The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Trini Hookah » August 4th, 2013, 1:07 pm

K74T wrote:Message Supa's Bad Robot on FB to see if they have, they're also open today as well.
thanks bud, but he's all out.

Just got a 2pc case from Trincity for the while.

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » August 4th, 2013, 2:36 pm

Google finally releasing its own phone lost/stolen recovery app:

http://gizmodo.com/google-is-finally-re ... 1002975313

Lost Your Android Phone? Android Device Manager Will Find It For You

Later this month, Google will be releasing a new Android Device Manager to help you find your lost Android phone. Yes, it took Google this long to release its own app to locate your lost Android device.

Not only will you be able to locate your lost phone on a viewable map, the updated ADM will ring your device at maximum volume. And if it's gone for good, then you can wipe your device remotely.

Devices running Android 2.2 or later will receive the update later this month. Google says a stand-alone Android app will also be released for those with multiple Android devices.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2013, 2:50 pm

ok so I sold my Windows 7 phone LOL was a focus s with mango 7.5

I just can't stand Microsoft and the limits they impose on that system it also has a few annoying things about it that I just can't stand will never go back to windows phone no matter how smooth it is.

Now the question is should I buy a LG 4X HD or a Nexus 4

I liking the speed and that 2GB RAM on the N4 a whole lot. Plus the Glass Unibody Design. Downside is no replaceable battery.

But then I might sell the Nexus 4 in 3 years time thats the most I does keep a phone anyways.

Postby gastly369 » August 4th, 2013, 3:23 pm

like meh 4x hd tegra 3 ftw

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2013, 3:36 pm

^ How much the 4X HD cost you in total?

How much customs charge on duty and vat?

I am disliking the battery life on Nexus 4. From what I read its really bad like the S2 has 30% more battery life.

And does the 4X come with Jellybean?

I want JB for VPN so I can watch US netflix in work.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2013, 4:01 pm

What u all think about the HTC Vivid 4G?

Its AT&T and for like $210 on Amazon free shipping.

Problem is its ICS is the most you getting. Do you need JB for VPN?

Postby gastly369 » August 4th, 2013, 4:02 pm

can update to JB , got mines via "suitcase" lol. i stuck with ICS RAM usage stability with the 4xhd .. can check reviews online JB and the 4x HD.. i usually have 490mb-510mb free RAM .. friend has 200-250 free with JB .. also when and if you but it just make sure and disable MLT service in the secret menu .. day and night difference with phone speed think from what i gathered online is a sort of data logger for LG .. and it logs everything hence slowing down the phone.. don't think my friend disabled his could be the prob in JB also.. link below

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=2187920

costed me amazon price only just shipped it to famz house before he visited(usually come like every 3 months to TT soo)

battery last me avg day and half moderate usage wifi one from the day i got it ... use data when im on the road

if ah pong graphics intense game well .. half day :S .. dead space, mas effect, gangster rio etc.

Postby sharkman121 » August 4th, 2013, 4:25 pm

everytime i send a text message from my s2, the recipient receives the same msg twice..sometimes three times. anyone knows what causes this?

Postby pete » August 4th, 2013, 4:31 pm

thanks for that tip gastly, wife was complaining about how slow her 4x hd was. hopefully this helps

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2013, 4:45 pm

gastly369 wrote:can update to JB , got mines via "suitcase" lol. i stuck with ICS RAM usage stability with the 4xhd .. can check reviews online JB and the 4x HD.. i usually have 490mb-510mb free RAM .. friend has 200-250 free with JB .. also when and if you but it just make sure and disable MLT service in the secret menu .. day and night difference with phone speed think from what i gathered online is a sort of data logger for LG .. and it logs everything hence slowing down the phone.. don't think my friend disabled his could be the prob in JB also.. link below

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=2187920

costed me amazon price only just shipped it to famz house before he visited(usually come like every 3 months to TT soo)

battery last me avg day and half moderate usage wifi one from the day i got it ... use data when im on the road

if ah pong graphics intense game well .. half day :S .. dead space, mas effect, gangster rio etc.

