Bezman wrote:the reality is
the big fish of the 80's are NOT the big fish now
the stereotypes that small minded trini's pass down from generation to generation as "facts" can't be further from the truth
even if the "big fish" was exposed, it wouldnt satisfy the populations stereotypical idea of trinidad drug lord cause he not from the west or imports cloth
PM not worried about country's international image
By Akile Simon
Story Created: Aug 25, 2011 at 12:56 AM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 25, 2011 at 12:56 AM ECT
PRIME Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said yesterday she was not worried at this time about the international image of the country after the declaration of a state of emergency and limited curfew restrictions across the country.
Delivering the feature address at the sod turning ceremony for the new Arima Police Station, Persad-Bissessar maintained that Government made the right decision when it decided to call a state of emergency to deal with the out of control crime situation in the country.
"We have not shied away from making that very tough call. The situation requires decisive leadership and I intend to provide just that. I will not stand idly by while the nation is held to ransom by those bent on creating havoc and mayhem. Let there be no mistake while we are a kinder, gentler and more compassionate Government with the people's interests at heart, let not my compassion be mistaken as a sign of weakness."
She said even though people were discussing the negative image the country could get internationally given the stringent security measures, she was not worried about that at this time.
"For those who speak about concerns for foreign image, I say I am more concerned by the images of my people dying, of mothers crying, of innocent citizens living in fear, of orphaned children. Those are the images that concern me right here in our land, Trinidad and Tobago."
"We cannot pretend there is no problem. We can take the tough decisions to bring about a solution," Persad-Bissessar said.
She said as of midday yesterday, she was informed that 139 people had been detained by police in connection with a series of criminal offences since the state of emergency across the country took effect.
Persad-Bissessar also lashed out at Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley who said that Government should have enforced the anti-gang law instead of a state of emergency.
She said it appeared that Rowley did not understand what was clearly stated in the legislation.
Persad-Bissessar said: "Apparently the honourable Opposition Leader has not read the anti-gang laws properly, and even if he did read them, he obiviously didn't understand it because its very clear, the very wordy anti-gang law, it means that you're going for who? Gang members."
"But the crime is not only being related to gang activities…So tell me how we would have dealt with those drug-related, the firearms and the other serious crimes with the anti-gang law. So, Mr Rowley, go back and read it."
She added, "… The anti-gang law will not have allowed the military to operate under a state of emergency. So those are clear differences and let not your heart be troubled, the government is in control and we are determined to use the opportunity at this time, under the state of emergency, to bring in the weapons off the streets as far as we can and to bring in those who are involved in criminal activities."
Government, she added, intends to spend $606 million to construct 18 police stations throughout the country.
Persad-Bissessar, who arrived in Arima in a helicopter which landed at the Arima Velodrome, declined to speak with reporters after saying that she was still recovering from dengue.
"I wish I could speak with you all but right now I'm breaking doctor's orders just to be here. I have been instructed by my doctors to remain in bed and rest," she said.
S_2NR wrote:Congrats to Kamla for making Trinidad look even more backward and more like a wild wild west to the international community.
We Reach!
Here is token of my appreciation..
16 cycles wrote:thing rel simple...
- there is an SOE
- there is a curfew
if it is not clear whether its a limited SOE or full SOE and the areas the curfew are enforced....make sure you home and indoors from 2100 to 0500 till there is an official decree that LSOE/SOE and curfew are over....
sweaty wrote:Crime in Trinidad
Taking on the gangs
Emergency treatment
Aug 27th 2011| PORT OF SPAIN | from the print edition
STREET life in St James, a suburb of Port of Spain, Trinidad’s capital, that likes to call itself the “city that never sleeps”, normally blasts on until the early hours. But now all is deathly quiet. Customers and staff scuttle home early to beat a 9pm curfew that started on August 21st in Port of Spain and three other towns as part of a nationwide state of emergency imposed by Trinidad and Tobago’s prime minister, Kamla Persad-Bissessar.
http://www.economist.com/node/21526903
shotta 20 wrote:At 21 yrs old, is that the best u can do?
redmanjp wrote:16 cycles wrote:thing rel simple...
