:: The official TOOLS thread ::

greenlime100

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby greenlime100 » February 16th, 2013, 3:55 pm

I believe peaks home center or something by Mucurapo there has the whole line up of dremel.

Postby nervewrecker » February 16th, 2013, 4:17 pm

I think I paid just above $300.00 for my dremel and a few bits at ssl.

Just needed a few cutting disc's, got another disc now that was $$$ well spent.

Looking to get some other stuff as well plus something to make some precision cuts with now. Looking at diamond tip preferably.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 16th, 2013, 4:53 pm

I've been dreaming for YEARS about replacing my Old Man's 1920's South Bend 16/24in Engine lathe...

I still have all his South Bend 16" Attachments so I needed another unit of the same size.
Sanctifier wrote:Steady rest, Follow rest, Milling Attachment, 3 x 3-jaw chucks, 1 x 4-jaw chuck, 2 x Face plates etc.
Many are rusty from "Flood damage"... but nothing that Electrolysis can't correct.

I finally found a decent one on eBay that I could afford... ACED the Auction! :lol: :lol:
It was used in Welding class(!?!) in a High School, not in a Factory; so hopefully the bed ways aren't too badly worn.
Sanctifier wrote:SPECIFICATIONS: South Bend CL117-C...
..................... 16" swing, 6' bed, Quick Change Gear, Under Mount Drive-motor
..................... with Taper Attachment, Face plate and Turret Tool-post. 8)

ImageImageImage
Sanctifier wrote:I tried to get the 'ways' reground and the Headstock, Saddle & Tailstock epoxied with Moglice in Pennsylvania. (That's where the lathe is located.)... but that would cost three or four times more than I paid for the lathe. :shock:
Crating will start next week (2,400 lbs.) and should be shipped before the end of the month (I hope!)

Now if only I can find a decent Milling Machine and Surface Grinder on eBay... 8)
Last edited by Sanctifier on February 16th, 2013, 5:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 16th, 2013, 4:57 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I think I paid just above $300.00 for my dremel and a few bits at ssl.

Just needed a few cutting disc's, got another disc now that was $$$ well spent.

Looking to get some other stuff as well plus something to make some precision cuts with now. Looking at diamond tip preferably.

What price them sanding discs go for?

I just find a bnib dremel home in a suitcase :lol:

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 16th, 2013, 5:04 pm

Almost thought an Engine lathe was used for engines for a moment. Was trying to figure out how the heck do you mount an engine on that.

Google set me straight.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 16th, 2013, 5:36 pm

^ ^ ^ Hi Strugglerzinc. Yup it's a confusing label...
but a medium sized lathe is one hell of a neat toy to have around when you need it.

BTW if you know any factory selling a Vertical Milling Machine...
or a Surface Grinder please let me know (684-4552.)

Thanks.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » February 16th, 2013, 10:40 pm

Beautiful lathe!

I love seeing the older USA made machine tools. Right now most machine tools are just crap coming out of China.

You can't even find a decent drill press these days with acceptable run out. I've resorted to doing most of my drilling on my milling machine but its a pain sometimes to have to setup CNC to just drill a few quick holes. I was advised to scour ebay for older USA made presses and restore them.

I've been looking for a bigger lathe for my shop but the common Chinese Seig made lathes don't hold tolerance for fine work so I've resorted to extending the bed on my existing lathe for longer work and more space for setups.

Same goes for mills...a lot of factories in the states are selling of Bridgeports for next to nothing...way more machine for a Seig variant of the same price. I'm saving my pennies for a Tormach 1100 as my next mill.

Postby nervewrecker » February 16th, 2013, 11:13 pm

Whats the cost for a cnc router like though? I been snooping around some forums, seen a few plans here and there but I dont have the skill to assemble one...yet.

Anyone ever build their own? Like a 4 *4 bed, to cut and engrave wood and plastics maybe metal too.

kurpal, I got a disc so long lolz, works like a charm. Is other bits I looking for but might need diamond tip as well.

I want to play with carbon fiber now

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 17th, 2013, 12:16 am

^^ fb me what tips you want.

My dad supposed to pick up some stuff in sears for me this week, think I might take the dremel sanding kit and I need some other bits. I 50/50 on the sanding kit cause idk how they will work for what I want (to sand pods)

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 17th, 2013, 10:58 am

Nice Lathe there man.... wanted one for some time but I more interested in a small automatic lathe more for turning or depending on price a small milling.
Have to do some digging on ebay lolz

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 17th, 2013, 11:18 am

[X]~Outlaw wrote:Beautiful lathe!
I love seeing the older USA made machine tools. Right now most machine tools are just crap coming out of China.