Is rooting the LG 4X HD difficult?

My S2 i9100 was easy. And I don't like bloatware. I hear removing all the crapware gives you a ton of free ram.

I am leaning towards the 4X HD but keep reading its slow and lags. But like you right about that MLT thing causing the lag.

Also with a bmobile sim card can you go to phone options and hit update and it will update the phone automatically to JB? or you have to root it and use Odin etc?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2013, 4:49 pm

One last extremely important question gastly

Regarding the color saturation on the 4X HD.

I had a nexus 7 and the color was horrible. Extremely washed out, I hated this and liked my Galaxy S2 way better. So yeah I like deep colors

I know the 4X HD ain't no Super AMOLED. But is it better than Nexus 4 and 7 tablet?
I found the N7 to be ridiculous in washed out colors.

The 4X HD don't have to be AMOLED saturation but once its more than Nexus 7 and 4 I will be good.

I would buy a S3 or S4 if I could but money is kinda tight and I don't like to buy from Trinidad.
I just don't trust buying from down here, rather buy on Amazon. 4X HD is $310 on Amazon right now its a bit of a stretch but I can sacrifice and make it. I just want to make sure I make the correct decision here.

I also like how the 4X HD has the i9100 S2 design.

I would gladly buy another S2 but my last one the WIFI chip burned out one day when I made a phone call and it would not hang up and had to force it to shut down. After rebooting no WIFI and no custom ROMS or kernels or anything I do would fix it. I then read on XDA the S2 has a serious WIFI issue burning out with most people. Probably like half of S2 users has a busted WIFI or something.

And gastly very very important, can you tell me how powerful the 4X HD WIFI Antenna is?

I had a Focus S samsung and didn't like WIFI strength at all. Where my laptop would get amazing half signal strength the Focus S would not even notice the wifi unless you were much closer.

Sorry for the million questions lol but I really liking that 4X HD especially with its mini sim that I don't have to cut and SD card slot and replaceable battery etc its like a dream. Quad core A9 and Tegra 3 seems wicked also. I got a class 10 A data SD card here 16 GB that desperately needs a phone. Its wicked fast.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 4th, 2013, 4:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 4th, 2013, 4:56 pm

Effectic is stories you typing dey yes.

Postby gastly369 » August 4th, 2013, 4:59 pm

the screen is True HD IPS display with Ultra high resolution 313PPI

pretty good screen for a phone, colors are brilliant videos are awesome quality

the update can be done using LG PC suite

coming from using windows "buttery WP OS" i don't feel the lag with the 4x HD.. best ting to do is get to play around with one before final decision

its such a under rated phone
Last edited by gastly369 on August 4th, 2013, 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2013, 5:00 pm

LOL boy the amount of questions I have about this 4X HD eh. Its top on my list, I eying it a while now.

But thats about all the questions I got.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2013, 5:06 pm

gastly369 wrote:the screen is True HD IPS display with Ultra high resolution 313PPI

pretty good screen for a phone, colors are brilliant videos are awesome quality

the update can be done using LG PC suite

coming from using windows "buttery WP OS" i don't feel the lag with the 4x HD.. best ting to do is get to play around with one before final decision

its such a under rated phone

I don't have one to use BUT, I have experienced something very similar. My Nexus 7 which was tegra 3 and same specs and it was ubber fast very buttery smooth performance.

I am please with that color response thank god. The N7 was just too washed our and generic and google did that on purpose to make it close to a professional screen as possible but lets be real we want colors on mobile devices not color accuracy. They should leave that for studios and high end monitors for photoshop.

One last thing gastly the WIFI antenna, how it compares to your laptop? or tablet? or anyother WIFI devices you have in your possession?

But I am sold on the 4X HD.

