COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 169 cases, 8 deaths, 132 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2020, 2:49 pm

like the east hot

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 1st, 2020, 2:58 pm

elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:I was hoping it was 4 contacts or imported cases. But 4 unknown means 4 new clusters!

Dem bars and dining going to get shutdown

Don't worry they have it under control, we have no community spread. It's just local spread and a handful of clusters. We certainly not making the exact same mistakes the US and many countries have. Certainly not.

Who needs a lockdown? We already had one? Why have two? who needs more testing, how you go use up an expensive test on someone random just so? Don't worry about quarentine facilities, we still have enough though the CPL bubble is taking up a few hundred spaces. Also our facilities are the best, we definitely didn't scare off citizens from wanting to be tested due to cockroach infested sheit holes.

The pnm was right to call elections now while infections low... buy it will come back to bite us in the ass... it is a win lose situation honestly... u lockdown and people suffer... u open up and people die/have long lasting illmesses from covid (read covid damages up your heart and lungs even after u recover making u a risk for heart disease/stroke/attacks etc)... the best move was to do a sweden... but i know that has its own complications... i think i read a report where one out of three tnt nationals have lifestyle diseases (obesitt, diabeted, etc) and of course these individuals less tolersnt to covid... so u risking possibly a high death count if u didnt close up and lockdown... but by locking down u honestly postponing the inevitable... the disease will always spread... so honestly is a win lose situation in my book

Hey I don't disagree with Sweden's approach, but I don't think that can work in Trinidad. Swedish ppl have a lot of personal responsibility and behaviour. While many trinis are cowards, more are irresponsible.

Secondly, locking down so hard early when we didn't need to makes this far worse. Now when we actually need to lockdown trinis fed up (can't blame them) and don't want to lockdown.

I've always said we never needed a drastic lockdown, we should have managed that situation and then adjust lockdown measures a accordingly.

Learning to live with this is stupid when we've all been caged up so much.

Calling the election a month ago would have been perfect. Right now is literally the worst time because whatever exponential growth that is happening is going to accelerate right now.

Putting off the elections until we're mass vaccinated is the best option.

We need to find a balance in learning to live with it and some businesses, places of worship and schools need to be closed or managed much differently.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 1st, 2020, 4:34 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Good brethren in miami since March trying to come home. He told them he paying his quarantine fee. They told him 15k @ Radisson and 7k for the flight. Trinidad yes

So now you seeing all the wasted BILLIONS under Kams would come in handy. They paid 6 million for a 2 million dollar fire tender to be wrecked from a drain.

Hard luck for your brethren but is Kamla fault.

Hoss...hush yuh stinking dutty mc with that bullsheit...making no sense...they coda use farris rent money, fake oil money, red house money list goes on....so hush yuh mc...yuh full ah sheit...terrence and dem say they handle covid the best but in the entire caribbean we have the lowest amount of tests...anyway back to the topic...

I am able to confirm one case from plum mitan as well as prisons admin building being closed as an employee tested +

doh forget the credit card money regis pay for she weave , the money shamfa spend to call tobago, d his money daryl pay... all dat cuda bring in trinis home.

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2020, 4:57 pm

this ched taking a turn

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 1st, 2020, 5:20 pm

Randolph with he boolerman outa timing self

Postby goalpost » August 1st, 2020, 5:25 pm

Just realized that 4 were all pending epidemiological investigation. Wtaf.

Any latest news?

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2020, 5:33 pm

dem fellas cyah help themselves
sad

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Randolph with he boolerman outa timing self

Postby bluefete » August 1st, 2020, 5:33 pm

goalpost wrote:Just realized that 4 were all pending epidemiological investigation. Wtaf.

Any latest news?

Community spread spreading.

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2020, 5:34 pm

news say a prisons officer and also a charlieville asja school

them prisoners gonna protest soon

goalpost wrote:Just realized that 4 were all pending epidemiological investigation. Wtaf.

