PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

jm3

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby jm3 » March 28th, 2015, 7:26 am

The reviews seem split on it though Linus likes it yes but others don't.
I think its probably just my vice kicking in already want to be upgrading before my parts even arrive lol guess I should cool myself.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 28th, 2015, 7:36 am

8-) 8-) 8-)
Last edited by trinigamer on March 30th, 2015, 3:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 28th, 2015, 9:16 am

jm3 wrote:The reviews seem split on it though Linus likes it yes but others don't.
I think its probably just my vice kicking in already want to be upgrading before my parts even arrive lol guess I should cool myself.

that is exactly what it is!

i know for a fact im worse than u when it comes to that, i had to convince myself why 5820k.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 28th, 2015, 9:40 am

Lol Yeh the 5820k is definitely the best bang for buck. It's Just this itch for upgrading lol. Can't wait to build the system all my new stuff should be here this week.
there was a delay on my swiftech h240x though app they ran out of stock but had still accepted my order, so I took a h220x instead but it's now not coming until April 15 :(

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » March 28th, 2015, 1:35 pm

viper1 wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:Seems like a pretty solid laptop, like the hinge design. For your usage the i5 will be sufficient as well as the 1080p option since you won't be using it for movies/games. The 1440p screen will be alot nicer tho & you will notice the difference, imo it's worth an extra $100US, but do whatever your budget permits.

Thanks for the info man..not gonna be gaming but definitely watch movies, streaming live football games directly on laptop or thru chromecaast on my tv, and well also light/medium business use(such as price listing, contact information of sales reps...customer info, stock evaluation, etc...)[this is for a pharmacy business btw...keeping things light business wise for now til i get a dedicated system for it])
Guess i'll go with the QHD screenor is it just overated?and with that again should i go with i7?it has to be either or can't have both right now with my budget lol. Thanks again.. feel free to add any opinion u may have.

Last question is there any other better option available with specs/uses i want?(portability,long battery life, good speakers, screen quality, 2in1....)and vs the surface pro 3, lenovo yoga pro 3, etc or whatever u option u think may be best what would be your choice?
thanks again guys

The i5 will handle your day to day activities just fine, the i7 should only be considered if you plan to do anything more intensive for eg. photo/video editing.

1440p isn't overrated, use a 27" at home and the difference is very noticeable for movies/gaming. That being said however I feel you may not fully appreciate it on a 13" screen, so it's more of luxury option if anything as you not doing anything graphically intensive. If you can afford it however go for it over the i7 as you have enough cpu horsepower.

Options wise this HP is more or less on par with a macbook pro, better performance than the yoga pro3 & bigger display / better battery life than the surface. Seems like a safe bet with the HP.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 28th, 2015, 4:53 pm

jm3 wrote:Lol Yeh the 5820k is definitely the best bang for buck. It's Just this itch for upgrading lol. Can't wait to build the system all my new stuff should be here this week.
there was a delay on my swiftech h240x though app they ran out of stock but had still accepted my order, so I took a h220x instead but it's now not coming until April 15 :(

check pressure there..man have to wait till april 15th to get he toy. i hate that feeling, but also, im a custom loop kinda guy.

watch my last build here :

http://www.overclock.net/t/1410765/buil ... rsair-900d

not me again and that. hence i learnt my lesson i dont need the X series cpu or the 5930k in this case, the 5820k will do me just fine. and well with gaming, 1333mhz and up ram u do not see a difference in frames. so a regular 16gb crucial sport series will be my poison 8-)

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 28th, 2015, 5:01 pm

Lol your definitely worse than me if you went x79 to x99 lol I went z77 to x99 had the mobo and proc 2years now

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 28th, 2015, 6:41 pm

well this will be had for some time. getting married so its not like i cud run meh funds all over pc parts again so. time to saveee

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » March 28th, 2015, 8:39 pm

Chiney wrote:well this will be had for some time. getting married so its not like i cud run meh funds all over pc parts again so. time to saveee

Gratz bro, headed the same direction as well ina timin. Like is only jm3 having that kinda $ to spend right now :lol:

Only upgrade for me this year is an ultrawide 1440p monitor. The ole 2500K still going strong.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 28th, 2015, 10:25 pm

And it will for some time to come. Congrats are in order as well. And thanks :)

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 29th, 2015, 1:43 am

lol already became a family man last year

this is the first time ive been able to buy the parts i really want.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 29th, 2015, 11:09 pm

i see. focus is house right about now... not feeling this rent thing...

there i can more be myself, with respect to my own man cave kinda room. and a nice home theater setup in the living room.

bigger picture :)

so im still to choose case and a temp cooler as well as try and get one of the videocards

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » March 29th, 2015, 11:24 pm

jm3 wrote:Lol Yeh the 5820k is definitely the best bang for buck. It's Just this itch for upgrading lol. Can't wait to build the system all my new stuff should be here this week.

Yuh doh hadda spend all da extra morney dan.

5820K is fine. dbu.

