3ne2nr fishermen

JayB27

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby JayB27 » March 23rd, 2015, 9:14 pm

Hyperion wrote:looking for some tips on beach fishing in Blanchisseuse, more specifically by the Marianne river mouth.

Well it have zel wan in the gut close to shore. I caught a pompano towards the other side by a rip. Haven't fished by the river mouth as yet but I'm sure if you place your bait in the right spot there are bound to be some nice fish to be had there.

bumpie

Postby bumpie » March 23rd, 2015, 9:47 pm

Can someono explain wat is jigging and popping of artificials?

Postby meccalli » March 23rd, 2015, 10:26 pm

Those are finesse offshore techniques. You can do the same inshore but on smaller lures and pop from shore. Jig n pop uses the rod and the user's action to impart life into the lure. Jigging, you'll use lead jigs, bucktails, weighted soft baits and drop it down over the structure then jig up suddenly in bursts or a simple pick up and drop back down. With it, you can fish the entire column depending on what you're targeting. Alot of fish will hook up on the initial drop. Something I personally use is a 1/2 oz white bucktail with squid strips for grouper/snapper. It's current dependant and braid helps ALOT.

Popping is just using poppers and other simple topwaters like pencils,chuggers, hybrids. Something meant to target shallow snappers and jacks mainly. It's really effective since it imitates fish smacking bait on top with the sound, visual and splash. It's ringing a dinner bell for cavalli lol. Down here, you most likely to hook up with cavalli and tarpon.
A little safety tip for jigging if you try particularly on a crowded boat. KNOW how much line you have out and how close your lure is. You could jig 12ozs of lead and hooks straight back in your face or on somebody else. You need a light setup- strong and light graphite rods with a good parabolic curve for mechanical advantage and a narrow reel if you use conventionals, spinners work really good here and easier to start with.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 24th, 2015, 5:27 am

We use these techniques a lot when offshore, especially when there area a lot of bait balling up and Fish beating...u cud search some videos on YouTube an get a better idea of what needs to be done..

bumpie

Postby bumpie » March 24th, 2015, 6:33 am

I want to try d technique from my kayack .went mankees. For d first time wow!!! D prices great tough
better than ordering online .next trip would d easter weekend with mrlantra by d wreck next to carera.

bumpie

Postby bumpie » March 24th, 2015, 6:38 am

Thanks guys .anyone know if we can fish around carera .They close d jail down or wat?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » March 24th, 2015, 7:49 am

^^ no anchoring or stopping around carrera, Coast Guard will board your vessel in quick time, you could pass and make a troll between carrera and cronstadt though.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » March 24th, 2015, 7:51 am

JayB27 wrote:
Hyperion wrote:looking for some tips on beach fishing in Blanchisseuse, more specifically by the Marianne river mouth.

Well it have zel wan in the gut close to shore. I caught a pompano towards the other side by a rip. Haven't fished by the river mouth as yet but I'm sure if you place your bait in the right spot there are bound to be some nice fish to be had there.

thanks man, i might try it over the easter vacation

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » March 24th, 2015, 7:54 am

bumpie wrote:Can someono explain wat is jigging and popping of artificials?

jigging is a good way to find fish, you can cover the entire water column, especially if you drifting in the kayak. as mecalli and ryan say, popping creates a lot of disturbance on top, works really good when fish push bait to the surface. I know them tarpon men use poppers in the 2nd bocas very effectively.

You can't go wrong with a plain white jig, or white with pink/red.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » March 24th, 2015, 8:14 am

Hyperion wrote:
JayB27 wrote:

thanks man, i might try it over the easter vacation

Cool man I think you should land something good fish should be there and if you could get some live bait even better! Nice spot for the family to get some fishing with those zel wan

Sabot

Postby Sabot » March 24th, 2015, 9:16 am

I use poppers primarily for inshore snapper and it works well. Jigging also got me many takes from many different fish inshore. I've stopped fishing on boat really so inshore is the new flick and those two methods are the most productive for me. DOA shrimp jigged can be very effective, see pic below; these take poppers with a vengeance as well.

Also....dropped the price significantly for a great surf rod folks; if interested shoot me a pm.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=614786&p=8604064#p8604064

Good review here: http://www.outdoorhub.com/reviews/2013/ ... -surf-rod/
snapper.jpg
snapper.jpg (25.44 KiB) Viewed 3126 times

Postby meccalli » March 24th, 2015, 9:55 am

Cuberas real aggressive round structure, they pop and plug for them almost exclusively in panama in 30-50ft.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » March 24th, 2015, 10:51 am

bumpie wrote:Thanks guys .anyone know if we can fish around carera .They close d jail down or wat?

