PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

kamakazi

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby kamakazi » February 18th, 2015, 10:11 pm

What is the price of the tx3...I ended up settling on an arctic cooling i11 (i for Intel) for my system refresh.

NR8

Postby NR8 » February 19th, 2015, 12:31 am

$22 usd on Newegg

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » February 19th, 2015, 2:33 am

Should be approximately $15

NR8

Postby NR8 » February 19th, 2015, 1:36 pm

Have any of you guys used the thermal paste that comes with the Cooler Master Hyper TX3? Would it be good enough or do you recommend that I use Arctic Silver instead?

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » February 19th, 2015, 3:20 pm

stev wrote:ok guys, how does the following look? do you see any discrepancies or stuff i should avoid?

Intel Core i7-5820K (6core / 12 thread)
Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4
EVGA GTX 970 Superclocked 4GB GDDR5 256bit
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD
EVGA SuperNOVA 650W PS
Fractal Design R4 Case (compatible with Corsair H100i cooler)
Corsair Hydro Series Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler H100i
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB 2 X 8GB
Lite on iHAS burner (BD Reader)
Extra PCIe 1GB NIC

Total TTD: $9,675

im getting the monitors free: 2 X 22inch AOC LED 1080p monitors

looks alright?

Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (BLS4K4G4D240FSA)

Much cheaper than the Corsair RAM. (Works just as well too)

SM-N910H | Dr Ketan's ROM(N910C) v1.0 | SwiftKey | Tapatalk v4.11.4

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » February 19th, 2015, 7:24 pm

I not seeing anything wrong but
1) For a few more dollars you could get a blu ray(or even a bdxl)writer
2) I hope you not planning to utilize the full 4GB of the 970
3) Which did you pick first, the case or the cooler?

Postby stev » February 19th, 2015, 8:22 pm

fouljuice wrote:I not seeing anything wrong but
1) For a few more dollars you could get a blu ray(or even a bdxl)writer
2) I hope you not planning to utilize the full 4GB of the 970
3) Which did you pick first, the case or the cooler?

i dont even use disks anymore but I'll take your advice and get a BD drive.

i still think the graphics card is a bit too much but i had a kinda hard time choosing one :/ 128bit / 256bit etc.

and i chose the cooler first. lol
still not 100% sure about that case.....the case design is not important and does not need to be flashy....once it has proper cooling.

Postby ismithx » February 19th, 2015, 8:49 pm

gonna cop a 240GB ssd to replace my laptop hard drive this monthend... it's really hard waiting for stuff to load all the time, seeing as i work with a bit of heavy multimedia these days

Postby nervewrecker » February 19th, 2015, 8:55 pm

Samsung?

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » February 19th, 2015, 9:47 pm

Was reading about the x99 chipset and some stated that the z97 chipset is better. Maybe some of the guys in this forum can shed some light on that. Also read that DDR4 is a work in progress as it was recently released. So it would be wiser to purchase DDR4 maybe later down in the year.

Postby ismithx » February 20th, 2015, 11:44 am

nervewrecker wrote:Samsung?

I have my eyes on an Intel ssd tho. Else would have gone samsung

Postby DVSTT » February 20th, 2015, 5:53 pm

So the same quack tech from last time diagnosed my laptop with a ram failure and charged $600 to fix. Mind you I only paid 400 to install the ram G skill brand about 3 years back. I'm not that versed in computer troubles and failures but I find it a bit fishy. Also the new fan is sheit. It doesn't cool and games that never lagged before were lagging now. Could the inferior quality fan be the cause of the ram failure?

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » February 20th, 2015, 6:18 pm

Advanced Warfare free on steaM 0X

Postby Spitfir3 » February 20th, 2015, 6:59 pm

^^you forgot to mention until sunday
tempted but having to download more than 40gbs just to try it out is pretty hard especially using blink

Postby pioneer » February 20th, 2015, 7:33 pm

Bought a Kingston SSD...my life has never been the same since.

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2015, 8:01 pm

ismithx wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Samsung?

I have my eyes on an Intel ssd tho. Else would have gone samsung

Seeing some nice prices on the Samsung's

Postby pioneer » February 20th, 2015, 8:18 pm

Buy it online and fork the powersellers, skybox not charging duty/vat on those things.