(5930K only makes a difference in benchmarks)

Unless you running MORE than 2 graphics cards in SLI/xFire, and need dem extra PCIE lanes, you don't need a 5930K.

SM-N910H | Dr Ketan's ROM(N910C) v1.0 | SwiftKey | Tapatalk v4.11.4

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 30th, 2015, 6:46 pm

Arcmanov wrote:

Yuh doh hadda spend all da extra morney dan.

5820K is fine. dbu.

(5930K only makes a difference in benchmarks)

Unless you running MORE than 2 graphics cards in SLI/xFire, and need dem extra PCIE lanes, you don't need a 5930K.

SM-N910H | Dr Ketan's ROM(N910C) v1.0 | SwiftKey | Tapatalk v4.11.4

Pcie lanes was exactly why I thought about getting the 5930 instead right now I have 2 r9 290s from my current machine and also an ocz revodrive pcie ssd coming with the new parts,
I may in the future put a third card that would take me up to exactly 28 lanes 8x8x8x4x,
However after some research 8x and 16x really doesn't make much difference,
it's like one or two fps so thats why I have now stuck with the 5820k.
As me and chiney were saying it's really an issue of vice lol

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 30th, 2015, 6:54 pm

Yepp!
I have with my build a x4 pcie m.2 plextor Ssd. Plan is for some longevity and minimal devices in case.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 30th, 2015, 6:58 pm

Didn't look at the m2 ones I should've,
got the revodrive cheap on eBay well cheap for a revodrive lol

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 30th, 2015, 7:33 pm

Seeen

Postby ismithx » March 30th, 2015, 9:59 pm

so guys i got a new system... it's a beast, here are the specs

AMD 8-core 8350
8GB 1600mhz Ripjaws memory (2X4GB)
Asus Crosshair V formula motherboard
EVGA Nvidia GTX 680
Cooler master 700W extreme PSU
Cooler master 690 NVIDIA Edition case

built up the system in a day, working real bess, pulling 88 fps on BF4 @1080p with all settings maxxed out

build log with pics will follow shortly

much thanks to @Chiney for linking me all the parts

Postby Morpheus » March 30th, 2015, 10:11 pm

I have similar spec minus the graphic :roll:

AMD 8 core 8320 Black Edition
Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair CX Series 750watt PSU
Asus FX Pro R2.0 Motherboard
Samsung 256GB SSD
Cooler Master Elite 431 Plus Tower

Same old 2000's 1GB graphics card. Cyah run modern games good even in low settings. Is real stop-motion :lol:

Saving for a good graphics card.

Built sometime early last year I think....
Last edited by Morpheus on March 31st, 2015, 11:51 pm, edited 3 times in total.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 31st, 2015, 10:31 pm

Might I inquire as to why the 8350 over the 8320 or 8320e. Both are capable of being clocked to the same speed as the 8350.
I am interested in what you are using to cool it though
Nice case btw

Completed fast budget build for client

Core i3-4160
Crucial sport 8gb RAM
Msi H81M-E34
CM elite 342 case with 400w CM extreme psu
Intel 120gb ssd
WD Red 2tb hdd
Used OEM Cooper core cooler from g3258 with artic alumina.

Have to see if I can locate another good monitor though

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » April 1st, 2015, 12:48 am

Postby ismithx » April 1st, 2015, 9:27 pm

TIL (today I learned) that leaving devices plugged into the USB 3.0 ports on an asus crosshair board (running AMI bios) increases POST time from 10 seconds or so to nearly two minutes

:| :| :| :|

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 1st, 2015, 10:12 pm

ismithx wrote:TIL (today I learned) that leaving devices plugged into the USB 3.0 ports on an asus crosshair board (running AMI bios) increases POST time from 10 seconds or so to nearly two minutes

:| :| :| :|

Weird. Latest BIOS installed?

Have two devices (corsair link/external usb hdd) plugged into my ubs 3.0 ports on an Asrock z77 board and it flies past the POST screen to the windows loading screen as normal.

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 2nd, 2015, 11:07 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1427987055.418202.jpg

So I almost finished assembly last night parts were delivered at 11pm only to discover that my old hyper 212 really doesn't fit,
the stand offs for the mount are too tall and so the heat sink doesn't apply any pressure to the cou there's about a 1mm gap between the clamp and the heat sink :( good news though my h220x arrived at my skybox today so I'll get in in the week

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 3rd, 2015, 5:29 pm

NP smith!

jm3.. SWEET!!

Asus ROG boards are VERY funny. Iv owned a few of them over the years and I have had similar issues with boot times being an issue.

killercow

Postby killercow » April 3rd, 2015, 10:29 pm

Not sure if repost but..

desert punk

Postby desert punk » April 4th, 2015, 1:14 am

That a april fools joke I believe eh.

killercow

Postby killercow » April 4th, 2015, 1:23 am

desert punk wrote:That a april fools joke I believe eh.

Duly noted

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 6th, 2015, 10:23 pm

Watercooling guys...where do you get your compression fittings at???

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 6th, 2015, 10:43 pm

^i got all my WC stuff online @ performance pc