Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby computercentral » April 28th, 2017, 9:00 pm

Stupes when was the last time any party hold two full terms

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 28th, 2017, 9:02 pm

RASC wrote:Rowley dropped the ball here... No surprise really. Not seeing anything sweeping, revolutionary or innovative as of late.

A Kamla less UNC would've crushed the current PNM. Alas what did I say? With her at the helm... PNM will be a two term party. Easy

Yeah there is literally no opposition and this is the problem. when Rowley was an opposition leader he had Kamla on she toes 24/7 now he is PM and Kamla drinking rum.

A lot of people, including some of my PNM padners are upset at the lack of local government reform, they don't have an issue with the property tax some even happy about paying it if it meant the money was going towards their community to make it better.

I dunno what to say again here nah, UNC like they dead or give up. I warned people that this would happen if they voted Kamla as opposition leader, the one chance to get rid of this woman and they want and vote her back fully well knowing this woman does only drink rum and drunk half the time.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 28th, 2017, 9:14 pm

computercentral wrote:Stupes when was the last time any party hold two full terms

Well technically Manning held 2 terms just a few years ago, maybe not FULL but pretty close, close enough.

With that said what RASC said is 100% accurate and I will go as far as to say its atleast 15 more years of PNM rule. Pandey said it best in the last internal election, he said Kamla will win and UNC will die and he is 100% right.

For UNC people to understand that Kamla is a lost cause we need a 2020 election she will lose and then UNC people will realize that she is a lost cause. And even then there is no guarantee she will leave or will be voted out.

But by 2025 she will be too old and she will get fedup and leave on her own. Right now for any serious change to happen in this place the UNC needs a serious internal revolution. They have to done away with the mentality of "we safe cause we have safe seats" and start with convincing the East West Corridor that they can change they have a plan, they have a new constitution to elect proper MPs and not those with connection only. That they will serve the people and manage the Tax Payers money properly and not give it away in box drain racket.

UNC is diseased right now and the only cure for this disease is amputation of Kamla and the Cabal. Unless this happens mark my words PNM in power for 15 more years watch and see.

Also there is no reason the UNC must have a Hindu / Indian leader. They have to get away from this mentality, get qualified people for the job of political leader it can be a mixed person, African, Chinese, Syrian it doh matter we long past this race issue. Get someone the East West will trust, someone that has the country at heart and not contractors.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 28th, 2017, 9:21 pm

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » April 28th, 2017, 10:07 pm

What is the property tax going to be used for? How much is going to local Govt as being advanced by Govt members?

Citizen are rightfully fearful about this tax and the usage when collected ............

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 28th, 2017, 10:37 pm

A PNM padner of mine from La Horqueta good friend btw known this guy since 1998 in secondary school he works for a major telecom company now in Trinidad. He has a nice big house, wife and a kid he now lives in Arima. He was saying to me that if this property tax goes through what is to stop the next government from coming into power and taking that property tax and fixing areas of land grabbing squatters down South.

NOW the man has a valid point, you may not like the tone he used or how he said it BUT he is 100% correct. This affects both sides
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on April 29th, 2017, 2:50 am, edited 2 times in total.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 28th, 2017, 10:37 pm

RASC wrote:Rowley dropped the ball here... No surprise really. Not seeing anything sweeping, revolutionary or innovative as of late.

A Kamla less UNC would've crushed the current PNM. Alas what did I say? With her at the helm... PNM will be a two term party. Easy

Dropped the ball here? He has been dropping balls since they got into power ....

Postby RASC » April 28th, 2017, 10:47 pm

drchaos wrote:

Dropped the ball here? He has been dropping balls since they got into power ....

That's not a fair statement.

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » April 29th, 2017, 2:45 am

RASC wrote:
drchaos wrote:

The man dropping his balls so much, that two new children that we didn't know about before come out of it! :shock: :lol:

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2017, 4:38 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:A PNM padner of mine from La Horqueta good friend btw known this guy since 1998 in secondary school he works for a major telecom company now in Trinidad. He has a nice big house, wife and a kid he now lives in Arima. He was saying to me that if this property tax goes through what is to stop the next government from coming into power and taking that property tax and fixing areas of land grabbing squatters down South.

NOW the man has a valid point, you may not like the tone he used or how he said it BUT he is 100% correct. This affects both sides

its a valid point, because any time pnm in power, we see little more than substandard maintenance in south. its only when unc is in power that ANY noticeable upgrades occur to infrastructure. despite not having he population density as the north, because of oil and gas, south generates a lot of business. not just offices and secretary and receptionist wuk.

because of that alone, u can see why south tends to remain a unc strong hold.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 29th, 2017, 7:22 am

I could see this simply being passed on to renters, customers of the business. only homeowners and those under pressure anyway would feel the pain of this mostly.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 29th, 2017, 11:48 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:I could see this simply being passed on to renters, customers of the business. only homeowners and those under pressure anyway would feel the pain of this mostly.