Any latest news?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 1st, 2020, 5:35 pm

Wearing my mask, social distancing and washing my hands alot.

#Unbothered

Postby paid_influencer » August 1st, 2020, 6:22 pm

Redress10 wrote:Wearing my mask, social distancing and washing my hands alot.

#Unbothered

you doh even live here
Last edited by paid_influencer on August 1st, 2020, 6:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby goalpost » August 1st, 2020, 6:25 pm

Well the 6pm update is still 173.

Good.

Plum mitan case was already accounted for?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 1st, 2020, 6:40 pm

goalpost wrote:Well the 6pm update is still 173.

Good.

Plum mitan case was already accounted for?

Yup, person in caura and her contact tracing reach up Biche

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 1st, 2020, 6:45 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:I was hoping it was 4 contacts or imported cases. But 4 unknown means 4 new clusters!

Dem bars and dining going to get shutdown

Don't worry they have it under control, we have no community spread. It's just local spread and a handful of clusters. We certainly not making the exact same mistakes the US and many countries have. Certainly not.

Who needs a lockdown? We already had one? Why have two? who needs more testing, how you go use up an expensive test on someone random just so? Don't worry about quarentine facilities, we still have enough though the CPL bubble is taking up a few hundred spaces. Also our facilities are the best, we definitely didn't scare off citizens from wanting to be tested due to cockroach infested sheit holes.

The pnm was right to call elections now while infections low... buy it will come back to bite us in the ass... it is a win lose situation honestly... u lockdown and people suffer... u open up and people die/have long lasting illmesses from covid (read covid damages up your heart and lungs even after u recover making u a risk for heart disease/stroke/attacks etc)... the best move was to do a sweden... but i know that has its own complications... i think i read a report where one out of three tnt nationals have lifestyle diseases (obesitt, diabeted, etc) and of course these individuals less tolersnt to covid... so u risking possibly a high death count if u didnt close up and lockdown... but by locking down u honestly postponing the inevitable... the disease will always spread... so honestly is a win lose situation in my book

Hey I don't disagree with Sweden's approach, but I don't think that can work in Trinidad. Swedish ppl have a lot of personal responsibility and behaviour. While many trinis are cowards, more are irresponsible.

Secondly, locking down so hard early when we didn't need to makes this far worse. Now when we actually need to lockdown trinis fed up (can't blame them) and don't want to lockdown.

I've always said we never needed a drastic lockdown, we should have managed that situation and then adjust lockdown measures a accordingly.

Learning to live with this is stupid when we've all been caged up so much.

Calling the election a month ago would have been perfect. Right now is literally the worst time because whatever exponential growth that is happening is going to accelerate right now.

Putting off the elections until we're mass vaccinated is the best option.

We need to find a balance in learning to live with it and some businesses, places of worship and schools need to be closed or managed much differently.

Fully agree... we dont have the self restraint like sweden to enjoy their same success if we try to go for herd humminty... the lockdown also was to early imo... i mean we had what maybe at least 2 cases of community spread... but at the same time government testing was quite low... so i guess they lockdowned early to be extra careful... but they did not use the time to do lets say community testing so the spread of the virus has always been unkown (i think to date we have tested less than 10000 people.... sad)... i think the pnm is trying to use their goodwill from the low covid numbers to win the election... stupid yes... and that is why elections was called after the lockdown and not during it when people was still upset... another lockdown can still work as people have shown that by and large they will follow the law... but the economic impact of it would be very significant

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2020, 6:48 pm

sweden never got herd immunity yet eh

Postby paid_influencer » August 1st, 2020, 6:51 pm

the government technically never lifted the lockdown. We are still in phase 5 of the re-opening with a next phase 6 planned after (mostly re-opening the borders but also dropping the gathering limit, etc).

All this was done with the big qualifier that they would revert to an earlier phase if cases went up again. Now cases have gone up again and the government isn't doing shiet until after election. dem MC doh care how much it spread between now an Aug 10.

