PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

HCCA

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby HCCA » March 13th, 2015, 8:46 pm

Server board installed:

The board blocked all the cable management cutouts so the main cables running over it, will be neatened later.

Rear fan set to intake to cool the cpu VRM heatsinks, triple rad on top with fans on exhaust, averaging 20-25 degrees on both cpu idle. Need a good temperature monitoring software cuz coretemp and cpu meter listing very low temps.

Side panel has two 120mm fans for cooling the hdds. No leaks considering i assembled the system last night. :D

Current configuration is:

2 x AMD Opteron 2356 2.3ghz quad core Socket F
Tyan S2915 motherboard
6 x 1GB DDR2 667Mhz ECC Reg ram
EVGA GTX 570 SC 1.2GB DDR5 video card liquid cooled
Samsung 256GB SSD (boot, os, apps)
2 x Seagate Barracuda ES 7200 RPM SATAII HDDS in RAID 0 config (storage)
CM SIlent Pro Gold 1KW semi modular psu
Laing DDC pump, swiftech micro res v2, xspc rs360 radiator, dual Thermaltake cpu blocks, primochill tubing green and red, primochill coolant.

Couldn't find ahci in the bios for the ssd so it giving a 6.9 in the wei score. May need a sata controller card for it.

Application/gaming performance testing over the weekend. Will be comparing it to the i7-3770 system i have as my highest performance gaming system.

Loop order is : Res out>pump>radiator in>radiator out>video card>cpu in>cpu out>cpu in>cpu out>res in. Been using this order for a long time and i got the best cooling results.
Last edited by HCCA on March 13th, 2015, 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 13th, 2015, 8:47 pm

^woa everything fit rel neat in that case hoss 8-)

Where you got the PSU?
They kinda hard to come by now and they not even really that old :cry:

Using this with the liquid cooling setup

http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-Trooper-Rev-Computer/dp/B00GN5IKA8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1426293838&sr=8-1&keywords=Cooler+master+storm+trooper

Price jumped though :lol:...was about ~$140 for it when I got it

Hoping to load it up with fans :evilbat:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 13th, 2015, 8:58 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:^woa everything fit rel neat in that case hoss 8-)

Where you got the PSU?
They kinda hard to come by now and they not even really that old :cry:

Using this with the liquid cooling setup

http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-Trooper-Rev-Computer/dp/B00GN5IKA8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1426293838&sr=8-1&keywords=Cooler+master+storm+trooper

Price jumped though :lol:...was about ~$140 for it when I got it

Hoping to load it up with fans :evilbat:

I forgot u issa CoolerMaster case whore :lol:

The HAF-X doesn't float your boat?

Bought the psu abt two years ago from a tuner, was 1.5 mths used, paid $1100TT but eh use it until now. Wizz have it for much more. A Platinum rated psu is the way to go, aiming for a pair whenever my two corsair tx 750w units die (which seems to be a long wait).

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 14th, 2015, 11:48 am

Nah prefer the looks of the trooper and it has better cable management

Will monitor prices of the PSUs and see what happens...if things don't work out then i'll swap out the M1000 from my x58 rig.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 14th, 2015, 1:18 pm

Got a CM Elite 342 (with PSU) for $650

They also had an antec sonata III in stock for ~ $1100
thats a nice case but a bit more than my budget build will allow.

Postby pioneer » March 14th, 2015, 2:02 pm

Which wizz?...they actually have something in stock?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 14th, 2015, 2:06 pm

Todd Street San Fernando

Postby pioneer » March 14th, 2015, 2:23 pm

Orr that's why

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 14th, 2015, 4:45 pm

pioneer wrote:Orr that's why

:mrgreen:

Dat Antec overpriced for what it is.

Hmmmm at the Elite. What power supply did it come with?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 14th, 2015, 4:57 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Nah prefer the looks of the trooper and it has better cable management

Will monitor prices of the PSUs and see what happens...if things don't work out then i'll swap out the M1000 from my x58 rig.

How much the case cost u landed? I seeing it selling local for $1500.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 14th, 2015, 6:32 pm

HCCA wrote:
pioneer wrote:Orr that's why

:mrgreen:

Dat Antec overpriced for what it is.

Hmmmm at the Elite. What power supply did it come with?

A budget looking cooler master 400w psu, which is more than enough for what I am putting together :smile:. ... It doesn't have active pfc though :(
Btw today is the first day I got zapped by static electricity taking the case out of the box. ... its small but it is enough to get you to react

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 14th, 2015, 6:43 pm

kamakazi wrote:
A budget looking cooler master 400w psu, which is more than enough for what I am putting together :smile:. ... It doesn't have active pfc though :(
Btw today is the first day I got zapped by static electricity taking the case out of the box. ... its small but it is enough to get you to react

Most of the CM psus from basic to high end decent so if it suits your system config then u don't need to worry.

PRW used to sell CM cases like the 690 and HAF mid tower, prices were very good. Then again that was years ago. They had a couple of the cheaper CM psus as well, basic model like what u get to the extreme power plus series.

