PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby pioneer » February 22nd, 2015, 12:46 pm

It costed me exactly $630TTD to order the kingston and clear it.

You wanna give supertech $370TT of your hard earned money?

That markup isn't even justified, and they buy wholesale and there is not duty/vat on pc parts.

Of course some neckbeard is gonna come and say yes there is. But I have ordered pc parts since 2008 and have yet to pay a cent in vat/duty on any part which includes cpu's, hard drives, video cards and motherboards.

Postby stev » February 22nd, 2015, 12:56 pm

Yeh I never understood the reason behind supertech and their crazy mark up...

coworker bought the EVGA GTX 980 from newegg not too long ago. It cost him ~$3800 - 4000 in total

....supertech has the same card for $5000 :|

they still have it at that price too. mc

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 22nd, 2015, 12:56 pm

Majority of my parts I import. Local merchants powersellers included digging out people's eyes with ssd prices

Postby nervewrecker » February 22nd, 2015, 1:45 pm

They get their sales when people need stuff right away.
If I had a paper to hand in and needed my PC asap I would have bought the 8gb ram locally at almost double the price I paid for it online. I was going to but said f*"k it, not wasting that $$ on a PC I hardly use.

Postby ismithx » February 22nd, 2015, 2:29 pm

nervewrecker wrote:They get their sales when people need stuff right away.
If I had a paper to hand in and needed my PC asap I would have bought the 8gb ram locally at almost double the price I paid for it online. I was going to but said f*"k it, not wasting that $$ on a PC I hardly use.

this

Postby Spitfir3 » February 22nd, 2015, 2:43 pm

DVSTT wrote:Windows 8.1 faster than Windows 7?

windows 8.1 boots up and shuts down slightly faster than windows 7..overall i believe windows 8 is supposed to be a little faster but its a margin able difference

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 22nd, 2015, 3:12 pm

ismithx wrote:pios, how long you have the kingston? any stability issues? I not going and buy that online if i had too, supertech have it for 1000ttd. I want it now cuz this 3 min wait for my laptop to load not cutting it

What processor does your laptop currently have. ... cause if it's kinda old... an ssd will not help much. I still using my laptop with a core i3-330m I think.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » February 22nd, 2015, 3:21 pm

It is faster. I installed it on several pcs which had Windows 7 previously and the performance increase is noticeable. Especially with the fast boot. Windows 8.1 is a less "resource demanding" OS than Windows 7.

Postby ismithx » February 22nd, 2015, 4:17 pm

kamakazi wrote:
ismithx wrote:pios, how long you have the kingston? any stability issues? I not going and buy that online if i had too, supertech have it for 1000ttd. I want it now cuz this 3 min wait for my laptop to load not cutting it

What processor does your laptop currently have. ... cause if it's kinda old... an ssd will not help much. I still using my laptop with a core i3-330m I think.

Core i7 at 2.2ghz reason I say it slow is because I came from a 7200rpm drive to a 5400rpm one. The difference is mind blowing

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 22nd, 2015, 5:35 pm

The ssd should work wonders for your machine. Mine however. ..Sometimes I feel like I'm still using a normal hdd in my laptop

Postby DVSTT » February 22nd, 2015, 6:24 pm

Cross Blood wrote:

It is faster. I installed it on several pcs which had Windows 7 previously and the performance increase is noticeable. Especially with the fast boot. Windows 8.1 is a less "resource demanding" OS than Windows 7.

Cool I'll partition my hdd and install it.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 22nd, 2015, 6:54 pm

I bust my arse to buy a GTR in Need for speed world

now I doh play it anymore
Thrill of the chase gone :(

1.7 million gone down the drain
couple hours of my life too

Postby sMASH » February 22nd, 2015, 10:03 pm

Online kinda saving me a lot.
I decided to get the arctic silver 5, seeing as its tried and tru. But I ain't reaching up no maraval; complete waste of my time to make that drive up just for that.
I had made down payments to north people in the past by depositing into their accounts. I was thinking I could do that with this store Nd they could post the as5 to me.
I pm the man and he don't do deliveries .

I not in a hurry and order it online. 15 uS for it and it cost 23tt skybox.
Same thing was 170 in the maraval store. I just had yo wait a week.

Postby skylinechild » February 23rd, 2015, 9:01 pm

so i finally bit the bullet and moved up from windows XP....you will be missed but not forgotten.
*moment of silence*

swapped out my hard drive for a slightly smaller - but newer drive - replaced my defective battery - also replaced a semi non functional optical drive

so i installed windows 7 64 bit ultimate...runs smooth but not smooth enough.

i have 4GB of ram and still just by browsing the net it shows i'm using 1.29Gb of RAM for the O.S and its services.

will be purchasing a SSD and a single 4GB stick of memory

software installed is as follows.
1.OS win 7 64 bit with SP1 (OEM)
2. eset antivirus
3. office 2007
4. adobe reader , flash & shockwave player
5. Java
6. mozilla firefox
7. Windows live mail.

what i can say - is it plays nicely with the laptop... downside to this is i gotta recover my data from the 250Gb to use on this new O.S

kamakazi wrote:The ssd should work wonders for your machine. Mine however. ..Sometimes I feel like I'm still using a normal hdd in my laptop

run a disc clean up but not a defrag
also check to see if trim support is enabled - if not - enable it and reboot.
also check to see if you have the correct drivers installed for your AHCI chipset - (advanced host controller interface) in my case - it was the intel matrix storage manager.- check with your pc manufacturer - install and reboot.

