The Religion Discussion

Re: Your Best Encounter with God - God was Right! Pg. 238

Postby maj. tom » May 11th, 2012, 11:28 am

^ You're right. My apologies for taking it where it has gone. Sorry smash for that violative term.

My lulz and story is finished on this thread. :drinking:

End.

Re: Religion - Your Views...........is friday

Postby UML » May 11th, 2012, 12:27 pm

Sweet Torque wrote:But in all sense, how could an idol made of concrete (manmade) be a "God" or represents a "God" per se? Sorry and prayed to? Somebody explain.

true

same thing i was wondering about the cross/other, statues of jesus/mary/ other, the religious books, etc.

im sure they were printed and created by God since these are not "man-made"

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » May 11th, 2012, 12:39 pm

Religion was created by man for the control of man. God probably looks at us and shakes his/her head at how stupid we act based on religious beliefs.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » May 11th, 2012, 12:42 pm

Sweet Torque wrote:
Sweet Torque wrote:ALL Religion is manmade.

^ Exactly...brah

Postby 1UZFE » May 11th, 2012, 12:43 pm

some "Hare Krishna" followers just pass tru Fredrick st n loud up d place..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 11th, 2012, 12:47 pm

i hate to hear dotish ignorant ppl bray how other ppl does pray to idols , status , pictures , monuments , symbols etc

afaik ppl pray to what d object represents : not to d object itself - even if they want to do that then why it bothering them ... :|

ent kfc now selling sandwiches that have bacon in it so muslim ppl still buying kfc there ? ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 11th, 2012, 12:49 pm

1UZFE wrote:some "Hare Krishna" followers just pass tru Fredrick st n loud up d place..

how u say it sounding rel jokey ... :lol: :lol: :lol:

have to admire how freely they do it without a care of what others might think of them .... :)
Last edited by - Rovin's car audio - on May 11th, 2012, 12:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 1UZFE » May 11th, 2012, 12:50 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:
1UZFE wrote:some "Hare Krishna" followers just pass tru Fredrick st n loud up d place..

how u say it sounding rel jokey ... :lol: :lol: :lol:

have to admire how they freely they do it without a care of what others might think of them .... :)

fur real...
rhel whites in d faction aswell...

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 11th, 2012, 1:15 pm

so why have a cross then ? or a crescent moon?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 11th, 2012, 1:17 pm

No one is putting you out, just that there must be some sort of 'Netiquette' if this discussion is to continue. I actually think that you had some good points to debate upon.

Thus far, I dont think anyone could have predicted what this thread has accomplished:
1) The longest thread on tuner
2) The nature of this thread (religion) and how it has not yet de-railed into a religious war yet.
3) How many lives it has chaged (it really has believe it or not).

Many people here, including myself, have admitted that this thread actually significantly influenced them in their outlook on life, God, and this religion thing.

Postby MG Man » May 11th, 2012, 1:20 pm

this ched reaffirmed my faith in His Noodleyness, the Flying Spaghetti Monster

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 11th, 2012, 1:22 pm

Sweet Torque wrote:
(...Rovin...) wrote:i hate to hear dotish ignorant ppl bray how other ppl does pray to idols , status , pictures , monuments , symbols etc

afaik ppl pray to what d object represents : not to d object itself - even if they want to do that then why it bothering them ... :|

ent kfc now selling sandwiches that have bacon in it so muslim ppl still buying kfc there ? ...

Then, there is no need for an object to pray to then? Jus pray... :|

Unless you've seen a "God" personally to make a replica to "represent"... :lol:

but u dont find u wud be a lil more comfortable & focused to at least have a idea of what ur praying to looks like rather than u dont even know who\what it is u praying to ?

reminds me of episodes of southpark what they make god look like - yea i know its a cartoon but behind d kicks it still it makes u think what if .... :lol:

Postby Dizzy28 » May 11th, 2012, 1:28 pm

Sweet Torque wrote:
(...Rovin...) wrote:i hate to hear dotish ignorant ppl bray how other ppl does pray to idols , status , pictures , monuments , symbols etc

Then, there is no need for an object to pray to then? Jus pray... :|

Unless you've seen a "God" personally to make a replica to "represent"... :lol:

Hindus prayers can be done without the murtis. When they are available they are used, however in the absence of them prayers can and do go on as normal.

Postby Habit7 » May 11th, 2012, 1:43 pm

This is why I stay out of the God thread (I don't think I ever even opened it).

ppl know enough religion to sound completely sound ignorant of anything factual.

Its either blah, blah, blah, God and religion discriminates (then they go on and discriminate against the religious).
Or blah, blah, blah, Christianity is judgemental (then they make a judgement statement against Chrisitianity).

True tolerance is appreciating every view point, holding to one, and respectfully disagreeing with the rest, not creating an ecumenical mishmash and being angry that everyone not coming under your big tent of plurality.

chasemeifyoucan

Postby chasemeifyoucan » May 11th, 2012, 2:38 pm

nareshseep wrote:so why have a cross then ? or a crescent moon?

no answer? I guess the question was too inconvenient for him

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 11th, 2012, 3:25 pm

^^yes MG, that is obvious. But for someone who has faith, you forgot to say R'Amen. Shame on you.