You can't even find a decent drill press these days with acceptable run out. I've resorted to doing most of my drilling on my milling machine but its a pain sometimes to have to setup CNC to just drill a few quick holes. I was advised to scour ebay for older USA made presses and restore them.

I've been looking for a bigger lathe for my shop but the common Chinese Seig made lathes don't hold tolerance for fine work so I've resorted to extending the bed on my existing lathe for longer work and more space for setups.

Same goes for mills...a lot of factories in the states are selling of Bridgeports for next to nothing...way more machine for a Seig variant of the same price. I'm saving my pennies for a Tormach 1100 as my next mill.
FINALLY! A Machine Tool Guru! I've been trying to find another machine tool fan for years. Sounds like you operate a commercial Machine Shop. I really would appreciate it if you could post some of your "Shop pix" here...
Link--> THE ASYLUM!... Workshops & Tools for DIY MadMen.

Beautiful lathe!... Not yet... but it will be! Let me rebuild & repaint it first. Here's my inspiration for the rebuild.
This was on eBay for months @ US $5k... Finally sold for US $4k last December... Image

my existing lathe... Details, padna... Details & pix please. :lol:

decent drill press... Maybe something like this will work for you...
Sanctifier wrote:e.g...I wanted a 20" drill-press... and I wanted Variable Speed feature too...
Five years ago, new brand-name "VS" drill-press used to cost $2,000-4,500 US... x 9 approx. for $TT. :shock:
e.g. F.T. Farfan sold a JET 20" VS metalworking drill-press for $41,860 TT retail, VAT included... :roll:

Long story, short... I bought an UNUSED 20" VS, metalworking drill-press...
Image Image
US retail then = $2,000... "Scratch & Dent" price = $500 US Image
It took nearly three months searching eBay & Froogle but it was damn well worth it IMHO! :wink:
Prices have jumped over the last five years... but there are still some good deals out there. Google "Turn Pro."
It's a 20", Variable speed Tiwanese press that's identical to the Grizzly G9749. AFAIK it's still available from Enco.

Tormach PCNC 1100 Series 3... Image
Price: US $8,480.00... PLUS Shipping, Duty & VAT!!!... That's more than TT $100k with freight & all taxes.
That's almost as much as my TOTAL budget for ALL the equipment in my ToyRoom (less shipping & taxes)...
Sanctifier wrote:That includes an 80 amp Water-cooled Spot Welder...
Car-O-Liner frame machine PLUS lower (Car-O-Mech) & upper body (M900) Measuring systems... PLUS Data Manuals.
5hp, 2-stage, 80gal Air Compressor... Lathe... 220 volt, 240 amp MIG... 20" VS Drill-press...
Cyclone 48" Sandblast Cabinet... Sandblast Pressure Pot... 'SAR' Turbine & Safety equipment... EVERYTHING!!! :lol: :lol:
I'll have to keep dreaming and hope for a decent used mill on eBay instead.
greenlime100 wrote:Nice Lathe there man.... wanted one for some time but I more interested in a small automatic lathe more for turning or depending on price a small milling.
Have to do some digging on ebay lolz
Yet another machine tool fan! 8-) Thanks greenlime100.
eBay might be your best bet IMHO. That's where I got almost all of my equipment & tools.
Please post some of your "Shop & tool pix" here...
Link--> THE ASYLUM!... Workshops & Tools for DIY MadMen.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » February 17th, 2013, 2:19 pm

Sanctifier that drill press is a steal of a deal! I've been drooling of one like that in the Travers catalog but I really want the Tormach 1100 mill first!

Haha I defiantly don't consider myself a guru in machining, but I do aim to have only high quality precise parts leave my shop.

I don't run a commercial machine shop. What I do however is high quality low volume, precision micro machining. Things like CNC model aircraft parts, robot parts etc. Most of my work comes from hobbyist in the USA.

Here's a little of what I do

This is a motor mount that converts a 4hp gasoline powered model helicopter to run of a 10 peak HP electric motor. This is my own design and fits all bolt patterns of motors for this size model (90 size). This was milled out of a solid block of 5/8" 6061 Aluminum.

Test fitting of the prototype :

This is a plastic motor coupler that a customer needed replicated in metal since the stepper motor for the machine it is used in keeps rounding out the plastic part, the replacement part is also very hard to find.

Original plastic part:

Bottom:

This is the motor shaft it fits:

This is the replacement part I produced (milled out of 1" Aluminum):

I often have to make my own jigs for work holding and indexing as well as my own lathe accessories to keep my precision where I want it. I try to work to within .0005" but .001" is acceptable to me.

Indexing jig for locating work that needs machining on top and bottom sides:

Boring bar holder to fit indexable boring bars, I have many sizes in these depending on the boring bar shank size. They are machined so that the tip of the insert is dead center or very slightly above the center of the spindle.