- there is an SOE
- there is a curfew
if it is not clear whether its a limited SOE or full SOE and the areas the curfew are enforced....make sure you home and indoors from 2100 to 0500 till there is an official decree that LSOE/SOE and curfew are over....
next ting yuh go hear is d curfew hours is really 6-6 & TTPS on yuh tail at 6:05pm
Habit7 wrote:one thing we can be sure of, the SoE/curfew must finish before Divali
S_2NR wrote:shotta 20 wrote:At 21 yrs old, is that the best u can do?
how u know my age...these stalkers..
cincuanta wrote:Hah! Fool yuh self they dan..this country is gonna be like this for a while.
S_2NR wrote:cincuanta wrote:Hah! Fool yuh self they dan..this country is gonna be like this for a while.
OO GODD...DOH MAKE THEM JOKE !!!!!!!ELEVEN!!!!
zoom rader wrote:This shutdown is as a result of the PNM crime problem that our people now have to deal with. We have to hold the bulls by the horn. If the PNM was smart they would show support. I say we should continue with this for 6 months and ban alcohol in this time. We need to detox some of our Indo folks.
Habit7 wrote:one thing we can be sure of, the SoE/curfew must finish before Divali
X_Factor wrote:well, now the CoP is retracting the island wide curfew
they now re-stating its for the hot-spot zones only
cacasplat3 wrote:Habit7 wrote:one thing we can be sure of, the SoE/curfew must finish before Divali
wha u feel this is? a joke?![]()
S_2NR wrote:cacasplat3 wrote:Habit7 wrote:one thing we can be sure of, the SoE/curfew must finish before Divali
wha u feel this is? a joke?![]()
i think he meant since kamla is a hindu.
and divali is mainly celebrated at night with lighting deyas etc.
I can imagine you before the magistrate arguing in favour of your client who is the defendant claiming "your honour, in the strictest sense my client did take the zaboca from the claimant when we look at the purest definition of the verb "take" so despite the claimant claiming it was stolen we have a quasi-take scenario and not really theft per se".AbstractPoetic wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:YES our constitutional rights have been curtailed by the SOE, but we are NOT under martial law!!!
Is it really that difficult to understand?
Not me and you today, nah.
So if your constitutional rights have been curtailed what's the new order of the day?
I have already stated there is some aspects of martial law in effect, what I earlier coined as quasi-martial law. YES, in the strictest sense, martial law exists only when the military takes over total law enforcement of the country. That's the pure definition.
However, in T&T, the military, police & other government protective services are working together. The military hasn't superseded the authority of the other arms of the protective services. Therefore, T&T is under a type of quasi- Martial Law but your constitutional rights have been placed on hold, most definitely.
the rankings in this list make plenty sense IMOSmokey wrote:Lets look at the facts here...correct me if I'm wrong with any of themUnion unrest and threats of National Shutdown.Analysis - Nothing new, unions have been acting up for months, the general apathy of Trinis would suggest only have would adhere to a National Shutdown.Level of Concern to the Gov = 6/10
Kamala allegeldy gets Dengue and is away for the public eye for the entire week....hmm
PSA memebers overthrow Duke....low level jamaat thugs/members appear out of no where.Level of Concern to the Gov = 7.5/10
20M drug bust on Wednesday 27th Aug.Level of Concern to the Gov = 3/10...this has become routine and 20m is small money
11 Murders in 3 to 4 days preceding drug bust. Level of Concern to the Gov = 5/10 Only because it looks bad politically, when in truth, the gov and general populace could care less about gang killings now
Commissionaire of Police allowed to leave the country to Brazil (and got blanked,lol)
Roodal Monilal indicates there will be no state of emergency on Friday 19th Aug. Not sure what prompted talks of the SoE, but it seems it was deliberately brought up
Limited State of Emergency called on Sunday Night by PM.
After much foot in mouth and contradictory statements, it appears it is essential a full SoE with a nationwide curfew
AG hints that it was called to prevent a certain event and loss of innocent life (gang killings do not constitute loss of innocent life IMO)
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I can imagine you before the magistrate arguing in favour of your client who is the defendant claiming "your honour, in the strictest sense my client did take the zaboca from the claimant when we look at the purest definition of the verb "take" so despite the claimant claiming it was stolen we have a quasi-take scenario and not really theft per se".