Besides according to GSM Arena its the top dog of the quad core phone world

http://www.gsmarena.com/quad_core_shoot ... ew-790.php

Postby gastly369 » August 4th, 2013, 5:16 pm

umm its standard as to all my other devices.

actually my HTC WP wifi was crap if i had to compare it to a phone i had .. would have to move around my room which sorta far from router to get some signal for good use.. the 4X HD i can stream a youtube from my room with it.. distance is about 45ft away through 4 concrete walls .. my desktop in my room i had to put a wifi card with 7dbi antenna for full service

Postby S_2NR » August 4th, 2013, 5:20 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:Tried editing the build.prop to fix the caller ID and didn't work..Number Fixer just let me add the country and area code to all 1700 contacts though, and well it works fine now.

Just posting in case it'll help anyone else.

sounds like a network problem.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2013, 5:26 pm

gastly369 wrote:umm its standard as to all my other devices.

actually my HTC WP wifi was crap if i had to compare it to a phone i had .. would have to move around my room which sorta far from router to get some signal for good use.. the 4X HD i can stream a youtube from my room with it.. distance is about 45ft away through 4 concrete walls .. my desktop in my room i had to put a wifi card with 7dbi antenna for full service

Sounds good and much better than my windows phone 7.

Good I am sold.

Now to decide if to buy white or black in this thing. hmmm

Postby ismithx » August 4th, 2013, 5:32 pm

I have a friend with a 4x.... He wants to go back to samsung galaxy

Postby gastly369 » August 4th, 2013, 5:45 pm

i got the white... should have bought the black :S

white phones and me is a no no :\

Postby gastly369 » August 4th, 2013, 5:56 pm

S3 prob has better results.. based on stock

oh btw ICS has VPN
1375653274401.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2013, 6:07 pm

Ooh nice

Heard ICS uses less RAM also. So once VPN works on ICS I might stick to that.

I will buy the Black cause I eh really fancy white. I Wanna give amazon a few days to see if they will bring back down the price to $300 its at $315 right now. It fluctuates.

This man has real good pics of the 4X on this site yes

http://www.gsmdome.com/android/lg-optim ... ideo_34569

Anyone seen the Optimus G2 as yet?

I wonder if this is a new UI graphics when he do the pulldown for the volume bar

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 4th, 2013, 6:40 pm

BTW was a little worried for a second as to how in gods name does the 4X HD and Nexus 4 have the worst battery life in history. Even though it has better more efficient hardware and much larger battery. Going against the laws of physics.

Luckily a man explain why phones with same specs beat this LG in battery

Daniyal Ahmed
• a year ago

The LG has 80% higher brightness at 50% brightness than the one X so how on earth is this a valid comparison? Your own tests show the one X at 50% brightness is 200nits bright whereas the LG is 369nits bright. GSMArena your battery tests lose all credibility when you let such loopholes unaddressed. Your battery test methodology if officially invalid I never quite paid attention how gravely flawed it is and I am surprised you guys decided to be lazy and ignored this fatal flaw.

It's all good and fine when phones are "similarly bright" at 50% brightness but that is not the case at all here.
35 6

Share ›

Postby sharkman121 » August 4th, 2013, 10:01 pm

sharkman121 wrote:everytime i send a text message from my s2, the recipient receives the same msg twice..sometimes three times. anyone knows what causes this?

never happen to anyone here?

Postby nervewrecker » August 4th, 2013, 10:44 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:everytime i send a text message from my s2, the recipient receives the same msg twice..sometimes three times. anyone knows what causes this?

Digicel?

Used to happen to me late last year, though was just me needing a new phone but seems other people have it indicating its a network problem.

I have had other people get my texts too that I dont even know.

A man call me and cuss me up for a text I send his wife and some tanty called me to say she prefer slight pepper on her snack pack. Got quite a few other calls bout texts but those two I remember.

Postby sharkman121 » August 5th, 2013, 12:42 am

:lol: cs;b

nah bmobile

Postby S_2NR » August 5th, 2013, 12:49 am

sharkman121 wrote:

Network problem. Call bmobile

Postby sharkman121 » August 5th, 2013, 12:55 am

K

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 5th, 2013, 8:16 am

phones with sealed batteries are risky, theres always the possibility of the battery going bad.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 5th, 2013, 8:45 am

Only had this note a week now and the comments im getting.

"Hoss yuh brought yuh plasma to work?"

"Wait na, daz a monitor in yuh pocket?"