Postby redmanjp » August 1st, 2020, 7:04 pm

paid_influencer wrote:the government technically never lifted the lockdown. We are still in phase 5 of the re-opening with a next phase 6 planned after (mostly re-opening the borders but also dropping the gathering limit, etc).

All this was done with the big qualifier that they would revert to an earlier phase if cases went up again. Now cases have gone up again and the government isn't doing shiet until after election. dem MC doh care how much it spread between now an Aug 10.

well i hope the public as well as employers don't wait until Aug. 10th or whenever to take action- ask your boss to work from home- and if you ARE a boss- for the Health & Safety of BOTH your employees & customers- please make the necessary adjustments. and don't penalize/pressure your workers who may have even mild flu-like symptoms- because u may end up being the next place to have to shutdown completely- put safety over $$$ at this time.

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2020, 7:28 pm

stuey calling a press conference tomorrow 10:30am

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 173 cases, 8 deaths, 132 discharged in T&T

Postby Chimera » August 1st, 2020, 8:42 pm

government gonna have to jump out and share out real money to help small businesses survive another lockdown if it happens

look how much people close down and consolidate stores from last rounds of lockdown

covid and customs equally as deadly to businesses

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 1st, 2020, 9:26 pm

Screenshot_20200801-212544__01.jpeg

Postby Ben_spanna » August 1st, 2020, 9:35 pm

So if an employee of a small business tests positive and the entire company is forced to close for 2 weeks while everyone else gets tested, what happens to everyone’s salary? Does the company have to pay all employees or can the company just say no and they have to apply for salary grant, a lot of small companies already carried their employees for the full time in the first lockdown with full pay, surely they cannot he expected to do that again.
Btw today at Clifton Hill beach were hundreds of people all around crowding with no social distancing and no face masks.. these people really stupid

Postby redmanjp » August 1st, 2020, 9:46 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:So if an employee of a small business tests positive and the entire company is forced to close for 2 weeks while everyone else gets tested, what happens to everyone’s salary? Does the company have to pay all employees or can the company just say no and they have to apply for salary grant, a lot of small companies already carried their employees for the full time in the first lockdown with full pay, surely they cannot he expected to do that again.
Btw today at Clifton Hill beach were hundreds of people all around crowding with no social distancing and no face masks.. these people really stupid

depends on who had contact with that employee- some places only shut down to sanitize and open back next day with workers who didn't have to quarantine- but in a case where everybody hadda stay home- maybe Govt should give the business a grant. they might have to do that with bars come next week. or let them sell the beers like takeout.

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2020, 10:00 pm

we still have very low numbers.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 1st, 2020, 10:03 pm

Still have low testing as well

Postby paid_influencer » August 1st, 2020, 10:06 pm

sMASH wrote:we still have very low numbers.

When the numbers get high, it will be too late. We still have a chance to manage this thing, but we need to clamp down, hard and early.

do not wait till Aug 10, Keith. You know what needs to be done. Do it now Keith.

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2020, 10:08 pm

low numbers scattered all around the country is cause for concern by any stretch.

Postby redmanjp » August 1st, 2020, 10:16 pm

During the 1918 spanish flu the 2nd wave was worst than the first- hope that's not the case here

Postby pugboy » August 1st, 2020, 10:17 pm

the 2nd wave can be worse because of the wide distribution
after a certain point contact tracing becomes a bit useless and better to just lockdown

Postby Gladiator » August 1st, 2020, 10:19 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

When the numbers get high, it will be too late. We still have a chance to manage this thing, but we need to clamp down, hard and early.

do not wait till Aug 10, Keith. You know what needs to be done. Do it now Keith.

Headlines on August 11th 2020

_ _ _ Takes the Election Win

100+ new COVID-19 cases reported

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2020, 10:21 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

we clamping since april hoss, how much we will clamp again? businesses hadda leggo workers, cause them aint makng no money, but if they lock down again, the renters will stop making money too.... all the covid loans get pocket or spend on dj truck, banners and tv ads. it eh have no more to give for covid assistance.