And to add remember this tax goes to manufacturing so take for example local manufacturers gonna raise the price of goods.then cost of living is gonna raise again and the working class gonna feel it...
Btw the comment about the squatters being the pm voters I don't think he would care for em because at the end of the day he will get back his vote.people again don't vote for change they will continue put Into to power kamla,rowley,imbert and monilal pack to helm. The cycle just repeats itself in this system of anarchy and nepotism runs deep in the blood.
Closing my point is the tax is gonna come as the pp wanted it to come and the pnm will enforce it and government next would continue it.i believe none of them care for us just there financiers, friends and family (politicians ie).we just have to realize to make best of our lives for our families.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 29th, 2017, 1:41 pm

Anybody knows if the government is going to be holding meetings about this with the people? to discuss things like where the money will be used and if they will implement the local government reform?

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2017, 3:08 pm

ent it going to consolidated fund?

out with people and what they want, rowley want more curtains and more cazabon and more rest and recreation.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 29th, 2017, 4:01 pm

RASC wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Really?
They dropped the ball on crime, they dropped the ball on healthcare, they dropped the ball their promise to deal with corruption, they dropped the ball local gov reform, they dropped the ball on the promise of diversification of the economy an lots lots more.

Rohan Sinanan seems to be the only guy who seems to be doing much. Maybe he should be the PM ... Would do the PNM a whole lot of good.

abducted

Postby abducted » April 29th, 2017, 4:33 pm

"What value do I get from my tax dollars? I pay 25% of my salary to the government every year.

Every item I purchase I pay value added tax of 12.5%.

I pay for my electricity and water.

I pay for my fuel which by the way has increased three times over the last two years. That alone has driven the cost of goods and services up. Everything revolves around transportation. When fuel prices increase therefore, so will everything else.

I shop locally and pay three and four times the value of items I purchase. This is a day of information technology. At a touch of a button I can see what the value of any item is worth.

I opt to buy online because there I find better value for money.

The state sees me doing it which of course affects local businesses. They decide to apply a 7% online tax to force me to buy locally. To force me to pay $4 for a $1 item. They say it is to conserve foreign exchange. Really? When I buy from the local stores do they not use the same foreign exchange you say you want to conserve to bring in those items?

Rather than insist that the Consumer affairs division step in and force the local price gougers to reduce their prices, they try to strong arm me into buying local.

I am forced to pay for every service at the banks. I am charged 12 and 15% on a loan while the banks offer me 1/2% interest on my account which is eaten up by the services charges I pay to maintain said account. Yet their is no legislation to protect me from those criminals.

I sacrifice to save, to purchase a piece of land upon which I build a house. Paying tax on every piece of material I use. I pay bridging finance to the bank before getting my completion certificate. I then have to pay a mortgage which adds up to twice the value of the money borrowed to build.

Then on top of that, I am now asked to pay a property tax based upon a rental value. Rental Value? Therein lies my problem. My tax dollars do absolutely nothing for me. I don't access any grants from the state. I don't access public health care. I don't drive on good roads. I don't feel secure to travel around the country or sleep in my bed. If I call for an ambulance, more than likely I will be dead by the time they arrive. If I my wife calls for the police, they will arrive just in time to draw a line around my body, if they get a vehicle that is.

This is just the tip of the iceberg. So go ahead. Bring on more taxation." - Tony Bedassie

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 29th, 2017, 4:51 pm

ok BUT surely the country isn't going to accept the property tax without local government reform right?

I mean if we gonna do property tax to become a first world country and we gonna do it because they have this kind of tax then surely we are going to implement measures to ensure my tax goes to my community right?

It was in Rowley manifesto so I assume he still plans on doing it?
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on April 29th, 2017, 4:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 29th, 2017, 4:51 pm

abducted wrote:
"What value do I get from my tax dollars? I pay 25% of my salary to the government every year.

I pay for my fuel which by the way has increased three times over the last two years. That alone has driven the cost of goods and services up. Everything revolves around transportation. When fuel prices increase therefore, so will everything else.

I shop locally and pay three and four times the value of items I purchase. This is a day of information technology. At a touch of a button I can see what the value of any item is worth.

The state sees me doing it which of course affects local businesses. They decide to apply a 7% online tax to force me to buy locally. To force me to pay $4 for a $1 item. They say it is to conserve foreign exchange. Really? When I buy from the local stores do they not use the same foreign exchange you say you want to conserve to bring in those items?

Rather than insist that the Consumer affairs division step in and force the local price gougers to reduce their prices, they try to strong arm me into buying local.

I am forced to pay for every service at the banks. I am charged 12 and 15% on a loan while the banks offer me 1/2% interest on my account which is eaten up by the services charges I pay to maintain said account. Yet their is no legislation to protect me from those criminals.

I sacrifice to save, to purchase a piece of land upon which I build a house. Paying tax on every piece of material I use. I pay bridging finance to the bank before getting my completion certificate. I then have to pay a mortgage which adds up to twice the value of the money borrowed to build.

