MaxPower wrote:Well done...this is the approach needed. The security deserves a raise and the best of medals.
And to the fool crying in the background...you and your family should have been shot as well.
"No security does get on so"....well that gun shot was your wake up call.
I hope Pumba dies...
I want to see more of this.
nick639v2 wrote:Yea he was, u all see the security footage??
Security made it clear if he came inside he would get dealt with, then pumba reach for something in a case and collect bullet.
If that was a glass bottle now?? Suppose he was gonna buss it on the guard head? I don't blame the security at all..
RS. Ent you could get charged for shooting a man if you wasn't greeted with same force? No matter what the situation?
rollingstock wrote:Aw sheit! Was thinking of the wrong vid. The one I was recollecting was a police shooting.
Security in the right.
rollingstock wrote:It's a wait and see on what the DPP decides.
Supermarket guard charged with murder
...DPP gives instructions
THE security guard who shot and killed ex-convict Verne “Pumba” Sambury during an encounter at Persad's Supermarket, New Grant last Monday, has been charged with murder.
The guard is expected to appear in the Princes Town magistrates' Court later today.
The decision to charge the security officer came over the weekend from the office of the Director of Public Prosecutions.
The guard was detained by police last Tuesday after security camera footage emerged of the shooting at the entrance to the supermarket located along the Naparima/Mayaro Road.
Police said they were initially told that Sambury was attempting to break into the business place at around 8.a.m. when he was shot.
However, the man's relatives claimed that he went to purchase a loaf of bread, and the security footage showed Sambury's interaction with the guard which appeared to show him being aggressive and reaching for a bottle before he was shot three times at close range.
A second video, captured by a member of the public and uploaded to social media show Sambury, bleeding heavily and walking about in the parking lot, while the supermarket doors are closed behind him.
The footage ends with Sambury, helped by no one, dragging a wooden crate into the parking lot, and laying on it.
He was later taken to Princes Town District Health Facility by police, and then transferred to San Fernando General Hospital where he died.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170213/news/supermarket-guard-charged-with-murder
rollingstock wrote:It's a wait and see on what the DPP decides.
Hope it turns out in his favor. A guy was shot by the dump in the beetham some years ago that was pelting glass bottles at the police . Seniors were of the opinion that excessive force was used , DPP didn't agree, the use of deadly force was warranted in his opinion.
The security wasn't under direct attack at the time but someone looking to an themself, do you wait for the attack or mount a pre-emptive defensive assault?
Edited
Redman wrote:rollingstock wrote:It's a wait and see on what the DPP decides.
Hope it turns out in his favor. A guy was shot by the dump in the beetham some years ago that was pelting glass bottles at the police . Seniors were of the opinion that excessive force was used , DPP didn't agree, the use of deadly force was warranted in his opinion.
The security wasn't under direct attack at the time but someone looking to an themself, do you wait for the attack or mount a pre-emptive defensive assault?
Edited
Question- as an Estate Police...isnt his mandate to protect people and property?
Therefore allowing him more latitude than just being under PERSONAL threat to justify a shoot?
Dizzy28 wrote:Not a lawyer but Murder as opposed to Manslaughter seems harsh though.
Maybe I'm missing something.
VII wrote:Dunno why anyone is surprised,anyone level headed person knows you cannot shoot an unarmed man for a simple squabble,if you guys think T&T bad now it could be worse with idiots with legal guns. The guard was wrong sorry,charges may be reduced to manslaughter though as he clearly didn't set out to kill anyone that day,I wish him well and trust me if you have a legal gun and the wrong temperament it's only a matter of time before similar happens.
When you have a legal firearm you must be prepared to walk away,you must be prepared to take some crap,in the blink of an eye with the wrong split second decision your life can be over like this guard's,it is clear to see that he over reacted,now he has to account for a human being that everyone here refuses to accept was unjustly killed,an ole tief,was it worth it?
People can talk, people can act out,it's their right and having a gun does not entitle you to make unjust decisions on people's lives,that's what criminals do. And ok if this unarmed man was threatening why didn't he shoot him in his leg or sumn,he deserves to be charged,sorry,having said that I really hope he can salvage his life at some point.
VII wrote:Dunno why anyone is surprised,anyone level headed person knows you cannot shoot an unarmed man for a simple squabble,if you guys think T&T bad now it could be worse with idiots with legal guns. The guard was wrong sorry,charges may be reduced to manslaughter though as he clearly didn't set out to kill anyone that day,I wish him well and trust me if you have a legal gun and the wrong temperament it's only a matter of time before similar happens.
When you have a legal firearm you must be prepared to walk away,you must be prepared to take some crap,in the blink of an eye with the wrong split second decision your life can be over like this guard's,it is clear to see that he over reacted,now he has to account for a human being that everyone here refuses to accept was unjustly killed,an ole tief,was it worth it?
People can talk, people can act out,it's their right and having a gun does not entitle you to make unjust decisions on people's lives,that's what criminals do. And ok if this unarmed man was threatening why didn't he shoot him in his leg or sumn,he deserves to be charged,sorry,having said that I really hope he can salvage his life at some point.
src1983 wrote:VII wrote:Dunno why anyone is surprised,anyone level headed person knows you cannot shoot an unarmed man for a simple squabble,if you guys think T&T bad now it could be worse with idiots with legal guns. The guard was wrong sorry,charges may be reduced to manslaughter though as he clearly didn't set out to kill anyone that day,I wish him well and trust me if you have a legal gun and the wrong temperament it's only a matter of time before similar happens.
That's the thing you are stating this after watching a video, the security guard can't just "walk away" the man had a long history of being a bad egg. How was the guard to know exactly what was in the bag? With Trinidad current history he did the best with what was available.
A good lawyer could get him off
Slartibartfast wrote:src1983 wrote:VII wrote:Dunno why anyone is surprised,anyone level headed person knows you cannot shoot an unarmed man for a simple squabble,if you guys think T&T bad now it could be worse with idiots with legal guns. The guard was wrong sorry,charges may be reduced to manslaughter though as he clearly didn't set out to kill anyone that day,I wish him well and trust me if you have a legal gun and the wrong temperament it's only a matter of time before similar happens.
That's the thing you are stating this after watching a video, the security guard can't just "walk away" the man had a long history of being a bad egg. How was the guard to know exactly what was in the bag? With Trinidad current history he did the best with what was available.
I agree the guard's actions were excessive but I had the luxury of looking over the video from the comfort of my home and rewinding to see get a better look at the situation.
I think they should take into account that the guard did not have those luxuries and had to make a split second decision. Also, I never heard someone aim for a hand or a leg because it is so easy to miss. I know most are taught to shoot for center mass. From the video it also looks like the guard purposefully aimed a bit low and did not aim for the head or chest. He could argue that the intent of the shot was to subdue and deescalate and not to kill. He could also say that thoughts of the crime situation in Trinidad now further added to his panic and clouded his judgement.
Pumba did not deserve to get shot for what he was the aggressor and the one in control of the situation so he is partially liable for the outcome. Losing in a situation doesn't make you less wrong.
src1983 wrote:VII wrote:Dunno why anyone is surprised,anyone level headed person knows you cannot shoot an unarmed man for a simple squabble,if you guys think T&T bad now it could be worse with idiots with legal guns. The guard was wrong sorry,charges may be reduced to manslaughter though as he clearly didn't set out to kill anyone that day,I wish him well and trust me if you have a legal gun and the wrong temperament it's only a matter of time before similar happens.