COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 169 cases, 8 deaths, 132 discharged in T&T

Postby adnj » July 31st, 2020, 8:43 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Max it could be nothing i was feeling the same way this morning, wait a couple days and if it same thing or worse then get tested but it could be nothing sometimes it's just sinus.

I know someone who had high fever 2 weeks ago it lasted 2 days and he good since and he is 60 and he has diabetes so that means he didn't have Covid it was a regular Flu.

I wonder if Flu really going around now? I thought we had eliminated it with all these mask wearing and hand sanitizing.
Symptoms persist 5 to 7 days for the flu.

--------

How long does the flu last?

For most healthy people, the flu is an uncomfortable but short-term illness that resolves itself as the immune system fights it off. Symptoms usually appear from one to four days after exposure to the virus, and they last five to seven days. For people who've had a flu shot, the symptoms may last a shorter amount of time, or be less severe. For other people, the symptoms may last longer. Even when symptoms resolve, you may continue to feel fatigued.

https://www.health.harvard.edu/staying- ... e-flu-last

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 31st, 2020, 8:47 pm

Postby paid_influencer » July 31st, 2020, 8:47 pm

maj. tom wrote:who called you? You should get confirmation about this by calling and emailing the MoH. I would think that they would put this quarantine order in writing by email or paper and deliver it to you.

But quarantine to be safe anyway until you find out otherwise.

wasn't there a big issue about patients (like Ian Alleyne) not being given any paper documentation? It is verbal confirmation only, as far as I have heard.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 31st, 2020, 8:51 pm

My 70 year old aunt in NY tested positive for Covid and experienced it quite mild, while her younger brother got it and almost died.

Postby maj. tom » July 31st, 2020, 9:04 pm

For all we know the virus had mutated into several strains since last year, and some people getting mild strains and other getting a very deadly one. And all of them super contagious.

We won't know till scientists have researched and collected much more data on this virus which could take decades of manifestation in world populations. I believe that this one is quite different to previous respiratory viruses because of how widespread it is and how it has impacted the global population. It has affected us psychologically and even politically.

Postby sMASH » July 31st, 2020, 9:08 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
bluefete wrote:Rowley just pound GG. Why are people not being arrested for breaching C-19 regulations?

He damn right, everybody doing the donkey wine in bars and police turns a blind eye.

Why people sitting and liming in bars at a time like this?

none of the covid regulations are actual law. merely guidelines that people and authorities agreeing to agree to. if it was to be made law, they would have to pass it in parliament and proclaim it.

if u need to see donkey logic, look at the government, that greets persons with mask/facesheild on, then proceed to remove that minutes after. the point of the masks, is IF u have covid and dont know, that u will not spread it to the surfaces and air around u, that others could encounter. a few minutes passing is not enough to presume that u dont have covid.

unless u work with an specific group of individuals, and ur work space does not get intruded upon with other people, u cannot remove ur face mask. talking on a mic used by multiple individuals, is a prime device to collect and pass on virus particles.

Postby paid_influencer » July 31st, 2020, 9:09 pm

on a note for Max, ED, Gladiator and all the others who feeling sick -

the WHO recommendation is to use medical masks (surgical or N95) if you have symptoms or exposure. The cloth masks are better than nothing, but really you should be using disposable surgical or N95 ones if you feel unwell.
Last edited by paid_influencer on July 31st, 2020, 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Gladiator » July 31st, 2020, 9:10 pm

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1596234210062.jpeg

People were told by the MoH to ignore this information

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 31st, 2020, 9:35 pm

Me and some padnas talking, came to the conclusion that is just a matter of time before we know someome personally who has the virus....wondering if to just walk in one of those facilities where the infected are and just get the virus and done...serious thing...LOL...them men lil more paranoid than me

Postby paid_influencer » July 31st, 2020, 9:40 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Me and some padnas talking, came to the conclusion that is just a matter of time before we know someome personally who has the virus....wondering if to just walk in one of those facilities where the infected are and just get the virus and done...serious thing...LOL...them men lil more paranoid than me

doh do that. there are prophylactic and therapeutic options coming in the next year or two. You just have to be careful until then.

this virus is no joke even if you young and fit.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 31st, 2020, 9:46 pm

sMASH wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
bluefete wrote:Rowley just pound GG. Why are people not being arrested for breaching C-19 regulations?

