****the official CRICKET thread*****

Re: ****the official CRICKET thread*****

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 21st, 2016, 10:54 pm

Windies has one more chance at getting into the final..

Postby Dizzy28 » June 22nd, 2016, 10:22 am

Maxwell knocked the stuffing out of the WI.
Liking that WI fairly competitive in this series thus far. I was half expecting them to fold meekly in the face of superior (albeit deliberately weakened) opponents

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 24th, 2016, 4:57 am

can West Indies beat SA?????

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 24th, 2016, 6:59 am

Clive llyod was axed...about time if you ask me

Postby Dizzy28 » June 24th, 2016, 8:57 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Clive llyod was axed...about time if you ask me

After he already held contribute to the demise of WI cricket!!

trent

Postby trent » June 24th, 2016, 1:56 pm

Windies in trouble 50-4
Here comes the rain

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 24th, 2016, 5:45 pm

Very interesting comeback with the bat...let's see what they do with the ball

trent

Postby trent » June 24th, 2016, 7:01 pm

Windies fighting back
SA 51-5

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 24th, 2016, 9:15 pm

I am convinced narine gonna get reported again..nice win doh

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » June 24th, 2016, 9:56 pm

Unexpected.
Really wanted SA to win

Postby bluefete » June 25th, 2016, 3:12 am

[quote="shake d livin wake d dead"]I am convinced Narine gonna get reported again..nice win doh[/quote]

I thought I was the only one who saw it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 26th, 2016, 8:51 am

Predictions for today

Postby X_Factor » June 26th, 2016, 8:54 am

^hahahah,you know better than that
is WI playing you know

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 26th, 2016, 11:12 am

X_Factor wrote:^hahahah,you know better than that
is WI playing you know

Honestly I like windies to win...but the Aussies could take it...starc and others looking to buss Samuels head...

Postby meccalli » June 26th, 2016, 2:02 pm

Pollard is really a jumbie bowler.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 26th, 2016, 7:13 pm

Windies ain't looking so good atm

Postby X_Factor » June 26th, 2016, 8:48 pm

that run out ramdin miss on wade when he was on 30 something imo made us chase about 25-30 runs more than we could handle
even though they fell well short, chasing 235-245 vs 270 is a big difference mentally

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 26th, 2016, 10:48 pm

Yup^....that final 8 overs in the Aussies innings sealed it for them...ohh well.

Next stop cpl

trent

Postby trent » June 26th, 2016, 11:50 pm

I think this WI team surpassed most people's expectations, Australia are just too strong, they showed us today why they are World champions and the No.1 ranked team in ODI's.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 27th, 2016, 5:29 am

if windies get Gayle, Dj Bravo, Russel, Badree,Simmons and maybe Sammy......they could do some good damage

Postby Dizzy28 » June 27th, 2016, 8:41 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:if windies get Gayle, Dj Bravo, Russel, Badree,Simmons and maybe Sammy......they could do some good damage

And drop who from this current team??
Benn and or Narine for Badree??
Braithwaite/Pollard/Holder for Bravo and Russell?

We are good in the spin department and all rounders department (sorry to say this but Bravo, Pollard, Sammy, Russell and Braitwaite are all one[average or lower batsmen who can bowl a bit] and we can only afford to choose three at max from that lot in 50 over cricket where one needs to bat 10-15 overs and maybe more and craft and build innings.

What we do need is a change to the wastes that open and IMO Gayle and Simmons would be the only automatic picks to replace Charles and Fletcher.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 27th, 2016, 8:53 am

drop Benn for Badree....pick Russel as an allrounder(he can open the bowling with Badree) as opposed to Gabriel......drop Fletcher and Charles for Gayle and Simmons....all the other men could be in the squad.

at least they would have more to choose from

Postby Dizzy28 » June 27th, 2016, 9:34 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:drop Benn for Badree....pick Russel as an allrounder(he can open the bowling with Badree) as opposed to Gabriel......drop Fletcher and Charles for Gayle and Simmons....all the other men could be in the squad.

In 50 over cricket you need skill specialists(pure batsman, pure bowlers) more than in T20. I not sure about getting 10 quality overs from Russell on a consistent basis. Gabriel is only 3 matches into his ODI career and deserves a run to show what he can do.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 27th, 2016, 7:24 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:drop Benn for Badree....pick Russel as an allrounder(he can open the bowling with Badree) as opposed to Gabriel......drop Fletcher and Charles for Gayle and Simmons....all the other men could be in the squad.

In 50 over cricket you need skill specialists(pure batsman, pure bowlers) more than in T20. I not sure about getting 10 quality overs from Russell on a consistent basis. Gabriel is only 3 matches into his ODI career and deserves a run to show what he can do.

Gabriel is all pace and all over the place...hopefully he doh end up like tino
..if not Russell...bravo could give you good variation

Postby X_Factor » June 27th, 2016, 8:06 pm

nah man, how u gonna class gabriel with tino
gabriel seems to have a better cricket brain,what he needs exposure and confidence

as good as gayle is, i think its best we start investing in another opener/s
he is not consistent anymore and with the kinda T20 money he making, i dont think he will care if he makes or not for WI any more

invest in some younger talent, there must be 5-6fellas from the entire wi who is around 20-22yrs all you need is a little talent and a decent cricket brain

WI cricket board and selectors also have to know when to include and break in young fellas as well
doh give them a run against top 5 teams, fail then hard luck you no good
Look at Zamper, they give him the best way to start his career and gain confidence

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 28th, 2016, 5:36 am

X_Factor wrote:nah man, how u gonna class gabriel with tino
gabriel seems to have a better cricket brain,what he needs exposure and confidence

he is not consistent anymore and with the kinda T20 money he making, i dont think he will care if he makes or not for WI any more

invest in some younger talent, there must be 5-6fellas from the entire wi who is around 20-22yrs all you need is a little talent and a decent cricket brain

WI cricket board and selectors also have to know when to include and break in young fellas as well
Look at Zamper, they give him the best way to start his career and gain confidence

lol at tino...

the good thing is lloyd not there anymore...Simmons and Charles could possibly open, drop Fletcher...

then again windies playing India in some test matches soon :|

Postby Dizzy28 » June 28th, 2016, 9:07 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
X_Factor wrote:nah man, how u gonna class gabriel with tino

lol at tino...

the good thing is lloyd not there anymore...Simmons and Charles could possibly open, drop Fletcher...

then again windies playing India in some test matches soon :|

Simmons has shown where his priorities lie (not judging him for it). Are we going to pick him for the 1-2 months a year he not playing some t20 league somewhere in the world? We should probably blood the perosn who can be available year round.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 28th, 2016, 9:48 am

Just saw an article in the Guardian...CPL Finals has gone to St Kitts.
A postive is that to achieve a sold out match only 6,000 ppl needs to turn up (basically the capacity of the Carib, KFC, RBTT Stand at the QPO)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 28th, 2016, 10:16 am

well that sucks...where the semis at??? not seeing anything

trent

Re: RE: Re: ****the official CRICKET thread*****

Postby trent » June 28th, 2016, 11:11 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:well that sucks...where the semis at??? not seeing anything

Cpl format doesn't hav 'semis'
it has knockouts, similar to IPL