COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 157 cases, 8 deaths, 128 discharged in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » July 30th, 2020, 5:41 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:He already say learn to live with it so why would u say they locking down?

Well the doctors and epidemiologists want a lockdown, government does not and nor do they want to delay elections. So their decision will be interesting.

Postby redmanjp » July 30th, 2020, 5:42 pm

Did the CMO or other doctors suggest this?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 30th, 2020, 5:45 pm

redmanjp wrote:Did the CMO or other doctors suggest this?

Inside sources there says they are in 100% favour of a short lockdown, don't know more details nor do I know what type of lockdown they're suggesting.

Postby redmanjp » July 30th, 2020, 5:50 pm

bars definitely have to close- how u could tell ppl wear a mask yet u could drink a beer with mask off? same thing for dining in.

Postby Chimera » July 30th, 2020, 6:07 pm

unc and their people now walk through my area,

they handing out fliers, representative happily shaking people hand and hugging people who he know

they pull up by my gate right when i was going to drive in, try to hand me a flier, i tell dem i eh touching nothing these days and dont come too close to me

they mention how d representative walking around meeting people. i tell them cool, and i drive and leave dem there.

i fraid to hear how much people have corona by the time election reach

Postby K74T » July 30th, 2020, 6:08 pm

7 new - 3 from Canada, 4 primary contacts of recent positive persons

FB_IMG_1596146798405.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » July 30th, 2020, 6:15 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:unc and their people now walk through my area,

they handing out fliers, representative happily shaking people hand and hugging people who he know

they pull up by my gate right when i was going to drive in, try to hand me a flier, i tell dem i eh touching nothing these days and dont come too close to me

they mention how d representative walking around meeting people. i tell them cool, and i drive and leave dem there.

i fraid to hear how much people have corona by the time election reach

were they wearing masks?

Postby maj. tom » July 30th, 2020, 6:21 pm

7 new cases in 1 day?!
Yeah we hadda lockdown. Or allyuh prefer when the death toll start again instead?

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2020, 6:23 pm

It’s really 4 on the ground,
3 were imported.

But it shows the spreading is there and easy.

maj. tom wrote:7 new cases in 1 day?!
Yeah we hadda lockdown. Or allyuh prefer when the death toll start again instead?

Postby redmanjp » July 30th, 2020, 6:26 pm

but primary contacts are the family/household. so same amount of clusters, but still a risk if there is no security stopping them from breaching home quarantine.

Postby sMASH » July 30th, 2020, 6:45 pm

8000 thousand again to reach 1%. 38000 unique tests to reach 3%.
we have a long ways away to reach to find out what going on. hold on to ur hats folks, they managed it well.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » July 30th, 2020, 6:46 pm

Any now those who were primary contacts and tested positive have primary contacts. So the circle is getting bigger

Postby goalpost » July 30th, 2020, 6:52 pm

redmanjp wrote:but primary contacts are the family/household. so same amount of clusters, but still a risk if there is no security stopping them from breaching home quarantine.

Remember these are not people who went willingly to get tested. Their friend/relative got covid and MOH told them they had to get tested. Who knows where they were when they didn't know they had it.

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2020, 6:54 pm

that is the catch
the time between infection and them being in contact with others is the danger

goalpost wrote:
redmanjp wrote:but primary contacts are the family/household. so same amount of clusters, but still a risk if there is no security stopping them from breaching home quarantine.

Remember these are not people who went willingly to get tested. Their friend/relative got covid and MOH told them they had to get tested. Who knows where they were when they didn't know they had it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 30th, 2020, 6:59 pm

Its safe to say given that people with flu like symptoms and treated worse than hiv from the 80s so they wont tell nobody. And then influx of venes ontop of that by the thousands every month

I would safely say this thread could easily read 1200 positive and it would be accurate

I know a girl who have diaherrea, fever every night. Vomiting etc she said she went to the pharmacy and the pharmacist gave her zentel based on these symptoms

I find this very bizarre not to mention her father had severe fever 2 weeks ago but it only lasted 2 days. He chalked it up as regular fever
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on July 30th, 2020, 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2020, 7:02 pm

after all the boasting about some oxford university study which say we were #1 in managing covid.

how do our increasing stats compare to other caribbean countries ?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 30th, 2020, 7:03 pm

pugboy wrote:after all the boasting about some oxford university study which say we were #1 in managing covid.

Pretty good actually we still number 1 but it will change as more vene come in via cedros and untested the cartel dont test nobody

Postby paid_influencer » July 30th, 2020, 7:06 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:He already say learn to live with it so why would u say they locking down?

Well the doctors and epidemiologists want a lockdown, government does not and nor do they want to delay elections. So their decision will be interesting.

those of us in vulnerable populations want it too.

the fellas saying 'we goh ride it out' really doh care about people with diabetes, heart problems or history of stroke if we live or dead not a big deal for them.

why are the govt not locking down? they waiting for somebody to dead? they waiting until it get into SFGH patient population? what d mc they waiting on. why chuck e cheese open in the middle of a pandemic? why it have door to door campaigning right now? wdmc wrong with these people.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 30th, 2020, 7:15 pm

pugboy wrote:that is the catch
the time between infection and them being in contact with others is the danger

goalpost wrote:

Exactly, and also what is the CMO and the MoH PR team considering a primary contact? Typically it's just family members, but co-workers I can confirm are also being considered in this boat.