Then on top of that, I am now asked to pay a property tax based upon a rental value. Rental Value? Therein lies my problem. My tax dollars do absolutely nothing for me. I don't access any grants from the state. I don't access public health care. I don't drive on good roads. I don't feel secure to travel around the country or sleep in my bed. If I call for an ambulance, more than likely I will be dead by the time they arrive. If I my wife calls for the police, they will arrive just in time to draw a line around my body, if they get a vehicle that is.

This is just the tip of the iceberg. So go ahead. Bring on more taxation." - Tony Bedassie

This author is stupid ... Everything that he "mentions" he pays for is heavily subsidized by the state. The state actually subsidizes and cushions the people of Trinidad and Tobago but quite a large margin. Also why is he paying for his land twice over with his mortgage??? This guy needs to shop around for better mortgage rates.

It makes me cringe when people complain about the cost of living here in T&T.

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » April 29th, 2017, 5:27 pm

drchaos wrote:
abducted wrote:

This author is stupid ... Everything that he "mentions" he pays for is heavily subsidized by the state. The state actually subsidizes and cushions the people of Trinidad and Tobago but quite a large margin. Also why is he paying for his land twice over with his mortgage??? This guy needs to shop around for better mortgage rates.

Drchaos R U A SANE PERSON NOTHING IN TRINIDAD IS SUBSIDIZE WHY DO WE HAVE TO PAY MORE TAX AND GET NOTHING IN RETURN?? ALL THESE GOVERNMENT JUST FATTEN THEIR POCKETS....THEY ARE THE REASON WHY THE COUNTRY IS IN A MESS LET THEM TAX THEIR SELVES NOT THE PPL WE DIDNT MISMANAGED THE ECONOMY THEY DID WITH ALL THEM WASTE OF TIME PROJECTS....AND THEY EVEN STEAL FOR THE TREASURY THESE MINISTERS SHOULD BE IN JAIL AND ALL ASSETS SEIZED....ITS WRONG FOR THE PPL TO PAY THE PRICE FOR THEIR STUPIDITY...

Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 29th, 2017, 6:56 pm

drchaos wrote:Also why is he paying for his land twice over with his mortgage??? This guy needs to shop around for better mortgage rates.

$4803 per month over 30 years is almost $1.8m for a borrowed amount of 900,000

Many won't get lower than 4.5% interest rate.

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2017, 7:20 pm

and then u still get taxed for having a nice thing.

any how... tomorrow, pierre road recreation ground, ax de tax motorcade. 9:30 am

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 29th, 2017, 7:26 pm

What will that motorcade possibly do?

car

Postby car » April 29th, 2017, 7:58 pm

drchaos wrote:Also why is he paying for his land twice over with his mortgage??? This guy needs to shop around for better mortgage rates.

$4803 per month over 30 years is almost $1.8m for a borrowed amount of 900,000

Many won't get lower than 4.5% interest rate.

borrowed 420k at 8% and total payment after 25 years is 948k. And you still have to add in the fees to get the mortgage. Easily hit close to 1M.

Small money loans you wouldn't pay double the amount. Like around 200k and less.

matix

Postby matix » April 29th, 2017, 8:27 pm

drchaos wrote:
abducted wrote:

Where you living bro?

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » April 30th, 2017, 12:23 am

drchaos wrote:
RASC wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Really?
They dropped the ball on crime, they dropped the ball on healthcare, they dropped the ball their promise to deal with corruption, they dropped the ball local gov reform, they dropped the ball on the promise of diversification of the economy an lots lots more.

Rohan Sinanan seems to be the only guy who seems to be doing much. Maybe he should be the PM ... Would do the PNM a whole lot of good.

U forgot to say rohan invested by buying kaydonna for the new overpass in curepe

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 30th, 2017, 6:27 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What will that motorcade possibly do?

not one MC...

idk who feel they could dissuade imballs and frowly

Postby matr1x » April 30th, 2017, 7:01 am

Drchaos is a dimwitted at best, and an imbecile at worse.

Everything in the post was true and underlines the issues being faced by citizens in this country. Is the country as cash strapped as being claimed? We don't know because that information isn't really known.

By claiming the bucket empty, they are free to shave off and pocket money.

What will the motorcade achieve? A show of force and that the citizens are not taking it.

This should have been done during the closure of caroni 1975 limited where the reasons given were outright lies. Every person was supposed to come out and fight. But they didn't.

Make no mistake, this is a declaration of war on citizens and only making our dissatisfaction felt and known will make a difference.

With the ability to fake badges, what stopping bandits from posing as valuators and robbing you?

Average

Postby Average » April 30th, 2017, 7:36 am

I thought Jack Warner bought Kaydonna?

Allyuh doh study drchaos, he owns a rowlee shrine and has a personal imbert mantra he reicites every morning.
F.cuking tax loving battyman. Skin yuh bamsee and let rowlee tax yuh fuh anal too, yuh c.unt.

Postby gastly369 » April 30th, 2017, 7:55 am

I see a contractor get to pave cats hill to sunders trace with real works in the bush for idk who do benefit other than the contactor

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 30th, 2017, 9:04 am

:lol: beyotch all allu want ... but in the end skin out yuh wallet cause you all gonna pay!