A few guys just kayaking made it to the wreck, as long as you stay to the inside and on a kayak should be fine, can't go too close to carera

trinichubz

Postby trinichubz » March 25th, 2015, 1:27 pm

Good day fellas.... By chance anyone know of someone with sinker moulds?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 25th, 2015, 1:34 pm

We hav the smaller sizes but not the 1/2-3lbs size molds

trinichubz

Postby trinichubz » March 25th, 2015, 2:32 pm

ryan99tt wrote:We hav the smaller sizes but not the 1/2-3lbs size molds

What sizes you have bro?

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » March 25th, 2015, 3:21 pm

U making an selling sinkers

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » March 26th, 2015, 8:27 am

anybody cud tell me where is the better spots in manzan to fish? and the best type of bait to use on that side?

Postby dougla_boy » March 26th, 2015, 8:44 am

i guess u cud try bonito.....or mullet.....have had some success with fresh bonito.....

good place to fish is the river mouth....cud possibly search online for good days.....i aint no expert....but i have had some success trying this

ReBeLz

Postby ReBeLz » March 26th, 2015, 9:10 am

fishing im mayaro for a good chance of catching something is loke a 00hook a good size piece of bonito a good surf rod and an anchoring sinker its like the torpedo sinkers with wire sprang on it to anchor in the sand

Postby X_Factor » March 26th, 2015, 10:04 am

Shrimp always seem to work in mayaro/ manzan.....
Anyone ever tried cast and retrieve? ?.....maybe some spoons.....divers??

Postby meccalli » March 26th, 2015, 1:15 pm

Tried, of all the fish you'd expect, I caught one of those green puffers on a 2 inch shrimp teaser. I never got really stuck into much fish at manzan/mayaro but the times I caught was using shrimp, chip chip and sand fleas. squid and bonito always gets me a catfish and i caught a whiting one time on a piece of herring. Water was dirty that time so maybe it was the shine.

Postby SMc » March 26th, 2015, 5:29 pm

^^^Question here...why do people kill/let deads the the green puffers caught in the Manzan Mayaro areas?

I know they are pretty much inedible but why not throw them back in the river rather than leave then on a bridge to dead. They must have a purpose otherwise they would not be there.

proton17

Postby proton17 » March 26th, 2015, 6:51 pm

SMc wrote:^^^Question here...why do people kill/let deads the the green puffers caught in the Manzan Mayaro areas?

I know they are pretty much inedible but why not throw them back in the river rather than leave then on a bridge to dead. They must have a purpose otherwise they would not be there.

True, dey figure if dey kill dem dat less chuf chuf will bite, they don't know better.
Shrimp will catch u everything that swims in manzan, from d smallest zilwan, big cavalli right up to monster stingrays.

Postby X_Factor » March 26th, 2015, 6:55 pm

How they are hooked are sometimes a pain to take off and most ppl just rip out the hook which eventually kills the fish

Postby meccalli » March 26th, 2015, 7:14 pm

Several of many reasons, #1 people treat it like a pest fish as catfish and leave it to die. 2# sometimes when they inflate, they get stuck and will die and wash up or float back to shore and die when they wash up. A good tip is to smack em a little bit and tell them go down lol, or throw them into the air (NOT SKY) and let em hit the water. That will usually help dislodge em and the air will go down and they'll swim off.
Gut hooking can be a reason, but they will usually bite off any light wire and ANY mono if they get their teeth to it before you can bring em in. If you have a long shanked hook lodged deep, just cut them off and let the hook rust out, unfortunately a lot of people will rip out the organs just to get a hook.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 26th, 2015, 7:19 pm

I try to release anything I am not keeping (Rays, eels, puffers, tarpon, Cavali, etc)....shud be practices also smaller and larger fish...

Postby dougla_boy » March 27th, 2015, 7:32 am

i am one who is beat of d chuff chuff....caught a few, like 3 or 4 at most...never really like the smell they give off jed.....it nauseous....i dunno if allyuh is smell it....but it stink jed.....so u cud like whole them tho? excuse the asinine question eh...i ah noob

Postby meccalli » March 27th, 2015, 7:53 am

Yeah you can, the toxins are in their skin but only dangerous if ingested.

Postby dougla_boy » March 27th, 2015, 8:09 am

scn...ah know better...ah actually bought a pair of the hiflex gloves to fish with....very very nice i tell u