Cyar say much for the static electricity issue, doh think i ever get zapped while handling a pc nor damaged any components with it either.

Postby pioneer » March 14th, 2015, 11:12 pm

PRW still in business?

Postby skylinechild » March 14th, 2015, 11:19 pm

pioneer wrote:PRW still in business?

THIS !!!!

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 15th, 2015, 7:09 am

pioneer wrote:PRW still in business?

i believe so.

Got a flyer in d mail recently from them.

The nearest one to me is in St Charles village before Food Basket but they mostly have the budget stuff. If i need something higher end i does ask them to get it from head office and keep it down at this branch for pickup.

As always, best to call before.

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2015, 10:58 am

Before supertech prw was the source!

But these days amazon + csf seems to be the best option

Postby skylinechild » March 15th, 2015, 11:16 am

those "superstores" of yester year better learn to play keep up or get left out.

since C cards and skybox is the norm now and it getting cheaper and cheaper to get what you want online... I suspect places like supertech and others will soon start carrying better quality stuff...or close down.

case #1. co worker wants DDR1- yes its old.. no one has.. amazon price 13 USD for a 2gb kit

case #2- mechanic needs a new CPU and cooler - will check locally but its AM2- I suspect no one will have.... online 16USD for the cooler - COPPER PIPE base -small footprint design...and 22USD for a Athlon X2 64 processor.....( used but I don't mind)

for 38USD- that's a serious upgrade - from a Sempron with a failing cooler to an Athlon X2 with new heatsink. no way a new computer can equal the cost of 38USD

*awaiting beat up crew - boi dat soo ole an u spendin soo much money... :lol:

Postby pioneer » March 15th, 2015, 11:25 am

Laundromats doe really close down.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » March 15th, 2015, 11:54 am

looking for RW DVD's any suggestions

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2015, 3:58 pm

pioneer wrote:Laundromats doe really close down.

U gone an done it now.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 15th, 2015, 8:19 pm

So far the following games running flawlessly on the highest settings @ 1080p on the server board:

NFS Hot Pursuit 2010
NFS Rivals x64

Gonna try some more taxing games like Battlefield 3/4 and Metro tomorrow.

Cinebench 11.5 multicore rendering puts the dual quad opterons at 400 points, an i7-3770 scores 604 points.

3DMark Vantage graphics tests not running properly, experiencing severe fps drops a few seconds into and out of each test, cpu tests running fine with the Physics test recognizing all 8 cores.

3dMark 11 runs as it should producing a total score of 4945.

Basically gaming wise, the cpus performing between a Phenom II x 940 and a Phenom II x6 1100T. Disappointing in a way but for the total price of the setup i'm satisfied with it :D

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » March 16th, 2015, 12:04 am

skylinechild wrote:those "superstores" of yester year better learn to play keep up or get left out.

since C cards and skybox is the norm now and it getting cheaper and cheaper to get what you want online... I suspect places like supertech and others will soon start carrying better quality stuff...or close down.

case #1. co worker wants DDR1- yes its old.. no one has.. amazon price 13 USD for a 2gb kit

case #2- mechanic needs a new CPU and cooler - will check locally but its AM2- I suspect no one will have.... online 16USD for the cooler - COPPER PIPE base -small footprint design...and 22USD for a Athlon X2 64 processor.....( used but I don't mind)

for 38USD- that's a serious upgrade - from a Sempron with a failing cooler to an Athlon X2 with new heatsink. no way a new computer can equal the cost of 38USD

You could have said something on the forum before

Currently have two x2 5000+ cpus sitting down gathering dust with their heatsinks

Would have gladly sold them to you for the money you paid

Postby skylinechild » March 16th, 2015, 4:02 pm

kamakazi wrote:
skylinechild wrote:those "superstores" of yester year better learn to play keep up or get left out.

You could have said something on the forum before

Currently have two x2 5000+ cpus sitting down gathering dust with their heatsinks

Would have gladly sold them to you for the money you paid

pm sent let me kno thanx... 8-)

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » March 16th, 2015, 9:19 pm

fred1266 wrote:looking for RW DVD's any suggestions

Bump

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » March 17th, 2015, 7:59 am

The disc or the drive?

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » March 17th, 2015, 4:27 pm

Just a quick question for anyone here who ever brought in a computer case. What kind of shipping and clearing charges did you have to pay. Want to bring in the phanteks ethoo pro.

knthprks

Postby knthprks » March 17th, 2015, 5:29 pm

Brought a 750d cost $680. To clear. Websource also has a calculator on their site.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » March 17th, 2015, 8:57 pm

knthprks wrote:Brought a 750d cost $680. To clear. Websource also has a calculator on their site.

Yea was using that calculator and the cost it was giving me was something like $1200 to clear, was a bit hesitant but I'll buy it. Thanks for the clarification.

Postby pioneer » March 17th, 2015, 9:36 pm

Order it tru Raptor...I not even gonna attempt to bring a case via skybox

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 17th, 2015, 10:17 pm

pioneer wrote:Order it tru Raptor...I not even gonna attempt to bring a case via skybox

Ent.