All that means is that we're having lots of local spread and fortunately identifying and isolating some, but how many are we missing? At our testing rates and the prevalence of asymptomatics it's far more likely we're missing more cases than we're identifying.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 30th, 2020, 7:17 pm

^ I mean I have hypertension and diabetes but I also understand more lockdowns will destroy the country and still kill us anyways because it is possible there may never be a vaccine for this that is a real possibility no matter how promising things currently look.

I wish the government would just pay us to stay home but we know that isn't sustainable. In a big country like America the people becoming homeless, dying from diseases and suffering immensely because everything is shut down and everything besides life and death surgery is put on hold.

So if America is useless in handling this, what does that say about us? could we really expect the government to shut down and pay us? how much oil and natural gas we exporting and how much is the world paying for it? we have to be realistic here.

Now I would love to blame Rowley and accuse him of being Trump who bailed out corporations in the tune of Trillions and told the people to fck off. But I don't know if Rowley bailing out big business or if he thiefing the money or what he doing.

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2020, 7:18 pm

^just keep your distance from other folks and sanitize the usual stuff

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 30th, 2020, 7:20 pm

Could we make a case that Rowley is putting businesses first and sacrificing the life of everyday citizens?

Could we make the case that he bailed out big banks and other businesses and told the average citizen to fck off?

If we get another lock down are expected to fill out another form and get new letter of recommendation to get money for self employed? how will it work exactly?

What are the odds of Rowley paying people another $4500 to stay home?

How much money have they paid in total so far?

Postby paid_influencer » July 30th, 2020, 7:23 pm

^ED, your posts are the lifeblood that sustain me in this dark time. I do appreciate them. I have hidden my umbrella from Rowley. I'm not suggesting we go all the way back to phase 1, but how about we roll back to phase 4? Close down the major public gatherings, let public places fall under the 10 persons limit. People still in work but the contact tracing gets easier and the spread, the "r-naught" gets cut down.

Postby Gladiator » July 30th, 2020, 7:24 pm

I hope they new COVID plan is not to let it take its course.... lick up who it have to ... then burn out itself and let the place go back to normal.

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2020, 7:25 pm

most definitely the banks posted some serious losses this quarter so economics at play here

caribbean airlines must be losing plenty too with zero flights and paying salaries

Postby zoom rader » July 30th, 2020, 7:26 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ I mean I have hypertension and diabetes but I also understand more lockdowns will destroy the country and still kill us anyways because it is possible there may never be a vaccine for this that is a real possibility no matter how promising things currently look.

I wish the government would just pay us to stay home but we know that isn't sustainable. In a big country like America the people becoming homeless, dying from diseases and suffering immensely because everything is shut down and everything besides life and death surgery is put on hold.

So if America is useless in handling this, what does that say about us? could we really expect the government to shut down and pay us? how much oil and natural gas we exporting and how much is the world paying for it? we have to be realistic here.

Now I would love to blame Rowley and accuse him of being Trump who bailed out corporations in the tune of Trillions and told the people to fck off. But I don't know if Rowley bailing out big business or if he thiefing the money or what he doing.
Why should PNM pay you to stay home?

They already paid 1% and Tobago hotels big money. You not important

Postby zoom rader » July 30th, 2020, 7:28 pm

pugboy wrote:most definitely the banks posted some serious losses this quarter so economics at play here

caribbean airlines must be losing plenty too with zero flights and paying salaries
But PNM achievement say CAL make money

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 30th, 2020, 7:31 pm

paid_influencer wrote:^ED, your posts are the lifeblood that sustain me in this dark time. I do appreciate them. I have hidden my umbrella from Rowley. I'm not suggesting we go all the way back to phase 1, but how about we roll back to phase 4? Close down the major public gatherings, let public places fall under the 10 persons limit. People still in work but the contact tracing gets easier and the spread, the "r-naught" gets cut down.

I support you 100% I have been saying it for weeks now, shut all them bars the fck down stop dining in let people buy their food and go their way. Close down all the cinemas close down all the beaches.

Anything that encourages useless socializing shut it down we won't die if we don't get rum to drink.

Women won't die because they can't do the donkey wine for the next year or 2. As we speak women are still doing the donkey wine in bars that I have visited when I say visited I mean I just pass by and take a quick gape from outside

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2020, 7:33 pm

must be the only airline in the world that could say that and sitting tight paying salaries while staff home and airplanes parked up

pugboy wrote:most definitely the banks posted some serious losses this quarter so economics at play here

But PNM achievement say CAL make money

Postby sMASH » July 30th, 2020, 7:41 pm

pugboy wrote:after all the boasting about some oxford university study which say we were #1 in managing covid.

the study was misinterpreted. its not a measure of how well they managed it, it was measure of their stipulated policies... NOT THEIR IMPLEMENTATION. i and a few others had seen that as a tongue-in-cheek post of how some govts were covering up their actions. then u saw rowley them boasting, then the next week oxford posted a clarification that its not a rating of how good a country is.
think of it like they was mocking the policies as, ' well if allyuh numbers so low, might as well reopen. weh allyuh stressin the people for.'