He damn right, everybody doing the donkey wine in bars and police turns a blind eye.

none of the covid regulations are actual law. merely guidelines that people and authorities agreeing to agree to. if it was to be made law, they would have to pass it in parliament and proclaim it.

if u need to see donkey logic, look at the government, that greets persons with mask/facesheild on, then proceed to remove that minutes after. the point of the masks, is IF u have covid and dont know, that u will not spread it to the surfaces and air around u, that others could encounter. a few minutes passing is not enough to presume that u dont have covid.

unless u work with an specific group of individuals, and ur work space does not get intruded upon with other people, u cannot remove ur face mask. talking on a mic used by multiple individuals, is a prime device to collect and pass on virus particles.

Exactly... aint there was a nba player who so wanted to prove covid was a hoax that he rub up his face on the mics and soon after got tested covid positive

Postby sMASH » July 31st, 2020, 10:01 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Me and some padnas talking, came to the conclusion that is just a matter of time before we know someome personally who has the virus....wondering if to just walk in one of those facilities where the infected are and just get the virus and done...serious thing...LOL...them men lil more paranoid than me

i am saying, that that should be the goal. so when people get it and get over it, they cannot catch it again and relay it to those who vulnerable to it. if someone from abroad comes in with it, they can spread it, but so much people will not be able to get it, that it cannot propagate. what u will have are very few isolated cases.

Postby Gladiator » July 31st, 2020, 10:18 pm

paid_influencer wrote:on a note for Max, ED, Gladiator and all the others who feeling sick -

the WHO recommendation is to use medical masks (surgical or N95) if you have symptoms or exposure. The cloth masks are better than nothing, but really you should be using disposable surgical or N95 ones if you feel unwell.

Thanks for the advice bro.... but I good not feeling sick or anything. I guess they just taking precaution...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 31st, 2020, 10:32 pm

Getting the virus does not mean you cannot get it again or be a carrier afterwards

According to the World Health Organisation
"There is currently no evidence that people who have recovered from COVID-19 and have antibodies are protected from a second infection."
https://www.who.int/news-room/commentar ... gIWnvD_BwE

Postby sMASH » July 31st, 2020, 10:51 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Getting the virus does not mean you cannot get it again or be a carrier afterwards

"There is currently no evidence that people who have recovered from COVID-19 and have antibodies are protected from a second infection."
not enough to say that it doesnt afford some level of immunity.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 31st, 2020, 11:33 pm

sMASH wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Getting the virus does not mean you cannot get it again or be a carrier afterwards

not enough to say that it doesnt afford some level of immunity.

There is no evidence of that

Postby stev » July 31st, 2020, 11:44 pm

as Duane said...no evidence of immunity just yet cuz there are cases where people got it again.

...based on what I saw in some groceries today; we might have new cases soon.....utter chaos and nonsense....Xtra Foods Grand Bazaar was the worse...people stick up on one another....when i saw that nonsense i just left....resorted to buying my essentials in the quick shop (beer :lol: )

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 1st, 2020, 12:09 am

stev wrote:as Duane said...no evidence of immunity just yet cuz there are cases where people got it again.

...based on what I saw in some groceries today; we might have new cases soon.....utter chaos and nonsense....Xtra Foods Grand Bazaar was the worse...people stick up on one another....when i saw that nonsense i just left....resorted to buying my essentials in the quick shop (beer :lol: )

Not that I was liming or anything, but the Avenue was jam packed tonight. Also heard from friends that buzz and Cazabon was full tonight too.

Postby redmanjp » August 1st, 2020, 12:09 am

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1596234210062.jpeg

they hadda wait another week- the virus could hide up to 14 days and cause a false negative if tested before it emerges

Postby redmanjp » August 1st, 2020, 12:11 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
stev wrote:as Duane said...no evidence of immunity just yet cuz there are cases where people got it again.