Postby Spitfir3 » February 20th, 2015, 8:33 pm

amazon also has them on sale every other day

unless you're a perfectionist and need to go with the fastest most expensive samsung.. sandisk,kingston,intel,pny,crucial are all pretty solid

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2015, 9:37 pm

I buy them online.
Prices on amazon were approx $120.00 for 250gb

Postby pioneer » February 20th, 2015, 9:53 pm

Paid $85usd for a 256gb kingston...paid $44ttd to clear it lol

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2015, 10:04 pm

Black Friday ent :lol:

Same price to clear mine.

Regret I didn't buy more.

Postby pioneer » February 20th, 2015, 10:05 pm

Nope...was on sale on amazon two weeks back

edit

price still $85

http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Digital- ... ngston+ssd

bring and sell to dem sufferer po's nerve

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2015, 10:11 pm

I think was in the $70.00 range during black Friday.
Did not know they wroukd work so well or I'd buy a bigger one.

Eff dem sufferers

Postby skylinechild » February 20th, 2015, 10:28 pm

DVSTT wrote:So the same quack tech from last time diagnosed my laptop with a ram failure and charged $600 to fix. Mind you I only paid 400 to install the ram G skill brand about 3 years back. I'm not that versed in computer troubles and failures but I find it a bit fishy. Also the new fan is sheit. It doesn't cool and games that never lagged before were lagging now. Could the inferior quality fan be the cause of the ram failure?

either he used a generic fan which does not give the proper RPM and therefore wont cool effectively

or he didnt do the installation properly.
reason why i said he didnt do the install properly - in some notebooks you need to remove the heatsink and fan assembly to remove / reinstall the fan.
and if youre removing the heatsink assembly you need to apply new thermal compound and also know how to apply it properly.

Postby Spitfir3 » February 20th, 2015, 10:38 pm

could be the gpu overheating as ive seen most guys fail to seat the heatsink properly\apply proper thermal compound or sometimes there is a sponge like material to transfer heat and they remove it or move it out the way...

HCCA

Postby HCCA » February 21st, 2015, 3:50 am

Spitfir3 wrote:could be the gpu overheating as ive seen most guys fail to seat the heatsink properly\apply proper thermal compound or sometimes there is a sponge like material to transfer heat and they remove it or move it out the way...

Yeah there's a thermal pad on the chipset and/or gpu. Should be replaced if it's compressed too much to make good contact when reassembling the heatsink assembly.

Postby DVSTT » February 21st, 2015, 6:55 am

skylinechild wrote:
DVSTT wrote:So the same quack tech from last time diagnosed my laptop with a ram failure and charged $600 to fix. Mind you I only paid 400 to install the ram G skill brand about 3 years back. I'm not that versed in computer troubles and failures but I find it a bit fishy. Also the new fan is sheit. It doesn't cool and games that never lagged before were lagging now. Could the inferior quality fan be the cause of the ram failure?

either he used a generic fan which does not give the proper RPM and therefore wont cool effectively

or he didnt do the installation properly.
reason why i said he didnt do the install properly - in some notebooks you need to remove the heatsink and fan assembly to remove / reinstall the fan.
and if youre removing the heatsink assembly you need to apply new thermal compound and also know how to apply it properly.

Spitfir3 wrote:could be the gpu overheating as ive seen most guys fail to seat the heatsink properly\apply proper thermal compound or sometimes there is a sponge like material to transfer heat and they remove it or move it out the way...

I'll see how it goes. Next time it dies on me I'll be ordering another. 5 years is a good lifetime Imo.

The ram he installed is epidia or something along those lines. Is it a good brand? I had G skill before so I'm not too sure.

Postby ismithx » February 21st, 2015, 7:05 pm

pios, how long you have the kingston? any stability issues? I not going and buy that online if i had too, supertech have it for 1000ttd. I want it now cuz this 3 min wait for my laptop to load not cutting it

Postby DVSTT » February 21st, 2015, 7:19 pm

Windows 8.1 faster than Windows 7?

Postby pioneer » February 22nd, 2015, 12:42 pm

ismithx wrote:pios, how long you have the kingston? any stability issues? I not going and buy that online if i had too, supertech have it for 1000ttd. I want it now cuz this 3 min wait for my laptop to load not cutting it

3 weeks now no problems, windows 7 ultimate loads so fast...programs too

lol@supertech vat/duty price.

I see the samsung evo drives have problems

http://www.pcworld.com/article/2887255/ ... -ssds.html