Relief on the bottom increases clamping load so that the holder does not twist under heavy load.

A buddy of mine got a high quality dough mixing machine but the mixing shaft was lost. I made this for him out of 5/8" 316 Stainless (316 is a real pain to work with, I rather 303 since its free machining)

Completed part:

There is a C-clip that is used as a positive stop. This shows the grove I machined to fit it.

C-Clip supporting shaft:

Shaft pushed in working position

Apart from the machines themselves which are customized for the kind of work I do the most important tools I rely on are my measuring tools. Without these I may as well be trying to carve parts out with a pocket knife.

Dial indicator capable of measuring to .0001" However trying to work to that level of accuracy is fruitless unless out have a temperature controlled workshop and zero tool flex...which will never happen. This is used in setting up and aligning all my work as well as fine tuning my machines at regular intervals (adjusting for backlash etc)

Digital calipers. This measures down to .0005" and is my most used measuring instrument in the shop.

Micrometers. I usually use this when doing manual lathe work to get just a hair better reading than my calipers.

For those interested in CNC, this is a 3D tool path render for the jig featured in the images above.
It shows all the paths the cutting tool would take to produce the part.

Machine tools are the coolest things out. I love getting an idea in my head and within a few hours (well maybe a bit more) I could have a prototype in my hand.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 17th, 2013, 2:45 pm

I saw a lathe on trinicarsforsale, and amazon has some "cheaper" drill presses but I'm no expert on whether they can do what you guys are doing.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 17th, 2013, 5:17 pm

^ ^ ^ Thanks for the heads-up, riot.. 15" Swing / 84" Between centres = $35k TT... Yup, that's why I went to eBay.
My South Bend is not as long but has a 16" swing (and possibly half the age)... for a lot less than $35k TT.
[X]~Outlaw wrote:Sanctifier that drill press is a steal of a deal! I've been drooling of one like that in the Travers catalog but I really want the Tormach 1100 mill first!

Haha I defiantly don't consider myself a guru in machining, but I do aim to have only high quality precise parts leave my shop.

I don't run a commercial machine shop. What I do however is high quality low volume, precision micro machining. Things like CNC model aircraft parts, robot parts etc. Most of my work comes from hobbyist in the USA...

...I try to work to within .0005" but .001" is acceptable to me.

Dial indicator capable of measuring to .0001" However trying to work to that level of accuracy is fruitless unless out have a temperature controlled workshop and zero tool flex...which will never happen. This is used in setting up and aligning all my work as well as fine tuning my machines at regular intervals (adjusting for backlash etc)

Digital calipers. This measures down to .0005" and is my most used measuring instrument in the shop.

Micrometers. I usually use this when doing manual lathe work to get just a hair better reading than my calipers.

Machine tools are the coolest things out. I love getting an idea in my head and within a few hours (well maybe a bit more) I could have a prototype in my hand.

I try to work to within .0005" but .001" is acceptable... Sounds like a 'perfectionist' to me... Someone that can teach me a hell of a lot about 'precision machining'.

I'd like to see your shop... and if you're interested, here's an open invitation to see mine when it's finished in April.

Postby nervewrecker » February 17th, 2013, 10:36 pm

Outlaw, I admire your work. It's comparible to toolmaker's work

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 17th, 2013, 10:59 pm

Outlaw ... thats some great work man.. what lathe u run ?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » February 18th, 2013, 7:00 am

Thanks for the compliments :)

Sanctifier thanks for the invitation.

I run a Taig CNC mill with Sherline 4th axis on a custom CNC controller box.
My lathe is a Taig micro lathe.

These are not big machines but they are very accurate and well made "Made in USA" machines.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 18th, 2013, 9:06 am

greenlime100 wrote:I believe Puma's factory manufactures IR.

You're sure about that?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 18th, 2013, 12:15 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:Thanks for the compliments :)

Sanctifier thanks for the invitation.

I run a Taig CNC mill with Sherline 4th axis on a custom CNC controller box.
My lathe is a Taig micro lathe.

These are not big machines but they are very accurate and well made "Made in USA" machines.

Pix, padna... PIX of everything please! :mrgreen:

aidan

Postby aidan » February 18th, 2013, 12:48 pm

greenlime100 wrote:You could also try Khanico Ltd in Gasparillo.... They have Puma air compressors... much better quality than the kawasaki and the other pricemart brand.
I believe Puma's factory manufactures IR.
Another thing to consider is replacement parts... khanico have everything for their pneumatic line.

To be honest the best gas pressure is the Ridgid, its very expensive but it could take jammin
the Karcher is also another great gas pressure washer think the 3000psi goes for 2000 around there.

Thanks for the feedback,
I had one of those Karcher electric pressure washers, and it lasted only 2 years before giving up :( , and I take extremely good care of my tools and equipment. :shock: It was very good though, when it worked. It at least made back it's cost in use.
Where might I find a gas powered Karcher?

