

Arrive alive dont want the demerit system to end because this is the same arrive alive who benefits from the fact that everytime someone's license is suspended the individual has to pay $2500 by them to do a course in order to reinstate their license????
FB_IMG_1746979688953.jpg

Postby j.o.e » May 11th, 2025, 2:31 pm

It was never about safety IMG_20250511_104118.jpg

What does demerit have to do with fines. You will still get a fine but no points ….. what am I missing ?
I support demerit points tho

VII

Postby VII » May 11th, 2025, 5:06 pm

Just pay tickets on time and yuh good, like before..rel small men feeling the suspension thing..from wrecker men to taxi drivers, their living was in jeaopardy..

A man who does some small lifting for me cancelled a weekday job because they wrote him to surrender his permit.. he came and did it a Saturday evening into night instead...about 5 days later...its just a real issue that's affecting a lot of people, most very decent simple and hard working individuals, and the offences are mostly very minor from small vehicle faults to parking to barely breaking the speed limit..

I think a compromise can be worked to target repeat and more devious offenders in a different and targeted way..instead of man losing they permit for parking tickets and other lesser motoring offences all while Arrive Alive rakes in the millions, they love that kind of high volume low input flick.

I could almost see the lil classroom with a few pieces of audio-visual equipment and a good mike man..lol..

Cut dem Kamla !!

j.o.e wrote:

It was never about safety IMG_20250511_104118.jpg

What does demerit have to do with fines. You will still get a fine but no points ….. what am I missing ?
I support demerit points tho
Last edited by VII on May 11th, 2025, 5:53 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Postby hover11 » May 11th, 2025, 5:10 pm

I don't mind a system in place but you can't tell me you giving me points for shite like tint. To me that not making sense. You taking away a man right to drive over minor infractions like tint and inspection???
Last edited by hover11 on May 11th, 2025, 5:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

VII

Postby VII » May 11th, 2025, 5:14 pm

Exactly points should be for serious offences..like overtaking on the shoulder, breaking traffic lights and repeat excessive speeding..

hover11 wrote:I don't mind a system since place but you can't tell me you giving me points for shite like tint. To me that not making sense. You taking away a man right to drive over minor infractions like tint and inspection???

Postby matr1x » May 11th, 2025, 5:20 pm

The points system was stupid from the inception.