Flow Internet Thread

shottah_crew

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby shottah_crew » May 18th, 2013, 3:30 pm

I signed up online, someone called a week later and said "not availabe in your area yet but jus look for when they walking around with sign up sheets. Not sure when dat will be, but you will see people with the sign up sheets"

Sent from my MB886 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby stev » May 18th, 2013, 5:09 pm

sooo....

if i tell u all how to log into the Arris cable modem...and how to change the set parameters....would u do it?

...i fraid :oops:

thinking about disabling SNMP and changing the speed......nahhh

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 18th, 2013, 6:50 pm

teeeeell us :)

Postby javishm » May 18th, 2013, 7:16 pm

i willing to try

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 18th, 2013, 7:18 pm

my padnah give me an Arris modem so I willing to try it :D

Postby sharkman121 » May 18th, 2013, 7:29 pm

spill d beans nah steve

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » May 18th, 2013, 8:02 pm

shottah_crew wrote:I signed up online, someone called a week later and said "not availabe in your area yet but jus look for when they walking around with sign up sheets. Not sure when dat will be, but you will see people with the sign up sheets"

Sent from my MB886 using TriniTuner mobile app

Same BS. Just a little wordy.

J453

Postby J453 » May 18th, 2013, 8:50 pm

Yeah boy. I also have a *ahem* "extra" ARRIS in my possession. I could dig up da one and leave Flow own in peace.

Fling ting mek bud sing na man.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using TriniTuner mobile app

flans

Postby flans » May 18th, 2013, 10:27 pm

moving to HDC In Edinburgh...do they have cable and internet there? What are my options? Help meh out nah..

Postby Trini Hookah » May 18th, 2013, 10:28 pm

flans wrote:moving to HDC In Edinburgh...do they have cable and internet there? What are my options? Help meh out nah..
you more than likely should have the option of blink or flow

air wick

Postby air wick » May 19th, 2013, 8:30 am

Torrent speeds on my 5MB connection
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1368966594.700239.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Trini Hookah » May 19th, 2013, 9:11 am

If you don't mind me asking Travis, what area? That pic is proof that flow throttles their speeds.

I max out @ 590 down but I've used same 5mb flow connection in Montrose and got close to 800down

air wick

Postby air wick » May 19th, 2013, 9:16 am

Trini Hookah wrote:If you don't mind me asking Travis, what area? That pic is proof that flow throttles their speeds.

I max out @ 590 down but I've used same 5mb flow connection in Montrose and got close to 800down

San Francique, Penal

Sent from my iPhone using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby M_2NR » May 19th, 2013, 10:45 am

Theoretically you can't get more than 625kB/s on a 5mbit connection you know...

5000/8 = 625.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 19th, 2013, 10:50 am

I've seen it dan :|

Postby DVSTT » May 19th, 2013, 11:37 am

M_2NR wrote:Theoretically you can't get more than 625kB/s on a 5mbit connection you know...

5000/8 = 625.

I get around 750 if I'm lucky.
But anyone else had their net cutting off on them last night, around 1-3am?

Postby M_2NR » May 19th, 2013, 11:41 am

DVSTT wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Theoretically you can't get more than 625kB/s on a 5mbit connection you know...

5000/8 = 625.

That's because there is the off chance that you don't get exactly 5mbit.

Postby sharkman121 » May 19th, 2013, 11:45 am

DVSTT wrote:

5000/8 = 625.

YES!

i checked here but meen see nobody say nun..

Postby stev » May 19th, 2013, 7:47 pm

sorry guys but i reported the exploit to flow....I'm not working Flow but it's part of my job to do so....kinda hard to explain why I reported it.....anyways

u are still free to try the exploit as its not fixed as yet....and knowing flow, they wont be fixing it soon. :lol:

enter the IP address of the Arris modem in ur browser: default is 192.168.100.1

the password changes daily so u can generate the daily password here:

http://www.borfast.com/projects/arris-t ... /generator

note that u can only view the modem and its configuration, u can not change anything.

when u are in, click on 'Advanced' then click on 'Config Params'....u will then see where the boot configuration file resides. in my case its:

CM Config File: tftp://10.178.0.1HSD_FlowResTurbo25.bin

so basically the flow modem loads its configuration at startup from the .bin file located on flow's tftp server.