I'll check out Khanico for the compressors.

[X]~Outlaw, thats reall awesome stuff there man!

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 18th, 2013, 8:30 pm

aidan wrote:
greenlime100 wrote:You could also try Khanico Ltd in Gasparillo.... They have Puma air compressors... much better quality than the kawasaki and the other pricemart brand.
I believe Puma's factory manufactures IR.
Another thing to consider is replacement parts... khanico have everything for their pneumatic line.

To be honest the best gas pressure is the Ridgid, its very expensive but it could take jammin
the Karcher is also another great gas pressure washer think the 3000psi goes for 2000 around there.

Thanks for the feedback,
I had one of those Karcher electric pressure washers, and it lasted only 2 years before giving up :( , and I take extremely good care of my tools and equipment. :shock: It was very good though, when it worked. It at least made back it's cost in use.
Where might I find a gas powered Karcher?

I'll check out Khanico for the compressors.

I buy most of my stuff by khanico, they have the Karcher, not to sure of the price tho you can always give them a call.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 18th, 2013, 8:35 pm

Conrad wrote:

You're sure about that?

yeah.... PUMA doesnt manufacture all of IR equipment tho, as of about 5 years ago, IR began their own manufacturing line and are slowly manufacturing their products by themselves. I know for a fact that PUMA still makes IR 40gal compressors and some of their impact guns an a few other pneumatic tools.

And When I was buying I did compare both IR and PUMA.... PUMA is the exact same thing as IR.
And just a heads up.... those pricemart compressors... I know a couple people who had to change their entire compressor head.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 18th, 2013, 10:38 pm

greenlime100 wrote:
Conrad wrote:

You're sure about that?

yeah.... PUMA doesnt manufacture all of IR equipment tho, as of about 5 years ago, IR began their own manufacturing line and are slowly manufacturing their products by themselves. I know for a fact that PUMA still makes IR 40gal compressors and some of their impact guns an a few other pneumatic tools.

And When I was buying I did compare both IR and PUMA.... PUMA is the exact same thing as IR.
And just a heads up.... those pricemart compressors... I know a couple people who had to change their entire compressor head.

The reason I questioned Puma making them is because I know for a fact the SS5 motor is from India and some other parts are sourced elsewhere and it's supposedly put together in the US just to retain that "made in usa"...similar sentiments can be seen throughout the net where in recent times IR has taken a hit in claims of lack of their old quality especially in their consumer/hobbyist line.

Everyone is rating Quincy still though.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 19th, 2013, 5:06 pm

yeah ive serviced a quincy already... its real good quality but they more for industrial applications.

And yes correct, even PUMA has American sticker on the tank, they use the same motors on IR (ss5) I believe they are assembled in Memphis (could be wrong ) but the raw parts are manufactured in Tiwan.
The assembly plant in Memphis is where PUMA assembles and packages IR compressors and tools.

But for the hobbiest or even garage men.. PUMA is great quality, I have my 40gal running more than a year now and no complaints does everything I need it to and im sure it have alot more years to go lol

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 20th, 2013, 1:04 pm

Outlaw.... post some pics of your entire set bro...
Thinking of the Taig..

Postby X_Factor » February 23rd, 2013, 8:42 pm

so ah feelin shame to post this but i got it today

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2013, 9:59 pm

I stop buying bits in pack like that, you end up only using 2 or 3 overall
For general use it more worthwhile to just buy medium grade singly
And use a diamond sharpening stone to sharpen them

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 24th, 2013, 10:45 am

Dormer have the BEST bits !! expensive like sh!t but well worth the money.

aidan

Postby aidan » March 6th, 2013, 12:41 am

Hi guys, need advice on buying the pressure washer. I called Khanico, they only have electric pressure washers right now. So my options comes down to:

Pricesmart: Powerstroke 2700 PSI (Honda motor)- $2800 http://www.powerstroketools.com/product_pressure_washer_PS80943_2700_PSI_pressure_washer.php

Ft. Farfan: Mi-T-M 2400 PSI (Briggs and stratton motor) - $3898.50 (6 month warranty)
Mi-T-M 2600 PSI (Mi-T-M motor) - $3898.50 (6 month warranty)

I never heard of the Mi-T-M brand, but after looking them up they seem to be a great company. How can I justify the extra 1k for the Ft. Farfan models over the powerstroke.
They also had a Mi-T-M washer rated at 2800psi using the same Honda motor (GCV 160) as the pricesmart machine, but was for $4300.
I need something very soon,any input will be appreciated.

troublemaker

Postby troublemaker » March 7th, 2013, 10:20 am

guys anyone know where i can get this set to buy?