if all else fails...stop using all else... :lol:

Postby pioneer » February 23rd, 2015, 9:31 pm

Is this 2001?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 23rd, 2015, 10:11 pm

Thanks for reminding me about the AHCI ... kinda forgot about it because it was a laptop.
Changing it will have to wait until I get my desktop up and running.
Awaiting some parts
If told you I paid $30US for 16gb of ddr3.... what would you say

Postby nervewrecker » February 23rd, 2015, 10:28 pm

that price brand new?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 24th, 2015, 5:37 am

Yep. .. That was how cheap it got 2yrs ago.
Kingston blu 1333
2x8gb

The 8gb kit I bought also sold for small money
2x4gb

The kits were 37us and 25us respectively

desert punk

Postby desert punk » February 24th, 2015, 2:25 pm

I had nothing to do so here's my evga 970gtx sc modded.

Postby skylinechild » February 24th, 2015, 3:57 pm

pioneer wrote:Is this 2001?

obvious troll is obvious....
but really i just liked the way how it performed. 0 issues for me in the length of time i used it. customer machines got the newer O.S.

kamakazi wrote:Thanks for reminding me about the AHCI ... kinda forgot about it because it was a laptop.
Changing it will have to wait until I get my desktop up and running.
Awaiting some parts
If told you I paid $30US for 16gb of ddr3.... what would you say

i dont know the brand / model of your laptop. but you may have to enable AHCI from the BIOS first - if the controller is set to IDE mode (slower) change it to AHCI then install the O.S.

The O.S should hav the necessary basic AHCI drivers to detect your controller if it doesnt just download the drivers and store it on a flash and connect when the O.S install prompts you to.

once the O.S is installed - then install the microsoft dot net framework - all of them THEN do the service packs - if youre going win 7 that is. THEN install the updated AHCI drivers from the manufacturer.

before i installed the correct AHCI drivers the laptop was randomly giving blue screen errors - microsoft had a generic AHCI driver loaded - installed the correct driver - it re-detected the HDD - rebooted a 2nd time...and much faster - no blue screens since.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 24th, 2015, 5:36 pm

Thanks man

Postby pioneer » February 24th, 2015, 6:16 pm

Guys with water cooling...how often do you have to change coolant and is it available in trinidad?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » February 24th, 2015, 8:47 pm

pioneer wrote:Guys with water cooling...how often do you have to change coolant and is it available in trinidad?

Every 2 years is a common average, distilled water (battery water sold locally) with an anti microbial additive works as well as the expensive stuff. Use coloured tubing instead of UV dyes if you want style.

Two examples of the additives u can use are these:

http://www.amazon.com/Petras-Tech-Nuke- ... B008EGYJ54

One or two drops is enough for the whole loop.

Or if you using clear PVC tubing and want some colour, you can use this:

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/2104/ ... olant.html

UV reactive as well.

Had two incidents where the distilled water/pt nuke mixture spilled into my desk pcs, nothing was damaged.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 24th, 2015, 9:05 pm

Does normal vehicle coolant work. ... like zerex asian vehicle.

Postby DVSTT » February 24th, 2015, 9:06 pm

kamakazi wrote:Does normal vehicle coolant work. ... like zerex asian vehicle.

I would assume that it would however if it spills it may short everything.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 24th, 2015, 9:15 pm

That would happen anyway if it was distilled water. ...:smile:
while I might not like water being that close to my system. ..I admire people willing to take the risk.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » February 24th, 2015, 9:30 pm

kamakazi wrote:That would happen anyway if it was distilled water. ...:smile:
while I might not like water being that close to my system. ..I admire people willing to take the risk.

Water spilled out of one of my loops and was under the board. Turned on the system and it ran but then i noticed the water under the board and cut the power. Dried the board with cotton and a heat gun and it worked fine after.

There are non conductive coolants available on the market if you're paranoid but it becomes conductive after a while of running through the system picking up trace elements from the waterblocks.

Once you take your time and assemble everything properly there'll be very little incidence of leaks.

But if it's for cpu cooling only then you'd be better off with one of those preassembled all in one units made by corsair, antec etc. All my setups included a high heat video card in addition to the cpu so a custom loop suited me better.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » February 25th, 2015, 11:32 am

Also.....from my experience so far, ready-made coolant lasts longer in the loop than the do-it-yourself distilled water mix.

Coolant (like Feser) would last a year (or more), and the distilled water mix may last 6-8 months.

The Feser coolant I used at first was great (being non-conductive and all) but it eventually started to break down just after 2 years, and gunked up the CPU block, which had to be dismantled and cleaned.

I'm using a distilled water/HydrX coolant mix since October 2014. Lets see how long this mix is going to last.

SM-N910H | Dr Ketan's ROM(N910C) v1.0 | SwiftKey | Tapatalk v4.11.4

MsStar

Postby MsStar » February 25th, 2015, 12:59 pm

Got a gtx 860m in my Acer laptop.

MsStar

Postby MsStar » February 25th, 2015, 1:00 pm

Anyone know where sells gaming laptops in Trinidad ?