the contents of the .bin file are displayed on the page u are on currently (advanced....config param)

copy the configuration that is displayed and paste it in a text file then save / name the text file to whatever your .bin file is. in my case i had to name it: FlowResTurbo25.bin

u can then use the program putty to enter your modem and change the location of the config file to the location where u have your text file saved......i did not do this part as yet because i did not have time...there is no prompt for user / password when entering the modem via putty......if u never used putty before....do not attempt to change your modem configuration. lol.....experienced putty users can take it from here.

i would list the steps / commands when i get some time later.....gotta run.

edit: attempting to change the configuration now....would update later
Last edited by stev on May 19th, 2013, 8:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 19th, 2013, 8:11 pm

PM commands thanks

Postby Trini Hookah » May 19th, 2013, 8:33 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

5000/8 = 625.

YES!

i checked here but meen see nobody say nun..

Happened to me this morning self!

Postby stev » May 19th, 2013, 9:50 pm

update: there is a simpler way to trick your modem into using your custom configuration file.

u can download solarwind's tftp server and install it on your pc....place your custom .bin file at the root of the tftp server.....at this point u could power off your modem, remove the BNC cable and connect the modem alone to your PC via network cable.

set your PC's IP address to 10.178.0.1 and the gateway as 192.168.100.1

power on your modem and it supposed to pull the custom configuration file from ur PC.

dont forget to edit the maxdownload / maxupload rate in your custom .bin file.

edit: change the SNMP = yes to SNMP = no

do not power off mode...simply connect the BNC cable and change your IP address back to the way it was.

I did not try this method as yet so not sure of its working

.......its more or less the same exploit i reported but idk if flow gonna do anything about it or if changes in speed is monitored.
Last edited by stev on May 20th, 2013, 8:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 19th, 2013, 9:58 pm

What's the max speed you got ?

Postby stev » May 19th, 2013, 10:12 pm

probably around 77 - 80mbps the first time i tried it (speedtest)

edit: tried downloading a file but didnt see much increase in transfer speed.

u loose any form of configuration once the modem has restarted.

i am limited within my home network :lol: i have some old arse CAT5 cable run everywhere. lol

no way i can get 100mbps without changing cables / router etc.

Postby Stephon. » May 20th, 2013, 7:06 am

So anybody with flow could try that awa?

I don't have a configuration page lol

ModMania

Postby ModMania » May 20th, 2013, 8:38 am

This man is a newbie and is feeding you all with BS!

Back in the days, that exploit could have worked...now its a totally different ball game.

Using the Arris modem stock as it is, will not let you do anything to it.

Postby stev » May 20th, 2013, 8:45 am

ModMania wrote:This man is a newbie and is feeding you all with BS!

Back in the days, that exploit could have worked...now its a totally different ball game.

Using the Arris modem stock as it is, will not let you do anything to it.

do explain...cuz the BS i am feeding them seems to work for me.

ModMania

Postby ModMania » May 20th, 2013, 10:46 am

With docsis 1.0 and 1.1 the cable modem was able to govern itself, changes to the config file were possible hence getting more speed. With docsis 2 and 3.0 the cmts governs the cable modem and tells it which config file to download and boot from, if you force a config file by as u say hosting your own tftp server and letting it boot from there. The cable modem will not even begin to register.

There are ways to get more speed, but not the way you want to Bull sheit ppl.

Learn Docsis and how the cable modem works b4 u come here with this nonsense

ModMania

Postby ModMania » May 20th, 2013, 10:49 am

oh and with regards to you arris psrwd of d day tool, yur late, and using it to telnet into your modem wont allow you to change anything in it!

Postby stev » May 20th, 2013, 11:05 am

I agree with your Docsis statement but i think u need some catching up to do...start back reading.

a modem is not forced to communicate with its respected cmts...u can still force it to download from your own tftp server.

did u even read anything i posted?

the arris password of the day just allows u to view the configuration file, u cant change anything.....its easy to view / copy the config details when compared to doing an snmp walk to pull it from the tftp server....this also involves decrypting then encrypting after editing.

if u have something useful to share then share it....u said their are others ways to increase your speed...share it!!!.....

....if u dont have anything to share then stay out of the thread and stop wasting people time with ur certificate knowledge of communication systems.

edit: ah sorry :lol:

instead of calling everything BS....try and pitch in the discussion.