Postby sMASH » May 11th, 2012, 3:47 pm

maj. tom, hard feelings aside, u are uncannily correct about me, in a general sense... more than u realize.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 11th, 2012, 5:01 pm

UML wrote:
Habit7 wrote:UML it seems like you are not being very tolerant to your friend. You should be fortunate that he even came.

true. but it is about those who dont come as well because of their religion

but doesnt their religious leaders preach about the same loving one another and unity and respect and dem ting

:?

I thought that Christians were not allowed to partake in other religious festivals/ceremonies/rituals etc ????

chasemeifyoucan

Postby chasemeifyoucan » May 11th, 2012, 5:19 pm

Ronaldo95163, yes, that behaviour is typical of many but not all christians, especially ones who despise people of colour.

Postby sMASH » May 11th, 2012, 5:40 pm

time to lock. this should go to the other thread now.

crossdrilled, u are not made less for that rationale. u are simply being human.

Postby MG Man » May 11th, 2012, 5:53 pm

Kasey wrote:^^yes MG, that is obvious. But for someone who has faith, you forgot to say R'Amen. Shame on you.

His Noodleyness forgives
arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 11th, 2012, 6:12 pm

chasemeifyoucan

you throwing talk for me?
Lemme know what you really tryna say inno

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 11th, 2012, 6:19 pm

chasemeifyoucan

Postby chasemeifyoucan » May 11th, 2012, 6:35 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:chasemeifyoucan

you throwing talk for me?
Lemme know what you really tryna say inno

:? dude wtf? Was referring to those who link their Christianity with those of Caucasoid decent.

There are many who look upon people of colour as lower beings.

For once I am not accusing you of being the gracist, but if it falls in the garden....

minipresident

Postby minipresident » May 11th, 2012, 6:44 pm

Threads about religion i try to keep out but i will say this:

The sooner people realize that this Man Made thing called "Religion" has more & more become a Money Making Business,... the sooner we as a people will realize why various churches will Never find it good 'business practice' to teach Religious Tolerance to its flock. WHY? ...It will affect their un-taxed cash flow!

God is who & or what you as an individual perceive him to be! Just be respectful and tolerant of each others beliefs and,... Talk Done!!!

c@ri$$@

Postby c@ri$$@ » May 11th, 2012, 7:03 pm

Sweet Torque wrote:ALL Religion is manmade.

What exactly do u mean by that? Are u implyin that humans have made up God also? How did u arrive at that?

Postby maj. tom » May 11th, 2012, 7:23 pm

^ yeah. All made up. Things we can explain as science progresses were given the god explanation in the past. For example, glories, that optical phenomenon where you see a halo effect are created by an effect called quantum tunnelling through water droplets in clouds at very high altitude covering the sun's view, something that took more than three centuries to explain properly with physics since Mr. Netwon.

In 1917 three kids in Fatima, Portugal looked up at the sun, thus blinding them anyway, saw thus effect and ran to tell the villagers about their experience of a miracle. Today the church celebrates it as the Miracle of the Sun. Well I can safely tell you that if you looked up at the sun today and got blind in the process of observing a glory, you will be deemed an utter idiot and god not going to bring back your sight.

And those stories go way back since the Homo genus learned to communicate and talk and share their inferences and drew cave paintings. Flame away.
Last edited by maj. tom on May 11th, 2012, 7:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

c@ri$$@

Postby c@ri$$@ » May 11th, 2012, 8:26 pm

maj. tom wrote:^ yeah. All made up. Things we can't explain as science progresses were given the god explanation in the past.

Think u mean can't, right?
So u think, for all the things we couldn't explain, we came up with the idea of a God and gave Him all the credit?
1)How do you think this idea of a God entered one's mind?
2)If God is made up, how was the first person who made Him up able to convince everyone else about his God idea when they wouldn't even know what a God was? Why would they entertain his idea? (I'll elaborate if you don't understand what I'm asking)
3) If God is made up as u say, why is it that so many people believe in Him and continue to believe? These people may claim to have been touched by God or had some type of spiritual encounter. What do you think of these people?
3)If it's all made up, why do people who have near death experiences share stories of seeing God, heaven and hell, demons etc.?
4)How do you think humans reached on earth?

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » May 11th, 2012, 8:34 pm

religion is a lot of superstitious BS,created by knowledgeable men to control and dominate foolish people 8-)

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » May 11th, 2012, 8:40 pm

c@ri$$@ wrote:
maj. tom wrote:^ yeah. All made up. Things we can't explain as science progresses were given the god explanation in the past.

Think u mean can't, right?
So u think, for all the things we couldn't explain, we came up with the idea of a God and gave Him all the credit?
1)How do you think this idea of a God entered one's mind?
2)If God is made up, how was the first person who made Him up able to convince everyone else about his God idea when they wouldn't even know what a God was? Why would they entertain his idea? (I'll elaborate if you don't understand what I'm asking)
3) If God is made up as u say, why is it that so many people believe in Him and continue to believe? These people may claim to have been touched by God or had some type of spiritual encounter. What do you think of these people?
3)If it's all made up, why do people who have near death experiences share stories of seeing God, heaven and hell, demons etc.?
4)How do you think humans reached on earth?

you like many human beings for thousand of years,have been culturally brainwashed to accept a non-factual/heavenly creator god 8-)