Not that I was liming or anything, but the Avenue was jam packed tonight. Also heard from friends that buzz and Cazabon was full tonight too.

>25? then TTPS should intervene and shut them down- the 10 person limit would take effect from tomorrow or sunday

Postby stev » August 1st, 2020, 12:15 am

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

>25? then TTPS should intervene and shut them down- the 10 person limit would take effect from tomorrow or sunday

even at Grand Bazaar when I attempted to go to Xtra Foods.....I had to park as far as Toppers....needless to say; no social distancing in there from what I saw from the outside.

Postby redmanjp » August 1st, 2020, 12:20 am

stev wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

even at Grand Bazaar when I attempted to go to Xtra Foods.....I had to park as far as Toppers....needless to say; no social distancing in there from what I saw from the outside.

like is South trinis shopping dey :lol:

Postby stev » August 1st, 2020, 12:40 am

the only place I was in shock was Royal Castle by Brentwood....10 people inside at a time and people making an extra effort to social distance.....people even line up outside and would only enter when someone leaves....u know what's the shocking part?....NO ENFORCEMENT OF THE RULES!!!....people actually obeyed the rules and no staff or security had to tell them to do so....that was 'shocking' for me cuz i was expecting chaos as usual based on what I saw earlier at Grand Bazaar

Postby redmanjp » August 1st, 2020, 12:56 am

sMASH wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

the Public Heath Ordinance is law- there are fines & penalties (jail) for breaching it- so the limit of 25 or 10 for gatherings are included- these don't apparently need to be passed & proclaimed in parliament- if so it would take a much longer time and with a fast spreading virus it would not make sense.

the masks & social distancing are guidelines in most cases- however I've seen for certain businesses in the Ordinance actually states that certain guidelines must be followed- so for these businesses, those guidelines actually become law as well.

Postby matr1x » August 1st, 2020, 4:43 am

For all who crying about the possibility of economic crisis, remember the abouds and the like with the help of the previous PNM regimes drained the treasury.

Want to fix the problem, start there first

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 1st, 2020, 5:13 am

it took 10 months to get the vaccine for swine flu in 2009-2010 , ten years after is covid 19 that start in england and usa in lets say february (not sure) but 10 month after would be in december 2020 so lets see if they can release the vaccine by then, they in phase 3 testing of 15000 persons currently to get the dosage right.

china start in dec 2019 if i remember correctly so by next month china should have a vaccine idk as news out of china sketchy.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 1st, 2020, 5:58 am

Good brethren in miami since March trying to come home. He told them he paying his quarantine fee. They told him 15k @ Radisson and 7k for the flight. Trinidad yes

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 1st, 2020, 6:04 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Good brethren in miami since March trying to come home. He told them he paying his quarantine fee. They told him 15k @ Radisson and 7k for the flight. Trinidad yes

so if after quarantine nutting wrong with he he getting back he money ? who owns all these hotels that getting the contract to be quarantine centers? the state doesnt own NAPA, SAPA, HILTON etc that someone who dont have that kinda money cud stay? what is the person on holiday in a next county with no family there what them hadda do ? stay in TT embassy ? is ah wonder the green emerald in st augustine aint benefiting from one ah dem quarantine contracts considering the owner say he help KCR an bring dong KPB

Postby adnj » August 1st, 2020, 6:28 am

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

the Public Heath Ordinance is law- there are fines & penalties (jail) for breaching it- so the limit of 25 or 10 for gatherings are included- these don't apparently need to be passed & proclaimed in parliament- if so it would take a much longer time and with a fast spreading virus it would not make sense.

the masks & social distancing are guidelines in most cases- however I've seen for certain businesses in the Ordinance actually states that certain guidelines must be followed- so for these businesses, those guidelines actually become law as well.
Thank you for posting that. Many people seem not to understand that the underlying law was passed in the 1960's.

Postby sMASH » August 1st, 2020, 6:41 am

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

'apparently'. that is what they gone for, the appearance.